The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 428 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ponciano T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended tour. Tour guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. Massada is breathtakingly beautiful. The Dead Sea part of the tour is fun. Take time to enjoy swimming/floating in the dead sea!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Lance Owen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My favourite tour while in Isael. Both Masada and the Dead Sea were stunning.
I was collected from the pick-up point, which was a 2 minute walk from my centrally located Jerusalem hotel, on-time at 8.30am.
The guide was excellent and knowledgeable about the places we visited and those we passed along the way.
Make sure you take your swimming costume and a towel with you as you'll need them for the Dead Sea resort. Unfortunately, I didn't take mine and had to purchase both items from the beach shop for NIS140 about 30. However, it was still worth it as you can't really go all that way and not float in the Dead Sea!
What really made this trip though was the small but friendly crowd of fellow travellers who came from all over the world but seemed to get on really well. In fact, I ended up spending a very enjoyable evening after the tour sharing a few beers with a fellow solo traveller from Australia I met on the trip.
A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Martin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent trip generally.

Unlike some of your reviewers I found the Elvis stop very useful.

However, I would have appreciated also stopping to take photos of where the Dead Sea Scrolls were found.

I assume that there is no alternative to the place we stopped at on the Dead Sea but was very crowded and noisy.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Darren R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour makes what would be a difficult solo, public transport day trip compact and manageable. More time at Masada would have been worthwhile. The tour around the plateau was very quick, with little free time to wander or contemplate. Given how much time was given for lunch and shopping and for the Dead Sea visit, greater balance is possible and desirable.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The pick up was a little delayed and the link up site with all of the buses was a little chaotic but it was fine. I am just over 6' tall and the mini-van was a little too mini for the long drive out to Masada. The content itself is great. So much history and great story at Masada, the dead sea is a once in a lifetime experience. Recommend bringing some type of water shoe to make it easier to walk down to the water. Our guide was great and watched all of our bags. Nothing felt too rushed. A great tour that I would recommend to others for sure.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Ida Margrethe E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wanting to see more of Israel than just our base in Tel Aviv, we booked the Masada and Dead Sea - tour before departing. This tour turned out to be - in a word - FANTASTIC! It was very well organized from Tel Aviv, the bus was comfortable and our tour guide Yael was amazing. She showed great skill in talking about the history of Masada and the significance to Israelis today. The sight itself was very impressive, interesting and tourist - friendly. One note: Take care of the heat and bring lots of water. The sun and heat is treacherous, even in March people with light / Nordic skin such as ourselves can get burned to a crisp! Our guide took good care of us in that respect as well. After Masada it was time for a drive to a beach facility and a dip in the Dead Sea. The facilities were very nice and clean and the swim in the sea itself was memorable for lack of a better word. I had to literally drag my teenagers out of the water when it was time to leave! Arriving late at night in Tel Aviv taxis had been pre-arranged by the tour guides to take all of us to our individual hotels. One of those little things you really value after a long day of sun and beach. This tour is highly recommended, if you wish to combine a history lesson with a therapeutic mud bath!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

anita v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lot of fun, despite the rain. I was thinking of doing only the Dead Sea tour, but now I know I made the right decisions. Masada is very interesting, doesn't take too long, there are great views and you can learn a lot about history of the area. Make sure you have a sweater for the bus--it can get pretty cool with the air conditioning.. And do not let the Dead Sea water get to your face and eyes! Our guide, Eyal, was really great, understated but knowledgeable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Musata M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! great guide also! Loved the day

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Grant R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This has to be the best tour of our trip. Eli and Eyal our guides on the 2 days where superb and very knowledgeable. Our hotel in Jerusalem booked by the tour was very central to many great restaurants. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well worth the expense. The only thing that would have made it better would have been to be collected from our apartment as advertised. And getting going in the morning was protracted. Otherwise very informative, comfortable journey and excellent guide. Beautiful place.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Grant R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really great tour, spent the morning in Masada and afternoon at the Dead Sea.
Ron the tour guide was brilliant and so knowledgeable.
Tour group consisted of friendly, similar-aged persons.
No more than 16 persons were on our tour and we went in a 16 seater nicely aircon van.
Very comfy. Made some new friends on the tour.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

sofy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip, professional guide, would be nice to have some more time in Dead sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Dolf V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour!! We had a great guide, native english/american, that gave us lots of interesting info through the trip! Masada is breathtaking, the dead sea is a must do!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Matthias K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good organisation, helpful staff and guides with great knowledge

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Tel Aviv

mrcando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was well worth the money! I had read some average reviews and was a bit skeptical but fear not. We went with Bein Harim and it was some of the best tour guide experience I ever had. Ron was knowledgeable, insightful and fun. He left plenty of time for questions and gave us appropriate time for reflection. No factory tour of Ahava which I appreciated! One thing to note---the tour is maximized for efficiency so you will get picked up at your hotel and then transported to a central meeting spot where you will be placed on the appropriate bus for your location. Just pay attention and you will be fine. Seemed funky at the time but it all worked out fine. Seems like you are wasting time but you are not. You get more than enough time at all stops. Take this tour and you will be glad you did!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, very knowledgable guide, amazing to see remarkably intact ruins from an amazing chapter in the land's history

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Anne Mette F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice and beautiful trip with a great guide

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Retha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide Nobel was amazing and eager to answer all my questions. He made it interesting and well organized. Thank you for such a great experience

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

kk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable. Most of the day was travel and touring Masada. We spent a couple of hours at the Dead Sea. I think 2 hours is plenty to enjoy the Dead Sea but if you want more time there maybe consider a different tour. Masada was very interesting and guide provided a good overview of the ruins.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Tomasz D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great Day. Professional translators. Will use the service again.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

shaun r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Top Rate. Five stars well looked after and smooth running. our guide was amazing a job well done

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent full day tour. Our guide was well educated on the places to visit and assisted us in finding the best opportunity to take pictures.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

James A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Excellent, lots of fun , very informative, would do it again no problem, tour guide was great! Things were a bit rushed at times .other than that an awesome time!!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message