Steeped in traditional Chinese culture, with influences from Japan and the island's own indigenous tribes, Taiwan is a destination full of surprises. Beyond the bustling metropolises are lush tropical landscapes, rushing rivers, hot springs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 476 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Josephine was a fabulous guide- knowledgable, funny, and friendly. This was an outstanding itinerary. The tour is an absolute must for anyone visiting Taiwan for more than a couple of days. It is justly included as one of the Seven Wonders of Asia! The landscape of jungle-covered high canyon walls studded with beautiful small temples and waterfalls looks too beautiful to be real- but luckily it is. By all means take this tour, and don't take it with anyone but Josephine!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see the Taroko Gorge when you have a limited time and don't want to hike it. Was very enjoyable with just enough stops to take some beautiful photos!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, great day trip. Strongly recommended if you want to escape Taipei for a day and visit the interior. The guides were friendly and informative and took good care of us. The views are spectacular, the gorge is well worth a visit.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding tour, outstanding guide, just a wonderful experience! Thank you so much!

Doing what: Tea of Taipei: Small-Group Tour with Taipei City Sightseeing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Tony Lin was friendly and knowledgeable about the major cities in Taiwan and may provide additional info for some of the local cities. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Before booking, I read all the wonderful reviews about the Taroko Gorge. I agree with them... The Gorge is breathtaking. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable. The Chinese lunch was quite good! However, I will share my tips about the trains.

The morning train to the gorge is a bit over 3 hours and while comfortable and cool with the AC, the bathroom was a squatty potty. Now, I can use a squatty potty better than most, but the train was also seriously rough and bouncy. There wasn't even a bar to hold onto and the urine from the previous person was sloshing about. I would suggest skipping your morning coffee. I just couldn't stomach the bathroom.

So naturally I was nervous about the train ride home and I avoided drinking too much water throughout the day. That was unnecessary as the train home was more like the Narita Express if you've visited Tokyo. Comfortable seats, snack cart coming through, vending machines on the train, AND a great Western toilet. Plus this ride was much, much smoother. I should have bought a beer at the station and enjoyed my two hours on a much quicker, luxury ride back to Taipei.

Yes, please visit the gorge, but just plan ahead. I wish I had known to skip the morning coffee.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Kurt was awesome! It turned out I was the only one for this outing. We did some hiking in the small forest and climbed some hills. We ate the miners' lunch. Toured around Pingxi. Had stinky tofu, Taiwanese hot dog, and the local bubble tea drinks. Released the lantern. Bought gifts. Kurt did a great job showing me around I felt like having a friend showing me around the area instead of a tour guide. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour with a great guide and driver. The tour group was small just 3 of us and we were able to hike up a lot actually for the great views ourselves. Lunch was awesome - included at a nice expensive restaurant just for the tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

howtaobrowncow
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was excellent! Run by Steve, it took us through local sights in the Jiufen area, mostly repurposed former mining towns. This included the particular area I was interested in, a winding mountainside market street that included the large tea house used by Miyazaki as inspiration in the movie Spirited Away. And that market street is full of places to eat with interesting and unique food, and lots of little shops where I finally found some souvenir gifts worthy of my young nieces, so I was pretty happy about that. Steve was a fantastic tour guide, friendly, knowledgable, and enthusiastic, with excellent command of the English language. He pointed out many bits of trivia in the local areas that you'd never have known otherwise: my favorite was which of the market street shops made the original ice cream and peanut burrito super yummy, and which shop that also made them was just an imitator. Your guide really makes or breaks a tour, and Steve had everything you need for a great guide: great communication skills, and lots of local knowledge entertainingly delivered. I could not recommend him, and the tour, more highly. I'd also generally recommend other tours by his company: they were much better about communication in advance of the tour than other companies I've been booked with, and their hiring of Steve and his similarly able driver and tour guide in training Gordon, speak well of their staffing choices.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It's a unique landscape a must-see place. I found the tour was a bit rush. Ideally the tour should be two days instead of one: one can slow down and see the details instead of being rush thru the highlights. The lunch provided was above par and delicious.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was really nice and knowledgeable. Very enjoyable tour

Doing what: Tea of Taipei: Small-Group Tour with Taipei City Sightseeing

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

guide was late so we left hotel around 1030ish
guide speaks average english
view in the north was great! golden waterfall, jifen, shifen, lantern experience in the old railway was great too.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the most beautiful tours I have ever taken. A great day and wonderful tour. I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very worthwhile experience. Our guide Eric was very efficient and pleasant with good knowledge and sense of humour.
The Hotels were all excellent and truly 5 star.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeżeli ktoś wybiera się na Tajwan i chce zobaczyć wyspę w pigułce- musi wziąć udział w tej wycieczce. Mnóstwo wyjątkowych miejsc, ciekawe opowieści pilota oraz komfortowe warunki podróży. Jeżeli możecie- proście i pilota Tony'ego. Wyjątkowo sympatyczny gość :

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide Mr Tai was friendly and helpful, as well as knowledgeable.
Had given my friend and I a fruitful and insightful trip.
Would definitely recommend this for a different experience in taipei!

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This guided tour is the best. Our tour guide Alan Chou is very knowledgeable about the places we visited. His narrative is very clear and up to date. How I know? Because I checked the information on line while sitting in the bus. His timing for stops and breaks along the way is just perfect.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour for seeing the beautiful country side - especially if you don't have plenty of time. The tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tourguide was excellent, and the tour showed us many parts of the gorge we wouldn't have been able to get to without a car. Of course, in ideal situation, we would have been able to spend as much time as we wanted at each location, but with a tour, that's just not possible, and as someone who was only in the country for a week, I appreciated being shown the highlights and getting to spend some time at each location. Great tour!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was terrific. The pacing was busy but not frenetic. Lenny, our guide, was very informative. The hotels were all superb. It was a great way to see the highlights of Taiwan in short time span. I definitely recommend it.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Josephine was our tour guide and she was very friendly and energetic. The meeting times, organization, transportation, and comfort level made this a very enjoyable tour. She was kind enough to show us to her back yard within the park! I was pleasantly surprised when she and the driver brought the tour group to a very nice hotel to enjoy a very delicious and filling sit-down meal. The only negative thing about this tour was probably me being obnoxiously loud with another American girl, but this was simply because we were enjoying ourselves too much.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would have been better had it been longer, but with limited time in Taiwan it was great. Josephine was the best guide - knew everything about everything and was very entertaining she made it the 5 for 5 stars

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I bought the trip for my parents and they were very happy. The pick up service was on time, the guide was very informative, and the lunch was great. They only had good things to say about Taroko and the tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message