The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 455 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lehmn66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide. Ossi not sure of spelling did a fantastic job of educating us on the history of the areas we visited and kept it very interesting. He kept things moving on time without rushing us. Highly recommend both him and the tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

kjetzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see tour when visiting Tel Aviv. Well organized and safe with a knowledgable guide to narrate the experience.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Kevin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent day, superbly informative and friendly guide.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

SUSAN C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A long day but well worth it. The tour guide was the best. He gave us so much information and it was so interesting. Must make sure you take hat, water, sun cream and flip flops or similar for the Dead Sea which was fun.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Damian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well organised. Over 12 hours. Eventual delays did not resulted in shorter time at the Dead Sea 2h.
The guide have had sufficient knowledge, told interesting stories and was passionate about it.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Ian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative guide. Time at each location spot on. Pick up was prompt from a local hotel. Happy to use Viator for future trips to Israel and other countries. Highly recommend this particular tour. Good value for money in my opinion.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Andrea U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow! Outstanding tour guide Amir!! It was a true pleasure to be on his tour, which is by all means THE best guided tour I have ever taken. Energetic, motivating, ... if you want to realise Isreali history and culture of this area, go with Amir.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took the Masada and Dead Sea tour and it was Amazing!!! Our tour guide Eli and driver Ossi were awesome. Eli was funny and Very knowledgeable in all areas of the tour from moment we left Jerusalem. We DEFINITELY recommend this Tour. We Had A Great Time!!!!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Frank C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good day out with a knowledgable guide and a comfortable tour bus. Long day but plenty of time to stretch your legs and even have a dip in the Dead Sea, would definitely recommend

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Jasonakessler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Yael was a great tour guide. The tour was great, very informative, and the whole time we felt like we were in very good hands.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

PETER G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very well versed in the history of Masada, but I felt the time there was a little rushed in order to get to the Dead Sea which was boring or me.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

shishmanov Bulgaria

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

tour is a must while in Israel. I liked Masada and the way it was presented,especially the cable car : Dead sea was more depressing for me, being at the beach and watching peaple with guns around you, but anyway- there was enough time for everything on the tour and you definately safe money being a part of a group

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent organisation. Visit sites spectacular. Masada is very special. Dead Sea resort was rather crowded. Bus, driver, and guide all very good.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Pawel K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Pretty good, but not thrilling.
Masada is nice/interesting. Dead sea also worth seeing.

Pickup took 90 minutes in total, we finished the tour by 17:30.
The tour guide wasn't amazing, but was pretty good. The tour included all the entrances, so I guess it was relatively cheap.
Especially if you do it on sabbath, when car rental is not possible.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Justin B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Out of the 4 tours my family took on our trip to Israel, this was one of our favorites. Masada is an amazing place, steeped in mystery and archaeological wonder. Given the sheer size, it's impossible to see it all and fully appreciate it in a few hours, but the tour did cover most of the salient points. The view is spectacular. The onsite lunch and service at Masada is bad enough to mention, but then again, we didn't go there for the food or hospitality.The Dead Sea is a weird and wonderful experience, and worth the drive, however the beach we visited, felt more like a public swimming hole packed and somewhat unclean. I didn't mind that it was touristy, it was just changing clothes in a large primitive shack with other strangers that was somewhat uncomfortable. We also showered on the beach in the open air the lines for the proper locker rooms/showers were too long to wait with the amount of time we were given. If you go, try to avoid peak season. In spite of that, the Dead Sea is unique and memorable, and if you're going to Israel on holiday, this destination is a rite of passage. Bring a newspaper to read while you float.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Ludovic H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Really nice tour, our guide Rome was very knowledgeable and made the experience fun and educative. Masada and the Dead Sea are must-see sites when you visit Israel, and this tour covers it all in one day trip, returning around 5pm if you're based in Jerusalem like we were means you can also enjoy a full evening in town. One thing I'd change and therefore 4 stars not 5 is we would have liked more time at the Dead Sea, we did manage to get in the water, play with mud, but another 30-45 minutes would have made a big difference to relax a bit more, so maybe shaving some time from Masada, and allowing for more time at the sea. Other than that, highly recommended day trip.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Ambrose T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with knowleageable tour guide.
Unexpected stop at the Ahava duty free shop which was unexpected and a bit of a waste of time.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

sebjleslie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was interesting, but it was very hot that day.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Boon Siong N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good guide, enthusiastic and knowledgeable

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The actual tour guides were really great especially day two guide -- not sure of his name but he had long hair -- he was awesome. But Viator itself was disappointing - they just offloaded us to another tour agency Bein Harim who did all the actual work, but they Viator did very little communicating. We had to follow up multiple times to get our pickup times/locations set up and Viator just treated it like a hand-off i.e. they just get leads and then move on. So, I won't use Viator going forward -- instead, I think you can do better by just going to the local guides themselves. In this case I WOULD recommend Bein Harim, and you can find them and book them directly and likely save money without having Viator in the middle, adding no value.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

albert

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Tour guide was ok. The pickup bus arrived late and then we had another waiting period at a University parking lot to transfer to another bus going to Masada 45 min. each. The visit to Ahava cosmetics was unnecessary in my opinion. We could have gone to Masada in early AM rather than at noontime to avoid the extreme heat. Felt rushed at times.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Patricia P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Took almost 5 hours from pick up to Masada - so arrived at midday - it was incredibly hot. So tour around Masada was really rushed and had no time to explore. Very disappointed as amazing place. Plenty of time at Dead Sea. So don and #39;t take this tour if you really want to see and explore Masada

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message