The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the third review on request. The Day trip was absolutely marvellous! A very experienced and knowledgeable coach driver/ narrator just perfect. We would strongly recommend it to everyone when in the neighborhood of the Orkney's!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized and well worth the long day. Excellent guides and adequate time to see the major spots. Even the weather cooperated, and the ferry ride was smooth. a highlight of our week in Scotland

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely fantastic!! Very knowledgeable guide who played commentator on aspects of history and folk lore. He was quite happy to answer all our questions, flexible as needed. Bus was very comfortable. Accommodation organised was wonderful - all hosts were extremely friendly and rooms were pleasant and well appointed. Would happily go again!!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Exceptionally good trip aided by the very friendly and efficient coach driver

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to see some of the highlights of the Orkney Islands. While I had a rent car in Inverness, it was a good decision to let them do the driving as it was a long day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long but thoroughly interesting day. Great scenery, places of interest and knowledgeable guides. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Once we reached the boat that carried us across to the islands, the trip was first rate. Our guide on the island was very good, and the places we stopped and rhe amount of time we had to look and learn were adequate.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The Orkneys are beautiful and fascinating. It would have been great to have more time at each stop, but the day was as packed as a 1 day trip can be. The guide/bus driver in Orkney was fantastic, with great stories and local history. The bus ride between Inverness and John O'Groats was fairly long 3 hours each way, so be prepared, but the scenery is beautiful, and there's really no getting around having to cover that distance! Next time, I'd spend a couple of days in the Orkneys.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would recommend it to anyone. So glad I did it

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

weather was not great but that did not spoil a wonderful trip. amazing that we got enough time at each place and saw it all in one day. our tour guide was great - very knowledgeable. thought it would be a long day 7.15am till 8.30pm but it wasn't really. i really liked the italian chapel. we took food - so saved wasting time in cafe's at kirkwall or skara brae. parking at rose street inverness is 6 for 18 hours and right next to bus station. june 15 prices. scenery was beautiful and the light nights in june helped.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Rick
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A whistle stop tour that was well organised and punctual. Everything was covered by our guide including local information, humour and tour information. A great day out at a great price. I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing the same. Well done.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the absolute highlight in what was an amazing 4 weeks in the UK. If history is your thing this is unmissable. Our B and B accommodation was excellent. Our guide/bus driver, Gus was an absolute star and a great story teller. It was a small tour which made it all the better.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an absolutely fabulous time, thanks to our wonderful guide, Stuart. He was so friendly and informative. We especially loved his sense of humour! An amazing day!
He may remember us as the Canadian group of 8.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide who's knowledge of the Orkney's was fantastic. Beautiful area with so much history. Sensational.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Visited lots of places of interest, with time enough to explore at each stop. Well informed guide. Good service.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

All our Scotland trips through Viator/ Rabbies were Awesome!! Very Professional friendly Team!! We would defintely Highly Recommend!!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have a glorious sunny day and a smooth crossing. The very comfortable coach was waiting for us as we docked. Our guide had a feast of interesting facts, stories and jokes, which created a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere throughout the day. The stops were sympathetically timed to allow exploration/photographing/coffee/lunch/toilet/ breaks at perfect intervals.
Our Norwegian friend was delighted to feel Orkney to be a home from home! Excellent trip!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Timeless! Guide was extremely knowledgeable and very entertaining. Sights were unbelievable and more than we hoped for#

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed the day trip to Orkney. The driver was very informative and very amusing. We would recommend this trip to anyone whom wants a really good day out.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really enjoyed this. Fun, knowledgeable guide with considerate microphone announcements (she began every announcement quietly so we didn't feel attacked). Playing the music of the areas was a nice touch. It was particularly good having a guide and a driver.Thoughtful planning of the route to include lots of interesting stops. Enough time in most places, though I would have liked more time on Orkney. The drive through the wildness of Scotland after we left Orkney was awesome. Loved seeing the red deer. The trip to Culloden was fascinating - the tourist centre there is terrific. Could have spent another hour walking around. The group was small and sociable. Have recommended the tour company to my friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide shared his vast amount of knowledge with humour and thoroughness. It would have been impossible to even approximate the same depth of Orkney experience by driving around on our own. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message