One of Tasmania’s most enduring drawcards is its pristine beauty and stunning landscapes, protected in some of Australia’s best-loved national parks. Tasmania’s bushwalking, cycling, rafting and kayaking are some of the best on the planet, and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 622 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

PERI C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was such a beautiful half day! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting, the boat was amazingly comfortable and well appointed and the food was exceptional! We saw some of the most beautiful sights and learnt heaps about the history of the area.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

HELEN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Being on Captains Deck, spoilt all day in luxury was the way to go and unbelievably had great weather with the rain holding off til the next morning. Sarah Island was an eye opener viewing how convicts survived and the pristine wilderness was amazing.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Drew S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A great afternoon. Left Hobart and drove to the wild life sanctuary. This is not a zoo. The animals are free roaming and the focus is on releasing back into the wild when possible. Really enjoyed our time here. Next we went to Richmond. This is a very charming village. Stopped for a quick lunch at the local tea house. It was delicious. Then went for a photo op of the bridge. Last we went through the jail. Wonderful time.

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park and Richmond Afternoon Tour from Hobart

Maureen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very happy with coverage of the history of the area
Tour guide Jane was very informative and had a interesting way of telling the history of Sarah Island
Well done

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Gary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great commentary
staff interactive
delicious food
totally enjoyable

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Areeya Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time with this trip! Our driver and tour guide, Lain not sure how to spell his name, was wonderful! You need to take this trip!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Colin W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant, great commentary and the actors on Sarah island were fantastic.
Make sure you go to the play 'The Ship that never was', lots of humour

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite the rain, the mist throughout the rainforest and on the mountain tops provided a spectacular view. We did the Gordon Rover cruise about 25 years ago, but with the current bigger and faster boat, we were able to cover a lot more in the same time.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

RedWagon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. We also saw Richmond and the prison. We happened to see a Wedding Reception photo shoot at the Gaul.

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park and Richmond Afternoon Tour from Hobart

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A trip not to be missed in Tasmania. Also be sure to see the play in Strahan at 5:30 each day!

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

david r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide Hedley was fantastic

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

David and Sandr W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had the most wonderful day. The cruise is a great experience and insight into the wilder part of Tasmania. We paid extra for upstairs , it was well worth it.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Lynette H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The kangaroos were up close and personal. Also saw Tasmanian devils, koalas, and emus. The Richmond tour was primarily the gaol originated in 1825 and walking around the small village.

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park and Richmond Afternoon Tour from Hobart

Kerry M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and added greatly to our enjoyment of the day. A little disappointed there was not time to walk right around the lake - but that giives us an excuse to come back. A very enjoyable day. Thanks

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

marion l

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Tour was wonderful, staff looked after us, food and drinks tops, captaind deck well worth it.The views perfect. Thanks heaps.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Barry M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A relaxing tour with interesting stops along the way. Cradle mountain was worth seeing and would have liked to have spent overnight there. The cheese factor and fudge cafe were a delight.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful location, excellent facilities and knowledgeable staff!

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Martin B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent cruise with friendly knowledgable staff. Tassie was wonderful overall - though the drought and fires were very concerning. With so much of the World Heritage area badly damaged by fire this summer, there is clearly a need for better fire-fighting strategies and more action on climate change.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Edward Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Unfortunately the boat needed urgent repairs and we were transferred to another cruise company World Heritage Cruises, which did not offer the same VIP service. However, that cruise was fine and we enjoyed the scenery and the Sarah Island tour.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

David J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Really enjoyed the wildlife park, especially mingling with the kangaroos. Before the tour I hadn't realized that we would be so up close and personal. The stop in Richmond was not very interesting, however.

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park and Richmond Afternoon Tour from Hobart

Mr David R H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great day trip and we had perfect weather 9/2/16, very informative, scenery fantastic. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and provided another great insight into early Australia convict settlement and the world famous heritage area. The buffet was more than adequate. We chose central seating and there was good viewing and plenty of opportunity to go either outside or upstairs for viewing points of interest.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

CAM B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A really nice realxing river cruise with great scenery and two off boat guided tours of historic and Forrest features.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

kjack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing part of the world. Cruise Food and Service - Brilliant. Sarah Island Tour - Brilliant. Stroll through National Park - Brilliant Would certainly recommend

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed the boat trip , very informative, and a comfortable boat, enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine from the bar!!

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message