Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good trip and guide. Josephine is knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic tour to introduce you to such a beautiful country. Our tour guide was Tony Li, he was amazing, very knowledgeable, offered suggestions for great places to eat, took photos and organised transportation at end of tour. Driver was brilliant. Hotels were 5 star and great sights!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour and fantastic tour guide. Enjoyed the mix of gorge, sea, and jade shopping! Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Taroko Gorge tour was well worth the time, although to do it justice, it needs more than one day.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We (6 active adults) were met at our rented apartment in Taipei by our guide, Clint Liang. He put us in to two taxis to get to the train station. We enjoyed seeing the countryside while riding on the comfortable train. Taroko Gorge is beautiful! We enjoyed the beach on the Pacific Ocean-small pebble beach. I have now waded on each side of the Pacific Ocean-Taiwan East Coast and US West Coast. Walking the trail up the river gave us a little exercise and a chance to try the local fermented small rice beverage-low alcohol content- the natives produce. No air pollution like Taipei.
We stayed in the Just Sleep Hotel in Huilen. It is very comfortable! Tea and coffee maker in the room and plenty of space. Very welcome after sharing a small apartment with 6 people. We all enjoyed having a bit of privacy and our own space. There was good variety at breakfast-Asian, European, and American breakfast options.
The lunches, native people specialties, were delicious and huge!
Our friend's birthday was the day after this trip. Clint surprised us with a birthday cake for him! We did not arrange it. We ate it in the hotel lobby and shared with other guests. So fun!

Being new to the night markets in Taiwan, we especially enjoyed having a knowledgable guide teach us about our options. We walked through the entire market as he explained various foods then split off to get our own. Clint helped those who wanted help. One of our members is vegetarian. She found good options. This night market had a large variety of healthy, not just fried options. My husband and I shared an oyster omelet-small oysters and egg placed on sautéed greens, then soup made from from hand selecting a variety of ingredients-greens, mushrooms, dumplings, seafood-placed in a basket, and then cooked by the soup maker. Lots of fresh juice stands. The juice made as you watch.
Clint is the best guide! He took photos for us and gave us the thumb drive to have!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lenny is a fantastic tour guide...the best we have ever had. Hotels very nice.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Friendly and experienced tour guide, Queen of Taroko (Josephine). Great tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An excellent tour. Slightly unnerved me to realize how close I was to the Trans Asian Plane crash.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Overall pretty good tour. However, I went dry season so it wasn't as exciting.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Don't waste your money.The guide was not informative. She gave no history or facts about what we were seeing, but did spend a lot of time talking about herself. You also don't get a lot of time to look around and waste a lot of time- snack and coffee breaks. A long day and not much to see.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip... very well organized.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was hands down my favorite tour from my recent trip. Taroko Gorge is an out of the world landscape that is an absolute must see if you're visiting Taiwan. I won't try to describe the gorge because even pictures can't capture it so I'll focus on the tour itself. The entire thing ran like a well oiled machine. Our tour guide in Hualien (I feel bad that I've forgotten her name) was a great character who kept the group moving with high energy. If I had seen the tour on paper and saw how many times we would stop to take pictures I wouldn't have been too thrilled. But, believe me, you want these pictures. And there was also nice interludes of walking and some opportunities to do a bit of hiking to see things that are out of the way. It was a very long day though so don't be surprised if you arrive back to your lodgings and want to go right back to sleep.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The scenery is nice and lunch was awesome. The guide was friendly and helpful but I feel that more information can be given about the sites visited. However, seeing that she was introducing things in two languages (English and Japanese), not giving enough information can be overlooked. Overall a good experience.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall, quite a nice tour to go on if you enjoy seeing the natural aspect of Taipei. In saying that, I did not enjoy the tourist events scheduled into our itinerary such as the marble shop. Wish more time was allocated for appreciating the actual Gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message