Steeped in traditional Chinese culture, with influences from Japan and the island's own indigenous tribes, Taiwan is a destination full of surprises. Beyond the bustling metropolises are lush tropical landscapes, rushing rivers, hot springs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 547 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

WILLESTER Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was funny and informative enough. but it would have been better if we spent more time in the tour rather than the marble factory. The marble factory was such a waste. And would have really appreciated it if there were more time given in exploring the eternal spring shrine rather than just giving a mere 20 minutes to explore. No time to reminisce the place and be in awe since it was always in a hurry. The National Park itself is better than I expected though.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was well done and the hotels were amazing. One downside to this tour is probably the same for any generic tour, too much time stopping for bathroom, coffee and food and not enough stops along to way for photography. In general, I would say the tour was worth doing and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Charles L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Josephine was a fantastic tour guide - kept everyone (and everything) on track and on time. Gorge is amazing. It and #39;s up there as one of the top sites in Asia. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Andreas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with a very friendly and knowledgeable guide! Best way to explore this beautiful and vibrant city. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is an excellent introduction to Taiwan outside of Taipei. Very good accommodation on each of the four nights, and a very good route selection. Lots of temples, sights, beaches, lakes and gorges to view, and periodic walks and hikes to break up the long drives. Our guide, Peter Lee, was knowledgeable, competent and interested in the welfare of his clients. Having a good guide makes a tour that more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed this tour! We had a sunny day and the gorge was beautiful! Josephine was very knowledgeable and kept us all on track. I wish that they had told us that the visit to the marbleworks was really an opportunity to shop. That said, I was happy with the gifts I did purchase.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

christian h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, great guide, great people on the bus. Would highly recommend the tour for anyone who would like to see as much of Taiwan as possible but does not have much time to do so. The hotels were also really good.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guides Bill and Spencer were great! Did not do the train ride but were compensated with a side visit to the quirky Cat Village which was fine. Both guides full of varied and interesting information and a great sense of humour - it made the tour. Did the old gold mining area, the alleys of Jiufen, Houtong Cat Village, the waterfall just outside of Shifen and finished with the Lantern experience. As there were only 2 of us this day had private car journey the whole day! Great itinerary and money well worth spent here. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Jan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An absolute must-see. Magnificent place. I have no idea what the tour guide said however lol!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Amelie D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was the first time for us to book a tour via trip advisor. I did not know what to expect but it was a great day.
Our tour guide, Jett, was very friendly, spoke good english and had interesting things to say.
Driver was also a very good one. The tour itself was fun and interesting to to with kids 5 to 13 years old. We all had a good time!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

faten a

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Tina was very helpful and she helped us with things during our whole stay, Thank you Tina. The tour was excellent and a wonderful experience but we didn't get the train from Pingxi because one of our group member did not arrive on time. So, in this case there should be other plans! Or we can have arrived a bit earlier so that all have the time to get on the train!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Dream24

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Josephine was super friendly and upbeat. I really enjoyed having her as my tour guide. Every part of the tour was memorable and unique. Despite the weather, she made things very entertaining and provided lots of information and commentary. While there are limitations and precautions in place due to recent landslides and constructions, it didn't feel like we were rushed, we did get some time to enjoy the scenery and walk around.

I wasn't a huge fan of the Marble Factory, I felt we spent way too long there, and most of my group agreed. Although, I did like that the sales people weren't super pushy, unlike other places.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

clara b

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The Gorge is incredible. The long train journey is what it is but the rush of the trip is disappointing. Not enough time in the Gorge to take in the full extent of the beauty. Felt very rushed with a pointless trip to a marble store and rice cake store. Time in the Gorge should have been more as that is the highlight.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

BERTRAND D

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A small park worth to see if you want to kill some time. There is nothing much to see there though.

Doing what: Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Emily Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour itself covers lots of ground but it was not a small group as promised - as a result, we had problems such as slow moving group members, missed train, and delays due to group members not adhering to schedule.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Parisait

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Though the tour was nice, I was disappointed not to see all the wonders of the park. we had a short walk at a garden near the summer house of Chang Kai-Shek, nothing special to see. Looking at pictures of the PARK there should be amazing flowers this time of the year.

However, our guide, Jacky Chan was very positive and nice and the visit at the hot springs and the Japanese Spa was relaxing and fun.

If you are looking to see the nature in the park, its better to take public transportation and tour the park by your self

Doing what: Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Maria J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour was disappointing as the guide was very difficult to understand. I am a native English speaker, but she was speaking too fast and switching between a number of languages without gaps to really catch much. It was also frustrating that we had not been told about recent landslides and road closures in advance. This meant that we had to miss some elements of the tour and rush through others so that we were not caught in road blocks. This has been the case for some months so should have been brought to our attention when booking. The actual gorge was stunning, though!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

BRETT A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Josephine - the guide - was as an inattentive, ego-driven, distracted woman who spoke terrible English and seemed only interested in guiding her son-in-law and grand-daughter...who I assume did not pay for the experience? Awful guide, lovely scenery but no info whatsoever....

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Zenia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved our tour guide Jacky Chan and we were the only people on the tour which was awesome as we both can speak fluent mandarin. Jacky was very informative and very funny. He showed us the different types of the cherry blossoms. He is very knowledgable and also he can speak fluent Japanese!!!!

Doing what: Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Michelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing trip and breathless sights! Josephine is a great tour guide. We were a small group, so she took us further and allowed us to do more adventures then normal. I would do this again!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Willie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Zenia C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Really loved the tour and our Tour guide Steven, however i think the itinerary needs to change. I rather spent more time in Jiu Fen old street then going to see the coal mine in Ching Tung 箐茼。 I think it would be good just to have a full day tour just going to Jiu Fen old street and then another tour to Shi Fen Water fall and Ping Xi for sky lantern. It was really rush but our tour guide was great and always smile.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Gerald M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a fun and interesting tour. So many highlights in just 5 days. Sun Moon Lake was gorgeous, the Liu He night market in KaoShiung was exciting and delicious, Taroko Gorge was awesomely beautiful, as was Qing Shui cliff. Our tour guide Peter was fun and entertaining. Our driver was skilled and professional, too. There were only a couple of shopping stops, one brief one at a fruit market where the tour group could use the bathroom and another lasting about an hour in Hualien at a jewelry store, but no pressure to buy at either stop. Taiwan is a beautiful country and this is a good way to see most all of it affordably and efficiently.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

P L K W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Small group of 6 which made it very pleasant and easy to follow and hear the tour guide. The place was amazing, definitely worth the long day and had the opportunity to taste aboriginal cuisine as well as experience the rail network. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour fun.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Adam E

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The tour guide was great. The gorge was beautiful and lunch was interesting. However, we were not allowed on the bridges... one of the main reasons I wanted to do this tour... and the temple on the waterfall shown in the photo gallery was closed due to recent landslides. The marble factory was a waste of time.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message