Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 317 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful way to see wonderful Taiwan. We would suggest explaining in the tour description that the daily activities include up to 1-hour walks with many stairs to be climbed in typically warm tropical weather. Best for guests who tolerate humid heat well and hike with ease.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed all the areas visited. A great guide and fantastic accommodations. Worth every penny. Could not have seen the Island for such a great deal and 5 star accommodations. If you have the time go for it you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent scenery, excellent guide, excellent lunch! One of the best day tours I've done and highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Alan was really entertaining and informative. It was our first trip to Taiwan and we really enjoyed the 5-day tour. It was every penny well spent! We stayed at Fleur de Chine the first night and there was spring water in our room! Taroko was BEAUTIFUL and Silks Taroko is a lovely hotel - they had an outdoor pool facing the cliffs but unfortunately it was too cold for us to take a dip. Liu Ho night market is wonderful - yummylicious food (the food there was better than Shihlin night market) - do try the cheese clam and the papaya milk. We took a cab from Grand Hi-Lai (about 5-10mins ride, NT$130) and went to Kaohsiung Eye (ferris wheel) - it was super cool! Throughout the journey, Alan would always give us insights on Taiwan's culture, history etc. I give it TWO THUMBS UP!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We found this tour incredibly interesting with some great stop off points and luxurious hotels, but it was made even better by our tour guide, the fabulous Alan Chou and our lovely driver Mr Wang! Alan has a great sense of humour, his command of the English language is excellent and his knowledge of Taiwan is second to none! This tour is a good way of seeing a great deal of Taiwan in a short space of time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jim
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was excellent all round for value and coverage and great guide leadership by Lenny. Would certainly recommend to all. We saw all that Taiwan has to offer. Hotels were excellent, as was Lenny. We had a chance to try the Taiwan cuisine and Lenny always ensured that a 7-11 was available for the not so venturous eaters. Well done.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic 5 star hotels used throughout ( a 1 night stay room rate at these properties would have cost more than the whole 5 day trip) The Silks hotel at the Karoko gorge was beyond expectation. The east coast part of the tour was the highlight. I am happy we went with the five day tour as the days driving were long (most nights a 8am start with arrivals at hotels after 6pm usually. Keep in mind that because of the large number of mainland Chinese on the tour bus half the commentary will be in Mandarin and half in English. Tips are requested at the end of the tour for the driver and tour guide so be prepared.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When I first discovered this tour online I was somewhat skeptical. I didn't think it was possible to get a 5-day guided tour with 4 nights in 4-star hotels for less than $600 USD. I took the risk, though, expecting to at least see a large amount of Taiwan for pretty cheap.

The 5-day tour turned out to be unbelievably awesome. My wife and I were able to see much more of Taiwan in 5 days with this tour than we could have twice the time on our own. Our tour guide, Alan, was simply amazing. He spoke perfect English and Chinese, was an excellent leader, and had a great sense of humor. He made sure we were taken care of the entire trip and I feel incredibly grateful for his service.

The tour bus was in excellent condition with comfortable seats, fully functioning A/C, and large windows for a great view on all sides. The driver, Ray, was a true professional behind the wheel and went out of his way to help us with our luggage and deliver us to all locations safe and sound. He ensured that the bus remained clean and in pleasant condition. His ability to navigate through tight curves and canyons was impressive, as well.

Our hotel rooms were fantastic and truly worthy of a 4-star rating. I was not displeased in any way with a single room. Some of the hotels had traditional style hot springs and large swimming pools, large rooms, excellent restaurants, and incredible surrounding scenery.

I highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to visit Taiwan. Below are some notes concerning the tour that might help future participants:
- The longest "sessions" on the bus were about 2 hours and these were infrequent. The tour guide and driver ensured that we always had free bottled water readily available.
- There are many bathroom breaks and tour stops scattered throughout the tour, but many of the bathrooms had no toilet paper in the stalls. Some had giant rolls on the wall.
- My wife and I only needed about NT$1000-1500 daily to "live comfortably" and eat well

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good professional tour guide, fluent in English, very pleasant 5 days together

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour arrangement was very organized. Guide from Taipei and Taroko Gorge were both very friendly and cheerful. Although the trip was long with 45 minutes chartered flight and back by 2 and half hour train but worth it. The Gorge was indeed very serene and beautiful.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Well handled by guide Peter with his segments on history, culture and the economy appreciated.
Hotels good and part of the Taiwan experience.
Rather too much/too loud music in the bus - peace and quiet is welcome on holidays.
Not rushed, although quite a distance to travel. Perhaps one additional local experience on the east coast trip, adding to the splendour of nature. For instance, travelling on the bus around one of the older cities and pointing out key features of Taiwanese life.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was inexperienced otherwise we would have started a little earlier and had some unforgettable views on the last 2 nights instead of travelling in the dark and missing out on some fabulous scenery.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The full day trip is definitely worth doing, as there is not alot of 'attractions' in Taipei. It is a whole day out, starting from around 6am until 7.30pm. The Gorge is amazing, but i felt we did not get enough time to actually take in the beauty as we were moved from one spot to the next. I would have preferred more walking and hiking, than a quick picture before we moved on! Cut out the time-filling marble factory and sweet shop and you would probably have the right amount of time at the gorge itself. Also i was annoyed that i purchased this tour from Viator and the next week it was discounted by 25%.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The first and the last hotel are very nice. The second hotel was just nice. The third hotel is terrible, old hotel, the room is smelly. We are lacking of drinking water during 5 days. We stop by too long at some places with no many things to see such as marble shop, light house. However, the tour guide and driver are able to communicate well with all members. Other also fine for us. Thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message