The historic village of Chiufen (Jiufen) is located in the north of Taiwan, near Taipei and Keelung Cities, in the Northeast Coast National Scenic Area. Once the gold mining center of Taiwan, today the village sees mostly tourists looking to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day. The guides English was very good. He knew I was a photographer and went out of his way to find interesting sights for me to take pictures of. I got some great pictures. He was also very knowledgeable about the country and it's history.

Well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Jiufen Gold Rush Town and Yehliu National Geopark from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Small village perched on mountainside with narrow alleys with shops selling mostly rubbish.
It was still better than Taipei markets, with a couple of very nice Tea Houses.
Good half day trip

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great. Obviously as it's only a half-day you can't spend a long time meandering anywhere, but it's perfect for seeing the sights of Chiufen. The guide is lovely and speaks English, Chinese and Japanese. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide for the day, Fred, was excellent!! He provided wonderful details of Taiwan's history and political climate as we toured the northern part of Taiwan. We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Jiufen Gold Rush Town and Yehliu National Geopark from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was fortunate to join a small group of 6, lead by Jack the guide. We made 3 about stops along the way each lasting about 15minutes to Jiufen/Chiufen allowing the group to take pictures. In Chiufen we stayed about an hour. Overall the trip was enjoyable and I felt it was nicely paced: not rushed.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Jiufen was a perfect half day tour to take from Taipei. The views along the ocean are gorgeous. I highly recommend getting through the Jiufen tourist area and spend more time tasting the various teas. It was a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is very interesting but i think next time we'll make it a whoke day tour because half day is not enough

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow, we loved this trip! Our guide, Danny, was very knowledgeable and enjoyable. The ride to the Northeast Coast is breathtaking. This was by far, our most favorite activity in Taipei. I highly recommend this tour to all visitors. Great way to spend your afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Spectacular and joyful experience. Guide made it funny and easy going.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was wonderful! The tourguide was great and the scenery amazing!

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The half day tour to Chiufen Village and the Northeast coast was a lot of fun! We enjoyed the drive along the coast and many stops for beautiful photographs of the coastline and rock formations. We had about an hour to explore Chiufen Village, which was a bit rushed but still enough time to do some shopping. The main shopping street was crowded with tourists, but it was fun to be part of the crowd enjoying the food stands and little shops. The views from the hilltop village were amazing. This is a unique place, not to be missed!

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message