Nestling in the embrace of York’s miraculously preserved wall is one of the great medieval town centers of Europe. You can walk the wall itself and then descend to the winding streets including the narrow Snickelways and the Shambles, now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A great place to visit..

Doing what: The York Pass

lcatwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is really great if you get the same tour director we had. It is an Insight tour with a lot of space on the bus. We saw almost all of Great Britain but don't plan to spend much time anywhere. This gave us a good overview and if we came back we would have ideas of where to spend time.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Docia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome way to see the city! Totally do this!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

JillC New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great trip. Spent quite a bit of time in the mini coach but were able to explore villages etc.

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great day was had by all. The attraction gives you a brief history of the City of York from the Romans to present day. The actors get the crowd involved which adds to a great experience that will not be forgotten.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

ANDREA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the bus tour, entertaining commentary as we travelled. gave us ideas of parts of city to visit.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We did the tour twice, once on Saturday, with the recorded commentary,and then a repeat on Sunday morning with a live guide who was brilliant, both informative and funny.
Would highly recommend the trip

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Jean C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The trip was good. The group was kept small and the coach was spacious. The guide bringing us for the 5 days is very informative and nice. He tries to help in whatever he can. 5 days and you get to visit some of the main attractoons in Britain. A wonderful trip all in all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

ANDREA T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The York pass was good idea but even though the passes were activated by staff one or other kept not working when scanned at place we were visiting. we went back to tourism shop several time to get new card etc but the places we visited said this often happened that cards would not scan.

Doing what: The York Pass

Huzefa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is helpful for checking out the city quickly, specially if you have about 1.5 hours to spare in the city. Quickly takes you to places around the downtown York area. It was also USD 19, so it is cheaper to take this bus for a day pass instead of paying the same to a cab to go everywhere. Alternatively, one could walk the city, but this is a nice ride if you wanna take it easy and not walk.

Commentary is in english and it gives a decent idea about the layout and some basic history of the place.

Overall, I would say 'not bad' in British terms, but 'fabulous' in American terms...:

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

alt1365

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This pass was a great way to see york ,a great day for all the family ,favourite attraction was the the york dungeon loved every minute ,great interaction with the visitors by the staff ,they all worked very hard to make it a fantastic experiance .Thankyou

Doing what: The York Pass

Leslaw B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

everything to expensive

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Bethany K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jeff: was just wonderful ! He made our trip so mush more than just a tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable trip to York. We had a three day YorkPass and made full use of it.

Doing what: The York Pass

Stephen B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The attractions in York are excellent and we enjoyed all our experiences.The major problem we had was the lack of quality signage to give directions to those like us who need to walk between attractions,
The maps used are sometimes a bit unclear as to street names and we found our selves having to ask for directions many times.

Doing what: The York Pass

Deb

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The places we went were very interesting and worth seeing and the accomodation excellent. What wasn't good was that the tour guide was late on the first and third day, did not communicate well and the address system was broken on the bus and there was a complete lack of interest from him in getting a new headset. So 5 days with no commentary! If it wasn't for road signs we would not have known where we were. I would recommend this tour but not with Rabbies.

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

Joanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Alot cheaper than on the door, very funny. Worth a visit!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First B and B was a little small, in the attic, not cool enough, wifi was too weak. But other than that, a great trip!

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

Julien R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We made fairly good use of the York Pass because York is a small city and fairly easy to get around, however some places are, even with the assistance of locals, well hidden and very hard to find. I am not sure that we saved any money by purchasing the Pass as we didn't get around all the places that we planned. If we returned to York, we would not buy the Pass again because having purchased it, we felt we needed to make best use of it, rather than 'going with the flow' and enjoying each experience.

Doing what: The York Pass

Simon A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Very poor, a number of the attractions were only part open either due to being broken down or something else going on at venue. So buying these tickets worked out more expensive than buying them singular for the ones we visited.

Doing what: The York Pass

Jane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative and funny!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was good. Bit of a delay at start waiting for sufficient to begin. My boys are 9 and 7 and had heard about it from friends so I thought it may be too scary. They were scared but they loved it and at the end talked about it for hours to me and their friends. With the discount it was good value

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Lisa M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was brilliant but I would advise getting the 2 day pass as each attraction that we went to lasted about an hour and we wished we were able to do more...when I go back I will get the two day pass and do much more. Good value for money though the york dungeons was the best attraction by far!

Doing what: The York Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message