• USD ($)
  • English
The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was very informative and interesting. There was ALOT to see and to take in, so like all tours, you need to keep your ears and eyes open to enjoy everything but it was extremely fascinating to see the ruins of King Herod's fortress and to see how the land was lived in centuries ago, and to see how nomads, slaves and kings lived together and apart at the same time. First we travelled through the Valley of the River Jordan, going past the Qumran -the caves of the dead sea scrolls, although we did not go inside. Still in the coach we travelled through En Gedi - a nature reserve, to see the nomadic ways of life, still being followed today. After king Herod's fortress we got a quick chance to relax of the coach down to the dead sea, where you can change into your swimsuit, beautify yourself with mud and relax your weary feet in the salty water. we all managed to master the art if floating! "Isaac" (real name Zahi Shaked) and "Eve", the tour guides were very friendly and approachable, distilling the history and culture of the sites very well to a group of people from many different countries. The coach was air conditioned and large too! Very grateful for their organisation and help, could not have seen or enjoyed it as much!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Tour was as advertised. What I did not like was the stuffed mini bus and the rush through the tour. It seemed that the only time we took our time was at the AHAVA sales location. Masada and the Dead Sea was a rushed stop. The bus was again a mini bus that was full. It was very uncomfortable and I would not use this tour operator again because of the equipment that they use. Also, this was to be a tour in English only. There were 3 people on board that spoke English but demanded that the guide speak in Spanish. This dual language presentation was confusing and again I would have not booked it if I knew it to be the case. The guide was very knowledgeable but was in a hurry and spoke very fast. There are other operators that use larger tour bus's and would recommend them before this company.
Keep in mind that Viator is a booking company and does not actually run the tour. I have used them all over the world before and have always been pleased with their tours. The 6 tours in Israel that was booked through them but operated by a local company was disappointing chiefly due the being uncomfortable in the bus equipment they choose to use.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Incredible place to visit - sites and people were lovely so I highly recommend the locations and sites this tour visits. Unfortunately the tour itself is badly organised by the local operator and we had a couple of very frustrating situations and a particularly unpleasant guide on our trip to Masada. We had to contact the local operator on several occasions (which cost us a lot in roaming charges on our mobile) as we were not provided any information on pick up times or on our itinerary which they changed as they pleased from what Viator has on its website. If you book this trip expect to stay very far from town in average hotels and have at least 30mins-1 hour a day waiting to be collected for your tour and 2 hours a day driving around to collect other passengers joining the day tours. It felt like a lot of wasted time for us when we could have been exploring our beautiful surroundings in Israel and if I had known this would be the case I would have booked with another provider who does it as a group tour rather than day tours.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Dead Sea, Nazareth, and Masada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

great tour. really long but a lot of fun and saw a lot of israel and learned a lot. our tour guide emir was amazing and very funny.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very pleasant experience. Great guide who shared with us lots of stories. Comfortable bus, will recommend this excursion to everyone

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is probably my favorite part of my Israel trip, Dead sea and Masada were truly breathtaking.
Our guide Yoav was super nice and helpful all the way as well as being humorous too!
Would definitely recommend to my friends when they come to Israel!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour leader, Amir, was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about Masada and the Dead Sea, as well as Israel in general. He was very articulate and encouraged questions. This tour was a very good experience.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything took place as planned, we were picked up on time, arrived at our destinations as promised, buses were clean and comfortable . We very much enjoyed being with Chaya, our guide, who who was knowledgable, professional and had a good sense of humor.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour - well organised, good value and the tour guide (Amir) was outstanding! The only (slight) downside is the enforced stop-off at 'HAVA' to buy beauty products/Dead Sea oils.

Remember to take water with you for the trip (no refreshments provided).

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The guide was excellent. The trip was well planed out, and the visit to Masada was amazing.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable tour which was a good mix of culture and seeing the Dead Sea. We had less time by the sea than expected but you can only spend that much time in the water so it worked fine. Eli was an excellent guide.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This is a well worthwhile tour giving a good history of Masada. Spending a lovely relaxing afternoon at the Dead Sea watching the sun set was fantastic. The stop off at the Ahava gift shop could have been done without as it was very very busy and the Masada and Dead Sea gift shops sold the products.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Roads to Masada were flooded the day we went unfortunately, we did not initially understand why the trip was not cancelled but we were taken to a couple of other sites that were lovely. Dead Sea was absolutely lovely. The trainee guide Tamra was amazing however the main guide who also drove was in bit leaving people within the group while giving explanations. He was mostly amusing but calling people Singapore, India etc was not amusing for too long. He was however at the end kind enough to drop off us near the Jaffa Clock tower at the end of the day which was closer to where we stayed. Overall the trip was enjoyable.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Good trip overall. It depends on the guide you get as to the level of information and the clarity. Like most organized trips, they waste a lot of time picking up people and at over priced gift shops. The restaraunts they take you to for lunch also vary in quality. The one is Bethlehem was all you can eat but in Akko was a rip off. Prices average $15-20 per person. BE AWARE on this trip..there is duplication on the Jerusalem days. You will see a lot of the same things in the morning between the Jerusalem new/old and the Jerusalem city of David, so you might get bored as we did.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Dead Sea, Nazareth, and Masada

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was very informative. I learnt a lot about Jewish History. The time spent at Shava factory was adequate. The time at the Dead Sea was sufficient. There are few problems with the tour and the organization in charge of the tour. With the price everyone is paying for the tour, one would believe that the bus would not be completely full- in a 52 seat bus, only three aisle seat were available and two of those seat were occupied by the tour guides' friend's personal stuff. The reason I believe that the bus was so full is that the tour company combined the bus from Jerusalem with the bus for Tel Aviv. When coming back from Jerusalem, the tour guide was less informative and engaged in a conversation with his friends at the front of the bus. Would I recommend this tour yes, but make sure that day you are going is not fully booked.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message