The Dead Sea is the second saltiest major body of water on earth, and it is this hyper-salinity, which causes swimmers to be super-buoyant within it, that makes it one of Israel’s major attractions. The Dead Sea lies 1,312 feet below sea level and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Grant R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really great tour, spent the morning in Masada and afternoon at the Dead Sea.
Ron the tour guide was brilliant and so knowledgeable.
Tour group consisted of friendly, similar-aged persons.
No more than 16 persons were on our tour and we went in a 16 seater nicely aircon van.
Very comfy. Made some new friends on the tour.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Sophia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great tour - our tour was awesome. wish we spent more time at the dead sea though.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Ida Margrethe E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wanting to see more of Israel than just our base in Tel Aviv, we booked the Masada and Dead Sea - tour before departing. This tour turned out to be - in a word - FANTASTIC! It was very well organized from Tel Aviv, the bus was comfortable and our tour guide Yael was amazing. She showed great skill in talking about the history of Masada and the significance to Israelis today. The sight itself was very impressive, interesting and tourist - friendly. One note: Take care of the heat and bring lots of water. The sun and heat is treacherous, even in March people with light / Nordic skin such as ourselves can get burned to a crisp! Our guide took good care of us in that respect as well. After Masada it was time for a drive to a beach facility and a dip in the Dead Sea. The facilities were very nice and clean and the swim in the sea itself was memorable for lack of a better word. I had to literally drag my teenagers out of the water when it was time to leave! Arriving late at night in Tel Aviv taxis had been pre-arranged by the tour guides to take all of us to our individual hotels. One of those little things you really value after a long day of sun and beach. This tour is highly recommended, if you wish to combine a history lesson with a therapeutic mud bath!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The pick up was a little delayed and the link up site with all of the buses was a little chaotic but it was fine. I am just over 6' tall and the mini-van was a little too mini for the long drive out to Masada. The content itself is great. So much history and great story at Masada, the dead sea is a once in a lifetime experience. Recommend bringing some type of water shoe to make it easier to walk down to the water. Our guide was great and watched all of our bags. Nothing felt too rushed. A great tour that I would recommend to others for sure.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

anita v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lot of fun, despite the rain. I was thinking of doing only the Dead Sea tour, but now I know I made the right decisions. Masada is very interesting, doesn't take too long, there are great views and you can learn a lot about history of the area. Make sure you have a sweater for the bus--it can get pretty cool with the air conditioning.. And do not let the Dead Sea water get to your face and eyes! Our guide, Eyal, was really great, understated but knowledgeable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Andyosborn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was a great way to see both the old Jerusalem and Dead Sea in one day. Our guide was excellent and gave both an historical narrative as well as some contemporary thoughts. Excellent trip and would highly recommend it! Make sure you give your guide a good tip at the end. Our guide Eli definitely earned his!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Ben

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour is highly recommended you see beautiful places. a must see the dead sea very healthy. Tour bus operators are very professional

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

NATALIE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's great that you are picked up and dropped off at your hotel. The tour guide knows his history and is very friendly. This has a ton of history. The Dead Sea is not possible to drown for those people that can't swim. The best time of the year to do this tour is between late October - February because it's not to hot on top of Masada and the Dead is at perfect temperatures. Great tour and worth the money.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Graniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was a great day! Masada is quite breathtaking! And the Dead Sea, amazing! Our guide, Amir, was very informative. I recommend this highly!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Bryan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amir, our tour guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. We had a great time going to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea and I would highly recommend the tour to just about anyone.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Madison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the tour guide, Moses, he was the man! So knowledgeable, open to questions, and funny! Obviously you won't get to see everything in the Old City of Jerusalem, but it was the right amount for me. Got to go in through the Jewish Quarter, visit the Wailing Wall, go through the Christian Quarter, see the Church. Then over to the Dead Sea for 2 hours, again for a day tour of trying to get everything in, it was great!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Jonathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

perfect day tour!! spent the right amount of time at masada and dead sea...and great tour guides! very knowledgeable....would recommend this for young, married, single, and the elderly. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Steven R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had an AWESOME tour guide. He was very passionate about the history of Jerusalem and gave us great insight about the area. We were given more than enough time to explore the area and the Dead Sea was an experience of a lifetime. I was in a small group so all of our questions were answered about biblical sites. I would definitely do this tour again if given the opportunity.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Joanna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fun, fun, fun! You need comfy shoes for walking on this one, but it is so worth it! The trip would not be that much joy if it was not for the guide! Zahi kept telling stories, jokes, made sure nobody is left behind both on the trail and in the course of history of Herod, the king of Judea: Masada is breathtakingly beautiful, Dead Sea makes you look 10 years younger, what more to wish for?

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Risto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I booked a couple of hours before tour start. You must contact the partner company 24 hours before hotel pick up. I contacted them 8 hours before hotel pick up and all went fine. They are time correct, the tour guide was nice and informative. The weather was hot while exploring Masada, but the Dead sea was good relaxation. A bit short on the Dead sea 2hours.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

vette10phd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Because there was so much to see in a short amount of time, I didn't get to truly absorb the experience. No fault of the tour company or guide...just wish I had more time in Jerusalem and the Dead Sea. If you have time I would highly recommend taking separate tours. The tour guide was knowledgable and we had a good time!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

shane m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

i had a fantastic day couldn't ask for any more and the guide was fab and learnt a lot and really enjoyed the dead sea

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Gerardo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour exceeded our expectations!Norbert, the guide was so humorous and professional. Everything went just like we had hoped it would go. We have now some wonderful memories of Israel, the Judean dessert and the Dead Sea. Recommended!!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Danny M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great experience and an absolute must-see! Norbert was the perfect guide! Very well organized. Had a dive into Israelian history, a stunning view over the Judean desert and the Dead Sea as well as a relaxing ending by floating in the Dead Sea. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

M L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A really enjoyable tour, with a helpful and informative guide. The trip to Jerusalem was fascinating and although it was a Saturday so certain restrictions were in force this did not lessen the enjoyment of the Western Wall or the Holy Sepulchre.The Dead Sea was an absolute delight. Highly recommended

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Jekaterina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really enjoyed the tour - thanks to a friendly and knowledgeable guide Amir and well organized timing/facilities - a comfy air conditioned minibus with just 17 people, just enough time spent on sightseeing and then 2 hours of muddy bathing in the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Cat USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide, Moshe, was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of history with us throughout the day. I definitely learned a lot about Jerusalem, and Israel in general. The old city of Jerusalem is so amazing and full of history that I wish we could have spent longer there, but I also didn't want to miss out on the Dead Sea. This tour is perfect if you don't have a lot of time, but if you do have the time, I'd recommend spending a full day in Jerusalem, and then doing a separate day for the Dead Sea. Overall, a really great day - especially since we had such a small group of 8 people!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Christiane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic well organised tour - the right mixture of travel and sightseeing, information and fun. The driver was very knowledgeable, and he pointed out lots of landmarks, combined with information from Israel's history, politics and stories from the Bible. His guided tour of Massada was excellent. My little girl age 11 loved the cable car ride up and loved listening to all the information. And the dead sea, fun and relaxing. The best tour of our Israel holiday!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

TonyP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I'll start with the standard not enough time in the day trip complaint. That being said, what made this trip 5 stars was the tour guide. Amir was simply amazing. His pride in his country added credence to all the history he shared with us on the long bus ride from Tel Aviv to Masada. But more than that, he was a well trained orator that easily captured our attention as he pointed out landmarks during the ride as well as once we were at the site. Handouts on a bus trip? It was like a school trip for adults. If Amir isn't a teacher, he should be. Add in humor and an engaging personality and it just made for a the best day possible I just can't stress enough how great he made the trip. So now some items of note: Masada was the lunch stop, lots of food choices, no worries there. Every trinket in the region is available no haggling but prices were competitive. The place itself was incredibly clean and well maintained considering it's literally in the middle of nowhere.
Half way to Masada the bus stopped at a Ahava mineral/cosmetic store. That being said, it was perfectly timed for walking around and snacking, and the place was clean especially the bathrooms and it was an incredibly low pressure sale - worth it. I would stop there if I had my family in a car by way of comparison.

Time at the dead sea was at a premium. 90 minutes seems like a lot of time, but the water has receded so it's a 10 minute walk, so nearly a third of your time lost walking and putting on swim clothes. It's a 40US deposit for the locker key, ouch! you get it back when done, but surprise. Given the two main items are covering in healing mud and soaking in the sea change and get moving. Don't forget water shoes, rocks and minerals are not like soft sand and moving quickly barefoot..nope.

All the staff was pleasant at both locations, no rude people anywhere. I ordered this trip at 9pm the day before due to a surprise day off, everything went exceedingly well. No problems with anything.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

coralellen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour! Our guide named Rikki was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions. Masada was an amazing place to see. Floating on the Dead Sea was so much fun! I would recommend this to anybody. We were very lucky to get a great guide for Jerusalem and Bethlehem too, named Ron. He showed us all around and we had a fantastic day. Beware of the Orthodox Easter as we were nearly crushed in the crowds at the tomb. That was an experience in itself. All good fun.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Israel Tour from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem, Bethlehem, Masada & the Dead Sea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message