The historic village of Chiufen (Jiufen) is located in the north of Taiwan, near Taipei and Keelung Cities, in the Northeast Coast National Scenic Area. Once the gold mining center of Taiwan, today the village sees mostly tourists looking to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, I loved seeing the Northeast coast. The scenery is great. The driver was very safe and the guide spoke excellent English. Chiufen Village was far more crowed than I would have preferred, especially in the shopping area. Everything under the control of our guide/tour company went very smoothly.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Clean and comfortable small bus for our group of 7. We saw the amazing rock formations and had ample time to walk through the jiu fen streets, sampling so many local delicacies.
The road uphill to jiu fen was quite steep with many bends but the driver was cautious and navigated the bends gently.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a really nice time with our private tour. Our guide was the same guide we had for another private tour so we had some time in advance to go over our itinerary with him. The only bad part of the day was the weather and that can't be controlled. It made things a little slower and we missed out on seeing some of the rock formations at Yehliu. At least our guide was prepared with umbrellas and ponchos! The guides choice for lunch was excellent. We were primarily a group of dietitians and our guide took us to a food market for lunch. He helped us find all different kinds of foods to try and offered suggestions for foods we might like. And the ice cream shop he took us to was excellent! The only thing I think would have made this better would have been more time in Juifen to look around and shop. Unfortunately that late in the day it was pretty packed with tourists so it was hard to look around. It was still fun, but I heard it is excellent at night so I think it would have been nice to stay a little later (I know that would turn this into a really long day and that may not be the best either). Overall, I definitely recommend this if you have some time while in Taipei.

Doing what: Private Tour: Jiufen Gold Rush Town and Yehliu National Geopark from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day. The guides English was very good. He knew I was a photographer and went out of his way to find interesting sights for me to take pictures of. I got some great pictures. He was also very knowledgeable about the country and it's history.

Well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Jiufen Gold Rush Town and Yehliu National Geopark from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Small village perched on mountainside with narrow alleys with shops selling mostly rubbish.
It was still better than Taipei markets, with a couple of very nice Tea Houses.
Good half day trip

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great. Obviously as it's only a half-day you can't spend a long time meandering anywhere, but it's perfect for seeing the sights of Chiufen. The guide is lovely and speaks English, Chinese and Japanese. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide for the day, Fred, was excellent!! He provided wonderful details of Taiwan's history and political climate as we toured the northern part of Taiwan. We highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Jiufen Gold Rush Town and Yehliu National Geopark from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was fortunate to join a small group of 6, lead by Jack the guide. We made 3 about stops along the way each lasting about 15minutes to Jiufen/Chiufen allowing the group to take pictures. In Chiufen we stayed about an hour. Overall the trip was enjoyable and I felt it was nicely paced: not rushed.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Jiufen was a perfect half day tour to take from Taipei. The views along the ocean are gorgeous. I highly recommend getting through the Jiufen tourist area and spend more time tasting the various teas. It was a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is very interesting but i think next time we'll make it a whoke day tour because half day is not enough

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow, we loved this trip! Our guide, Danny, was very knowledgeable and enjoyable. The ride to the Northeast Coast is breathtaking. This was by far, our most favorite activity in Taipei. I highly recommend this tour to all visitors. Great way to spend your afternoon.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Spectacular and joyful experience. Guide made it funny and easy going.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message