Known as the Queen of the Hebrides, Islay is Scotland’s fifth-largest island and lies off the country’s west coast in the Inner Hebrides. Avid birdwatchers often make the trek to Islay, which is home to many species of birdlife, including the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 52 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Not what I expected. The food was good. It would have been better to do whiskey pairing with the food instead of whiskey tasting after the meal.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I was the only person at the tasting and was only advised by email (which I wasn’t looking at while away). However, the staff did a great job accommodating me and I enjoyed the food and tastings.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was just my boyfriend and I doing the tasting, which allowed the guide to lead it in whichever direction we wished. It was personalized to our tastes (which was good because I am not a big fan of whisky!)

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A dream come true for a fan of Islay Single Malt. In depth tours and tastings at 3 distilleries and mini-tours and tastings at 3 more. Even an opportunity to pour your own bottle right from the cask, visit historic sites, walk through a peat bog, and stake your claim to a square foot of Laphroig (and collect a wee bottle of 10 year old from them as rent for use of your property). The cottages at Bowmore were delightful. The trip to and from Edinburgh is on a very comfortable coach and ferries. Lots of stops along the way to visit Lochs, castles and quaint villages. Our driver and guide, Emily, with her university education in the history of Scotland was extremely informative and entertaining.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Food was lovely and fresh. Lovely rustic little restaurant. Ever knowledgeable about whiskey.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Very expensive given the dinner provided and the whiskey tasting was also very poor (the waitress who did the tasting couldn't answer all our questions e.g. What is a blend?). Instead I would rather recommend the dinner and tasting done by "The Scottish Whisky experience". It's cheaper and much better. You can also book it online on there website.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The whiskey tutor was knowledgeable and a good teacher. He is well worth talking to before you go to the Scotch Whiskey Heritage Center Bar. The restaurant was not, however, "one of the finest gastropubs in Edinburgh". The food was awful. It was not what was advertised online. It was a major disappointment.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I was under the impression when booking this that it would be with a group. Our dinner and tasting was just with the four in my party. Meal was ok and tasting portion would have been more fun with a larger group.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The restaurant is an organic restaurant with an excellent menu, using seasonal ingredients. The wild venison was incredible! The whisky tasting afterwards was both informative and fun, and a great overview of Scotch whiskey. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip to Islay started with difficulty in so far as we were initially directed to gather at the wrong location. Viator made a feeble attempt to correct this error prior to our trip sending us a vague imprecise email with the correct gathering location that made no attempt to illuminate the error. In any case a staff member from the tour company, found us at the wrong location and redirected us to the correct location. Unfortunately all but two seats were taken and my wife and I spent the initial portion of the tour seated in different areas of the bus, a situation that corrected itself the next day and for the remainder of the trip. The Whisky Tour itself was phenomenal and more than made up for the initial displeasure we experienced. We would make two suggestions. First, all participants should be informed that they will get one, and only one, opportunity to purchase whisky at each distillery. Unfortunately we put off the purchase of a select whisky at the Bowman Distillery and never had another opportunity to make a purchase despite staying at the Bowman Distillery cottages themselves. More our loss because 1/we could not find the selected whisky in Edinburgh upon our return and 2/ the prices are significantly higher in Edinburgh - a point that was not emphasized on the tour. Lastly, we tipped our guide Emily and our driver Jamie generously because of their outstanding work. But, at no time, were tipping guidelines discussed or even mentioned. Overall we enjoyed the tour which was both educational and rewarding in oh so many ways. The Bowman Distillery cottages were everything you would expect and more. We had a power loss on one occasion when we started both the dishwasher and the washer/dryer at the same time, but the breaker was easy to reset. We could have used to directions for the washer/dryer, but we managed. We'd go on the tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great dinner. Food was delicious - would find the restaurant again. And person leading whiskey tasting was interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour is the perfect mix of whisky tasting and sight seeing. Our tour guide, Sarah, was excellent! She was very knowledgable and helpful. The accommodation at Bowmore Distillery was great, comfy beds, hot showers and a large kitchen/living area. I really can't fault this tour, if I wanted to be picky my only complaint is that I requested a double bed but was given a room with twin beds instead. Book this tour, you won't be dissapointed :)

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message