Letzte Suchanfragen
Löschen
Tavira
Tavira

Tavira

star-4
11 Bewertungen

Taviras Ursprung ist einer der ältesten in ganz Portugal, da archäologische Beweise darauf hinweisen, dass er erstmals im Jahr 2000 v. Chr. Besiedelt wurde. Seine Geschichte ist mit dem mysteriösen keltischen Stamm der Tartessos, den Phöniziern, den Römern, den Mauren und schließlich den christlichen Portugiesen bevölkert. Während es einige Überreste all dieser früheren Bewohner gibt, wurden viele Gebäude der Stadt 1755 vollständig eingeebnet.

Seitdem wurde die Stadt jedoch wieder aufgebaut. Die Kathedrale, die Misericórdia, ist nur eine von 37 Kirchen und verleiht ihr die Sobriquet-Stadt der Kirchen. Andere berühmte Kirchen in Tavira sind Santa Maria do Castelo, die an der Stelle einer Moschee erbaut wurde. Es beherbergt auch die Gräber von Dom Paio Peres Correia und seinen sieben treuen Rittern. Diese Ritter wurden von Mauren trotz eines schwachen Waffenstillstands ermordet, der Dom Correia dazu veranlasste, die Stadt zurückzunehmen.

Taviras Wirtschaft basierte früher auf Fischerei, aber in den letzten Jahren haben sich die Migrationsmuster von Thunfisch verändert und das Schicksal der Flotte der Stadt besudelt. Der Tourismus füllt jetzt die wirtschaftliche Lücke und die Stadt wird zu einem beliebten Golfziel. Auch Sonnenhungrige kommen hierher, um Ilha de Tavira zu genießen, einen Sandbankstrand, der mit der Fähre erreichbar ist. Wie Tavira haben auch die umliegenden Städte vergleichbare Strände und es gibt auch den Slide and Splash Aquatic Park. Da der Tourismus für die wirtschaftliche Gesundheit dieser Gemeinden so wichtig geworden ist, wird Englisch immer häufiger.

Mehr erfahren
Tavira
Wann verreisen Sie?
Daten auswählen
Beliebt
Suchen Sie nach Erlebnissen, bei denen Sie kaum mit Menschenmassen in Berührung kommen.
Suchen Sie nach Erlebnissen mit zusätzlichen Vorkehrungen zum Schutz Ihrer Gesundheit und Sicherheit.
Preis
$0
$500+
Dauer
Tageszeit
GesamtwertungLöschen
Spezialangebote

10 Ergebnisse

Sortieren nach: Präsentiert

Filter

• USD ($)
  • English

No reviews, be the first!

  • Admission: Free

Tavira’s origin is one of the oldest in all of Portugal, as archaeological evidence suggests it was first settled in 2,000 B.C.E. Its history is peopled with the mysterious Celtic tribe of Tartessos, the Phoenicians, the Romans, the Moors and finally Christian Portuguese. While there are some remains of all of these previous inhabitants, much of the city’s buildings were completely leveled in 1755.

Since then, however, the town has been rebuilt. Its cathedral, the Misericórdia, is but one of 37 churches, giving it the sobriquet Town of Churches. Other famous churches in Tavira include Santa Maria do Castelo, which was built on the site of a mosque. It also harbors the tombs of Dom Paio Peres Correia and his seven faithful Knights. These knights were murdered by Moors despite a tenuous truce, which spurred Dom Correia to take the town back.

Tavira’s economy used to be based on fishing, but in recent years, tuna migratory patterns have changed and sullied the fortunes of the town’s fleet. Tourism now fills the economic gap, and the town is becoming a popular golf destination. Sun-seekers come here, too, in order to enjoy Ilha de Tavira, a sandbar beach accessible by ferry boat. Like Tavira, the surrounding towns have comparable beaches, and there is also Slide and Splash Aquatic Park. Since tourism has become so integral to these communities’ economic health, English is becoming more and more prevalent.

Practical Info

Despite its reliance on tourism, Tavira maintains a relaxed air about it. Where its more festive neighbors' bars and cafes are where the action is, Tavira's Praça da República marketplace is the town's social core. Bordered by a city park and covered market stalls, the Praça da República is also a great place to get a meal or coffee as street cafes can be found among the vendors' stalls and shops.

Tours & Tickets

See all

East Algarve Day Trip Including Almancil, Faro, Olhao and Tavira

Explore the peaceful East Algarve with its charming towns, elegant architecture and sights steeped in history. This must-do day trip includes tours of the ...  Read more

Location: Algarve, Portugal
Duration: 12 hours (approx.)

From USD $54.77

See all Tavira Tours & Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message