Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was wonderful! Lenny, our tour guide, had the perfect personality for one - amiable, knowledgable, and energetic. The hotels were wonderful - I had no experience with 5 star hotels prior to this and find myself a bit spoiled for future trips. The only problem was that the Taroko Gorge was mostly closed because of storm damage so we could only see the smallest part of it. That of course isn't the companies fault and they did try to make up for it with other things.

I had a wonderful time and really recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing for the price. Our guide, Eric, the driver, the bus, and all the hotels were excellent. Even poor weather for two days couldn't put a damper on this trip. Eric had a wealth of knowledge and great English, I learned a lot about Taiwan, and he even helped me practice some Madarin!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fun day, except for the train ride back to Taipei.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A very informative tour with a lot of little stops at interesting sites. Despite the recent damage on roads from the recent bad weather we were able to visit all planned sites. The road into the Gorge had just re-opened the day before! The marble factory and the visit of a "beach" could be omitted.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We didn't get to see the gorge as the road was closed from a recent typhoon! The day was fun and full of sights!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was an all day tour. The company picked us up at our hotel in the morning and provided transportation to the airport and the gorge. At the gorge we got to walk around and have a Chinese lunch at a remote hotel. We had to take a train back to Taipei at the end of the day which unfortunately took several hours.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I hesitate between 3 and 4 stars for this one. We saw remarkable sceneries, and only a very small part of Taroko itself, because roads were closed due to the typhoon of one week before. So we felt like the guide had some pain stretching time until the departure, and some things were repetitive in the afternoon (beaches for example). The guide herself was not very friendly, she shouted more than she talked, and we did not feel very thrilled by her comments. Also the organisation with the too-long return by train (3,5 hour !) could be better. However, all in all, we saw very beautiful things and nothing dramatically went wrong... so "worth doing" !

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The whole trip was well scheduled. And tour guide was excellent, speaking fluent english and taking good care of people in our tour group. All the hotels that we stayed were absolutley awsome. I am very much satisfied with this trip overall.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour. Beautiful landscapes. Nice food. Excellent hotels, but the tight schedule does not allow a full enjoyment of the amenities. The tour guide (Peter) is just great.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent - all of it; Guide Josephine was great.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The bus is excellent. All hotels are 5-star with hotspring spa. My tour guide was ok.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall a very nicely organized tour of Taroko Gorge, but beware that it's a tiring trip. However, at least on the way back to Taipei you can snooze (it's about a 2 1/2 hour train ride back). Our tour guide, Jane (I think), was excellent - full of information and her English was impeccable (as was her Japanese as well). The lunch was very good as well and they were very accommodating to folks with certain diet requirements. Definitely a must see if you get the chance to visit Taiwan. If I had to nitpick anything - would by-pass the trip to see the ocean (a beach is a beach is a beach) and spend the extra 20 minutes or so at the Eternal Springs (pictured at the left). The time allotted was too short if one wants to climb up to see the 2nd or 3rd Pagodas on the hill.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was very well organized and the guide was great.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent accommodation and a brilliant guide (Alan). Not 5/5 as the itinerary day 3 should be improved.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message