Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 445 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Estela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 5 day best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei was excellent. The itenirary and hotel acccommodations are first rate and our tour guide Alan Chou was fantastic.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First class tour that surpassed ou expectations which I would certainly recommend to anyone wanting to get an overview of what Taiwan has to offer in a short space of time.
Where to begin.... The choice of stops and tourist attractions was well thought out and these are covered adequately by the Viator itinerary.
Our guide Alan Chou who was exceptional as tour leader conducted the tour in both Chinese and English. He was witty, informative, very knowledgeable and always more than happy to explain anything during the trip. Bus driver was also very helpful and always smiling.
The hotels we stayed in were all truly 5 star everyone expressed surprise and delight at this as we all expected less. Each hotel had it's own redeeming features but the hot springs hotel at Sun Moon Lake was our favourite. The Taroko Gorge was the highlight of the trip for us.
One of the other delights of this trip was that there was a mix of people from all over the world and all age groups. We made some very good friends during the five days. I would suggest you bring a map of Taiwan you can pick one up from your departure hotel, so that you can follow the route. Also a guide book such as Lonely Planet would be useful but not essential.
Bring adaptors for the local power points.
Although you usually eat in the hotels which can be quite expensive, the hotels all had a buffet option for around 1,000 Taiwan and the guide always tells you other options when available

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Nicholas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out with stunning scenery after the hustle bustle of Taepei City. Our guide David Harn was excellent, interested and enthusiastic without being pushy. The day was ours and we were offered flexibility wherever possible should we have wished to influence the itinerary.

Doing what: Private Tour: Taroko Gorge Day Trip from Taipei

martengo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was praying for good weather and it worked perfectly. sunny, hot, great visibility. Very well arranged starting with hotel pick up and hotel drop off. we were all well cared of. Josephine was great, all parts of the tour interesting. Money well spent. Original lunch.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very nice tour and a great value for the price. The tour guide was very cheerful and funny and made for a really great day of exploring the Taroko Gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

henry.li211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time and the weather also co-operated only rained 1 day. We enjoyed all the places we were at and it sure was 5 star hotels, all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our tour guide Alan, was knowledgeable with the facts and histories of all the places we went. His sense of timing and kept the tour on time was impeccable. Finally with his humor made all that much more pleasant. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Joanne F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Comprehensive tour with lots of major sites and a good well rounded balance of history and local culture. Great hotels and problems sorted by them really quickly, simple things like having an adaptor. Best buffet was at Taroko gorge hotel. Well organised guide, who could speak in German one moment then English or Cantonese or mandarin the next. Amazing.
Very well worth while way to see Taiwan for the single and new tourist.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

KJCh Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

ciekawa wycieczka

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

WILLESTER Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was funny and informative enough. but it would have been better if we spent more time in the tour rather than the marble factory. The marble factory was such a waste. And would have really appreciated it if there were more time given in exploring the eternal spring shrine rather than just giving a mere 20 minutes to explore. No time to reminisce the place and be in awe since it was always in a hurry. The National Park itself is better than I expected though.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was well done and the hotels were amazing. One downside to this tour is probably the same for any generic tour, too much time stopping for bathroom, coffee and food and not enough stops along to way for photography. In general, I would say the tour was worth doing and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Charles L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Josephine was a fantastic tour guide - kept everyone (and everything) on track and on time. Gorge is amazing. It and #39;s up there as one of the top sites in Asia. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lawrence Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best hiking trip i've ever had! The trail offers an amazing view of the gorge up close!

Credits to the super friendly and sincere guide, William. He gave a very detailed explanation on Taroko and the best part of it, he's treating me like a friend. For once, I felt like i'm on an adventure with a travel companion whom I can count on!

Kudos!

Travelled on 11 March 2016.

Doing what: Spectacular Hiking in Taroko Gorge: Zhuilu Old Trail

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We just returned from the Taroko Gorge hike. Our guide, William, was over the top/most excellent. He paced the hike wonderfully so as we struggled to hike the slope, he stopped at the right time for us to rest-up. He provided the correct amount of information when it was timely and appropriate. I have traveled to over 85 countries in the past 40 years, and William was one of the best guides I have had in all those years and places.

The Gorge hike is awesome!!

Doing what: Spectacular Hiking in Taroko Gorge: Zhuilu Old Trail

Nicole Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant! Our guide was generous with his wealth of information and experience. Although the hike was strenuous, his pace was great and accommodated to our small group. Will be back to find out more about Taroko!

Doing what: Spectacular Hiking in Taroko Gorge: Zhuilu Old Trail

Dion K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour and even better guide! Well organized tour, the Zhuilu trail is the main event but there is plenty of flexibity to fill in the remainder of the day, we managed to squeeze in the Eternal Spring trail, a brief stop at the beach and 2 local eateries in Hualien.

Very well paced tour, fantastic views and a pretty cool hike alltogether.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Spectacular Hiking in Taroko Gorge: Zhuilu Old Trail

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is an excellent introduction to Taiwan outside of Taipei. Very good accommodation on each of the four nights, and a very good route selection. Lots of temples, sights, beaches, lakes and gorges to view, and periodic walks and hikes to break up the long drives. Our guide, Peter Lee, was knowledgeable, competent and interested in the welfare of his clients. Having a good guide makes a tour that more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed this tour! We had a sunny day and the gorge was beautiful! Josephine was very knowledgeable and kept us all on track. I wish that they had told us that the visit to the marbleworks was really an opportunity to shop. That said, I was happy with the gifts I did purchase.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

christian h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, great guide, great people on the bus. Would highly recommend the tour for anyone who would like to see as much of Taiwan as possible but does not have much time to do so. The hotels were also really good.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An absolute must-see. Magnificent place. I have no idea what the tour guide said however lol!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Dream24

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Josephine was super friendly and upbeat. I really enjoyed having her as my tour guide. Every part of the tour was memorable and unique. Despite the weather, she made things very entertaining and provided lots of information and commentary. While there are limitations and precautions in place due to recent landslides and constructions, it didn't feel like we were rushed, we did get some time to enjoy the scenery and walk around.

I wasn't a huge fan of the Marble Factory, I felt we spent way too long there, and most of my group agreed. Although, I did like that the sales people weren't super pushy, unlike other places.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

clara b

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The Gorge is incredible. The long train journey is what it is but the rush of the trip is disappointing. Not enough time in the Gorge to take in the full extent of the beauty. Felt very rushed with a pointless trip to a marble store and rice cake store. Time in the Gorge should have been more as that is the highlight.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Maria J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour was disappointing as the guide was very difficult to understand. I am a native English speaker, but she was speaking too fast and switching between a number of languages without gaps to really catch much. It was also frustrating that we had not been told about recent landslides and road closures in advance. This meant that we had to miss some elements of the tour and rush through others so that we were not caught in road blocks. This has been the case for some months so should have been brought to our attention when booking. The actual gorge was stunning, though!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

BRETT A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Josephine - the guide - was as an inattentive, ego-driven, distracted woman who spoke terrible English and seemed only interested in guiding her son-in-law and grand-daughter...who I assume did not pay for the experience? Awful guide, lovely scenery but no info whatsoever....

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Terence C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and shared so much information with us on a wide variety of topics. He was trained in safety and made sure we were kept safe, yet could talk about history, culture, topography etc. A fantastic tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Hiking in Taroko Gorge: Zhuilu Old Trail

Michelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing trip and breathless sights! Josephine is a great tour guide. We were a small group, so she took us further and allowed us to do more adventures then normal. I would do this again!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message