The Dead Sea is the second saltiest major body of water on earth, and it is this hyper-salinity, which causes swimmers to be super-buoyant within it, that makes it one of Israel’s major attractions. The Dead Sea lies 1,312 feet below sea level and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great experience and an absolute must-see! Norbert was the perfect guide! Very well organized. Had a dive into Israelian history, a stunning view over the Judean desert and the Dead Sea as well as a relaxing ending by floating in the Dead Sea. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really enjoyable tour, with a helpful and informative guide. The trip to Jerusalem was fascinating and although it was a Saturday so certain restrictions were in force this did not lessen the enjoyment of the Western Wall or the Holy Sepulchre.The Dead Sea was an absolute delight. Highly recommended

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really enjoyed the tour - thanks to a friendly and knowledgeable guide Amir and well organized timing/facilities - a comfy air conditioned minibus with just 17 people, just enough time spent on sightseeing and then 2 hours of muddy bathing in the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Cat
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Moshe, was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of history with us throughout the day. I definitely learned a lot about Jerusalem, and Israel in general. The old city of Jerusalem is so amazing and full of history that I wish we could have spent longer there, but I also didn't want to miss out on the Dead Sea. This tour is perfect if you don't have a lot of time, but if you do have the time, I'd recommend spending a full day in Jerusalem, and then doing a separate day for the Dead Sea. Overall, a really great day - especially since we had such a small group of 8 people!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic well organised tour - the right mixture of travel and sightseeing, information and fun. The driver was very knowledgeable, and he pointed out lots of landmarks, combined with information from Israel's history, politics and stories from the Bible. His guided tour of Massada was excellent. My little girl age 11 loved the cable car ride up and loved listening to all the information. And the dead sea, fun and relaxing. The best tour of our Israel holiday!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I'll start with the standard not enough time in the day trip complaint. That being said, what made this trip 5 stars was the tour guide. Amir was simply amazing. His pride in his country added credence to all the history he shared with us on the long bus ride from Tel Aviv to Masada. But more than that, he was a well trained orator that easily captured our attention as he pointed out landmarks during the ride as well as once we were at the site. Handouts on a bus trip? It was like a school trip for adults. If Amir isn't a teacher, he should be. Add in humor and an engaging personality and it just made for a the best day possible I just can't stress enough how great he made the trip. So now some items of note: Masada was the lunch stop, lots of food choices, no worries there. Every trinket in the region is available no haggling but prices were competitive. The place itself was incredibly clean and well maintained considering it's literally in the middle of nowhere.
Half way to Masada the bus stopped at a Ahava mineral/cosmetic store. That being said, it was perfectly timed for walking around and snacking, and the place was clean especially the bathrooms and it was an incredibly low pressure sale - worth it. I would stop there if I had my family in a car by way of comparison.

Time at the dead sea was at a premium. 90 minutes seems like a lot of time, but the water has receded so it's a 10 minute walk, so nearly a third of your time lost walking and putting on swim clothes. It's a 40US deposit for the locker key, ouch! you get it back when done, but surprise. Given the two main items are covering in healing mud and soaking in the sea change and get moving. Don't forget water shoes, rocks and minerals are not like soft sand and moving quickly barefoot..nope.

All the staff was pleasant at both locations, no rude people anywhere. I ordered this trip at 9pm the day before due to a surprise day off, everything went exceedingly well. No problems with anything.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour! Our guide named Rikki was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions. Masada was an amazing place to see. Floating on the Dead Sea was so much fun! I would recommend this to anybody. We were very lucky to get a great guide for Jerusalem and Bethlehem too, named Ron. He showed us all around and we had a fantastic day. Beware of the Orthodox Easter as we were nearly crushed in the crowds at the tomb. That was an experience in itself. All good fun.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed our trip to Masada and the Dead Sea. We had to go via Jerusalem to pick up some travellers which was the reason for the early start from Tel Aviv. It was a relatively small group which our marvellous guide, Yael, kept informed and entertained. Masada is hotter than the coast so remember your sunscreen and hats. There is also a lot of walking and stairs. You will have a chance to shop and have lunch before going on to the Dead Sea. The Dead Sea is a smelly but surreal experience! For preference take jellies or wet shoes rather than flip flops if you are going to go into the Sea itself. Flip flops develop a life of their own. Towels are available to rent or buy if you forget to take one, and ladies avoid shaving anywhere delicate that morning, the salt finds everything. Really enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was Ben and he was absolutely phenomenal! He knew so much about Israel, Jerusalem, Tel Aviv, and even just random little facts about the scenery and everyday life there. My husband and I did not have enough time on our trip to spend more than a day in Jerusalem and visit the dead sea, which is why we booked this tour. We have no regrets! I would recommend this tour to anyone. I learned a lot, and it was a great experience. Our tour guide was doing another tour two days later into northern Israel, and we were genuinely bummed that we were leaving that day and could not attend that as well. It was definitely worth the money, and I learned so much more that I ever would have if we had decided to venture to these places alone. Book this tour!!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Issac was a knowledgable and enthusiastic guide. It was evident that he is passionate about history and Israel. He did an excellent job at making sure the tour group stayed together and moved at an efficient pace in order to maximize our time in Jerusalem and the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Everything was well planned. The bus was very comfortable. There was not a minute to spare between activities and information. The guide, Norbert was excellent. His information was presented in an interesting and understandable way.
My two negatives are: The stop at the Dead Sea products store was too commercial and boring. Also, the bus drived took the curves too fast. Also, while driving, he talked to the leader continually and turned his head to look at him whenever he talked. I didn't feel he was concentrating on driving!!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

very, very, very exiting! the ruins of masada are amazing, but the best part of this tour is to "swim" in the dead sea. it is unbelievable. no other words can decribe that feeling, that your body is floating on the water. DO THIS TOUR

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the highlight of my trip to Israel. There was so much to see and I feel that this day trip would not have been the same without our guide, Yoav Malachi. He was so knowledgeable about everything and I feel that I would have missed out if I had chosen to go and explore Jerusalem on my own. I feel very lucky to have had him as a guide for two separate day trips during my week. It was an unforgettable day and I would highly recommend doing this day trip to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very nice tour and the guide, Amir, was amazing! Dead sea is an unbelievable experience!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A well, organized, informative tour of Masada and the surrounding region. Lots of consideration for the comfort and well being of participants from a morning coffee break to a comfortable van, to a good mid-day meal at Masada. The one disappointment was the Dead Sea spa - I've wondered about floating in that water my whole life, and when I got there the surroundings were dingy and not entirely clean so I demurred. At the waterfront people were coating themselves with the foul smelling mud and then wading into a very small roped off section of water which looked disgusting and was unpleasantly crowded.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I did 2 tours with Viator. Oct. 6th/14 I did a day trip from Tel Aviv to Petra in Jordon which was excellent. Great guide and everything ran smoothly. Highly recommend. Oct.7th I did the Dead Sea tour and it was great too. Another must see. There was a bit of a mix up. I had booked a half day Jerusalem tour and half day Dead Sea. They thought I was on an all day Jerusalem tour. It was no problem though as they provided me a taxi to the Dead Sea Resort where I spent the afternoon enjoying the buoyant water. Also there was food and drinks available for purchase as well as lockers to lock up your belongings. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great time on this tour. We had a really small group, due to the timing of when we went, and didn't know if the tour would still be happening- but it was - and you can tell they run a well-oiled machine. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable- all the picks up were right on time. Again, since we had such a small group- we were able to see a few things not normally on the tour and were able to get into places that normally have hour- waits in just 15 minutes or less. It was a true learning experience. The Dead Sea portion- after being guided on the first part was a bit disjointed. The website tells you that you won't have a guide, so when you arrive, you are basically told to walk through the door of a shop and the shop guide gives you a very brief description of where to go and what to do - but we were still left asking- huh? I would recommend the tour website gives some better instructions as to that portion of the trip just so people are a bit better prepared. But for the time we had (which wasn't much)- it was enough- it was super hot, and we had just enough taste that we were looking for. All in all- I'd say money well spent.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great, knowledgable and entertaining guides. Could use more time at Dead Sea but overall great experience.
So happy with Viator that I've actually booked 2 tours for my next hols in DR already.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was totally worthed! Excellent organization and excellent guide (Eylad)! In the morning we visited Jerusalem and it has been really interesting. In this afternoon Dead Sea! We haven't spent much time at the Dead Sea, about 2h, but there were 41 degrees and it is not really that you can stay in the water too long, it doesn't take long to start burning! So everything was fine. The only thing I didn't like was the lunch at the Dead Sea, it wasn't good at all and expensive! and not typical neither :/

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Was very informative. Amir our tourguide was absolutely wonderful. He knows so many things! It's quite a long day, start 07;15 a.m. and we arrived in the hotel after 08:00 p.m. Put we have seen a lot and had also fun in the dead sea.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I fell in love with Israel from the moment I landed. I enjoyed this tour from beginning to end... our tour guide was a blast, he made sure to describe every aspect of all the places that we were in as well as the ones that we were passing by on our way to the sites. My absolute favorite part was the Dead Sea. If you have the chance, take this tour!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour which gives an insight to the history of Israel - guide was very good and helpful giving lots of info throughout the day. Breathtaking senary at Masada and the Dead Sea - we had plenty of time at both locations - would defo recommend

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely brilliant day, tour guide was excellent, Jerusalem fascinating and trip to the Dead Sea perfect way to end the day.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was very informative and interesting. There was ALOT to see and to take in, so like all tours, you need to keep your ears and eyes open to enjoy everything but it was extremely fascinating to see the ruins of King Herod's fortress and to see how the land was lived in centuries ago, and to see how nomads, slaves and kings lived together and apart at the same time. First we travelled through the Valley of the River Jordan, going past the Qumran -the caves of the dead sea scrolls, although we did not go inside. Still in the coach we travelled through En Gedi - a nature reserve, to see the nomadic ways of life, still being followed today. After king Herod's fortress we got a quick chance to relax of the coach down to the dead sea, where you can change into your swimsuit, beautify yourself with mud and relax your weary feet in the salty water. we all managed to master the art if floating! "Isaac" (real name Zahi Shaked) and "Eve", the tour guides were very friendly and approachable, distilling the history and culture of the sites very well to a group of people from many different countries. The coach was air conditioned and large too! Very grateful for their organisation and help, could not have seen or enjoyed it as much!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, Amir was excellent! I so appreciated his obvious, dedicated preparation. Not only did we get a 4000 year look at history but we also got to hear (to me) new and current views and opinions on the state of affairs in Iseral. again affirming that nothing in this world is black and white. I so appreciated to hear what it is like to live and work in this wonderful cuntry and their struggles on both sides of the ;political issues. Eye opening and worth it. Amir did not shove his opinions down our thoughts but merely showed us some other ways to think. In additions to that the site we saw and his very thorough explanations (without overwhelming us too much!) were excellent. AND floating in the Dead Sea is not to be missed. Never in my life did I think I would get this chance. Such a great tour of the old city capped off with a sea float and a history and political lesson to boot. Thank you!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message