Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved this tour. Long days in the bus, but the 5 star hotels at the end of the day were extordinaryly good. The taroko gorge is the highlight. Well worth taking this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour all round. Many interesting sights and locations. Top class hotels. Excellent guide. Very good value for money. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Josephine was very helpful. Lost our camera on our train to Hualien. We just met her less than 5 mins but she immediately made contacts to different people, and eventually got hold of our camera about half an hour later. We are very grateful for that. Trip was smooth, got lovely views of Taroko.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Josephine was our guide for Taroko Gorge, she really knows the area and took us on little hiking trips along the way that gave us a closer look and better appreciation of the scenery.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Very busy day. We saw and did more than I expected.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent!! Viator.com is awesome and beyond expectation regarding booking a tour outside of U.S. Viator.bom's customer service is superior than any others. The trip is the best of the Taiwan tours. Only suggstion is to provide a newer buses if possible.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this awesome tour. We have always traveled independently and usually have a rule of spending a minimum of two nights in one location. However, we decided we wanted to see a lot in a short time and not drive, and this tour really met that goal. We stayed at the hotels outlined in the itinerary and they were lovely. Our guide Daniel spoke excellent English and was very personable and shared his knowledge of the sites. He kept us on track without making us feel too rushed. The tour bus was brand new. Our driver was excellent. If you like a beautiful hike and don't mind getting up at 5:30, the 2.1 Km BaiYang trail head in Taroko Gorge is ten minutes by foot from the hotel. It's easy to squeeze in before breakfast and 9 AM departure.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This Taroko Gorge Day tour is great. Josephine is an amazing guide!! However, as a whole this tour company leaves much to be desired. My Taiwan tour company has much better customer service and just all around is more professional. However, if you want to see the Taroko Gorge and only have 1 day, the option and the tour itself is great...one you arrive at Hualien. The scenery itself makes the whole tour worth it. We did 3 tours while in Taiwan and this by and far was the most breathtaking.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The tour was interesting but the plane ride was omitted without notice. A small compensation was given but no choice to opt out. Not an acceptable way to do business. Won't use Viator again.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good trip and guide. Josephine is knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour to introduce you to such a beautiful country. Our tour guide was Tony Li, he was amazing, very knowledgeable, offered suggestions for great places to eat, took photos and organised transportation at end of tour. Driver was brilliant. Hotels were 5 star and great sights!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour and fantastic tour guide. Enjoyed the mix of gorge, sea, and jade shopping! Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Taroko Gorge tour was well worth the time, although to do it justice, it needs more than one day.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We (6 active adults) were met at our rented apartment in Taipei by our guide, Clint Liang. He put us in to two taxis to get to the train station. We enjoyed seeing the countryside while riding on the comfortable train. Taroko Gorge is beautiful! We enjoyed the beach on the Pacific Ocean-small pebble beach. I have now waded on each side of the Pacific Ocean-Taiwan East Coast and US West Coast. Walking the trail up the river gave us a little exercise and a chance to try the local fermented small rice beverage-low alcohol content- the natives produce. No air pollution like Taipei.
We stayed in the Just Sleep Hotel in Huilen. It is very comfortable! Tea and coffee maker in the room and plenty of space. Very welcome after sharing a small apartment with 6 people. We all enjoyed having a bit of privacy and our own space. There was good variety at breakfast-Asian, European, and American breakfast options.
The lunches, native people specialties, were delicious and huge!
Our friend's birthday was the day after this trip. Clint surprised us with a birthday cake for him! We did not arrange it. We ate it in the hotel lobby and shared with other guests. So fun!

Being new to the night markets in Taiwan, we especially enjoyed having a knowledgable guide teach us about our options. We walked through the entire market as he explained various foods then split off to get our own. Clint helped those who wanted help. One of our members is vegetarian. She found good options. This night market had a large variety of healthy, not just fried options. My husband and I shared an oyster omelet-small oysters and egg placed on sautéed greens, then soup made from from hand selecting a variety of ingredients-greens, mushrooms, dumplings, seafood-placed in a basket, and then cooked by the soup maker. Lots of fresh juice stands. The juice made as you watch.
Clint is the best guide! He took photos for us and gave us the thumb drive to have!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lenny is a fantastic tour guide...the best we have ever had. Hotels very nice.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommed !!The spectacular landscape of Taroko Gorge is an absolute must see if you're visiting Taiwan.This 13 hrs tour was well worth the time. Good trip and guide. Josephine is knowledgeable and entertaining. Very well organized full day trip by the Tour Company from Taipei.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip! Accomplished my goal of seeing a large part of the country with variety. I was able to see the city sites as well as plenty of the natural beauty of the country.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best tour ever! This is the 9th organized tour I've done and it is clearly the best one. The hotels were all 5star, especially the one at Sun Moon Lake. Our tour guide Lenny was such a sweetheart. He was witty, knowledgeable, and clearly very passionate about his home country. He made sure to allow plenty of time at each tour stops and never rushed us at all. This tour is a MUST see! And make sure to ask for Lenny!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Friendly and experienced tour guide, Queen of Taroko (Josephine). Great tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An excellent tour. Slightly unnerved me to realize how close I was to the Trans Asian Plane crash.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Overall pretty good tour. However, I went dry season so it wasn't as exciting.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Don't waste your money.The guide was not informative. She gave no history or facts about what we were seeing, but did spend a lot of time talking about herself. You also don't get a lot of time to look around and waste a lot of time- snack and coffee breaks. A long day and not much to see.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip... very well organized.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message