Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 416 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Alan was a great tour guide. Very knowledgable and great sense of humor. Had a great time!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Karen W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

We did not go to the beach or the marble factory. We were rushed the entire time and the driver drove so slow it cut into our time in the park. The lunch was horrible......For the money we paid I was very disappointed.....

Doing what: Private Tour: Taroko Gorge Day Trip from Taipei

kyawmlwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Initially, I was not sure about my decision since I had to pay more since I am a solo traveler and they had to put me in a single room. But it turned out to be an excellent one. The trip was very well organized. Our guide Lenny was friendly and very resourceful. Hotels were excellent especially the first and last nights. I have already recommended this trip to my other friends and family.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Michelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful! Magical! A trek to the Water Curtain Cave is a must. The scenic walk there is not to be missed and crossing the veil of a live waterfall is exhilarating. Our guide, Josephine, broke all the rules to make sure we had the best experience possible.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Wilson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was really excellent, especially the best tour guide Eric. He is the best tour guide we have ever had in all of our trips up to now.
Wilson Wong-Ching/ Irma Lau de Wong

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

johnctao United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour guide Alan was great. Hotel accommodations are nice. Not much shopping during the tour

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Leona T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well organised and definitely worth doing. Lunch was particularly outstanding in a 5 hotel and really good quality food. Josephine the tour guide was very lively and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Earl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, the gorge was very scenic, the guides were great, and overall a great experience

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Ravi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide Eric was fantastic! Everything was well organized, we stayed at the very best hotels, and saw the highlights of the island. We were extremely pleased.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Bonnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful experience. Issac Lee was an outstanding tour guide. We really got to appreciate the beauty of the Island.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

waiyee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

beautiful sceneries and fantastic weather..

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Gordon N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A well organised tour. Our hotel was located outside the centre of Taipei yet we were collected from and returned to our hotel. My wife was not well on the day yet every consideration was given to her.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

emeraldace

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Taroko is not to be missed, truly a stunning place. The tour was well organized, and we had plenty of time to see each site. You must exercise caution at any mountain range with spontaneous, falling rocks abound. This tour provided hard hats for all participants in high risk areas. Quite pricey, but it was great to have everything taken care of for us from start to finish.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Joy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour provided a general picture of Taiwan in terms of geographic characteristics. However, the itinerary was too ambitious, and allowed very little time to explore the features in different areas. The accommodation was nice, but we did not get to enjoy the hotels because we arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning. To make the trip less hectic, I suggested to visit fewer temples and spend more time on nature wonders.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

mitchkaufman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

very scenic and interesting, great knowledgeable guide.
Lunch much better than anticipated or on most tours

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lorrie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of the most beautiful sights! Our tour guide, Michael, was terrific and I highly recommend him and the tour. There were a lot of traffic delays due to road work in the park so a couple of the planned stops were not made including the marble store...a tourist shop but that was no ones fault. The Eternal Springs Shrine is unbelievably photogenic and Swallows Gorge, well, you have to see it. Lunch was very good. All in all, this is a must see!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Taroko Gorge Day Trip from Taipei

Ling-Mei W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time, from when we were picked up to when we arrived in Hualian. Our tour guide Mr. James Kuo was knowledgeable, friendly and warm. He was a great driver who made us feel safe on hairpin turns and added new destinations to our itinerary as our schedule permitted, without feeling rushed. We loved learning about the geology and history of Shakadang trail, walking along beaches and enjoying delicious aboriginal food. He also was very considerate of dietary preferences, as we love seafood but other travelers may not. The Taipei team also had great coordination. Wonderful job to the Topology team!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

Gordon F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a pretty good tour. The train trip was an experience too as you can see the beautiful east coast and see the rural lands. We were greeted by this very lively talkative tour guide called Josephine who was very nice.
We were in the Taroko gorge for a good few hours, did a little trekking and lots of photos. We had lunch in this 5 star hotel included which was very nice.
Then we went to one of the beaches on the east coast which was very spectacular, then we went to the marble factory were they make jewellery, furniture out of those Taiwan marbles, and you can buy jewellery for about 10 - 20 off.
Well recommended if you're staying in Taiwan for a short time.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Franklin-5

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This tour was okay, oragnised transporation and guide ran smoothly. However, definitley catered to an older audience - it would of been good if there were more opportunities to get off the over-touristed road and hike.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Alice C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Taroko Gorge is beautiful and worth the trip out there, but this tour was not worth $149. The day was spent taking pictures and visiting factories to try to get us to spend $. No hiking, no mention of history by the guide, nothing spectacular (besides taroko), not even the guide. Save your $!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Meng Shyan L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

1. The view of taroko national park is awesome and worth the side seeing.

2. The tour guide josephine was really a let down. She keep self-proclaim that she is queen of taroko due to the fact that she has been in this line for 10 years and saying how good she is as well as no one else know this national park than her. Seriously no one would be so proud of herself by saying such introduction.

She just wanted to rush through this tour without explaining the history of this national park. Worst still, she even brought us to a jade factory which i believe is not included in our itinerary. She is just wants to earn extra commission out of us.

I strongly feel that Edison tour agency should review her professionalism towards her works ethics.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Vickie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip and we were even blessed with great weather, despite the typhoon coming the next day. Fabulous views, interesting stops, and a great lunch at the hotel in the gorge. This is a definite MUST if you want to see the beautiful aspects of Taiwan's nature and mountains. Josephine was a kick and kept the trip pretty lively. Even the 2-hour train ride to and back was lovely. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone coming to Taiwan to visit, and it's not one you can do on your own.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Flavio F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The hotels are really 5stars, good tour guide and a lot to see and experience.
My only complain: the tour was bilingual where it should have been only in english. Anyway, 5 star rating deserved despite have of the time I had to listen to a chinese explanation.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Gean Sin L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Very good but I feel the price is on the high side!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

sandra b

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I have to say it was a nice place but what I did not like was that I was suppose to be picked up at hotel at 5:30am. I was ready by 5:30am and I let 10 minutes pass by when I asked the receptionist to call the number on my reservation. Turns out I had to take taxi to another hotel cause driver was having difficulty. Just makes me wonder if I had not called I would had missed my tour? Also the train ride back was bad as there were a lot of people and they were just standing up and being loud.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message