It may be hard to imagine, when you’re planning a relaxing getaway to the beautiful beach resort destination of Taormina, but you may want a break from the beaches at some point during your trip. Luckily, Taormina is within a short distance from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I very good day, which had an excellent guide, and luckily, excellent weather too.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very much enjoyed this well organised trip. We met the coach in Taormina and were transported to Millazzo port. First stop Panarea where we had a delicious lunch on a hill overlooking the port, then onto Stromboli where we swam from the volcanic beach. Gave the meal onboard a miss and enjoyed pulling out of port at it gradually got dark, waiting for Stromboli to erupt. A long day but would recommend.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is breathtaking. We used the funicular and minibus to go up and we ran and walk down. The Alpine guides were fantastic and the souvenir shop was a great one!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What can you say other than WOW about this trip? Volcano's, black sand beaches, sulfur baths, and of course Italian food along with a boat ride. It was delightful. We loved Taormina anyway, it was almost our favorite place, (sorry Florence is still top of the list). There is no place like Taormina though and the views are incredible. We could see lava flowing from Mt. Etna from our patio. WOW!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is worth the money. The information provided was insightful and the restaurant chosen for lunch was nice.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great experience... Your was great

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour and I recommend this one as opposed to the one that just takes you to the foothills. Knowledgeable and friendly host. We were fortunate enough to see some Stombolian explosions and the lava flow from near the top of Etna. The sunset was also spectacular. The meal on the way back was ok but not a great deal of choice.

One thing to note is that you will need a thick sweater and possibly jacket at the top of Etna. We made the mistake of ignoring the warnings as we had climbed Vesuvius last summer and thought the temperature would be similar. We were very wrong as it was freezing! We ended up having to rent jackets at 4 euros each. As extreme as it may sound it would be wise to pack a scarf, hat and gloves. Our fingers were so cold we could barely hold the camera. My 16 year old son packed a scarf and we all poked fun at him before we left but needless to say he had the last laugh. This trip is well worth the money - just go prepared.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous Outing!!...It was an absolutely beautiful day!--from the wonderful demeanor of our tour guide, Santo to the transportation to the beautiful islands...My daughter and I rented a paddle boat on Panarea--we paddled around, docked the boat and swam in the sea. It was beautiful...Stromboli was gorgeous- with its black sand beach and the volcano exploded 4 times!! while we watched from the boat!...The dinner was okay, but it the grand scheme of the day``wonderful!!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow!
Seeing a live volcanic eruption and visiting those beautiful islands were a wonderful life fulfilling opportunity

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very thorough and saw everything. I like the idea of eating on your own so you can decide if you want to spend more time eating or touring by yourself.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and amazing experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed this tour as well. Felt like we saw everything. Discovered aranchinas and ate great pizza at the boat tour.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide was excellent at explaining the history of Syracuse

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very enjoyable, a highlight of our holiday. The guide was informative and entertaining. Etna was amazing and well worth the visit. We took the option to take the cable car and 4x4 bus to the top and I am so glad we did. We really experienced the power of the Volcano and also the altitude of the mountain as it was very cold and windy up there. If the guide recommends it, take their advice and hire a jacket when you get to the top. Two days later Etna erupted!! What an experience.....

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message