• USD ($)
  • English
Known as the Queen of the Hebrides, Islay is Scotland’s fifth-largest island and lies off the country’s west coast in the Inner Hebrides. Avid birdwatchers often make the trek to Islay, which is home to many species of birdlife, including the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The whiskey tutor was knowledgeable and a good teacher. He is well worth talking to before you go to the Scotch Whiskey Heritage Center Bar. The restaurant was not, however, "one of the finest gastropubs in Edinburgh". The food was awful. It was not what was advertised online. It was a major disappointment.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I was under the impression when booking this that it would be with a group. Our dinner and tasting was just with the four in my party. Meal was ok and tasting portion would have been more fun with a larger group.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The restaurant is an organic restaurant with an excellent menu, using seasonal ingredients. The wild venison was incredible! The whisky tasting afterwards was both informative and fun, and a great overview of Scotch whiskey. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip to Islay started with difficulty in so far as we were initially directed to gather at the wrong location. Viator made a feeble attempt to correct this error prior to our trip sending us a vague imprecise email with the correct gathering location that made no attempt to illuminate the error. In any case a staff member from the tour company, found us at the wrong location and redirected us to the correct location. Unfortunately all but two seats were taken and my wife and I spent the initial portion of the tour seated in different areas of the bus, a situation that corrected itself the next day and for the remainder of the trip. The Whisky Tour itself was phenomenal and more than made up for the initial displeasure we experienced. We would make two suggestions. First, all participants should be informed that they will get one, and only one, opportunity to purchase whisky at each distillery. Unfortunately we put off the purchase of a select whisky at the Bowman Distillery and never had another opportunity to make a purchase despite staying at the Bowman Distillery cottages themselves. More our loss because 1/we could not find the selected whisky in Edinburgh upon our return and 2/ the prices are significantly higher in Edinburgh - a point that was not emphasized on the tour. Lastly, we tipped our guide Emily and our driver Jamie generously because of their outstanding work. But, at no time, were tipping guidelines discussed or even mentioned. Overall we enjoyed the tour which was both educational and rewarding in oh so many ways. The Bowman Distillery cottages were everything you would expect and more. We had a power loss on one occasion when we started both the dishwasher and the washer/dryer at the same time, but the breaker was easy to reset. We could have used to directions for the washer/dryer, but we managed. We'd go on the tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great dinner. Food was delicious - would find the restaurant again. And person leading whiskey tasting was interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour is the perfect mix of whisky tasting and sight seeing. Our tour guide, Sarah, was excellent! She was very knowledgable and helpful. The accommodation at Bowmore Distillery was great, comfy beds, hot showers and a large kitchen/living area. I really can't fault this tour, if I wanted to be picky my only complaint is that I requested a double bed but was given a room with twin beds instead. Book this tour, you won't be dissapointed :)

Doing what: 4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including Laphroaig, Bowmore, Kilchoman and Ardbeg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Was surpiced by the tiny restaurant upstair, but absolutely worth the visit. Excelent food and lovely people :-)
The whiskeytasting was educational and memorable.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was absolutely fantastic. The food and atmospher was brilliant. While I am not a fan of Whiskey myself, I found the tasting informative and interesting. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and the location is far enough from the tourist strip for there to be locals present, but close enough for you to walk there within 10 minutes. I would recommend this venue to anyone.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

An excellent meal in a genuine gastro-pub. Very knowledgeable tasting tutor. The only criticism is that they were slow to remove the dog whch kept coming to our table, despite having been told that my husband suffers badly from asthma. Otherwise a delightful evening.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The food was fresh and very tasty! We ended up with a private tasting by a very knowledgeable instructor. We learned alot! We would recommend this event.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was great, the only thing that would have made it better is more people.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really good tour the person instructing on the tastings was very accommoding and informative. Highly recommended

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The food in this restaurant was of very good quality. As a non experienced Whisky drinker, the Whisky tasting experience gave us a very good insight into and allowed us to sample the various types of Whisky's produced. Our guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Whisky Tasting and Dinner in Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message