Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 302 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Love this tour. The Guide is friendly and knowledgeable. It is packed with contents. You have the chance to walk through some places instead of just sitting in the coach. The scenery is worth the effort to get up early.
The food is good and abundant.
We fly there and return by train. We like the arrangement. You can have a rest on the train after a long day.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our guide Walter knew a great deal about the gorge and many sites on the way. He was friendly and his English was excellent. We enjoyed the views along the way and was worth the extra time by car rather than the bullet train. Our driver Jackie was excellent on the winding roads.

Doing what: Private Tour: Taroko Gorge Day Trip from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

the Gorge is Beautiful, it was a great day. You can walk and stair as much or as little as you like.
Lots of wonderful scenery. The lunch was superb. there was a visit to a marble factory where they try the hard sell at the end of the tour- this is always disappointing. the train trip back was good ntil the sun went down.
Overall highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a five starts tour and the quality of the guide had made it works best; Eric has kept us informed and entertained all the time. 3 out of 4 hotels we stayed were wonderful although the meals were experience but we were OK with it. On 17th September it was my birthday and my daughter sent me a bottle of wine from Hong Kong so I would like to open it celebrate with my partner and my Mum over our dinner. The restaurant in the hotel we’re staying wanted to charge us a fee which almost a price of a set meal for some. My partner told Eric about it and he sort it out for us so there is no charge for drinking our wine in the restaurant. We were very pleased and left Eric a “big tip”, which we normally won't. A much smaller tip to the driver as he wasn't customer focus; i.e. he never greet customers, having his phone loudspeaker on high when he playing Candy Crash, and wouldn't left the air-cons running when my Mum (79th year old) staying in the coach as she couldn't join the rest to us for that part of tour and it was 31 C outside.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

There should be 6 stars for this tour, the only part I didn't like was the ending! The itinerary was full and amazing. As always there was never enough time to do everything. Some stops I hoped for more/less time, but overall I thought the time allotted for each stop was good. When you stop at the fruit stand, get a mango smoothie. They are the best you will ever eat! As we traveled all over Taiwan, a lot of driving was involved. I think we were never on the bus for more than 2 hours without a stop for food/bathrooms. All facilities stops we made were clean, however keep in mind folks this is Asia. ALWAYS carry toilet paper and hand sanitizer with you, as some of the facilities (mostly on the East Coast) were squatter toilets. The hotels were very comfortable and really nice to stay in. Our tour guide, Daniel, spoke really good English. He went out of his way to make our trip excellent for us. Anyway he could help he did, translating for vendors/staff, adding time when needed to stops, taking pictures, etc. The bus was comfortable and the roads we traveled on were in good condition, some of the roads were very curvy/mountainous so pack motion sickness medicine if needed because this trip is worth it. I would happily do everything all over again if I was given the opportunity. Everything our guide/tour company had control over was well, I highly recommend this tour! Even though it seems expensive, I felt the experience was worth it.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a truly excellent tour - all 4 of us really enjoyed it.
The hotels were really top - especially the Fleur De Chine and the Silks Palace and our tour guide Peter could not have been better. He really made the difference ! It was great that we were able to hike up to the Pagoda at the Sun Moon lake and to the shrine in the Taroko Gorge. I would recommend it to anyone !

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

With a combination of plane, automobile and train, it's a long day trip, but well worth it. Stunning scenery, an enthusiastic, knowledgeable guide, and to top it off an excellent inclusive lunch. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip - outstanding value - no better way to get a flavour of Taiwan. Make no mistake this is a full on tour and you have to keep up to make the most of it. Effectively most of the highlights of Taiwan are covered in just 5 days and this means a strict adherence to the time table. No being late back on the coach is key - listen to the advice your guide gives you - take some humour for the odd difficult moment when mixing with 37 people on a coach really becomes too much. But those moments were rare and we were especially lucky to have Lenny as our guide. In all circumstances he remained calm and professional - he ensured our trip experience was as good as could be and most importantly he made it fun. As only breakfast is included it was important that Lenny made sure that we had access to all levels of food. Each day, he gave us options regarding both Western versus Taiwanese meals and was able to provide choices relating to what people were prepared/able to pay. Icing on the cake was staying in 5* hotels - a delight to have the opportunity to relax and enjoy such wonderfully high levels of comfort. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were promptly picked up at our hotel and assembled as a group and quickly moved out on the road. Our guide -- Tony Lim made this trip delightful. His explanations, options, and recommendations were very much appreciated. The price of this tour is a bargain because we really stayed in 5 Star Hotels. There are 3-5 major sites each day and some involve considerable walking and a few had lots of stairs. Each day was very full and we arrived each night at a beautiful hotel. Although Tony recommended the buffets at most hotels, we found the dining room, or nearby restaurants more accommodating to our smaller appetites. We asked for a double bed and got a King Size bed each night. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour to any person of any age if they are in good shape and can walk several KM or a mile and half each day because most days, we did that as a minimum and we are 65, and 74. Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared for some great sightseeing on a very beautiful island. We were fortunate with no rain, but shorts worked every day, and we only changed to dressier wear for dinner and roaming our beautiful hotels. Some hotels offer hot springs, some in your own bathroom. Plan on having a wonderful time, especially if Tony is your guide. If we could go back to only one place, Sun Moon Lake would be first, and Taroko National Park would be second. The temples are amazing and you will see some impressive ones -- and given that this country never was under Communism, they have been well kept up and maintained, some being 300 years old. An eye opening tour, and probably one of the best we have ever taken, and that is said given we travel 3 months each year. A great way to see how pretty Taiwan is and then top it off with a few days in Taipei before going home -- the people are friendly, many speak English, and unlike mainland China, they are polite and we felt safe everywhere we went.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The place was fantastic, the tour brought us to their aboriginal's food and that was awesome
and the place so beautiful, the tour guide is totally kind!! keep up the good work!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Daniel was friendly and knowledgeable about Taiwan. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour was good. Guide was informative. Got to do some hikes and activities outside the bus. Provided lunch was OK, but food quantity could have been ore considerations the size of the group. Bus was comfortable. Driver was good.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was ok. For me, I would have rather had that beautiful sunny warm day to myself to explore. Save your money!!! The tour guide was nice helpful and jolly. DO NOT waste your money on the "cultural performance" unless you want to make a donation. The moon cales we were promised was random rice cakes

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The morning tour was great. The tour was informative. Lunch was surprisingly nice.
The tour at the stone factory is waste of time in my opinion. Staff was rude when we did not want to buy any stone.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

1. The information you provided about the agency location in Taiwan Taoyuan Airport which we can activate the i-Venture cards was incorrect and we were rushing around over 30 minutes with our luggage looking for it. Then they took further over 20 minutes to authorise and issue cards to us.
2. We would like to book the Alishan Human Ecology Journey Day Tour but after we made five calls to your agency but they could not confirm the booking and have never call us back.
3. We went to Yun Hsien Resort the staff there don't know how to comply with i-Venture and took nearly an hour before letting us through but on our i-Venture cards during our visit and never give us the free gifts vouchers which they offered to each visitor. Upon return to the ticket office they took further 30 minutes before return our i-Venture cards.
4. We went to National Palace Museum, before we arrived there was no instruction that we need to exchanged our i Venture to a museum tickets from somewhere else (0.5 km away, downhill and back), we have two senior persons which are not very good on their feet, so I have to left them behind and run to change our ticket.
5. We went to Taipei 101 and they don't let us queue on the fast track lane which I was let believe that is included.
6. We booked for a snack meal at Chef Hung Taiwan Noodles, they shown us wrong menu and tried to charge us full price afterward. My Mum didn't understand and thought I took her to wash the dishes.
7. It was same again when we went to Taipei Eye after present the i Venture they still try to charge us full price.
I found the whole episode was very painful and it will be cheaper and easier for us to go without the i Venture card. We will not recommend to any our friends about this tour as it very bad in value.

Doing what: Taipei Unlimited Attractions Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message