Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 334 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great time on the tour. Really enjoyed every day and our tour guide Peter was so good. The hotels are all absolutely beautiful and they really are 5 star hotels. I really think a tour of Taiwan is the best way to see the whole country, especially if you cannot speak Mandarin

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great time on the tour. Really enjoyed every day and our tour guide Peter was so good. The hotels are all absolutely beautiful and they really are 5 star hotels. I really think a tour of Taiwan is the best way to see the whole country, especially if you cannot speak Mandarin

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great time on the tour. Really enjoyed every day and our tour guide Peter was so good. The hotels are all absolutely beautiful and they really are 5 star hotels. I really think a tour of Taiwan is the best way to see the whole country, especially if you cannot speak Mandarin

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great time on the tour. Really enjoyed every day and our tour guide Peter was so good. The hotels are all absolutely beautiful and they really are 5 star hotels. I really think a tour of Taiwan is the best way to see the whole country, especially if you cannot speak Mandarin

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great time on the tour. Really enjoyed every day and our tour guide Peter was so good. The hotels are all absolutely beautiful and they really are 5 star hotels. I really think a tour of Taiwan is the best way to see the whole country, especially if you cannot speak Mandarin

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great time on the tour. Really enjoyed every day and our tour guide Peter was so good. The hotels are all absolutely beautiful and they really are 5 star hotels. I really think a tour of Taiwan is the best way to see the whole country, especially if you cannot speak Mandarin

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip... very well organized.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The scenery is nice and lunch was awesome. The guide was friendly and helpful but I feel that more information can be given about the sites visited. However, seeing that she was introducing things in two languages (English and Japanese), not giving enough information can be overlooked. Overall a good experience.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall, quite a nice tour to go on if you enjoy seeing the natural aspect of Taipei. In saying that, I did not enjoy the tourist events scheduled into our itinerary such as the marble shop. Wish more time was allocated for appreciating the actual Gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was good to see Taroko Gorge however it does have a couple of unnecessary "tourist stops" along the way. The worst being the marble factory where there is a large expectation that you will buy something.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Expected more based on reviews. More time should be spent at the beach instead of the marble showroom and food store. Was in a rush to catch the train to Taipei so not able to stroll along the beach. The views from the gorge though was great! Food also at the lodge was sumptuous. Should have eaten lunch first before visiting the coffee store which uses spring water.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was very well organized and everything ran on time. It is definitely worth a trip to Taroko Gorge but next time I wouldn't book a tour like this as it was mainly getting on and off the bus to take pictures, with not much time for walking. The guide, Josephine, is very good (and funny) and I liked her very much - you feel completely at ease that she is in control at all times. I would have liked more information from her though and I had read on previous reviews that she is very knowledgeable so was expecting more commentary but perhaps this was challenging with such a mixed group. I had joined this tour because it was English-speaking but actually she was catering to a couple of other languages as well. This does demonstrate how skilled she is but it also limited how much she could say because she had to repeat it three times.
Lunch is excellent but again, I would have liked more information to understand the names of each dish and what they were. The cake shop is unnecessary (though I did buy some as they are very tasty) and the marble factory doesn't necessarily belong on this tour either (though again, I did buy something beautiful), plus the beach stop could be removed. They are all nice enough places but I would have preferred more time in the gorge area.
I would recommend this tour to see the area for the first time but not if you are expecting a day of hiking.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful way to see wonderful Taiwan. We would suggest explaining in the tour description that the daily activities include up to 1-hour walks with many stairs to be climbed in typically warm tropical weather. Best for guests who tolerate humid heat well and hike with ease.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed all the areas visited. A great guide and fantastic accommodations. Worth every penny. Could not have seen the Island for such a great deal and 5 star accommodations. If you have the time go for it you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent scenery, excellent guide, excellent lunch! One of the best day tours I've done and highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message