One of Tasmania’s most enduring drawcards is its pristine beauty and stunning landscapes, protected in some of Australia’s best-loved national parks. Tasmania’s bushwalking, cycling, rafting and kayaking are some of the best on the planet, and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 512 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing food, breathtaking scenery, all in all it is a MUST tour to take if you ever step foot in Tasmania ;)

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very enjoyable , friendly staff

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

We really enjoyed the trip and the spectacular scenery. The Sarah Island tour was terrific and the food on the boat was lovely.

The only thing which would have improved our experience was if we had of been made aware we needed to be at the boat at 8.15 not 8.30. Bit rushed making the boat but all good in the end.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This is a cruise around Macquarie Harbour predominantly, with a decent tour up the Franklin River. We did the cruise straight from hiking Cradle Mountain so just seeing trees from a boat was not that exciting but I do love seeing a large expanse of forest – it makes me feel good. And I sail, so I enjoy being out on the water. However if you expect to be totally wowed, then maybe this tour is not for you.
There are two competing companies doing this trip. I went with the white boat, the Lady Jane Franklin. From what I can gather, there is very little difference between the two tours – they both visit exactly the same places, make the same stops and do the same walk/tours and the boats are of a similar size.
We were on the lower section [cheaper] but with window seats [more expensive]. It was not crowded when we did the tour mid Dec 2014 so booking a window seat was not essential but if it was crowded, then you do want a window seat. You can however wander to the outside areas with a great view from up top.
The boat was large and comfortable. [It can get cold and the boat travels at 28 knots so if you are on the open deck, it can get cold from the wind. Wear something wind proof! If one stays inside, then it is fine. It is cosy enough but I do like to go outside and experience things.]
Food was good and plentiful.
Hells Gate was great to go through – eye of the needle.
Sarah Island was another stop. It was very informative in terms of Australia's inglorious convict years.
As part of the tour, the boat docked at a small jetty on the Franklin River which allowed a short walk through the forest on a timbered board walk. It illustrated how dense the forest actually was.
The commentary was good both on board and on the land tours/stop offs.
The staff generally were very friendly and hospitable.
The Franklin River is iconic and one can easily expect too much. It is a good tour/cruise that shows a large tree lined harbour and hills and a beautiful forested river.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great day out with much-appreciated stops in Sheffield for the murals and for cheese on the way back. Loved the walks at Cradle mountain, the knowledge of our guide and the scenery. We went with our 8-year-old son, and he was as captivated by it all as we were! We definitely recommend this activity!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Such a glorious place, thank heaven it was saved by the Greenies. Our cruise was smooth, informative and we enjoyed every minute, the food, views, commentary and would highly recommend this trip to anyone going to Strahan

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

One word Spectacular

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

worth the effort to get there and an amazing day of stunning scenery! A must for all travellers to Tasmania

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is an amazing your! Knowledgeable, friendly staff, amazing food and great time ashore!

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

very interestring and I enjoyed every moment of it. The food was nice and the tour guard was equally impressive with his desdription and explanations of the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

ihamsy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A Fantastic Cruise it was great to see the Pristine Wilderness that is heritage Listed and deservedly so... Great Luncheon onboard and highly reccomend worth doing..

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent experience with a lot of variety - Hell's Gates, the Gordon River walk and Sarah Island tour. Very efficient operators. Great lunch. Comfortable vessel, lots of space because about one-third full.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic definitely the best thing that we did in Tasmania!! Certainly worth every cent to upgrade to the Captains deck.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

beautiful scenery, excellent service and fabulous guides

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very well organised and interesting tour and the boat used is very comfortable.

Doing what: Gordon River Cruise from Strahan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message