It may be hard to imagine, when you’re planning a relaxing getaway to the beautiful beach resort destination of Taormina, but you may want a break from the beaches at some point during your trip. Luckily, Taormina is within a short distance from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent trip! It's a very long day, very hot and lots of walking. Bring plenty if water. Very informative, the guide was excellent!

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a fantastic day out. It's a long day and pretty tiring, but really worth it for the easy opportunity to see these islands. Panarea is a beautiful island with a nice little village. While there, we chose to eat at the restaurant called Antonio's, as recommended by our tour guide, and had a really nice meal. We thought the village on Stromboli was less picturesque and there was less to see there, but the really good part was afterwards when the boat pulls out and gives you the chance to see the sunset and the explosions of the volcano. Unfortunately there were no spectacular explosions when we went, but the weather conditions were great and the sunset was awesome. We were knackered at the end of the day and didn't get back to our hotel until around midnight - but it was well worth it.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip to the top of Etna. Tour consists of approx. 75 mins on a bus, followed by a short cable car ride and then about 15 mins in a jeep to the top. Keep in mind the temperature difference between the town and the summit: When we were there in early June, the temperature was 30 C in Taormina town, yet we experienced thunderstorms, hail and torrential rain at the top! But even despite the poor visibility on that particular day, the scenery on Mount Etna itself was still beautiful - the landscape appears almost 'lunar'.

We particularly liked the fact that after the tour of the summit, you are free to choose whether to spend the remaining time at the summit or at the first or second stations. Only very minor quibble is that the bus left Etna relatively early and we were back at Taormina bus station a good half an hour before the advertised finishing time. But overall, highly recommended.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good in every single way!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

When I booked this trip, there was no reviews so I was not sure how the day would turn out.....but it was beyond my expectation! The best about this trip was the lady guide sorry forgot her name!! who was very friendly yet professional. I don't want to write so much in details of the trip so you will find out yourself but do NOT miss the lunch at the local Trattoria that opened its doors just for us! It was not included in the tour price but 15 Euros per person....local Sicilian cuisine....the best ever, you can't taste them at the restaurant in the centro Taormina!! Since it is not covered by the excursion, you are not required to eat, but please do not pass on this opportunity....really the great food ever!!

Doing what: Sicilian Countryside Day Trip from Taormina Including Cheese Tasting

John V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fantastic tour - beautiful scenery, Etna sunset was magical. Well managed with a stop off on the way back for the best pasta we had in Sicily.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous, like nothing on earth. We had a clear day which helped so the views were incredible. Other people at our hotel had cloudy days and were cold and a bit disappointed. It was like a moonscape at the summit. Guides didnt speak much english but were helpful. Not many toilets !!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is an excellent trip! We pre booked and paid 66 each, this included the air conditioned double decker coach from Taormina bus station with a guide speaking in English, Italian and German, he was interesting and helpful explaining the arrangements of the trip. We had warm weather and clear sky, when we arrived at the base of Etna we had a half hour break for snacks at a cafe and toilet break then we collected our tour pass from our guide which gave us access to the cable car ride, 4x4 minibus and guide round the lip of a crater. There were queues for the cable car but with our pass we walked past these and got straight on, the views were brilliant. At the top of the cable car ride we climbed into one of the 4x4 mini buses and were bounced around as it zig zagged up the side of Etna. We were then met by a guide and followed him up to and around the lip of a crater which he informed us was last active in 2002 and we were shown small areas of steam where the ground was increadibly hot. The tour was slow paced with plenty of time and space for some dramatic photographs of Etna, the crators and the views. One member of the group was on crutches and another with a damaged knee and both made it round fine. Our guide wasn't particularly informative other than this but showed us the way to walk and allowed everyone to take their time. We then got back on one of the waiting 4x4 minibuses and had about 30 minutes to buy food from one of the cafes and look in the souvenir shops before we were due back on pur coach. We took warm clothes, waterproof jacket, hat and scarf but due to the weather we only wore jeans, tee shirt and trainers. This was a fantastic, dramatic and relaxing trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip, very knowledgeable guide. I would recommend taking some very warm cloths if you intend to go to the top of Etna, which I would recommend as it is fascinating to see.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Solid tour with good value. Very informative.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Super trip and great value but a little too long.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day but well worth the effort. The temples were great but do not do this on a very hot day. I have an arthritic ankle and use a walking stick but I was able to do this tour quite readily. There is a walk of about 2 miles or 5 km. Villa Romana del Casale was an absolute mind blowing experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was quite disappointed as the local guide who took us around the crater couldn't speak good english.
But with such awesome views it was hard to stay disppointed for long. Really worth the money for such a spectacular trip.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip - excellent guide - exceptional driver - well worth the extra money to go to the top.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guides both on the bus and on the walk around the crater. Would have loved more time but thats usually always the case. Would definitely recommend the upgrade.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

NOTE: everything below applies to the technical part of our journey on Saturday May 30th:

An absolute must-see attraction that will live long in the memory. We pre-booked through Viator and the tour was delivered by a buss company. Just to note, the price in Taormina to the summit and you really must go to the summit! was 88. If you're lucky with exchange rates then it works out just about cheaper than pre booking for 65, but that is a big if. In any case, those who left it to the day to upgrade their tour to the summit had to pay a hefty 60 increase on top of their original ticket!

The bus terminal is located on Via Pirandello on the right a few minutes after the cable car station, heading downhill. The clearly identified coach was large and comfortable. It arrived 15 minutes before departure and left on time. I wasn't asked to show my ID but your experience may be different. The journey up with accompanying tour guide was very scenic and provided amazing views along the way.

Elizabeth was our guide up to the bus station and she provided competent frequent tour guide speeches in English, Italian and German. We had phenomenal weather and were warned that at short notice things could change which would impact our excursion. Luckily they didn't for us but the next day the summit looked very cloudy and I'm sure would have impacted many visitors that went up on that day. So please check the weather in advance as best you can, because we just got lucky.

At the summit, you will change from the coach to a cable car for the last leg of the journey. After this is where you can rent clothes and gear: 3 boots /6 jacket rental about 50-70 to buy jackets. Hiking sticks were available too. Do you need to hire stuff? Well, we chose to take a chance and only wore our regular running trainers, jeans, and fairly thick jackets. I only put on my jacket halfway through our time at the summit when the wind picked up.

Phenomenal experience!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day up a fabulous geological feature. It was very interesting and very beautiful and very awe inspiring.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I found this day trip absolutely fascinating. Our guides were totally professional and informative. The temples are an amazing window into the past. The Roman Villa and the 3500 sq meters of mosaic simply blew me away. It is a relaxing but incredibly interesting day trip.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very impressed with tour and guides!! Best night- Mt Etna had erupted few days before so wasnt sure what would happen but so special as we there- she erupted and put on an amaxing display!!! spectacular sight !!

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well organised. The guides were exquisite. Congratulations and many thanks to them.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kia Ora from Paihia New Zealand
thanks for your Review request on our Tour
We have already reviewd this and it was an amazing Tour specially our wonderful guide Alfreddo
Regards
Janine and Kevin Smith

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A must do trip - pay the extra to go to the top its totally worth it for the amazing views. Be aware that even in April there is lots of snow and the wind is bitter so dress appropriately

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message