Glencoe offers some of the finest landscape in Scotland, indeed the whole of the UK, where dramatic mountains sweep down to glens (valleys) until they meet the moody waters of the lochs.   While this is a site of historical significance ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2075 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful and entertaining trip. If all your tour guides are half as good as Grant, your customers will be very lucky. It's obvious he researched and shared his love for Scotland and her history.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good day with a highly knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Like always Viator organized perfect trip .Highlands day trip was perfect. Mercedes bus with 16 passengers. Our driver Jonnatan amaizing with 12 hours entertaining . Rabbies agency have done very good job. Thank you all. Gordan and Anita

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

John is an amazing tour guide with almost unlimited knowledge about Scotland. He is also kind and patient about tourists' questions and needs. Strongly recommended!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent introduction to the Scotland highlands, excellent tour guide and good accommodations! Can't think of ant negatives

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had the time of our life. excellent guide/driver.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour and Grant was an amazing tour guide and story teller providing us the history of Scotland and our stops along with personal insights. We stopped at a number of other sites not listed in the brouchre for pictures which were well worth it and/or rest stops and still stayed on schedule. The sights, especially Glen Coe are breathtaking. I highly reccomend this tour and you will be very lucky if you get Grant as your guide. After this I can't wait to come back and take one of the multi-day tours of Scotland. A beautiful country either lovely people.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was filled with awesome scenery and spectacular views. We were able to travel so many narrow country roads that the big tour buses would never have been able to drive. Our talented driver Alan kept us entertained with stories of the regions and provided a wide mix of music that enhanced our journey, all while taking us safely throughout the highlands. His friendliness, attention, and knowledge were greatly appreciated. The pace of the trip was perfect, with plenty of stops and enough time to see the sights. The van seats were comfortable and our small number of passengers made it convenient for restaurants and sight-seeing. We were fortunate to have a nice mix of courteous people with us too. Our B and B at Ullapool had a beautiful view of the water and was in easy walking distance to the cafes and restaurants. We enjoyed this trip so much that we took two more one day excursions with Rabbie's while we were in Scotland. We are so glad to have had such a memorable experience. Thanks again, Alan! Wayne and Leslie Gmachl

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Heather is our tour guide and she's simply fabulous.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Breathtaking scenery, nice cruise on the loch

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great time, tour guide Alan was very informative and told us some great historical stories. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Skye is a beautiful and fascinating place, we caught great weather, and the trip guide was fantastic, his stories added a lot of context to the trip. The tour was well organized and on time, and accommodations were also good.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Scenic Beauty in a remote wilderness. What a great trip we took in late-June 2015. Alan was our tour guide and he was great. A history buff, Alan taught us a massive amount during our driving time between sites.

Limited to a group of 16, we were able to cover a lot of the Highlands area over 5 days, getting to experience the scenic beauty and remote landscape that was truly amazing. Alan was laid-back, informative, and very respectful of our groups' desires, not having us on a strict schedule but allowing each stop to happen organically. The result was a tour that never felt rushed, which we appreciated after having done a similar tour the week before in Ireland! Even with the laid back pace, we were always at our lodging by 6:30PM, leaving plenty of time to explore the tiny fishing villages where we stayed.
- Note: There isn't much nightlife at the Ullapool and Portree locations, though there is much scenery.
- We stayed at the B and B Double option, finding the accommodations in Ullapool to be average and the accommodation in Portree to be slightly below average. That is specific to this tour, however, as we had much better experiences with the same level of B and B on our 5 day Ireland tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Sharon V
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much beauty on this tour! Raw, wild and at times, unexpected. The folks at the tour company really know how to do this right! With many folks wanting to do this day tour, the small groups is absolutely the way to go!
Our guide was Johnathan. As soon as he realized there were 5 vans booked to do the same tour, he immediately asked us if he could switch the itinerary around so that we wouldn't have to contend with the crowds. We agreed and it was a wise decision. Johnathan kept up a steady stream of banter full of facts, stories, jokes and added a nice touch with musical interludes he selected to help us absorb the atmosphere of the sights and places we visited. He was also sensitive to when our group was tired and fell to napping in which case he would play soothing music and kept his comments to a minimum. Very professional, knowledgeable and a lot of fun! Thanks Johnathan and local tour copmany! Oh, and the coffee and pastries at the coffee shop where the tour starts are also v good so grab some while waiting to board your van!
At Loch Ness, though we had no Nessie sightings, my husband and I struck up a conversation with a man who turned out to be William Jobes, who has been visiting the loch for 49 years and has seen what he claims to be Nessie and published some photos he captured of the elusive creature. He shared stories of his personal experiences and even gave us each a laminated copy of his published photos. That was a unique, unexpected and enjoyable turn of events!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour. Our guide, Dave, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. My 14-year-old daughter said this was the best part of our trip to Scotland, and I'd have to agree. It really makes the experience so much richer having all the stories to go with the incredible scenery.

If you are environmentally conscious, Rabbies is a great choice. While we were having lunch or taking in the scenery, Dave was out picking up litter. The company also contributes to environmental charities to help balance their impact on the environment.

I think it's a good sign to hear an employee speak highly of their employer, and Dave is obviously very happy working with Rabbies.

I would heartily recommend this tour and I hope you're lucky enough to have Dave as your tour guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the day. David was a great guide, so pleasant and knowledgeable. The trip was the perfect length. The sights were lovely.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

David was a pleasant, knowledgeable guide and good driver, and the actual tour was great, which is why I gave it 5 stars. However, the check-in process was a bit of a pain - tickets were bought online well in advance but still had to check in within 24 hrs before the actual trip, and then again on the day of the tour on site. I understand from your perspective why, but it was a bit of a pain for tourists coming in from another country who had to interrupt activities/plans to concern ourselves with that, pay international cell phone rates to make the phone call, and then get transportation to the shared office in the money exchange place on High Street where the remote office is because the call wasn't made during office hours. That said, the tour was worth it.

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is really awesome! We really love our guide Duncan who was really good at his work and also had very good humours. We really recommend this tour to everyone who wishes to have a quick view of the beautiful highland Scotland

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sights are breathtaking! But the best part of the tour was our guide, Grant. He immediately put all of us at ease, made sure we were safely buckled in, and tailored the 12-hr tour to what we expected. His knowledge of history and local folklore is immense and entertaining. Trivia, theatrics, and a great personality/attitude rounded up this great tour.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was great! We had Gill and she was fantastic and very knowledgable. She was able to tell us legends, talk about the history of the areas and played some local music. The scenery was beautiful and it was well worth the long day.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The best excursion and guide. Matthew was extremely friendly, full of interesting facts and stories, and made the excursion one of the best. The scenery was absolutely beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and recommend it and the company.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

loved it and will recommand.our driver fot the day was Joe and he was brillant

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message