Tallinn ATTRACTIONS See all

Alexander Nevsky Cathedral

The Russian Orthodox Alexander Nevsky Cathedral is situated on the hill of Toompea, opposite the Estonian parliament buildings and Toompea Castle. The cathedral is as popular with visiting tourists as it is with people of Orthodox faith. It is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great as well as the tour guide. She gave a complete tour and absolutely did not rush us. She was also very friendly and knowledgable. I gave the tour 5 stars due to her but again the meeting place is IMPOSSIBLE to find! Nothing is clearly marked and as it was early in the morning there were not many people around to ask and those who were around were clueless! I don't understand why the tour bus cannot do the pick-up at the ships port entrance?... Please consider changing the pick up point. We ended up calling the tour company and the bus came back from us. It was not a fun way to start the morning.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were met right outside the cruise port by our guide and taken to a small van. We spent the first half hour picking up at hotels. As there were no people to pick up we got a private tour. At first I think the guide was a bit miffed, but she warmed up after awhile. A nice bus tour, but the walking tour was the highlight. This town is very beautiful and you can only really see it by foot. The guide showed us some local "color" spots not usually seen by the tours.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent tour a little tricky finding pick up point, but it was great being on a smaller vehicle so that we could see some areas a large bus couldn't manuever.It would have been difficult for some to walk back to the ship, but we had a sunny beautiful day so the walk for us was enjoyable

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A little hard to find where to start the tour. Tour desk on ship had to call Port authority to find out for me. However, once I got there (quite a distance from the ship and the cruise port), all was well and the guide very informative and helpful. Had a lovely day and guide gave advice on other things to do, where to eat etc. Also helped that there were only five of us on the tour. Loved Tallinn.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative on our tour of Tallinn. Her "English" was very clear and easy to understand. The tour included all to points of interest we wanted to see. Eric Edge

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

loved talinn, truly enjoyed the tour

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESION THAT I WILL BE PICK UP AT THE PORT I SPEND 1/2 AN HOUR LOOKING AND ASKING FOR THIS TOUR WENT TO THE INFORMATION DESK AT THE TERMINAL AND THEY GAVE ME A BROCHURE FOR THE TOUR I BOUGHT THEY EVEN CALLED THE # NO ANSWER I WENT TO THE HOTEL AND I WAS TOLD THAT THEY WAITING FOR ME AT 10:30AM AT THAT LOCATION THE TOUR WAS PERFECT SO WAS THE GUIDE AALSA. BETTER COMUNICATION IS NEEDED

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Had a great day and our guide was very knowledgeable. Lots of walking on cobblestone streets.
what a treat to be there for choir rehearsal

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I enjoyed the tour in Tallinn. The tour guide was very informative and knowledgable. She also marked the map to help us get back to the cruise ship.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The guide whilst pleasant wasn't the easiest to understand. We did however enjoy Tallin - lovely place

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had a hard time finding our tour group. Appartently 2 different companies run Hop on-Hop off tours. Once we found them, it was fine. If you take this tour, make sure you pay attention to the pick up times. Some buses only come by every hour, not every 15 minutes.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Poor instructions about meeting place - but guide and tour very informative

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We did have a slight problem locating the tour pickup point at the port, but once aboard we received great treatment and our guide was so knowledgeable about the history and sites visited in the town. A very good way to get an overview of Tallin in a short time.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The tour was very good - covering a reasonable itinerary. We did not realize, however, that we would not have any transportation after the first hour. The 2nd hour was a walking tour. We had a few people who could not do the walking part (which we had anticipated) but we didn't realize they could not wait on the bus during this time and they had to return directly to the ship after the first hour. The tour guide was not very personable and spoke in a bit a monotone but she was knowledgably and informative. It was a good value however and since there wasn't much to see in Tallinn, overall, was good.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Good tour, meet on time. Informative with a good range of sites visited to give an overall view of both the history and current life of Tallin. Dropped off at end of tour in centre of town where we were able to have a meal and shop, with plenty of time to return to the ship via local taxi (7$) {could have walked 25mins,but v.hot} ---IanC

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was a really interesting and great way to see Tallinn if you didn't have much time. (The boats arrive early morning but leave again around 1 or 2 pm. It was interesting seeing not only the town but also the countryside. Some friendly advice though: if you go into the woods to visit the old graveyards, be sure to check yourself for ticks afterwards. A friend of mine picked one up, but didn't notice it for a few days afterwards. We are hopeful that Lyme disease is rare on Gatland Island because at this point there is nothing to do but wait. Really not something you think about when you spend most of your time aboard a ship for this type of holiday. Certainly not the fault of Viator--I suppose its common sense, but hopefully can save a future passenger from a similarly nasty surprise.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a bit of a hic-up as we could not find Terminal A and we had docked in Terminal D. However, we decided you would have left for the tour so we decided to head up and explore the old town on our own. We popped into the Information office and they said they might be able to reinstate the tour in the afternoon, and they contacted your office. They were so kind and we met up with them at a hotel and we were taken on our trip by a lovely guide named Jana Sampetova. Our thanks for making our trip to Tallinn a memorable one. We will certainly contact you again on vuture trips.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour itself was very good. The problem was the pickup. It was difficult to determine the pick up point in the large parking lot outside terminal D. We did find a small sign and hoped that was the correct spot. Luckily a party that had missed the pick up in the morning was trying to find the correct spot for the afternoon pickup and called the local office so the van did come by and get all of us.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Once again, we waited outside the port for the bus, which we couldn't locate. Ended up walking about a mile to the hotel where the buses leave and of course we had missed our bus. Luckily, there was another tour at 12:30. So we had time to visit the Old Town, do some shopping and meet our guide. Turns out we had a "private" tour, since we were the only two on the bus! Our guide was good and really insistent on not accepting a tip at the end, but we won out. We like Tallin very much.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The guide was fairly knowledgeable, but, sometimes spoke to fast. That made it hard to understand her.
She seemed to be in a hurry. The van did slow down for some photo opps, but, It was hard to try to get pictures on the walking portion of the tour and keep up!. We ended at the Market Square with a map and directions to get back to the ship. Which was fine - we wanted to shop and eat. BUT, the tour ended at 12:15. I believe it was a 2 1/2 hour tour. Since it began at 10:30, what was the big hurry? What we experienced was very interesting and beautiful.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was a fairly okay tour. Didn't think I saw the beaches of Pirita, though. The Song Festival ground and the Old Town were pretty amazing. Our guide was pleasant and accommodating. Based on the reviews I read about the difficulty of locating the meeting place, we got off the ship a full half hour before the scheduled pickup time. Glad we did ---- ship docked at Terminal D and meeting point was at Terminal A on the parking lot slot of the tour company. No guidance nor signs re actual meeting place. Tour terminated at the Old Town. Walk to pier was pretty long---taxis were located about two or three blocks from Old Town plaza. Blessed that a very nice, gentlemanly young man, who we asked directions re taxi location, offered to take us back to Terminal A as he was on his way there anyway. Highly ambivalent about this sightseeing tour. Tallinn, though is a must see, a very pleasant surprise!

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Guide seemed eager to get tour over. Gave us decent info, but did not stop sufficiently, and seemed to take short-cuts. As a result, supposed 2 1/2 hour tour was under 2 hours. Also guide was not at port--we were lucky to find driver who was standing next to bus in bus parking lot. Disappointing albeit still worthwhile.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

This was very poorly organized. There was no one to meet us when we got off the ship and we needed to figure out ourselves how to get in to Tallin to meet at the designated hotel. When we did meet the guide she was not very accommodating and became very defensive about the difficulties we had experienced in finding the hotel. Her English was poor and her commentary was not very enlightening.
I would not recommend this tour

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

We were supposed to have been picked up from the cruise terminal, but a mistake was made with our e-ticket instead of picking us up at 10:30 the bus was there at 9:50.
We needed to catch a taxi to a hotel cost 10euro, tour guide said they knew about the error. Thanks to a young lady who worked in the gift shop for helping us.
Very disappointing Viator.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Shore Excursion Voucher stated port pick up. We were on the port looking for a tour operator who was not there. At my request a staff member from the Tourist Info Centre called the contact for me and I was told that the tour had left from a different port and that if we quickly went to that port (about 10 minutes walk away) we would be picked up. We were then picked up by a very grumpy driver who was in such a hurry to drop us off for the walking part of the tour we hardly saw anything. The guide was knowledgeable but our short time in Tallinn was even shorter because of all the delays. First ever Viator tour and I was beginning to regret that I had booked two more.

Doing what: Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Sightseeing Tour by Coach and Foot

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message