Three hours from Devonport, on the secluded west coast of Tasmania, the fishing village of Strahan is a unique holiday destination. A small community built along the banks of the King River, Strahan is an authentic and nostalgic place to indulge in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic! It has everything - food, nature, good service, comfort and interesting local history/information. This is a must activity if visiting Strahan. Terrific value for money!

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The ground staff in Strahan were helpful and friendly the day before our cruise. The boat staff were excellent on the day, as were the actors who helped us to live through convict times on land. The food was excellent, the views were absolutely wonderful and it was one of the highlights of our Tasmanian holiday. The serenity of the Gordon River section was breathtaking, with wonderful reflections, and the stories of former days were thrilling but sad, and the walk through the rainforest experience was awe inspiring. Thank you.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our experience on the Gordon River Cruise could not be faulted. The boat was perfectly suited to this type of cruising, comfortable and with good viewing and opportunities for photography. The day had so much variety with a beautiful World Heritage walk and time on Sarah's Island and so much more. The pace was comfortable giving enough time to really take in the beauty. A lovely lunch was provided also. Guides were well informed and very interesting. The sight coming back into Strahan was breathtaking. I would tell anyone visiting this area to put this on your list.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Through Viator this tour was cheaper than through the actual operator. It was a 'top shelf' experience. The staff were fabulous and we were totally spoilt whilst getting all the history of Macquarie Harbour, the Gordon River, Sarah Island, and Strahan

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Gordon River Cruise from Strahan was excellent. We know why they received the Tourism Award, everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure everyone was enjoying the cruise. The buffet lunch was exceptional and plenty of it. The Captain made the journey very informative and funny. Just the litle extras make all the difference, like putting brouchures out when we passed different parts of the river, and explaining the river as a whole. The stops along the way were very informative especially Sarah Island. The weather wasn't so kind the day we sailed out however it didn't dampen our spirits and we still had a very enjoyable day. Congratulations to all staff involved it was excellent and we would recommend making it part of your trip to Tasmania. The best, 10 out of 10.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a fantastic day out on the water. This tour was not only enjoyable because of the great commentary from the skipper and crew but it also incorporated so many points of interest. Sarah Island was a trip back in time and the scenery of the ancient Forrest with the hueon pine tall timber was breathtaking. A must trip to do if you are in Strahan and well worth the drive over to the West Coast of Tassy to do. The buffet lunch supplied was great too.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the Gordon River upon the Lady Franklin - sceenary brilliant, tour guides exceptional, and the meal on board was devine! This is a tour you must put on your bucket list if you dont do this tour you are missing out big time. Love Strahan - just alittle pity about the weather but even thou it was raining a little the water mist gave the tour an added mistical feeling we went with it and enjoyed would do it again = Thanks to the crew of the Lady Franklin well done people Rosalie and Charlie Coombes

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Von C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Booked this just days before going to Tasmania. Got up at 4.30am to get down to Strahan by departure time of 8.30. Prompt boarding ,lovely boat with great seating options and views, we were allowed out on the decks which gave us a great view of the absolutely stunning scenery on offer.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This trip was great. The food and drinks and service was second to none. Very friendly and courteous staff tended to our comfort and waited on us diligently. The trip to Sarah Island was very interesting made soooo enjoyable by Emily and her enthusiasm. If you go to Strahan make sure you see the show ...The ship that never was . This young girl and another lady do the whole show and get audience participation. It was very entertaining and I had tears rolling out of my eyes. Well worth the money.....

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the cruise. The staff were very pleasant and the food and wine were of good quality. The information about the local history was very informative. We will do this cruise again next time we are in Strahan and would recommend it to anyone looking for a first class tour while visiting Tasmania's West Coast.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This is a must when you visit Strahan. We would recommend getting upper deck tickets and enjoy good food and wine as you travel the river. The onshore excursions especially the guided Sarah Island visit were great. We plan to return to do more.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

I booked online prior to arriving in Strahan.
Everything was as arranged.
A beautiful trip, The Captain was very informative and helpful.
Very organise

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Thank you so much for a very memorable trip. Staff were friendly, helpful and very obliging. Meal was excellent. thank you for the part you played in making our visit to Strahan so memorable

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Despite the weather found it entertaining and informative.Well done to the staff and captain. Would recommend it to anybody traveling to Strahan.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

I travelled to Strahan from Barossa Valley specifically to do this trip after a previous visit to Tassie in which I had no time to do it....I'm so glad that I did. I highly recommend this trip. It will take you to breathtaking scenery and the the staff on board have a wealth of information on the area that they share on the journey. The captains knowledge of the history of the area was outstanding as was his informative guide at the fish farm. Our hostess Irene gets a gold star for her friendly welcome and for ensuring everyone's comfort. Her passion for the flora and fauna of the area was evident in the heritage landing walk, she was truly outstanding. Our tour guide for Sarah Island provided a step back in time experience in a manner that was so much fun. A wonderful meal provided in comfort. I had booked the lower deck but on the day there was no-one booked upstairs on the premium deck so they kindly let us sit upstairs and while the seats were a little more plush than lower deck, I would have been quite happy down below but certainly appreciated being on the upper deck. This is a truly memorable experience and well worth the cost. I will be going back and doing it again when I can find someone to do the kayak experience with me! Loved it.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message