Nestling in the embrace of York’s miraculously preserved wall is one of the great medieval town centers of Europe. You can walk the wall itself and then descend to the winding streets including the narrow Snickelways and the Shambles, now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We made fairly good use of the York Pass because York is a small city and fairly easy to get around, however some places are, even with the assistance of locals, well hidden and very hard to find. I am not sure that we saved any money by purchasing the Pass as we didn't get around all the places that we planned. If we returned to York, we would not buy the Pass again because having purchased it, we felt we needed to make best use of it, rather than 'going with the flow' and enjoying each experience.

Doing what: The York Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Very poor, a number of the attractions were only part open either due to being broken down or something else going on at venue. So buying these tickets worked out more expensive than buying them singular for the ones we visited.

Doing what: The York Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very informative and funny!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was good. Bit of a delay at start waiting for sufficient to begin. My boys are 9 and 7 and had heard about it from friends so I thought it may be too scary. They were scared but they loved it and at the end talked about it for hours to me and their friends. With the discount it was good value

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was brilliant but I would advise getting the 2 day pass as each attraction that we went to lasted about an hour and we wished we were able to do more...when I go back I will get the two day pass and do much more. Good value for money though the york dungeons was the best attraction by far!

Doing what: The York Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

First time to York and we found the tour very informative. Enjoyed the fact that you can get on and off the bus as often as you like. Would have liked the bus to go a little slower so that I could absorb the history better although I appreciate that's not so easy in the traffic.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Thomas J
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Great tour but it's cheaper to buy a ticket from the driver than to book through Viator

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The cards are a great way to see York as then you don't have to worry about how much visiting the places that you want to will cost great value

Doing what: The York Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Funny, jumpy, good entertainment, crowd involving and thoroughly enjoyed it

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Not really a dungeon. Actors were wonderful. Really involved the audience. learned all about torture.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I had a wonderful time on the Heart of England Tour earlier in September (12th – 16th). Steve was an excellent tour guide and added so much to the trip. There were only a few of us on the journey and we received such personalized attention. Rabbies is to be commended for running their tours regardless of the number of people who sign up.
The tour began on Friday morning, departing from Victoria Coach Station, and we drove to Stratford upon Avon and then to the Ironbridge area on the River Severn, before driving the rest of the way to Shrewsbury where the tour spent two nights. The bed and breakfast where we were booked, The Trevellion House, was delightful. Sonia took excellent care of all of her guests, there was a cooked to order breakfast, and the single room that I stayed in had a very comfortable double bed and a spacious bathroom.
Saturday was spent in Wales. In the town of Conwy, we explored the ruins of Conwy Castle and did a tour of Plas Mawr, an Elizabethan house that was really amazing. In the afternoon we drove into the Snowden National Park and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and learned that the sheep outnumber people in Wales 10 to 1.
On Sunday morning we said goodbye to Shrewsbury and drove into the Peak District. Our first stop was at the spa town of Buxton, known as the Bath of the North. Then onto Chatsworth! The house and gardens were truly something to see, you could easily spend an entire day there. After driving to York, Steve dropped us off at our accommodations, and I had a great dinner at Jamie’s Italian restaurant.
I stayed at The Groves in York, which was a B and B style hotel. On Monday, I had a fun day seeing York Minster, the York Castle Museum, Clifford Tower, and walking around city, and had a nice late lunch at the most popular restaurant in the city, Rustique.
Tuesday was the last day of the tour, and we visited Cambridge for a few hours before returning to London. It was a great trip!

Doing what: 5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon, Buxton and York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A worthwhile way to see York as it went to all the main attractions and gave us a chance to see places of interest. We were able to use it as transport to our pre-booked York Dungeons experience. We were able to visit York Minster and the Chocolate Story.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message