The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 424 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The pick up was a little delayed and the link up site with all of the buses was a little chaotic but it was fine. I am just over 6' tall and the mini-van was a little too mini for the long drive out to Masada. The content itself is great. So much history and great story at Masada, the dead sea is a once in a lifetime experience. Recommend bringing some type of water shoe to make it easier to walk down to the water. Our guide was great and watched all of our bags. Nothing felt too rushed. A great tour that I would recommend to others for sure.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Ida Margrethe E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wanting to see more of Israel than just our base in Tel Aviv, we booked the Masada and Dead Sea - tour before departing. This tour turned out to be - in a word - FANTASTIC! It was very well organized from Tel Aviv, the bus was comfortable and our tour guide Yael was amazing. She showed great skill in talking about the history of Masada and the significance to Israelis today. The sight itself was very impressive, interesting and tourist - friendly. One note: Take care of the heat and bring lots of water. The sun and heat is treacherous, even in March people with light / Nordic skin such as ourselves can get burned to a crisp! Our guide took good care of us in that respect as well. After Masada it was time for a drive to a beach facility and a dip in the Dead Sea. The facilities were very nice and clean and the swim in the sea itself was memorable for lack of a better word. I had to literally drag my teenagers out of the water when it was time to leave! Arriving late at night in Tel Aviv taxis had been pre-arranged by the tour guides to take all of us to our individual hotels. One of those little things you really value after a long day of sun and beach. This tour is highly recommended, if you wish to combine a history lesson with a therapeutic mud bath!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

anita v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lot of fun, despite the rain. I was thinking of doing only the Dead Sea tour, but now I know I made the right decisions. Masada is very interesting, doesn't take too long, there are great views and you can learn a lot about history of the area. Make sure you have a sweater for the bus--it can get pretty cool with the air conditioning.. And do not let the Dead Sea water get to your face and eyes! Our guide, Eyal, was really great, understated but knowledgeable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Musata M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! great guide also! Loved the day

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Grant R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This has to be the best tour of our trip. Eli and Eyal our guides on the 2 days where superb and very knowledgeable. Our hotel in Jerusalem booked by the tour was very central to many great restaurants. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well worth the expense. The only thing that would have made it better would have been to be collected from our apartment as advertised. And getting going in the morning was protracted. Otherwise very informative, comfortable journey and excellent guide. Beautiful place.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Grant R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really great tour, spent the morning in Masada and afternoon at the Dead Sea.
Ron the tour guide was brilliant and so knowledgeable.
Tour group consisted of friendly, similar-aged persons.
No more than 16 persons were on our tour and we went in a 16 seater nicely aircon van.
Very comfy. Made some new friends on the tour.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

sofy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip, professional guide, would be nice to have some more time in Dead sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Dolf V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour!! We had a great guide, native english/american, that gave us lots of interesting info through the trip! Masada is breathtaking, the dead sea is a must do!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Matthias K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good organisation, helpful staff and guides with great knowledge

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Tel Aviv

mrcando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was well worth the money! I had read some average reviews and was a bit skeptical but fear not. We went with Bein Harim and it was some of the best tour guide experience I ever had. Ron was knowledgeable, insightful and fun. He left plenty of time for questions and gave us appropriate time for reflection. No factory tour of Ahava which I appreciated! One thing to note---the tour is maximized for efficiency so you will get picked up at your hotel and then transported to a central meeting spot where you will be placed on the appropriate bus for your location. Just pay attention and you will be fine. Seemed funky at the time but it all worked out fine. Seems like you are wasting time but you are not. You get more than enough time at all stops. Take this tour and you will be glad you did!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, very knowledgable guide, amazing to see remarkably intact ruins from an amazing chapter in the land's history

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Anne Mette F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice and beautiful trip with a great guide

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Retha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide Nobel was amazing and eager to answer all my questions. He made it interesting and well organized. Thank you for such a great experience

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

kk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable. Most of the day was travel and touring Masada. We spent a couple of hours at the Dead Sea. I think 2 hours is plenty to enjoy the Dead Sea but if you want more time there maybe consider a different tour. Masada was very interesting and guide provided a good overview of the ruins.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Tomasz D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great Day. Professional translators. Will use the service again.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

shaun r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Top Rate. Five stars well looked after and smooth running. our guide was amazing a job well done

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent full day tour. Our guide was well educated on the places to visit and assisted us in finding the best opportunity to take pictures.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

James A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Excellent, lots of fun , very informative, would do it again no problem, tour guide was great! Things were a bit rushed at times .other than that an awesome time!!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Sung Sik P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This trip was good especially Masada! The guide was really good with full of information.
I think dead sea tour was average but it was ok.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Milda N

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The tour was pretty good. I wish we didnt stop for the shopping at the factory, but at least the stop wasnt that long. More time at Masada and some free time there would be nice. Likewise with dead sea. Feels a bit rushed,

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Nicolas L

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Guide was good, but there were WAY too many people on the tour. It was difficult to follow the group or hear what the guide was saying, and we lost a lot of time on logistics... A pity since Masada and Dead Sea are 2 of the highlights of our Israel trip

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Kelly L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

If there are no unexpected accidents for you, your trip will be fairly pleasant. However, if you are one of the unfortunate customers like me dont expect Bein Haim to care about helping you at all.

The tour bus was new and comfortable, and conveniently provided USB charging outlets. I was thrilled! To save space while packing, I had only brought my iPhone to serve as phone, GPS, data/internet and camera, so this would provide a steady flow of juice for my day packed with gorgeous views and photo taking. I had brought with me an external battery pack, but I was excited to make use of this amenity. I plug in my phone to the USB outlet, and 10 minutes later my phone has died and showed its black screen. No force restart power home button or sympathetic googling from fellow tour members helped. A this point, another girl in the same bus who had used the amenity, also had her phone die on her. We both reached out to the tour guide, and all she could muster was Get back to your seats, I dont want you to fall. And, I will ask the office. To avoid more trouble, she promptly announces to the whole bus Do not use the USB charging stations! There seems to be a problem.

At the next attraction, upon calling and confirming with the office that there did not appear to have a similar situation in the past, she relayed that information to us and completely disassociated herself from the problem - Not realizing that this was my first time in Israel and on Day 2 of that. I did not speak the language, and my phone was my only source of data, internet and GPS. I was also in this country alone. She did not even offer to take pictures and email them to me. The entire tour, she did not once address the issue and avoided me at all costs.

By the end of the trip, I have lost an US850 iPhone that I had just gotten 3 days prior, no photos to show for myself on a first trip to Masada and Dead Sea, and standard tips for sub-par service.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message