The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Colleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, driver/tour guide was excellent. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

FABRIZIO L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was great- --- i never been in place like that

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

MS LAI FONG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lots of WW1 and WW2 history and geological and pre-historic interests to explore. Skara Brae was fantastic and who need Stonehenge when you can see standing stones and stone circles on the Orkneys for free?

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Patricia B. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was wonderful! Great tour guide Barney, great companions, great weather, beautiful scenery, and fascinating stops. Orkney's sites were awesome Maes Howe, Skara Brae, Stennis, etc.. Guide made great suggestions for restaurants. B and Bs were lovely and friendly. Not enough time in Inverness, but then there never is. We saw a lot more of the Highlands than I expected on this trip. Culloden battlefield visitor center exhibit was new to me, and well worth the stop.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Hiram D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the second time I have been asked for a view on my trip, I completed this before. As I said on my previous review the whole trip was wonderful made extra special by the coach driver A1 star.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Winnett C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though the day was gloomy. We had a great time and saw quite a bit of the island.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent programme and guide . All I could have hoped for , with excellent choice of hotels .

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Aneta I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful trip, excellently and organised to a tiny little detail. The guide on the Orkney islands was especially charismatic, with subtle and amusing sense of humour he showed great and varied historical and cultural knowledge of Orkney. Enjoyed it very, very much

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Terrific driver and tour guide. Most enjoyable. But be prepared for a long day!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

vivfel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our bus driver/guide was exceptional - information and humour all in one. Pity he couldn't have given us better weather, but still this was a great day. Learnt so much about the Churchill Barriers, Skara Brae other items of interest. The background story of the Italian Chapel was very interesting. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

dsterl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing trip to Orkney and to Skara Brae. We picked up the Viator coach at the Inverness bus station right on schedule and were met by a lovely man who had personality plus. Our trip was informative and fun and we sat back and enjoyed the view and the ride. We will definitely use Viator again in the future as they are a class act !

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

BRIAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours I have been on. The visit to Kirkwall, Scara Brae and the Standing Stones of Brodgar and the Italian Chapel were very inspiring. The commentary from Inverness to John O'Groats and the one on the Orkeys were both very informative, unfortunately there was no commentary on the way back, from John O'Groats to Inverness. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend the tour even though it is a very long day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Kelly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome, one of my bucket list items. It is a long trip but well worth the time to see Skara Brae, Skaill House, Ring of Brodgar and Italian Chapel. Also a drive-by of the Standing Stones of Stennes, Scalpa Flow. Our tour driver on Orkney was incredibly knowlegeable and entertaining. The bus ride to John O'Groats and back was equally enjoyable. The guides going up and back were very attentive, serving both tea and coffee also pre ordered sandwiches for the way back. More than I ever expected.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Cathy Hammond United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A wonderful time that I will never forget! Worth every moment and penny!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide did an outstanding performance and the information relayed was extremely valuable. It was a well worth trip!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour - I am so glad I went to Orkney. Coach service was excellent with a very knowledgeable driver.
Would recommend this to anyone thinking of doing day tour of Orkney.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Dorcas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastically interesting. The Neolithic sites are amazing. Our bus driver/guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Can you please accept that this was essentially a private trip and we do not have time for such
superfluous writings??

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Irene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

long day, but all sites seen and good history and background to islands given by driver/guide on coach

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Duncan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very complete coverage of all major sites, except distilleries unfortunately -. Excellent driver/guide named Stuart/Stewart

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

MJJADAVIES

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Whole trip ran like clockwork. Guide on way to John O Groats helpful and organised sandwiches for return journey. Smooth crossing to and from Orkney Islands and superb driver around Islands. Full of interesting facts and credit to the company.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Carmina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting and enjoyed the drivers commentary. Bonus had blue skies and sunshine.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

dkedwards

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip to Orkney was excellent! Only negative was that there was a bit of rain and wind - but it is a long way north! Our coach driver, young Stuart, was very knowledgable and we got extra info due to his studies in archeology! We learnt so much about Orkney! Extra purchase of a ticket to Skara Brae is a must!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Merle K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip with lots to see and good amount of time at each stop. Our driver Bain gave us great commentary and details of everything there was to see and where and he recommended we the order we do each stop to get the best value from our time on the islands. I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Marie-Josee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

comments from guide really interesting. A long day but worth the trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message