Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 330 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great time on the tour. Really enjoyed every day and our tour guide Peter was so good. The hotels are all absolutely beautiful and they really are 5 star hotels. I really think a tour of Taiwan is the best way to see the whole country, especially if you cannot speak Mandarin

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip... very well organized.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was hands down my favorite tour from my recent trip. Taroko Gorge is an out of the world landscape that is an absolute must see if you're visiting Taiwan. I won't try to describe the gorge because even pictures can't capture it so I'll focus on the tour itself. The entire thing ran like a well oiled machine. Our tour guide in Hualien (I feel bad that I've forgotten her name) was a great character who kept the group moving with high energy. If I had seen the tour on paper and saw how many times we would stop to take pictures I wouldn't have been too thrilled. But, believe me, you want these pictures. And there was also nice interludes of walking and some opportunities to do a bit of hiking to see things that are out of the way. It was a very long day though so don't be surprised if you arrive back to your lodgings and want to go right back to sleep.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The scenery is nice and lunch was awesome. The guide was friendly and helpful but I feel that more information can be given about the sites visited. However, seeing that she was introducing things in two languages (English and Japanese), not giving enough information can be overlooked. Overall a good experience.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall, quite a nice tour to go on if you enjoy seeing the natural aspect of Taipei. In saying that, I did not enjoy the tourist events scheduled into our itinerary such as the marble shop. Wish more time was allocated for appreciating the actual Gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was good to see Taroko Gorge however it does have a couple of unnecessary "tourist stops" along the way. The worst being the marble factory where there is a large expectation that you will buy something.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Expected more based on reviews. More time should be spent at the beach instead of the marble showroom and food store. Was in a rush to catch the train to Taipei so not able to stroll along the beach. The views from the gorge though was great! Food also at the lodge was sumptuous. Should have eaten lunch first before visiting the coffee store which uses spring water.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was very well organized and everything ran on time. It is definitely worth a trip to Taroko Gorge but next time I wouldn't book a tour like this as it was mainly getting on and off the bus to take pictures, with not much time for walking. The guide, Josephine, is very good (and funny) and I liked her very much - you feel completely at ease that she is in control at all times. I would have liked more information from her though and I had read on previous reviews that she is very knowledgeable so was expecting more commentary but perhaps this was challenging with such a mixed group. I had joined this tour because it was English-speaking but actually she was catering to a couple of other languages as well. This does demonstrate how skilled she is but it also limited how much she could say because she had to repeat it three times.
Lunch is excellent but again, I would have liked more information to understand the names of each dish and what they were. The cake shop is unnecessary (though I did buy some as they are very tasty) and the marble factory doesn't necessarily belong on this tour either (though again, I did buy something beautiful), plus the beach stop could be removed. They are all nice enough places but I would have preferred more time in the gorge area.
I would recommend this tour to see the area for the first time but not if you are expecting a day of hiking.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful way to see wonderful Taiwan. We would suggest explaining in the tour description that the daily activities include up to 1-hour walks with many stairs to be climbed in typically warm tropical weather. Best for guests who tolerate humid heat well and hike with ease.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed all the areas visited. A great guide and fantastic accommodations. Worth every penny. Could not have seen the Island for such a great deal and 5 star accommodations. If you have the time go for it you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent scenery, excellent guide, excellent lunch! One of the best day tours I've done and highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Alan was really entertaining and informative. It was our first trip to Taiwan and we really enjoyed the 5-day tour. It was every penny well spent! We stayed at Fleur de Chine the first night and there was spring water in our room! Taroko was BEAUTIFUL and Silks Taroko is a lovely hotel - they had an outdoor pool facing the cliffs but unfortunately it was too cold for us to take a dip. Liu Ho night market is wonderful - yummylicious food (the food there was better than Shihlin night market) - do try the cheese clam and the papaya milk. We took a cab from Grand Hi-Lai (about 5-10mins ride, NT$130) and went to Kaohsiung Eye (ferris wheel) - it was super cool! Throughout the journey, Alan would always give us insights on Taiwan's culture, history etc. I give it TWO THUMBS UP!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We found this tour incredibly interesting with some great stop off points and luxurious hotels, but it was made even better by our tour guide, the fabulous Alan Chou and our lovely driver Mr Wang! Alan has a great sense of humour, his command of the English language is excellent and his knowledge of Taiwan is second to none! This tour is a good way of seeing a great deal of Taiwan in a short space of time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was excellent all round for value and coverage and great guide leadership by Lenny. Would certainly recommend to all. We saw all that Taiwan has to offer. Hotels were excellent, as was Lenny. We had a chance to try the Taiwan cuisine and Lenny always ensured that a 7-11 was available for the not so venturous eaters. Well done.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic 5 star hotels used throughout ( a 1 night stay room rate at these properties would have cost more than the whole 5 day trip) The Silks hotel at the Karoko gorge was beyond expectation. The east coast part of the tour was the highlight. I am happy we went with the five day tour as the days driving were long (most nights a 8am start with arrivals at hotels after 6pm usually. Keep in mind that because of the large number of mainland Chinese on the tour bus half the commentary will be in Mandarin and half in English. Tips are requested at the end of the tour for the driver and tour guide so be prepared.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message