Steeped in traditional Chinese culture, with influences from Japan and the island's own indigenous tribes, Taiwan is a destination full of surprises. Beyond the bustling metropolises are lush tropical landscapes, rushing rivers, hot springs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 560 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Estela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 5 day best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei was excellent. The itenirary and hotel acccommodations are first rate and our tour guide Alan Chou was fantastic.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First class tour that surpassed ou expectations which I would certainly recommend to anyone wanting to get an overview of what Taiwan has to offer in a short space of time.
Where to begin.... The choice of stops and tourist attractions was well thought out and these are covered adequately by the Viator itinerary.
Our guide Alan Chou who was exceptional as tour leader conducted the tour in both Chinese and English. He was witty, informative, very knowledgeable and always more than happy to explain anything during the trip. Bus driver was also very helpful and always smiling.
The hotels we stayed in were all truly 5 star everyone expressed surprise and delight at this as we all expected less. Each hotel had it's own redeeming features but the hot springs hotel at Sun Moon Lake was our favourite. The Taroko Gorge was the highlight of the trip for us.
One of the other delights of this trip was that there was a mix of people from all over the world and all age groups. We made some very good friends during the five days. I would suggest you bring a map of Taiwan you can pick one up from your departure hotel, so that you can follow the route. Also a guide book such as Lonely Planet would be useful but not essential.
Bring adaptors for the local power points.
Although you usually eat in the hotels which can be quite expensive, the hotels all had a buffet option for around 1,000 Taiwan and the guide always tells you other options when available

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Nicholas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out with stunning scenery after the hustle bustle of Taepei City. Our guide David Harn was excellent, interested and enthusiastic without being pushy. The day was ours and we were offered flexibility wherever possible should we have wished to influence the itinerary.

Doing what: Private Tour: Taroko Gorge Day Trip from Taipei

YeeKhin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is definitely worth it. We were able to get the same guide from the UltimateTaipei tour Tina who was able to explain to us the various interesting nuggets to details that we would not have gotten if we had gone on our own. The lantern experience and the narrow alley way that inspired spirited away was great. Tina even suggested where and when to take pictures at the various location.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

martengo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was praying for good weather and it worked perfectly. sunny, hot, great visibility. Very well arranged starting with hotel pick up and hotel drop off. we were all well cared of. Josephine was great, all parts of the tour interesting. Money well spent. Original lunch.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Yesenia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour, it was our favorite day from our Taiwan trip and well worth the money! We had our 8 month old son with us and Viator provided a car seat and were very accommodating to our family. Our tour guide, Tina, was extremely kind and knowledgeable! Our only suggestion for this tour would be to think about adding an hour, as some areas felt a little rushed, but definitely not a deal breaker. Two friends of ours recommended this tour and we will definitely recommend it to our friends as well.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very nice tour and a great value for the price. The tour guide was very cheerful and funny and made for a really great day of exploring the Taroko Gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very unique tour and even included a delicious Mongolian BBQ Dinner. The guide was very friendly and informative as well.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Din Tai Fung Dinner

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting tour and even included a delicious Mongoloian BBQ Dinner. The guide was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Din Tai Fung Dinner

henry.li211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time and the weather also co-operated only rained 1 day. We enjoyed all the places we were at and it sure was 5 star hotels, all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our tour guide Alan, was knowledgeable with the facts and histories of all the places we went. His sense of timing and kept the tour on time was impeccable. Finally with his humor made all that much more pleasant. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

John C G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a good guide and had a good time. This tour was well thought out and well worth the time.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Joanne F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Comprehensive tour with lots of major sites and a good well rounded balance of history and local culture. Great hotels and problems sorted by them really quickly, simple things like having an adaptor. Best buffet was at Taroko gorge hotel. Well organised guide, who could speak in German one moment then English or Cantonese or mandarin the next. Amazing.
Very well worth while way to see Taiwan for the single and new tourist.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

KJCh Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

ciekawa wycieczka

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

WILLESTER Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was funny and informative enough. but it would have been better if we spent more time in the tour rather than the marble factory. The marble factory was such a waste. And would have really appreciated it if there were more time given in exploring the eternal spring shrine rather than just giving a mere 20 minutes to explore. No time to reminisce the place and be in awe since it was always in a hurry. The National Park itself is better than I expected though.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was well done and the hotels were amazing. One downside to this tour is probably the same for any generic tour, too much time stopping for bathroom, coffee and food and not enough stops along to way for photography. In general, I would say the tour was worth doing and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Charles L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Josephine was a fantastic tour guide - kept everyone (and everything) on track and on time. Gorge is amazing. It and #39;s up there as one of the top sites in Asia. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Andreas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with a very friendly and knowledgeable guide! Best way to explore this beautiful and vibrant city. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is an excellent introduction to Taiwan outside of Taipei. Very good accommodation on each of the four nights, and a very good route selection. Lots of temples, sights, beaches, lakes and gorges to view, and periodic walks and hikes to break up the long drives. Our guide, Peter Lee, was knowledgeable, competent and interested in the welfare of his clients. Having a good guide makes a tour that more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed this tour! We had a sunny day and the gorge was beautiful! Josephine was very knowledgeable and kept us all on track. I wish that they had told us that the visit to the marbleworks was really an opportunity to shop. That said, I was happy with the gifts I did purchase.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

christian h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, great guide, great people on the bus. Would highly recommend the tour for anyone who would like to see as much of Taiwan as possible but does not have much time to do so. The hotels were also really good.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guides Bill and Spencer were great! Did not do the train ride but were compensated with a side visit to the quirky Cat Village which was fine. Both guides full of varied and interesting information and a great sense of humour - it made the tour. Did the old gold mining area, the alleys of Jiufen, Houtong Cat Village, the waterfall just outside of Shifen and finished with the Lantern experience. As there were only 2 of us this day had private car journey the whole day! Great itinerary and money well worth spent here. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Jan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An absolute must-see. Magnificent place. I have no idea what the tour guide said however lol!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Amelie D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was the first time for us to book a tour via trip advisor. I did not know what to expect but it was a great day.
Our tour guide, Jett, was very friendly, spoke good english and had interesting things to say.
Driver was also a very good one. The tour itself was fun and interesting to to with kids 5 to 13 years old. We all had a good time!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

faten a

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Tina was very helpful and she helped us with things during our whole stay, Thank you Tina. The tour was excellent and a wonderful experience but we didn't get the train from Pingxi because one of our group member did not arrive on time. So, in this case there should be other plans! Or we can have arrived a bit earlier so that all have the time to get on the train!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Dream24

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Josephine was super friendly and upbeat. I really enjoyed having her as my tour guide. Every part of the tour was memorable and unique. Despite the weather, she made things very entertaining and provided lots of information and commentary. While there are limitations and precautions in place due to recent landslides and constructions, it didn't feel like we were rushed, we did get some time to enjoy the scenery and walk around.

I wasn't a huge fan of the Marble Factory, I felt we spent way too long there, and most of my group agreed. Although, I did like that the sales people weren't super pushy, unlike other places.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message