The Australian island state of Tasmania is celebrated for its pristine wilderness, attracting nature lovers and bushwalkers from all over the world. In fact, Tasmania’s entire wilderness heart is protected as a World Heritage Area, stretching from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tiffany U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I booked our own shore excursions instead of going on those offered by Holland America on our November 2015 NZ/Australia cruise, and this tour turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Our excellent pilot, Nick Hoyle, with Paravion Wilderness Tours, changed our itinerary to avoid some possible weather problems, and how grateful we were to have smooth flying conditions. It was a thrill to land on an open field on Maria Island, and then Nick led us on a walk and provided a picnic of hot drinks and some snacks. We got within a few feet of a calmly grass-munching wombat. On our flight back to Hobart, Nick spotted some whales, which we would have completely missed, and took us right over them for a closer look. Wineglass Bay and the cliffs of Pillar were magnificent. It was a splurge well worth it.

Doing what: Tasmania Wilderness Experience: Southwest National Park by Air with Bush Walk and Harbor Cruise

Veronica W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

A fun experience but the organisation and safety left a bit to be desired.
The starting point was different to the one on the confirmation email. We had to make a series of frantic phone calls when our tour was due to start to find the new starting point. Our phone calls earlier in the day to confirm were not returned.
Everyone was handed a helmet but they were not checked for a correct fit. The front brake on my bike was not great and there were no spares which is not good enough when you are travelling at speeds up to 60km ph on open roads. Once we finished the descent I also discovered that my bike would not shift to the larger cog. My husband had a similar problem. I was amazed the leader did not notice, until he was told half way down, that one rider was wearing rubber thongs. We are regular bike riders and were appalled by the lack of regard to riders safety.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Glenda I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The southwest wilderness is awesome. The colours were magnificent. The tour guides were perfect gentlemen. I really felt that I was being looked after which is what a holiday should be about!

Doing what: Tasmania Wilderness Experience: Southwest National Park by Air with Bush Walk and Harbor Cruise

Sandra F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely amazing trip. Fantastic location. A must on everyone's list. The knowledgeable staff made the trip.

Doing what: Tasmania Wilderness Experience: Southwest National Park by Air with Bush Walk and Harbor Cruise

Colin United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is an experience few get to see, the Park is just about as unspoilt by humans as it gets so this is one trip you must do if visiting Tas, remember to leave nothing there, to take nothing away only the memories. The whole day was great and everyone involved made it a day to remember, the knowledge of the pilot about the park, the history and the habit and how it needs to be protected was appreciated by all.

Doing what: Tasmania Wilderness Experience: Southwest National Park by Air with Bush Walk and Harbor Cruise

Vanja Radisic Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great landscape, too many wasps unfortunately. I wouldn't go back again in January, but would love to see it in winter. Long drive from Launceston, shame we didn't go those extra 80km to see Lake St Clare Dove Lake is lovely though. Stopping in Sheffield to look at murals and buy food was an excellent idea, 45 minutes would have been better 25 wasn't enough to do or see much. Lots of info and excellent homemade ice cream to top off a nice day. Making this tour longer to accommodate visit to Lake St Clare for an hour, and 20 more minutes in Sheffield, would make this tour a truly spectacular experience. Make it 12h not 9h trip, and you can fit it all in.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Vanja Radisic Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great views, great driver, but too short. It is very windy and cold even in January, so make sure you bring a jacket and a scarf.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Luningning C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

it was a beautiful day when we were there and our coach driver /tour guide was very informative and also provided some little trivia information which livened the trip. there was enough time to take photos and walk a round a little bit at the top of mount wellington. a great tour.
it also included a short tour of the cascade female factory and passing thru the Cascade Brewery. a little more detail to the Cascade female factory would have been appreciated. overall a good tour

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was most enjoyable and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and amicable. We were blessed with a picture perfect view from the summit of Mt Wellington. I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time, it gives you a nice 'snapshot' of Hobart.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Richard F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Okay, the weather wasn't the best for a return visit to Cradle Mountain but it was still as spectacular! The peak, shrouded in mist, had a mystic. Walked to Lake Killa and shared my lunch with some very bold currawangs. Returned to Waldheim, and the home of Gustav, the Austrian responsible for saving the area as a National Park, a truly dedicated man!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Nichola D

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

all in all a great tour, with a great driver and other helpful staff. My only negative - would be when we arrived at park the guided tour was already underway and it was not explained to join the group. however when we got it sorted a very knowledgible guide and found the information giving very informative.good amount of time for both visiting park and richmond,

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park and Richmond Afternoon Tour from Hobart

Christine Bryson Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

GREAT MORNING TRIP UP A REALLY HIGH ALPINE MOUNTAIN THAT IS CLOSE TO THE CBD!
DEFINITELY WEAR WARM COATS AS THE TEMP WAS FREEZING. IT WAS APPROX 1 DEGREES CELSIUS CONSTANT WIND CHILL FACTOR WHEN IT WAS 11 DEGREES IN THE CITY. SPECTACULAR SCENERY! CHRIS and SCOTT BRYSON

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Jack C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a fun trip. The guides were very personalable. I would recommend this activity to others.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Roy G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Guide just a bit too enthusiastic.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

andrew k

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

An awesome trip down mt. Wellington. Good guide. Not for the casual biker.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Rein B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Although the weather was cold and cloudy, Mt Wellington was still beautiful and the ride up was an opportunity to see what a beautiful city Hobart really is.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

MEI LING H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

It would be nice if the weather is good. Only a short drive from the pier then we could enjoy the top view of Hobart. We were unlucky to have a really foggy morning that day. Shall go again if have chance.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Elizabeth B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Bonorong is AMAZING! Richmond, not so much. If you can do a tour that just goes to Bonorong for less money than the combo, I'd do that. Richmond was pretty boring. My impression was that it was going to be old building after old building. Not so. There were some old buildings sprinkled around an otherwise average-looking small town. The oldest bridge in Australia in Richmond was beautiful but not worth the extra 2 hours of the tour. Also, the guide told us about a short-cut to the bridge from where he parked the bus but failed to let us know there were LOTS of steps -- we had a wheelchair!

Having said all that, Bonorong is AMAZING! Feeding the kangaroos was wonderful. I would actually do that again if I ever return to Tasmania.

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park and Richmond Afternoon Tour from Hobart

Darcy F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This would have been a great tour if only it were an hour longer. The bus ride up to the mountain was nerve racking because the driver was going very fast. Also, we were sitting in the last row, and could not hear any of his commentary. At the top, we could not see much of anything because of the overcast conditions, so we only spent 15 minutes up there just as well as it was very cold! On the way down, we assumed we would stop at an incredible vista spot to take in the views from there, but no, the driver was busy barreling down the mountain and didn't stop. We then went to the Female Factory, which was interesting to us, but again, the driver did not give us much time there. Then onto shopping for 20 minutes- they should cut that part out- not enough time!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Jill E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well, when we reached the end of the bike ride my 16 year old son said, Mom, that was great! Can we do it again? Right now. Doesn't get much better from a 16 year old after spending a few hours with his mom.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Rodney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Friendly guides, spectacular views. Suitable for most fitness levels.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

JEFFREY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the highlight of my holiday to Hobart Tasmania. The tour was on time, the operator was very good and friendly and being a small bus there was 18 of us she made us feel very relaxed. The falls are easy to get to for any type of ability wheelchair , walking stick/frame etc however the falls above Russell Falls which are called Horseshoe Falls are only accessible via a steep but safe series of rock and wooden steps, but well worth the effort if you can. When you first reach Russell Falls I was lucky as they were in full flow just takes ones breath away at their sheer majesty, same for Horseshoe Falls . You get plenty of time to explore and have a lovely lunch at the café on site at the park entrance. Morning tea is provided at a salmon hatchery with lovely English style gardens with loads of exotic trees . It is a whole day tour and takes you via scenic valleys on both sides of the Derwent River. Again my luck held out as it was a most beautiful and warm day but come prepared as the weather can change in an instant. My booking with viator was flawless and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone. A magic day to remember forever along with many photos. DO THIS TOUR you will never regret it.

Doing what: Mt Field National Park and Russell Falls from Hobart

MICHELLE W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic experience taint was well supported and led by tour providers.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was amazing - loved every minute of it! Lane not sure how to spell his name was fantastic - he is very knowledgeable and gave a fascinating commentary as we drove along! In fact his commentary made the trip for me - that plus the scenery! He was also able to get a 4WD vehicle so we could get to Dove Lake which was great otherwise we would have missed that spectacular experience.....snow everywhere.....wombats munching away and little wallabies sheltering under the trees - it was a treat from start to finish!......then to cap it all off we stopped at the Lodge for a hot chocolate by the log fire.......oh sigh.....bliss! I'd recommend this trip to anyone as a must do must see experience! Thank You!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message