Newcastle Upon Tyne and neighboring Gateshead together constitute the major urban center of northeast England. Locals (known as ”Geordies”) are rarely shy of a drink, and weekends find the bars and pubs of the city heaving with locals and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We have used Hop-on Hop-off buses in several European cities as a quick way to get orientated and see sites that you probably would not have bothered with otherwise. There was a stop a short walk from our hotel and easy enough to find. A bus arrived within a minute of the displayed time. The driver was able to quickly check our vouchers then hand us our tickets and maps. The view from the top deck was fine as we were near the front sheltered from any wind. The commentary was informative but I was surprised that no earphones were offered for alternative languages. Newcastle and Gateshead have some quite steep streets so the bus trip proved its worth in taking the strain. We stayed on the bus for the whole tour and did not do the hop-off, hop-on bit as anything we wanted to view proved to be within our walking range. The tour was value for money and we were satisfied that it fulfilled our wishes.

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was nice and commentary in English very clear. The stop at the Royal Mile was a bit crowded. The staff we very helpful.

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Quite comprehensive. Recommended for the first-timer.

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Being a Geordie of 66 years obviously I am biased but I have to admit I couldn't think of a much nicer way to spend a glorious July Sunday afternoon
Have done many city tours including San Francisco London Rome and Paris and even though my beloved Toon is not of the same magnitude of those great capitals this tour is very rewarding in as much the information given on the recorded commentary is excellent and viewing everything from the top of a bus puts things into a different perspective and you realise how beautiful the city of Newcastle actually is
Special word of mention to our driver who was a lovely guy and who told us about the Victoria Tunnel from Hancocks Museum to the Ouseburn and the apparently famous Vampire Rabbits on Amen Corner
Ideal way to do a leisurely pub crawl as stops near many en route
Will definitely do again in the not too distant future

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

It's nice, however it's too much information in a short span of time and, after some time, me and my fiancee had already forgotten about half of the landmarks that we had seen. Still, if you have one or two days on Newcastle and like better to know very superficially its landmarks and take some photographs than to enjoy to the fullest some of its attractions, we recommend the Hop-on Hop-off tour.

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Value for money - well worthwhile

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The tour itself was good but unfortunately the bus only travels a few hours per day (e.g. from 11:00 to 16:00), so it is not recommended to be used as public traffic

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We really enjoyed our trip, Lots of interesting facts that we didn't know about Newcastle. The only thing I would change are the running times. Could have done with a little extra time so we could get on and off at more places.

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

V C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Good insight into a city we had not visited before.

Doing what: Newcastle City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message