It may be hard to imagine, when you’re planning a relaxing getaway to the beautiful beach resort destination of Taormina, but you may want a break from the beaches at some point during your trip. Luckily, Taormina is within a short distance from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 284 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

judy.lawrence.nz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An enjoyable day and two different islands which were very charming. Unfortunately Strombili only puffed some smoke and no fireworks but the boat trip past the islands and the blue blue water was exquisite. Only complaint was that the sound system on the boat was inaudible as it was too loud and very difficult to hear anything. All up worth going on a beautiful day.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Tanya D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide and driver! Mt Etna tour was amazing. Make sure to dress warm as it is cold near top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Rita P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great Tour, Lipari was a great little island... the hike up Vulcano is pretty good as well, not all of us made it to the top, we didnt come prepared with the correct shoes... the caves, the views along the way were beautiful

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant experience. Well worth the money to do the cable car and 4 x 4 minibus. Our guide was very informative and took us round a crater explaining the formation etc. A very well organised trip - picked up and dropped off right outside our hotel.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Noel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very long day, but well worth the money

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

E.M. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very long day, but the two sites were so well worth seeing. Good to be able to find our own way round the Roman Villa, after an interesting description from Santos first.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Roger S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Transport was excellent. Both guides on our tour were very knowledgeable, friendly and entertaining.
We learnt such a lot on the trip and found it very enjoyable.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Shawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

GOod. On time and very clear!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

meandpam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend this tour. 6.30am - 7.30pm. 500km travelled. Long day but worth it. Our guide Alfredo was fantastic, really knew his stuff and looked after us superbly. We travelled in a Mercedes mini bus and was very comfortable . Both attractions were excellent but the highlight was the mosaics at the villa. Haven't seen anything like it. So well preserved. Great photo opportunities. Great scenery along the way. Plenty of comfort breaks. Well done.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Whilst this is a long day tour, I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Sicily. The Valley of the Temples is a much larger area than we were expecting In a good way and the Roman Villa mosaics amazing. The tour also gives you a chance to explore more of the countries scenery. My mum is disabled on crutches so is slower, Elizabeth our guide was fantastic and walked with her whilst we had our tour from the local guide.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Jess T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My top tip for this tour is be prepared for temperature changes and have a warm coat. When we left Taormina it was 19C, 3000m up Mt Etna not only was it windy.... hello snow blizzard. We upgraded our tour to include transport to the top, it's worth it for the views and craters. My mum is on crutches, whilst it wasn't the easiest terrain for her we were aware it wouldn't be she did what she could and it was manageable.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

andrei nicolae g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I liked very much this trip. Panarea so rustic. Stromboli impressive. I 'met' Ingrig Bergman there...!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Chitsanu K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unique experience!
We visited on April 2016. The weather is highly windy such that the cablecar had to occationally pause the operation, and swinging travellers mid-air. There's no need to fear, it's just that it took us more time up and down than usual.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Lesleyanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an incredible tour! I met the bus at the Recanati bus station no problem and it was only an hour to the 2000m station where there are a number of shops and restaurants. People who don't upgrade stay here were they can walk to two dead craters. However, the price of the upgrade is worth every red cent. We took a cable car and then a 4x4 minibus to the 3000m level and got a guided walk around one of the four active craters at the summit. The highest and largest crater is off limits and given the amount of smoke pouring out of it, a visit there would be out of the question. On the walking tour, the guide dug down a foot and offered us a chance touch the bottom if we wanted. It was almost too hot to touch! That crater had erupted in 2002. When we were done with the walk, we could choose when we took a bus and cable car down. Once I got down, I even had time to visit one of the dead craters at the 2000m level. In total, we had 3 hours on the mountain and I never felt rushed. Please note that one cannot walk from the 2000 to the 3000m level in that time frame as one couple on our bus wanted to do. Hats off to our guide Lisabeth for a great day.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Lynnemac007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day and our guide was amazing with so much information that brought history to life.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A long but very interesting trip to two great places in Central Sicily, showcasing fantastic remains from the Greek and Roman periods of Sicily's history. Tour guide Lisabeth was giving very detailed background information regarding the two locations, while at Agrigento we had a very professional tour guide who brought the ancient sites to life. The trip is also a good opportunity to view the fertile countryside of this region of Sicily. A trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

ivanabosco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic, absolutely worth paying for, keep in mind it will get very cold at the top.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Linda USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a packed day but worth it to see the two site. I would recommend that you stay near the local guide at Agrigento to hear what she has to say and also stay near the Viator guide at Villa Romana to get the most out of your day. For our lunch break, the Al Porticciolo Restaurant was recommended by our guide. I would not recommend going there at all-poor service, mediocre food, and flies galore. It is rated 20/21 on tripadvisor for restaurants in this area and after you dine there, you can understand why it is rated so low.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message