The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour guide, travel in a small van which meant that the tour group is small so we were able to hear our tour guide and get our questions answered. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Valerie P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour was very good although I think the floating in the Dead Sea was a bit overrated and also a bit crowded as there was only the one area (cordoned off) for everybody to use. The shower facilities were a good walk from the water( useful to know if you're not too good at walking ) .

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Firstly, the 5 guides (especially Amir, Eyal and Rami) were very good. It is deceptive to advertise this as a 5 day tour - it is 5 individual 1 day tours (different guides, drivers and tourists every day).
There was no continuity and much repetition. Dual language tours wasted more time. The result was very limited time at many Holy City sights, particularly in the Christian, Armenian and Muslim Quarters. Everything listed on the itinerary was "seen" (but in a fly-by manner, or only from a distance). If transport issues were resolved, more time would be available for these amazing sites.

Our advice - get your own guide and driver to avoid the logistical issues apparently common in this tour.

Expect a total of 4-5 hours wasted daily in transit before and/or after the actual guided tours (tours ended on time at app 4PM regardless of time wastage on unnecessarily long lunches etc). Expect a 30-45 minute late pickup (4 days out of 5), numerous stops to pick up/drop off other tourists for their tours (different to yours), meeting at bus checkpoints to transfer everybody between buses.

The order in the itinerary advertised in Viator was changed. A call after the first day's travel to the Bein Harem office resulted in an email with our revised itinerary (not previously provided). Prior to the call, we had no idea of our collection times, nor did the guide of the day. However, the staff in the Bien Harem office were very helpful.
The accommodation in Prima Park Hotel was good ( and we learnt later that compared to others, we should be grateful to be here). The restaurant in the hotel was the only viable option for dinner and was good, as was their breakfast. The Nof Tavor Hotel was basic - no restaurant and no eating options within walking distance, bar snacks (6-8 options) only. The breakfast was acceptable.
This was unlike any Viator "tour" that we have previously experienced. We have done many throughout Europe but this one was most disappointing.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Dead Sea, Nazareth, and Masada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

If I could have a 0 rating I would. The guide and driver were totally unprofessional. The guide had filthy hygiene and could not answer questions and the driver's driving was dangerous. We were nearly in a head on collision because of his bad driving. One of the customers finally had to tell him to slow down. On top of that he would pass cars when he really didn't have a clear view of oncoming traffic. Once he passed a car right before a curve. Then there was the total disregard for the customers safety. Most of the customers were dropped off at locations were they couldn't even recognize their surroundings. They had to ask the guide were their hotel was. In fact one customer had to walk down a totally dark street to get to her hotel. Considering that tensions were high in the city because of an assassination attempt the day before, I would have thought the customers would have been dropped at the front of their hotel. Then the advertisement for the tour said that we would spend around 2 hours at the Dead Sea. We got 30 minutes because the tour guide didn't know that the Dead Sea closed early on Friday. How can a company who does these tours on a routine basis not know that the Dead Sea closed early? Your tour guides are clearly not licensed tour guides. I would never recommend your company to another person and in fact I told my travel agent to never book a tour with you again. I also sent a note to customer service and have heard nothing. Just goes to show that customers don't come first for this company and its all about the money.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The sites, minibus, guide, etc. are all great and thoroughly recommend it.
The only thing I'd take out is the visit to AHAVA's lab/production facility. The video was boring, the people working in the shop miserable and our tour-guide's sales-pitch too obvious!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Comprehensive and comfortable day tour to Masada and the Dead Sea. Commentary was informative if not a tad biased. The duration of stops was adequate and the driver was friendly and approachable.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This was an awful trip. I signed up for a tour not a taxi. They drove us to each of the locations - dropped us off - nothing about the history of the site - and said I will pick you up in 45 minutes. It was a waste of money.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Bojan A
Netherlands

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This is a simple tour with very little historical information. Apart from the history of Masada, very little is a story, more is relaxing and easy going. Unfortunately, even that little historical material was not presented in a proper manner since our guide Mr. Rami spoke very bad English. He was nice and OK, but the fact that he transferred us to a different bus for the trip back to Jerusalem for his convenience was not something I appreciated. On top of additional thirty minutes delay on departure, we were put on a bus with a Spanish speaking guide even though we booked an English speaking guided tour. I am not happy with the way this trip was handled. I cannot recommend the guide.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Love the tour, would like more time at the Dead Sea, tour guide expressed personal negative views of Arabs and Islam which were not shared by the entire tour group. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip, punctual, informative, enjoyable and memorable.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with very informative guide.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day, good guide.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely magnificent our guide was extremely knowledgably and made the entire journey a memorable journey back through time. .

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message