It may be hard to imagine, when you’re planning a relaxing getaway to the beautiful beach resort destination of Taormina, but you may want a break from the beaches at some point during your trip. Luckily, Taormina is within a short distance from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader from the coach was helpful and friendly.
When we arrived at our destination, everything about our visit was clearly explained. You can stop at the first level and walk on a small crater, but this involved a much more slippery slope than higher up. Having a pre-booked ticket does not mean that you ‘queue jump’, as some people in the party thought, but it does mean you are all ready to go. The queue is because the cable cars are small, for just four persons. At the top, the small ski-type buses were waiting to take us to a smoking crater. Try hard not to be put off if you are a bit slow or elderly or have children with you. My husband is 65, has spinal problems and walks with a stick – tie your courage to the mast and do it! The guide was wonderful, waiting at intervals around the crater in order that those with children or less able walkers could keep up. His descriptions and answers to questions were very clear.
The views are breathtaking; indeed, the whole experience is breathtaking. This is the nearest we mortals will ever come to walking on the moon! We are well travelled and this day out will be among the most memorable of a lifetime.
You do need to take a fleece and possibly a waterproof as the weather can change very quickly. We were exceptionally lucky as the weather was superb and it was neither cold nor windy. We each wore only a light fleece. On the day of our visit, the wind was blowing the sulphur fumes away from us, but a buff would be useful on a colder and windier day to cover either head or mouth or both.
As the tour returns to Taormina in the afternoon, you do not need to buy lunch. We had red wine, mixed fruit and excellent cakes for two for around 10 Euros.
Make sure you ring the day before to confirm your trip and they will state time and place of departure,usually from your hotel or very close by.
Excellent value for money if you can afford it.
A fantastic day out!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic day trip, would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mt Etna is certainly not to be missed if you are travelling in the area. The tour itself was quite good: the guide was excellent - well informed of the science and history of Etna; and the tour to the higher elevation is worth it. The whole environment is very different from the first stop and it is kind of a shame to take the time to do the trip and not include that. Viatour's service was perfect - no glitches. Our name (and at least one other couple I saw) was not on the guide's list, but we had our receipt as instructed and he just penciled us in, and advised the driver for the second leg that we were aboard. I would use Viatour again: no add-on fees and everything is already checked out - so "one-stop shopping", hassel-free.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a LONG trip but it is well worth it. It was interesting to see the landscape in the centre of Sicily. I would never have expected to see these amazing temples outside of Greece. The villa was also described as having well preserved mosaics. This is an understatement! They were amazing as was the whole villa. You can really imagine how it was to live back in Roman times. We had a heavy thunderstorm on the return journey with fork lightning and huge rainbows!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We chose to use the cable car and mini buses to get further up the volcano. The weather was very wet but after a short delay, it went ahead. It was well worth it and the rain added to the atmosphere. My only criticism is that it was too short and we did not have enough time to also explore at 2000 metres. I would have loved to visit the Silvestri craters! We left the site at 2pm and was back in Taormina for 3.30 pm. We could easily have stayed longer!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome trip, well organized, departure and arrival were on time, English, German and French speaking guides, comfortable Transportation and valuable details about monteh Etna!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day tour, make sure you pay the extra and book the tour to the top of Etna it is worth it and most people do it. Good informative guides and plenty of spare time for lunch and browsing.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip! Panarea is so beautiful and the little beach is worth a visit. On Stromboli we did the walking tour around the small town offered by our guide. After we had dinner on the boat and watched lava trickle down the side of the volcano!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic day visiting mount Etna. We went with our 12 month old baby who also enjoyed it traveling round on his dad's back. The views were spectacular and the guides were very informative. We had just the right amount of time to explore the summit. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Denise C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I very good day, which had an excellent guide, and luckily, excellent weather too.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very much enjoyed this well organised trip. We met the coach in Taormina and were transported to Millazzo port. First stop Panarea where we had a delicious lunch on a hill overlooking the port, then onto Stromboli where we swam from the volcanic beach. Gave the meal onboard a miss and enjoyed pulling out of port at it gradually got dark, waiting for Stromboli to erupt. A long day but would recommend.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is breathtaking. We used the funicular and minibus to go up and we ran and walk down. The Alpine guides were fantastic and the souvenir shop was a great one!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What can you say other than WOW about this trip? Volcano's, black sand beaches, sulfur baths, and of course Italian food along with a boat ride. It was delightful. We loved Taormina anyway, it was almost our favorite place, (sorry Florence is still top of the list). There is no place like Taormina though and the views are incredible. We could see lava flowing from Mt. Etna from our patio. WOW!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour is worth the money. The information provided was insightful and the restaurant chosen for lunch was nice.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great experience... Your was great

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message