• USD ($)
  • English
Nestling in the embrace of York’s miraculously preserved wall is one of the great medieval town centers of Europe. You can walk the wall itself and then descend to the winding streets including the narrow Snickelways and the Shambles, now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our first visit to York and there will certainly be more! We stayed in lovely Dean Court Hotel so central and opposite the Minster. The YorkPass proved to be invaluable, first used at the York Museum to see the reconstructed head of King Richard iii, a wonderful sight. We then used it in a variety of shops and restaurants getting discounts.

The On/Off bus was a great success, giving us a good grounding on the centre and outskirts of York with the emphasis we wanted on the history of all we saw. We enjoyed the Ghost Walk and seeing parts of York which would be hidden from the casual observer.

The choir at Evensong in the Minister was a joy to always be remembered!

It was a short visit, so there is already an itinerary being prepared for the next visit!

Doing what: The York Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We really enjoyed taking this tour, saw all the major attractions and were able to situate ourselves in London, thus being able to walk to the many attractions. Also included a Thames river cruise, which was unexpected.

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was excellent! Tour guide and driver were great too.. except for the last night in Liverpool which i think is not worth the time. We should either spend one more night in Edinburgh or Lake district. There is nothing much in Liverpool unlike Edinburgh and Lake District. On the final day back to London, there should also be a stop for photos at Cotswold.. One comment on Thistle Marble Arch Hotel in which we stayed for 2 nights. One night before and after the tour respectively. We chose to stay there as the pick up is convenient. We told the hotel staff we will be coming back to stay in the hotel after our tour, however they refuse to keep some of our luggage. As such 2 of us took our 4 pieces of luggage with us all the way up north UK and back! As we have done much shopping in London before our land tour, we have more than 1 luggage each. If only the hotel can be more considerate given that we will still be their customer when we returned. Unfortunately they insisted on a charge of 30 pounds per day per luggage if we were to leave our bags with them. I find this not acceptable as we will be returning to stay with them. Appreciate Viator or Insights can speak to them to avoid disappointment of future tour customers. If its not because of Viator or Insight tour, Thistle Marble Arch will not necessary be chosen..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I'm a fan of City Hop-on Hop-off Tours while travelling, especially internationally. Not being familiar with these cities, and trying not to miss any important sites, this is a fantastic opportunity to see the best of what each city has to offer. This particular tour had an extremely knowledgeable guide, Lisa, who was local from York. Not only did she provide interesting facts about the city, but was also able to add funny trivia and folk lore as well. It was very easy to book this tour online. I printed off my voucher, signed it, surrendered it to the driver of the tour, and was on my way. A very reasonable price for a lifetime of memories.

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Really fantastic bus tour of York because instead of stop start audio we were lucky to have a lovely lady telling us not only about the history and landmarks but also lots of other interesting stories about York. Would be a much better experience for everyone if this was the norm. I can also remember this in Liverpool and that was fantastic to.

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A great way to see York.

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Really informative, very convenient pick -up from the station. Set down points extremely convenient.Loved it!

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I was very happy with this tour. I only had half a day before I needed to travel elsewhere by train, but I was still able to see many of the great sites I wanted to see, there was a live guide on board, rather than an audio commentary, which allowed for questions we might have had. This is a fantastic way to get a valuable introduction to the city, even if you have limited time.

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very interesting tour...but microphones could fit a bit better!

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Althougt York was just great, we were dissapointed in the busdriver that drove too fast for any-one to enjoy the sightseeing from the bus. This seem to be a problem throughout this industry.

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

On my fist trip to York, I was able to get an overview of the city and then concentrate on the specific places where the bus stopped for more touring. WHAT A FASCINATING CITY!

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent tour guide. Lots of interesting information about buildings, history, digs, etc. The tour was able to show you parts of York you would not see just walking - especially from the top deck!

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The tour provides the visitor with a good overview of the city. The live guides are knowledgeable and share their information with great humour.

Doing what: York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ann p
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

the pass made access so quick and easy i didnt use it all but enjoyed the 7 places i went to. I found people very helpful as well.

Doing what: The York Pass

Michael S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great value for money, went to 24 museums and attractions in the three days and saved over £50 in admission fees. I also got discounts in restaurants and shops. if you are visiting Yorkshire and planning on visiting lots of attractions this pass is absolutely essential.

Doing what: The York Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message