It may be hard to imagine, when you’re planning a relaxing getaway to the beautiful beach resort destination of Taormina, but you may want a break from the beaches at some point during your trip. Luckily, Taormina is within a short distance from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 251 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ivanabosco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic, absolutely worth paying for, keep in mind it will get very cold at the top.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a packed day but worth it to see the two site. I would recommend that you stay near the local guide at Agrigento to hear what she has to say and also stay near the Viator guide at Villa Romana to get the most out of your day. For our lunch break, the Al Porticciolo Restaurant was recommended by our guide. I would not recommend going there at all-poor service, mediocre food, and flies galore. It is rated 20/21 on tripadvisor for restaurants in this area and after you dine there, you can understand why it is rated so low.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Would definitely recommend this tour. Saw the Greek theater, archeological park and Ear of Dionysius. Spent the afternoon at Ortygia. Saw the Duomo, Piazza, Fountain, and wondered about the quaint streets.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my 22 day trip to Rome, southern Italy, and Sicily. Stopped to take photos and taste honey on the way to Mount Etna. I would definitely recommend to go to the near summit of Mount Etna and not to spend your three hours solely on the lower level. We had enough time to go on a cable car, then on a jeep, and take a 40 minute tour with a guide around the craters, return to the lower level and walk around the shops and Silvestra Crater. There are restaurants to get a sandwich. I would not recommend buying lava jewelry at Mount Etna. You can get it so much cheaper in Taormina.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Tour guide was helpful, funny and entertaining.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Nigel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Baroque buildings in Noto are very impressive.

Marzamemi is a delightful and not very touristy seaside town.

Doing what: Noto and Marzamemi Day Trip from Taormina

Lorie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Mount Etna is a must see if you are in Sicily. Breathtaking views. Fantastic experience. Worth every penny to take the cable car and jeep to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Terry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this was one of the best tours I have been on we had so much fun i cant say enough about this tour if you are going to sorrento do not miss this tour we saw how they made cheese, we were taking to see the animals on the farm they just had twin cow born 2 days ago. we had such a great time making pizza you have to see it , you cant believe making pizza would be that great fun

Doing what: Sicilian Countryside Day Trip from Taormina Including Cheese Tasting

Keryn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great trip and I can't recommend it enough. I have been on a few of these organised day trips and often I am very disappointed. Not so with this trip. Great tour guide, great food and great wine. The in particular was fantastic. Well worth it.

Doing what: Mt Etna Wineries Tour from Taormina

Aleksandar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I made this tour just yesterday and really loved it. Yes it is rather crowded, but if you want to be on your own, the guide gives you the possibility while directing you to good spots. I did so and it was really wonderful: this is a really charming part of the world and the weather was great, can you ask for more?

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Jillm.smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Comfortable double decker coach. Excellent guide. Well worth the cable car and bus to the top. We had a fairly clear day so views were great. Quite cold, you need a warm coat but can hire jackets. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very enjoyable day trip from Taormina. After arrival in Syracuse, the large group was met with local tour guide, Eva, who did a wonderful job of describing in detail the various points of interest during the tour, first at the Archeological Park, and then at the old city of Ortygia, which is where the city of Syracuse had its beginnings in the 6th Century BC during Greek domination.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip to mount etna enjoyed cable car ride and minibus to near the top. We didn't go all the way up as very steep climb at the end however lots of people did. Spectacular views and time to have something to eat and drink in various cafes or restaurants before the drive home. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

patfirth99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a really good day trip. Went with Alessandro, a young but very experienced sommelier and two other guests. Picked us up on time from our hotel. Went to three very interesting wineries around Mount Etna - we learned a great deal about the Etna terroir and the types of wine varieties which are grown there. Lovely food too. The wines chosen were interesting and full of flavour.

Doing what: Mt Etna Wineries Tour from Taormina

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful day trip. Water around Stromboli and Panarea was such an incredible BLUE color. Enjoyed seeing the volcanic eruptions on Stromboli at night.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Incredible experience. Anyone with a breathing problem might experience a problem with the altitude, high winds and cold while walking around the craters.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Worthwhile experience. A lot of walking between the temples on a very hot day. Bring lots of water with you. Enjoyed Villa Romana del Casale and the mosaic baths in the afternoon.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Lipari is a beautiful island and where we stopped was very picturesque with lovely streets and lots of shops, bars etc We then went on to Vulcano where we wandered and had lunch didn't try the mud baths though they looked like fun. Franco our guide was very informative throughout the trip and readily made himself available to answer the groups questions. Would definetly recommend.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Shirley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Lovely boat trip to Panarea where we had a lovely lunch and free time to wander before going back on the boat to Stromboli where we chose to swim then explore have a drink and back to the boat for supper of pasta with tuna wine and bread.We then sailed to a vantage point to watch Stromboli in action plenty of smoke and steam and minor eruptions. Throughout the tour our guide Greta was a delight keeping us fully informed and sharing her extensive knowledge.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

marlene s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

very good and the guide was excellent

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

marlene s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It rained almost to the top of Etna and we were really not expecting to see the sunset and then all at once it cleared and the view was stupendous

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

marlene s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

the guide was very informative and made the trip very interesting. all the guides on the trips that I took were excellent

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organized and informational. Our guides were good, both our escort and local guides were professional. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in the ancient sites.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Ketevan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organised tour. Exceptional experience. Do not miss it!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message