The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 280 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jreed1545

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very very good trip. Just the right amount of stops. The guides gave lots of relevant historical information. The island guide was superb - lots of very interesting information and a great communication style. This trip was a very good value

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

patricia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We all enjoyed the Orkney day trip and felt it was well organised. We think that we got a good idea of the highlights of the Islands and found the driver/ guide to be very knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Bonnie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fabulous and the highlight of our visit to Scotland. The coach driver/tour guide was the icing on the cake. Very entertaining!!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

morbeys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip, well organised, comfortable coach and very good tour guide who had interesting and informed local knowledge. If you only have a day to spare like us I would fully recommend this tour

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Nancy C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. They managed to fit in an acceptable amount of time at each stop considering the shorter day that had to be scheduled in May. We really enjoyed the driver's comments and historical narrative as he drove between stops. It is absolutely beautiful country and there was such a variety of history from prehistoric to current. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Scotland. Wish we had had another day to go back and further explore.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Franklin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour
Audrey was a great guide and gifted story teller
She often would stop often in places not on the tour
but on the way to show us things relating to Scottish history and/ or lifestyle
The variety of scenery and historical features was amazing
The guesthouses were all welcoming and comfy

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

gillian m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It certainly came up to my expectation and more. the Italian chapel was an inspiration and the highlight of the trip for me..

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Tristan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour! The tour is with Rabbie's and is very well planned. The mini coach is comfortable - only eight people on this tour so was plenty of room in the coach. The guide Heather was fantastic, very knowledgable, great customer service skills, good sense of humour and great story teller! The accommodation arranged was very suitable, stay at the Hildeval in Kirkwall, very friendly hosts and comfortable rooms. I will definitely travel with Rabbie's again when I'm next in Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the whole experience.Very well organised.Coach driver was very knowledgeable and funny.great day on Orkney.Thankyou.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Mrs M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time learning about the Isles. Andy was great guide. It was great to hear the history of the place. The weather was good, wonderful sunshine.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

After a smooth crossing on the ferry we stepped straight on to the coach which was waiting for us. Stuart, our driver, provided an entertaining commentary as he took us to the various sites, along with anecdotes which we would have missed if we had travelled alone. We were fortunate that the sites were not overcrowded and we enjoyed a lively lunch at the Ferry Inn in Stromness. The only drawback for us was the biting cold, which meant an uncomfortable visit at Skara Brae and the Ring of Brodgar, but that's something you cannot legislate for. I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Don't hesitate AT ALL when it comes to booking a tour with Rabbie's. They are extremely professional and organized and their drivers are very skilled, well versed and respectful of all passengers. I did two of the 5-day trips with them, this one to Orkney and another to Skye and they were fabulous. Both trips only had 8-10 passengers, but even if the van was full 16 clients max it would be very comfortable. There are plenty of stops and bathroom breaks throughout the day, so that is not a concern. The hotels/B and B's varied, but all were very clean, friendly and convenient to the main locale. You cover a large amount of ground on this tour, heading up the east coast of the Highlands to John O'Groats and taking the ferry beautiful 1-hour ride over to the AMAZING Orkney Isles. Rugged, stark windswept beauty...gorgeous, two nights in this ancient and magical place! And then back to the mainland and another stunning day exploring the west coast of the Highlands down to the lovely village of Ullapool. The last day's drive back to Edinburgh is filled with more beauty and history with a moving stop at the battlefield of Culloden. Seriously, having been on 2 of the 5-day tours with Rabbie's, I will absolutely tour with them again! I should mention that I am a single woman in my 50's, solo traveler and these tours made it a very easy and stress free not having to drive alone way to get out of town and see the Highlands and Isles. Made some new friends along the way as well. Thanks for the marvelous memories Rabbie's and I'll be back to lovely Scotland soon!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Colleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, driver/tour guide was excellent. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

FABRIZIO L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was great- --- i never been in place like that

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

MS LAI FONG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lots of WW1 and WW2 history and geological and pre-historic interests to explore. Skara Brae was fantastic and who need Stonehenge when you can see standing stones and stone circles on the Orkneys for free?

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Patricia B. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was wonderful! Great tour guide Barney, great companions, great weather, beautiful scenery, and fascinating stops. Orkney's sites were awesome Maes Howe, Skara Brae, Stennis, etc.. Guide made great suggestions for restaurants. B and Bs were lovely and friendly. Not enough time in Inverness, but then there never is. We saw a lot more of the Highlands than I expected on this trip. Culloden battlefield visitor center exhibit was new to me, and well worth the stop.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Hiram D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the second time I have been asked for a view on my trip, I completed this before. As I said on my previous review the whole trip was wonderful made extra special by the coach driver A1 star.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Winnett C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though the day was gloomy. We had a great time and saw quite a bit of the island.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent programme and guide . All I could have hoped for , with excellent choice of hotels .

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Aneta I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful trip, excellently and organised to a tiny little detail. The guide on the Orkney islands was especially charismatic, with subtle and amusing sense of humour he showed great and varied historical and cultural knowledge of Orkney. Enjoyed it very, very much

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Terrific driver and tour guide. Most enjoyable. But be prepared for a long day!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

vivfel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our bus driver/guide was exceptional - information and humour all in one. Pity he couldn't have given us better weather, but still this was a great day. Learnt so much about the Churchill Barriers, Skara Brae other items of interest. The background story of the Italian Chapel was very interesting. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

dsterl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing trip to Orkney and to Skara Brae. We picked up the Viator coach at the Inverness bus station right on schedule and were met by a lovely man who had personality plus. Our trip was informative and fun and we sat back and enjoyed the view and the ride. We will definitely use Viator again in the future as they are a class act !

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

BRIAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours I have been on. The visit to Kirkwall, Scara Brae and the Standing Stones of Brodgar and the Italian Chapel were very inspiring. The commentary from Inverness to John O'Groats and the one on the Orkeys were both very informative, unfortunately there was no commentary on the way back, from John O'Groats to Inverness. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend the tour even though it is a very long day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Kelly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome, one of my bucket list items. It is a long trip but well worth the time to see Skara Brae, Skaill House, Ring of Brodgar and Italian Chapel. Also a drive-by of the Standing Stones of Stennes, Scalpa Flow. Our tour driver on Orkney was incredibly knowlegeable and entertaining. The bus ride to John O'Groats and back was equally enjoyable. The guides going up and back were very attentive, serving both tea and coffee also pre ordered sandwiches for the way back. More than I ever expected.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message