Nestling in the embrace of York’s miraculously preserved wall is one of the great medieval town centers of Europe. You can walk the wall itself and then descend to the winding streets including the narrow Snickelways and the Shambles, now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience, friendly drivers - so good we did the whole tour twice in one day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Glenda P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see and hear about all the history York has to offer. Fully recommend the tour

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WNYNancy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great overview of York!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

J Brent L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

While I have given this tour the 5 star highly-recommended rating, I would also point out that Viator doesn't get the credit, Insight Vacations the actual tour provider receives the accolades. Our booking confirmation from Viator stated a 7:15 am pickup in London on day one, with no mention of Insights involvement in the process. In fact Viator had stated if we had any issues we should contact their provider Evan Evans tours. No sign of a bus by 7:45...I call Evan Evans and they inform me they haven't worked with Viator in years. No contact info for Viator provided other than an email address.
Thinking at this point our tour is a bust, a bus pulls up just after 8:00 am from Insight and I'm relieved to find our names on their list. Poor and incorrect information from Viator will have me dealing directly with Insight in future. As for the tour, great work by our Insight director Brad Dick and driver Michael Elliot. Two top-notch professionals who kept us on track and made this quick tour one of the most interesting we've been on. A great sampler for those hoping to come back to Britain for a lengthier stay at one or more of these locations.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Ankit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Value for money, should surely get one if you are visiting York.

Doing what: The York Pass

Mark E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative, interesting to myself, and my 11 and 6 year old...although upstairs in the open air essential and a great way to find out about some of the past of this beautiful historic city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, great value for money as heaps of free entry to the attractions and discounts to lots of eatery's etc. What a beautiful place York is wish we had longer there.

Doing what: The York Pass

Michael R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the tour very much despite the long days on the bus. Cardiff was a waste as you arrive after the castle closes and there isn't much to do in the city. Our guide gave us 2 hours at Stonehenge which everyone agreed was too long while we could have used the time in Bath. Bus was comfortable and wifi worked for the most part. Our tour guide, Tom, was knowledgeable and accommodating..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Kent R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We visited several venues and definetly got our money's worth. Castle Howard was our favorite and expensive without the York Pass.

Doing what: The York Pass

Janet M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Great experience, friendly drivers - so good we did the whole tour twice in one day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

mmortonuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Right off the train and onto the bus outside. York is not a big city so it takes about one hour to complete the ring road tour seeing and being pointed towards the main sites. Good commentary on board with regular stops to visit the attractions.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

MR D J RENDLE R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

So much to do that 3 days were not enough.
Super atmosphere and certainly worth another visit and Pass

Doing what: The York Pass

Jenn13 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It is a little hard to find the information center to collect the passes but once we had them it was well worth it. We were able to do the chocolate story, York Castle Museum, Yorkshire Museum, Roman baths, York Minister and Treasurers House in 1 day! Obviously more time was spent at some than others but a very good value.

Doing what: The York Pass

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A great place to visit..

Doing what: The York Pass

lcatwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is really great if you get the same tour director we had. It is an Insight tour with a lot of space on the bus. We saw almost all of Great Britain but don't plan to spend much time anywhere. This gave us a good overview and if we came back we would have ideas of where to spend time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Docia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome way to see the city! Totally do this!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

JillC New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great trip. Spent quite a bit of time in the mini coach but were able to explore villages etc.

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great day was had by all. The attraction gives you a brief history of the City of York from the Romans to present day. The actors get the crowd involved which adds to a great experience that will not be forgotten.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

ANDREA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the bus tour, entertaining commentary as we travelled. gave us ideas of parts of city to visit.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We did the tour twice, once on Saturday, with the recorded commentary,and then a repeat on Sunday morning with a live guide who was brilliant, both informative and funny.
Would highly recommend the trip

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Jean C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The trip was good. The group was kept small and the coach was spacious. The guide bringing us for the 5 days is very informative and nice. He tries to help in whatever he can. 5 days and you get to visit some of the main attractoons in Britain. A wonderful trip all in all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

ANDREA T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The York pass was good idea but even though the passes were activated by staff one or other kept not working when scanned at place we were visiting. we went back to tourism shop several time to get new card etc but the places we visited said this often happened that cards would not scan.

Doing what: The York Pass

Huzefa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is helpful for checking out the city quickly, specially if you have about 1.5 hours to spare in the city. Quickly takes you to places around the downtown York area. It was also USD 19, so it is cheaper to take this bus for a day pass instead of paying the same to a cab to go everywhere. Alternatively, one could walk the city, but this is a nice ride if you wanna take it easy and not walk.

Commentary is in english and it gives a decent idea about the layout and some basic history of the place.

Overall, I would say 'not bad' in British terms, but 'fabulous' in American terms...:

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

alt1365

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This pass was a great way to see york ,a great day for all the family ,favourite attraction was the the york dungeon loved every minute ,great interaction with the visitors by the staff ,they all worked very hard to make it a fantastic experiance .Thankyou

Doing what: The York Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message