Insider's Guide to The Algarve

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Right down on the south coast, the Algarve is Portugal’s foremost holiday destination; here heat-starved visitors from northern Europe come to get their annual dose of summer sun. There are hundreds of fine sandy beaches strung like yellow beads ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw a lot of Dolphins - mostly baby ones. The boat pilot was good. The caves are beautiful as well.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a really fun ride, we saw lots of dolphins, lots more than we expected. Speeding over the ocean was really cool The guide was nice, but didn't explain anything beyond "this beach is beach xyz" and "those are dolphins". Well worth it's money

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Slim L
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a fantastic tour, the staff were very friendly. We saw a beautiful family of dolphins and got some great pictures! The staff were great at pointing out all the dolphins and kept driving around till we were all satisfied that we got enough pictures! The driver also managed to get up real close to the caves and talked about the history of Albufeira. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Saw the dolphins and the beautiful coast of Albufeira. Definitely worth a visit!

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Awesome and absolutely recommended. The caves portion was spectacular and we saw tons of dolphins swimming in the ocean.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Alex G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

A fantastic trip, loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We enjoyed our trip. We saw some dolphins and looked at the caves. The only problem was that the trip was half an hour late in starting, but nobody bothered to let us know what was happening, the trip was then cut short and only lasted 1 and 1/2 hours not the 2 hours as stated. Some more communication would have been good.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Vannboy
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

A good and speedy boat. Only broken coastline to see, which was ineteresting, but not rivetting. No dolphins to see altho they did speed out and around for 35 minutes, apparently there are very few around in the spring time, check the time of year for dolphins if you really wanna see em!

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Did not see the dolphins, but the trip was fun. The caves were very nice as well.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I would have to say that our experience was just mediocre. The boat ride was fabulous, and I know the guide looked long and hard for dolphins which we did not find. That was okay for us- we understand that the dolphin sightings are not guaranteed. What I was really disappointed in however, was the complete lack of engagement that the tour operator had with the passengers about the caves and general sites we were observing once we were back on the coastline. He took us in and out of caves but nev er really explained anything or elaborated on what towns or sites we were passing as we cruised the coastline.
All in all, I would give this tour 3/5.
Unfortunate because another boat from the same company that arrived back at port at the same time seemed to have a much more engaging guide. For me however, I would not recommend this to friends unless I could be assured of consistency between guides.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

no cave visits as the picture in the advert suggests. We only saw one dying dolphin and an elusive whale??not even sure if it was a whale..spent the rest of the time looking at the coastline from a distance and the beaches -which was no fun. could not wait for this tour to end! Drove from Lisbon and found it a waste of our time.definitelya thumbs down...

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message