The historic village of Chiufen (Jiufen) is located in the north of Taiwan, near Taipei and Keelung Cities, in the Northeast Coast National Scenic Area. Once the gold mining center of Taiwan, today the village sees mostly tourists looking to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Frankie was our guide and it was a great trip! We were very comfortably seated in a van, with 3 other tourists. We were shown all the scenic spots to take pictures, and my favorite was taking a picture at the tea house in Jiufen that inspired the tea house in Miyazaki's Spirited Away! Don't eat lunch before this because there is tons of delicious foods to try at Jiufen!

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was wonderful and especially good with a small group. The tour guide was knowledgeable and humourous. My sister and I had a wonderful trip and will most likely choose Viator again for our next local half day trip.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful tour guide and driver. The village was interesting, charming and well worth a visit when in Taipei. Highly recommend for a half day outing. Very well organized trip by Edison Tour Company from Taipei.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Kevin Todaro
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We really loved the bus tour to the coast and Jiufen Village. The hotel pickup was great. There were about ten of us on the tour, from Australia, Canada and the US. We learned a great deal of information and our tour guide Danny was great!!! He has was very nice and had a great sense of humor. He took pictures for us and positioned us for best lighting. We wish we had longer to spend at the village, one hour is not enough time to spend at all those great shops. However, we understand the need to keep the tour moving. Overall a great experience and one we would definitely recommend to others.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip was really awsome, guide was so cool and talkative and evrything was just going easy... greate trip!

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was excellent, good English and knowledgeable. Shared a number of interesting thoughts. The village was interesting, charming and well worth a visit when in Taipei. Highly recommend for a half day outing.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour is amazing with nice tour guide/driver

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour is amazing with nice tour guide/driver

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Epic scenic view on the way and at the village. Loved the preserved village and the lovely shopping, make sure you haggle the prices :
The tour guy was nice and informative.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Crowded tourist spot but it was nice that we had an hour to walk around

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Although the weather was rainy, this was still a very enjoyable and interesting tour to go outside the city, and see some of the beautiful countryside outside of Taipei, were residents often go on weekends.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, I loved seeing the Northeast coast. The scenery is great. The driver was very safe and the guide spoke excellent English. Chiufen Village was far more crowed than I would have preferred, especially in the shopping area. Everything under the control of our guide/tour company went very smoothly.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Clean and comfortable small bus for our group of 7. We saw the amazing rock formations and had ample time to walk through the jiu fen streets, sampling so many local delicacies.
The road uphill to jiu fen was quite steep with many bends but the driver was cautious and navigated the bends gently.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a really nice time with our private tour. Our guide was the same guide we had for another private tour so we had some time in advance to go over our itinerary with him. The only bad part of the day was the weather and that can't be controlled. It made things a little slower and we missed out on seeing some of the rock formations at Yehliu. At least our guide was prepared with umbrellas and ponchos! The guides choice for lunch was excellent. We were primarily a group of dietitians and our guide took us to a food market for lunch. He helped us find all different kinds of foods to try and offered suggestions for foods we might like. And the ice cream shop he took us to was excellent! The only thing I think would have made this better would have been more time in Juifen to look around and shop. Unfortunately that late in the day it was pretty packed with tourists so it was hard to look around. It was still fun, but I heard it is excellent at night so I think it would have been nice to stay a little later (I know that would turn this into a really long day and that may not be the best either). Overall, I definitely recommend this if you have some time while in Taipei.

Doing what: Private Tour: Jiufen Gold Rush Town and Yehliu National Geopark from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message