Steeped in traditional Chinese culture, with influences from Japan and the island's own indigenous tribes, Taiwan is a destination full of surprises. Beyond the bustling metropolises are lush tropical landscapes, rushing rivers, hot springs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fantastic and comprehensive tour around the beautiful Taroko Gorge. I was convinced to book this trip after reading such fantastic reviews and hearing about it and its stunning scenery from the Lonely Planet guide, and I do not regret a thing. A fantastic, well-planned day out with an incredibly helpful and accommodating tour guide to ensure we got the best out of the day. Would highly recommend to other travellers. Thank you!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is an absolute "must-do" if you are in Taipei! I contemplated other ways to go about seeing Taroko Gorge and I am so glad we went with this option. The process of flying there and taking the train back was perfectly timed and the early wake up time for the flight was definitely worth it. The tour guide Josephine was excellent, very energetic and attentive to the needs of the group. The lunch definitely exceeded my expectations for a meal served on a group trip. It wasn't your typical touristy establishment and the food was delicious. One thing I will say is that the marble factory was overpriced (which I know the tour guide/company can't really control). I loved some of the things I saw but I passed because of the price. I found them for significantly less at another location so I am glad I waited. Overall we were very pleased with this trip and I would recommend to those looking for an escape from the city and wanting to experience the beautiful nature that Taiwan has to offer.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide Tony was very entertaining and informative, could have done with less temples in first couple of days, with more time at the Hotels which were all five star.
Highlight of trip was Taroko Gorge.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour with beautiful landscape and wonderful sceneries

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was outstanding. One of my new favorite places in the world!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent trip and one I'd recommend anyone visiting Taipei to take - amazing scenery and a very engaging and enthusiastic guide. The inclusive lunch at a very nice hotel was also very welcome after all the walking

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, great tour guide + driver, great country , great food+ hotels, great landscapes and great weather all the time. Every thing great great great, nothing went wrong and I was very happy and have nothing bad to say

I just want to suggest you should do a 6 day instead of 5 and stay 1 more night in Fleur de Chine or Silk hotels so you could at least enjoy more these beautiful places and do some hiking, cycling or just relaxing the day you are not in the bus
Also you should organise the first evening a included commun dinner with all the passengers on a round chinese style table with all the assortment of taiwanese food , the tour guide explaining the food and eating with us. It would be nice to learn to know each other quickly that way
Of course this would be all at additionnal expense but we will spend it anyway...

But like he is now this tour is the best to learn to know Taiwan, highly recommended

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was wonderful; the transfer to the airport and the plane ride to Hualien went seemlessly and the tour coach was very comfortable. Our guide Josephine spoke very good English and was a font of knowledge for all that we passed, and more.
Taroko Gorge is wonderful, and I was pleased to have been able to experienced some of it by foot, listening to the cicadas and the river. The walks were very easy if you are fit, would have loved to have spent more time walking (although there had been a rockfall on the first 'hike' so could not have gone further). The area around the lunch stop was very interesting, although we didn't get enough time to really explore the temples.
Lunch at the Silks Palace Hotel was delicious and exceeding my expectations.
Picked up some nice Mango Cakes from the cake factory and a visit to the marble factory was interesting. The beach was ok; we were all quite hot and tired and I would preferred to have started home as its a nearly 3hr long train ride back to Taipei.
However, I lost my phone on the beach, only realised at the train station and Josephine went beyond the call of duty to get me back to the beach to rescue my phone, before a mad dash and several frantic phone calls to the train station ticket office to get us onto another train! (Many thanks!! :D)
(If there was a tiny single thing I could add would be a roll of toilet paper on the tour bus as almost all toilets had no paper - take note).
A brilliant day out with a very kind and helpful guide, fantastic memories and photos, highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

PRETTY NICE TOUR WITH A GOOD GUIDE. WE LOVED THE DINNER!

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Mongolian BBQ Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great fun and the guide wonderful. The Gorge is beautiful. Could have used more time to hike in various places and take an earlier train back if one was available.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The scenery was amazing. The tour guide, not so much. I really wanted to have some info about the area, the types of wildlife present there, the geological background, etc. and there was no substance there. She was very pleasant and energetic, however.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The trip was OK! VERY expensive for what you learn and see. The tour guide was not very informative on our surroundings,had to ask a lot of questions and that is hard to do from the back of a bus! My daughter fell down and broke her wrist @ Autumn/Summer pavilion and there was no way to splint it until we got to the hotel and went to the hospital! I CAN'T BELIEVE THERE IS NO FIRST AID KIT ON YOUR BUSES! The guide at one point put on a movie that was TOTALLY inappropriate for young viewers (there were several young children on the bus) No one would say anything,but they were clearly upset, so I went to the front of the bus and ask him to stop the movie!!
The best part of the trip was The first hotel we stayed at!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Enjoyed the night market, but the Mongolian BBQ was poor. Bad location and the dinner was average. Not enough time was given for the famous Taipei 101

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Mongolian BBQ Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message