The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 206 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The Orkneys are beautiful and fascinating. It would have been great to have more time at each stop, but the day was as packed as a 1 day trip can be. The guide/bus driver in Orkney was fantastic, with great stories and local history. The bus ride between Inverness and John O'Groats was fairly long 3 hours each way, so be prepared, but the scenery is beautiful, and there's really no getting around having to cover that distance! Next time, I'd spend a couple of days in the Orkneys.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would recommend it to anyone. So glad I did it

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

weather was not great but that did not spoil a wonderful trip. amazing that we got enough time at each place and saw it all in one day. our tour guide was great - very knowledgeable. thought it would be a long day 7.15am till 8.30pm but it wasn't really. i really liked the italian chapel. we took food - so saved wasting time in cafe's at kirkwall or skara brae. parking at rose street inverness is 6 for 18 hours and right next to bus station. june 15 prices. scenery was beautiful and the light nights in june helped.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Rick
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A whistle stop tour that was well organised and punctual. Everything was covered by our guide including local information, humour and tour information. A great day out at a great price. I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing the same. Well done.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the absolute highlight in what was an amazing 4 weeks in the UK. If history is your thing this is unmissable. Our B and B accommodation was excellent. Our guide/bus driver, Gus was an absolute star and a great story teller. It was a small tour which made it all the better.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an absolutely fabulous time, thanks to our wonderful guide, Stuart. He was so friendly and informative. We especially loved his sense of humour! An amazing day!
He may remember us as the Canadian group of 8.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide who's knowledge of the Orkney's was fantastic. Beautiful area with so much history. Sensational.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Visited lots of places of interest, with time enough to explore at each stop. Well informed guide. Good service.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

All our Scotland trips through Viator/ Rabbies were Awesome!! Very Professional friendly Team!! We would defintely Highly Recommend!!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have a glorious sunny day and a smooth crossing. The very comfortable coach was waiting for us as we docked. Our guide had a feast of interesting facts, stories and jokes, which created a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere throughout the day. The stops were sympathetically timed to allow exploration/photographing/coffee/lunch/toilet/ breaks at perfect intervals.
Our Norwegian friend was delighted to feel Orkney to be a home from home! Excellent trip!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Timeless! Guide was extremely knowledgeable and very entertaining. Sights were unbelievable and more than we hoped for#

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed the day trip to Orkney. The driver was very informative and very amusing. We would recommend this trip to anyone whom wants a really good day out.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really enjoyed this. Fun, knowledgeable guide with considerate microphone announcements (she began every announcement quietly so we didn't feel attacked). Playing the music of the areas was a nice touch. It was particularly good having a guide and a driver.Thoughtful planning of the route to include lots of interesting stops. Enough time in most places, though I would have liked more time on Orkney. The drive through the wildness of Scotland after we left Orkney was awesome. Loved seeing the red deer. The trip to Culloden was fascinating - the tourist centre there is terrific. Could have spent another hour walking around. The group was small and sociable. Have recommended the tour company to my friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide shared his vast amount of knowledge with humour and thoroughness. It would have been impossible to even approximate the same depth of Orkney experience by driving around on our own. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had the most fantastic day on Orkney!! Lucky enough to have brilliant weather and so could appreciate the beautiful views. We were given lots of interesting information by our bus driver, Stuart who was extremely informative and also very witty!! Timings for stops was perfect and the 4 of us who went on the trip felt we had a very comprehensive tour of the Islands in a day!! Thoroughly recommend!! We have also booked a trip with Viator in New York so hope it is as good.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well apart from the travel time to and from Inverness (which was expected), this tour was great! We had enough time in each place to have a look around and get plenty of photos/ lunch etc. my favourite is still the Italian Chapel, it is awesome what the Italian POW's created from virtually nothing. Skara Brae and the Standing Stones of Steness are fantastic as well.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I visited the Orkney Islands on the 31st August, it was one of the best days we had in the UK. We were picked up from Inverness station on time and the two hour trip to John of Groats we had a tour guide giving us some info on the country side along the way. Once we got across to the Islands on the ferry, which was very relaxing, we were picked up by a bus whose driver was also the guide for the day. She was very informative and entertaining. The sites were excellent and even tho friends told us it would be freezing the weather was just perfect.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Long day but worth the effort

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a wonderful tour with a great guide. The company that offers it is Rabbie's. So I assume that Viator is just a middleman and that I wasted money by dealing with your company rather than directly with Rabbie's. So I won't thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely, thoroughly enjoyed our tour, it is definitely a "bucket list" to do.
Luckily we had a perfect day after a period of not so good weather. However our experience was even better than we had hoped. Scara Brae was, to me, absolutely spine tingling, to look into the very homes that families lived in, up to 5000 years ago was hard to comprehend. Their level of sophication was an education to us.
The Italian Chapel was far more interesting than we realised, and, also there was a twist, there was a sequel to the story that only occurred about 8 weeks previous. Sorry but you'll have to do the tour to find out. We had reservations as to whether the extra time taken to visit the Orkneys was going to be worth it - well it was one of the highlights of our 5 week UK holiday and wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent,could not fault it.10 out of 10.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip to the Orkneys was absolutely wonderful in every way. What a magical, mystical place. Our enjoyment - apart from the incredible beauty and history - was largely due to our tour guide...I think Brian was his name ( he was awarded best Tour Operator in the UK last year). He was knowledgeable, professional, funny and gave us so much information about life in the Orkneys over many centuries and how it is today. We couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message