The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip to the Orkneys was absolutely wonderful in every way. What a magical, mystical place. Our enjoyment - apart from the incredible beauty and history - was largely due to our tour guide...I think Brian was his name ( he was awarded best Tour Operator in the UK last year). He was knowledgeable, professional, funny and gave us so much information about life in the Orkneys over many centuries and how it is today. We couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent way to get over to Orkney and to visit several of the major sites. The tour was well orchestrated and we had wonderful weather ... awesome combination.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was just wonderful, nine of us on the mini van. Mark the guide was most knowledgeable and helpful. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Orkneys. We elected to stay at a hotel and it was good, very clean and wonderful food.

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I can't review this trip as we were sent back to Inverness because of a truck accident which blocked the road On the coach the tour guide I can rate she was very informative and kept us up to speed what was happening. Cheers Tom Balshaw

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I can't review this trip as we were sent back to Inverness because of a truck accident which blocked the road On the coach the tour guide I can rate she was very informative and kept us up to speed what was happening. Cheers Tom Balshaw

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A packed day with an excellent and informative tour guide

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Apart from nearly missing our ferry, ( was told it was sailing at 9am, not 8:50am) we had had a wonderful day trip to the Orkney Islands. Our coach driver/ tour guide was brilliant. Very highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour has been really beautiful, the palaces and the environment are amazing

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Whole trip very well organised and Stuart our coach driver was marvellous. Very knowledgeable and quite funny. Good value for money

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Seeing a part of Orkney through the eyes of an Orcadian was great!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The weather was terrible, cold and couldn't see a thing for the
mist but the cheery bus driver made the day. The trip was
very informative and no-one could have tried harder than the
dear driver!

Thank you.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took my mum(aged 86 yrs young) on this trip as she had always wanted to go to Orkney, especially to see The Italian Chapel. The trip was excellent, very comfortable and our driver ,Alister McRoberts, was incredibly informative and funny too! The highlight for my mum though was the Italian Chapel and as I had forgotten to bring a camera with me, Alister very kindly took some pictures of my mum and me and e-mailed them to me. We now have a lasting reminder of our day out in Orkney. I have no hesitation in recommending this trip. Thank you all, especially Alister.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was excellent. Guides were very helpful. It was thoroughly enjoyable. I will go again next year.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. We hit all the highlights and the bus drivers were super. We got great pictures and had adequate time to take them. I highly recommend the fresh scones at John O'Groats while you wait for the ferry.
Only suggestion is to make sure customers realize that entry to Skara Brae is extra. Fortunately we had purchased a Historic Scotland Pass at Stirling Castle.
Well Done!!!!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were delighted with the organisation, the comfort of the buses, the places of interest we visited on Orkney. the drivers and couriers on the buses to and from Inverness and the information we received then and the excellent driver/guide on Orkney-Alister.
We had friends from Iceland with us and we all thoroughly enjoyed the day.
We have talked a lot about it.
Thank you

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message