The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 302 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Guide was great, but should have indicated waterproof sandals and towel required for Dead Sea

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Guide informative and interesting. Did a good job keeping the group together and moving. I think that those who want to take the time to pray at the sites should return on their own rather than have the rest of the group constantly delayed.
Lunch.... Need to be told the options.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Although it was a bit hot for us, we truly enjoy our tour to Masada and the Dead Sea. Masada is spectacular and our guide, Norbert, was quite knowledgeable of its history. The Dead Sea was also an experience, floating in the sea was something else. A must trip, if you go to Israel.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Masada fantastic. Dead Sea disappointing as lots of people at one place. Long walk from coach drop off to actual sea and tractor/trolley very busy. No towels provided so should tell people to bring their own.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great Tour, arrangement is ok. Tour pick up and guide are ok. Floating in the Dead Sea is a great experience and Masada is very impressive. Should liked to have more time on Dead Sea but after all you will not regret booking this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I really enjoyed the Masada portion of the tour. It was great, but the Dead Sea portion was so-so. I would have rather spent time at Elijah Springs or Qumran.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

There was not enough time to take photos at Masada.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed our trip to Masada and the Dead Sea. We had to go via Jerusalem to pick up some travellers which was the reason for the early start from Tel Aviv. It was a relatively small group which our marvellous guide, Yael, kept informed and entertained. Masada is hotter than the coast so remember your sunscreen and hats. There is also a lot of walking and stairs. You will have a chance to shop and have lunch before going on to the Dead Sea. The Dead Sea is a smelly but surreal experience! For preference take jellies or wet shoes rather than flip flops if you are going to go into the Sea itself. Flip flops develop a life of their own. Towels are available to rent or buy if you forget to take one, and ladies avoid shaving anywhere delicate that morning, the salt finds everything. Really enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I don't normally give a review but I will make exception to this trip in Masada and Dead Sea. My family was really amazed and enjoyed every moment of the tour. The tour guide Miri and Oleg are well-experienced and knowledgeable to tell us the history and archeological details of Masada. Recommended.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour! Our guide named Rikki was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions. Masada was an amazing place to see. Floating on the Dead Sea was so much fun! I would recommend this to anybody. We were very lucky to get a great guide for Jerusalem and Bethlehem too, named Ron. He showed us all around and we had a fantastic day. Beware of the Orthodox Easter as we were nearly crushed in the crowds at the tomb. That was an experience in itself. All good fun.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I'll start with the standard not enough time in the day trip complaint. That being said, what made this trip 5 stars was the tour guide. Amir was simply amazing. His pride in his country added credence to all the history he shared with us on the long bus ride from Tel Aviv to Masada. But more than that, he was a well trained orator that easily captured our attention as he pointed out landmarks during the ride as well as once we were at the site. Handouts on a bus trip? It was like a school trip for adults. If Amir isn't a teacher, he should be. Add in humor and an engaging personality and it just made for a the best day possible I just can't stress enough how great he made the trip. So now some items of note: Masada was the lunch stop, lots of food choices, no worries there. Every trinket in the region is available no haggling but prices were competitive. The place itself was incredibly clean and well maintained considering it's literally in the middle of nowhere.
Half way to Masada the bus stopped at a Ahava mineral/cosmetic store. That being said, it was perfectly timed for walking around and snacking, and the place was clean especially the bathrooms and it was an incredibly low pressure sale - worth it. I would stop there if I had my family in a car by way of comparison.

Time at the dead sea was at a premium. 90 minutes seems like a lot of time, but the water has receded so it's a 10 minute walk, so nearly a third of your time lost walking and putting on swim clothes. It's a 40US deposit for the locker key, ouch! you get it back when done, but surprise. Given the two main items are covering in healing mud and soaking in the sea change and get moving. Don't forget water shoes, rocks and minerals are not like soft sand and moving quickly barefoot..nope.

All the staff was pleasant at both locations, no rude people anywhere. I ordered this trip at 9pm the day before due to a surprise day off, everything went exceedingly well. No problems with anything.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic well organised tour - the right mixture of travel and sightseeing, information and fun. The driver was very knowledgeable, and he pointed out lots of landmarks, combined with information from Israel's history, politics and stories from the Bible. His guided tour of Massada was excellent. My little girl age 11 loved the cable car ride up and loved listening to all the information. And the dead sea, fun and relaxing. The best tour of our Israel holiday!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour at competitive price. Hotel pick-up and return. This was my second Viator tour - there will probably be others.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was good however, we felt very rushed at each location of the tour and would've enjoyed more, if we had spent more time!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The most disappointing part of this tour was the very short time spent at Masada. Roughly 30 minutes tour with the guide and then there was a break for lunch. While the tour description mentions Ein Gedi Nature Reserve, the caves at Qumran and Jericho they were only pointed at from the bus.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Gest tour and great guide. Friendly guide and driver!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Completely satisfied with the tour. Amir gives insight to some of the reasons and passions involved as well as conveying a fascinating presentation of the historical significance of the place. My number1 guy for Israel tours.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An excellent tour with an excellent guide. Massada was a wonderful experience. The story of Massada was told to us in fair detail and very interesting. The dead sea experience was really something - floating on water!
This tour should not be missed.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Masada and the Dead Sea were stunning and our tour guide was knowledgeable, classy, and experienced. She did a great job bringing it all together.

As for Jerusalem, unbelievable tour guide Amir Call Or. His charisma, sense of humor and vast amounts of knowledge were humbling and enriching at the same time. He helped me realize how much more there is to see about this amazing country where so much of world's history was made. I highly recommend the tour, which while fast paced you can't pretend to cover a good amount of Jerusalem in a day without unfortunately having to rush, and a tour guide that runs a tight ship, it gives you a great tease/taste of such a historical city. And Amir made it so much more interesting and stimulating.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour: Old Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Terrific guide. Glad I went.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Masada is amazing and the tour guide gave us a very good run down of the differnet things there. The Dead Sea is also amazing and the Ein Gedi spa was very nice, I just wish we had more time there. Would recommend cutting out the stop at Ahava and giving more time at the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! The story of the Masada is incredibly interesting even if the ending was a bit sad, and it was neat to see all the fortification that went on, as well as the engineering of the day to bring water to the desert. Cable car ride up and back was a novelty, but you really need to get into the car first in order to get the good views otherwise, the sardines err, folks packed in the middle are not going to see much of anything but the backs of other people's heads.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message