The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 244 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastically interesting. The Neolithic sites are amazing. Our bus driver/guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Can you please accept that this was essentially a private trip and we do not have time for such
superfluous writings??

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

long day, but all sites seen and good history and background to islands given by driver/guide on coach

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very complete coverage of all major sites, except distilleries unfortunately -. Excellent driver/guide named Stuart/Stewart

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Whole trip ran like clockwork. Guide on way to John O Groats helpful and organised sandwiches for return journey. Smooth crossing to and from Orkney Islands and superb driver around Islands. Full of interesting facts and credit to the company.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting and enjoyed the drivers commentary. Bonus had blue skies and sunshine.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip to Orkney was excellent! Only negative was that there was a bit of rain and wind - but it is a long way north! Our coach driver, young Stuart, was very knowledgable and we got extra info due to his studies in archeology! We learnt so much about Orkney! Extra purchase of a ticket to Skara Brae is a must!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Merle K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip with lots to see and good amount of time at each stop. Our driver Bain gave us great commentary and details of everything there was to see and where and he recommended we the order we do each stop to get the best value from our time on the islands. I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

comments from guide really interesting. A long day but worth the trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Long way to John a Groats, but nice comentary on the way. Nice to have the opportunity for a coffee/tea on the coach.
Driver on Orkney was amazing, so full of local knowledge, made it a very interesting day.
I would like to go back some time and spend a few days there.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant, all on time, very good guides, well recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Skara Brae and the Scapa Flow story stick out. Would have liked a little more on the farming. Great day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is a must see! It is great how the manage to squeeze so much in a day! All the guides were really knowledgeable and fun. Overall it was very well planned. I also like how they ordered food for us ahead of time from the bus at places so we didn't have to worry about anything. Great trip!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this trip was excellent value for money tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour! We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a great tour. I enjoyed very much. The travel was comfortable. A unique experience that I recommend everybody.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to get a highlights view of Northern Scotland and the Orkney Islands, but be prepared for a very long, 14-hour, day of bus and ferry rides, but the scenery is spectacular as you travel up the coast of Scotland to John O'Groats, the northernmost point in the UK. From there you take a ferry across the Pentland Firth where the Atlantic Ocean and North Sea come together. Once you arrive at Orkney, another bus awaits your arrival and you travel to Kirkwall for an hour walk-around, and quick lunch on your own. Then it's on to amazing stops at Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, and the Italian Chapel. The scenery in the Orkneys is fantastic. All-in-all, if you are thinking of doing this trip, do it, it's a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the third review on request. The Day trip was absolutely marvellous! A very experienced and knowledgeable coach driver/ narrator just perfect. We would strongly recommend it to everyone when in the neighborhood of the Orkney's!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized and well worth the long day. Excellent guides and adequate time to see the major spots. Even the weather cooperated, and the ferry ride was smooth. a highlight of our week in Scotland

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely fantastic!! Very knowledgeable guide who played commentator on aspects of history and folk lore. He was quite happy to answer all our questions, flexible as needed. Bus was very comfortable. Accommodation organised was wonderful - all hosts were extremely friendly and rooms were pleasant and well appointed. Would happily go again!!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Exceptionally good trip aided by the very friendly and efficient coach driver

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to see some of the highlights of the Orkney Islands. While I had a rent car in Inverness, it was a good decision to let them do the driving as it was a long day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long but thoroughly interesting day. Great scenery, places of interest and knowledgeable guides. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Once we reached the boat that carried us across to the islands, the trip was first rate. Our guide on the island was very good, and the places we stopped and rhe amount of time we had to look and learn were adequate.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message