Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 383 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip was amazing! The gorge is beautiful! Josephine was our tour guide and she was very funny and interesting to talk to!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This area is so beautiful and a wonderful sight to see. I loved the seamless part of the travel and just enjoying sitting back without having to do all the legwork. I tend to do most of my own travel planning, but this tour was perfect to just sit back and enjoy. For me the train ride was a bit long, but if you only have a day to experience this area this tour works out perfectly. The scenery along the way is wonderful and the two different trains there and back had large windows to soak in the views while traveling to/from Hualien. I loved that the tour included stops along the route through the gorge for pictures and seeing the beauty of the gorge. The scenery was breathtaking and our tour guide the Lion Lady was great!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

AMAZING ORGANIZATION AND WONDERFUL TOUR GUIDE, JOSEPHINE!!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The organization was splendid. They picked me up at the said time 5.30, and a few hours later I was in Hualien. I saw a lot of things, the view was breathtaking, nice lunch with specially made vegetarian dishes for me. It was a great tour and I would highly recommend this to anybody having a spare day in Taipei! Buy your souvenirs in the aboriginal village, they are very nice and not expensive.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thanks Viator! We had a fantastic time! Our guide was massively accomodating, informative and caring. The tour itself went swimmingly well without any hiccups and the Gorge was breathtaking. I highly recommend anyone taking this tour to view the Tawanese countryside and the marvel of the Taroko Gorge ! Thanks again and we look forward to booking our next Viator tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Taroko Gorge Day Trip from Taipei

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

I thought that it was a hiking tour - but it turned out that it was a bus tour with stops where you could take picutres - most suited for old people who do not want to walk.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Josephine was a fabulous guide- knowledgable, funny, and friendly. This was an outstanding itinerary. The tour is an absolute must for anyone visiting Taiwan for more than a couple of days. It is justly included as one of the Seven Wonders of Asia! The landscape of jungle-covered high canyon walls studded with beautiful small temples and waterfalls looks too beautiful to be real- but luckily it is. By all means take this tour, and don't take it with anyone but Josephine!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the Taroko Gorge when you have a limited time and don't want to hike it. Was very enjoyable with just enough stops to take some beautiful photos!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, great day trip. Strongly recommended if you want to escape Taipei for a day and visit the interior. The guides were friendly and informative and took good care of us. The views are spectacular, the gorge is well worth a visit.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Tony Lin was friendly and knowledgeable about the major cities in Taiwan and may provide additional info for some of the local cities. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Before booking, I read all the wonderful reviews about the Taroko Gorge. I agree with them... The Gorge is breathtaking. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable. The Chinese lunch was quite good! However, I will share my tips about the trains.

The morning train to the gorge is a bit over 3 hours and while comfortable and cool with the AC, the bathroom was a squatty potty. Now, I can use a squatty potty better than most, but the train was also seriously rough and bouncy. There wasn't even a bar to hold onto and the urine from the previous person was sloshing about. I would suggest skipping your morning coffee. I just couldn't stomach the bathroom.

So naturally I was nervous about the train ride home and I avoided drinking too much water throughout the day. That was unnecessary as the train home was more like the Narita Express if you've visited Tokyo. Comfortable seats, snack cart coming through, vending machines on the train, AND a great Western toilet. Plus this ride was much, much smoother. I should have bought a beer at the station and enjoyed my two hours on a much quicker, luxury ride back to Taipei.

Yes, please visit the gorge, but just plan ahead. I wish I had known to skip the morning coffee.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour with a great guide and driver. The tour group was small just 3 of us and we were able to hike up a lot actually for the great views ourselves. Lunch was awesome - included at a nice expensive restaurant just for the tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It's a unique landscape a must-see place. I found the tour was a bit rush. Ideally the tour should be two days instead of one: one can slow down and see the details instead of being rush thru the highlights. The lunch provided was above par and delicious.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the most beautiful tours I have ever taken. A great day and wonderful tour. I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very worthwhile experience. Our guide Eric was very efficient and pleasant with good knowledge and sense of humour.
The Hotels were all excellent and truly 5 star.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeżeli ktoś wybiera się na Tajwan i chce zobaczyć wyspę w pigułce- musi wziąć udział w tej wycieczce. Mnóstwo wyjątkowych miejsc, ciekawe opowieści pilota oraz komfortowe warunki podróży. Jeżeli możecie- proście i pilota Tony'ego. Wyjątkowo sympatyczny gość :

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This guided tour is the best. Our tour guide Alan Chou is very knowledgeable about the places we visited. His narrative is very clear and up to date. How I know? Because I checked the information on line while sitting in the bus. His timing for stops and breaks along the way is just perfect.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour for seeing the beautiful country side - especially if you don't have plenty of time. The tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tourguide was excellent, and the tour showed us many parts of the gorge we wouldn't have been able to get to without a car. Of course, in ideal situation, we would have been able to spend as much time as we wanted at each location, but with a tour, that's just not possible, and as someone who was only in the country for a week, I appreciated being shown the highlights and getting to spend some time at each location. Great tour!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was terrific. The pacing was busy but not frenetic. Lenny, our guide, was very informative. The hotels were all superb. It was a great way to see the highlights of Taiwan in short time span. I definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Best 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Josephine was our tour guide and she was very friendly and energetic. The meeting times, organization, transportation, and comfort level made this a very enjoyable tour. She was kind enough to show us to her back yard within the park! I was pleasantly surprised when she and the driver brought the tour group to a very nice hotel to enjoy a very delicious and filling sit-down meal. The only negative thing about this tour was probably me being obnoxiously loud with another American girl, but this was simply because we were enjoying ourselves too much.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would have been better had it been longer, but with limited time in Taiwan it was great. Josephine was the best guide - knew everything about everything and was very entertaining she made it the 5 for 5 stars

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I bought the trip for my parents and they were very happy. The pick up service was on time, the guide was very informative, and the lunch was great. They only had good things to say about Taroko and the tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

johnny
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable, witty and helpful. Highly recommended

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message