The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really enjoyed this. Fun, knowledgeable guide with considerate microphone announcements (she began every announcement quietly so we didn't feel attacked). Playing the music of the areas was a nice touch. It was particularly good having a guide and a driver.Thoughtful planning of the route to include lots of interesting stops. Enough time in most places, though I would have liked more time on Orkney. The drive through the wildness of Scotland after we left Orkney was awesome. Loved seeing the red deer. The trip to Culloden was fascinating - the tourist centre there is terrific. Could have spent another hour walking around. The group was small and sociable. Have recommended the tour company to my friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide shared his vast amount of knowledge with humour and thoroughness. It would have been impossible to even approximate the same depth of Orkney experience by driving around on our own. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had the most fantastic day on Orkney!! Lucky enough to have brilliant weather and so could appreciate the beautiful views. We were given lots of interesting information by our bus driver, Stuart who was extremely informative and also very witty!! Timings for stops was perfect and the 4 of us who went on the trip felt we had a very comprehensive tour of the Islands in a day!! Thoroughly recommend!! We have also booked a trip with Viator in New York so hope it is as good.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well apart from the travel time to and from Inverness (which was expected), this tour was great! We had enough time in each place to have a look around and get plenty of photos/ lunch etc. my favourite is still the Italian Chapel, it is awesome what the Italian POW's created from virtually nothing. Skara Brae and the Standing Stones of Steness are fantastic as well.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I visited the Orkney Islands on the 31st August, it was one of the best days we had in the UK. We were picked up from Inverness station on time and the two hour trip to John of Groats we had a tour guide giving us some info on the country side along the way. Once we got across to the Islands on the ferry, which was very relaxing, we were picked up by a bus whose driver was also the guide for the day. She was very informative and entertaining. The sites were excellent and even tho friends told us it would be freezing the weather was just perfect.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Long day but worth the effort

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a wonderful tour with a great guide. The company that offers it is Rabbie's. So I assume that Viator is just a middleman and that I wasted money by dealing with your company rather than directly with Rabbie's. So I won't thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely, thoroughly enjoyed our tour, it is definitely a "bucket list" to do.
Luckily we had a perfect day after a period of not so good weather. However our experience was even better than we had hoped. Scara Brae was, to me, absolutely spine tingling, to look into the very homes that families lived in, up to 5000 years ago was hard to comprehend. Their level of sophication was an education to us.
The Italian Chapel was far more interesting than we realised, and, also there was a twist, there was a sequel to the story that only occurred about 8 weeks previous. Sorry but you'll have to do the tour to find out. We had reservations as to whether the extra time taken to visit the Orkneys was going to be worth it - well it was one of the highlights of our 5 week UK holiday and wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent,could not fault it.10 out of 10.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trip to the Orkneys was absolutely wonderful in every way. What a magical, mystical place. Our enjoyment - apart from the incredible beauty and history - was largely due to our tour guide...I think Brian was his name ( he was awarded best Tour Operator in the UK last year). He was knowledgeable, professional, funny and gave us so much information about life in the Orkneys over many centuries and how it is today. We couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent way to get over to Orkney and to visit several of the major sites. The tour was well orchestrated and we had wonderful weather ... awesome combination.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was just wonderful, nine of us on the mini van. Mark the guide was most knowledgeable and helpful. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Orkneys. We elected to stay at a hotel and it was good, very clean and wonderful food.

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I can't review this trip as we were sent back to Inverness because of a truck accident which blocked the road On the coach the tour guide I can rate she was very informative and kept us up to speed what was happening. Cheers Tom Balshaw

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A packed day with an excellent and informative tour guide

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Apart from nearly missing our ferry, ( was told it was sailing at 9am, not 8:50am) we had had a wonderful day trip to the Orkney Islands. Our coach driver/ tour guide was brilliant. Very highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour has been really beautiful, the palaces and the environment are amazing

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Whole trip very well organised and Stuart our coach driver was marvellous. Very knowledgeable and quite funny. Good value for money

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Seeing a part of Orkney through the eyes of an Orcadian was great!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The weather was terrible, cold and couldn't see a thing for the
mist but the cheery bus driver made the day. The trip was
very informative and no-one could have tried harder than the
dear driver!

Thank you.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took my mum(aged 86 yrs young) on this trip as she had always wanted to go to Orkney, especially to see The Italian Chapel. The trip was excellent, very comfortable and our driver ,Alister McRoberts, was incredibly informative and funny too! The highlight for my mum though was the Italian Chapel and as I had forgotten to bring a camera with me, Alister very kindly took some pictures of my mum and me and e-mailed them to me. We now have a lasting reminder of our day out in Orkney. I have no hesitation in recommending this trip. Thank you all, especially Alister.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was excellent. Guides were very helpful. It was thoroughly enjoyable. I will go again next year.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. We hit all the highlights and the bus drivers were super. We got great pictures and had adequate time to take them. I highly recommend the fresh scones at John O'Groats while you wait for the ferry.
Only suggestion is to make sure customers realize that entry to Skara Brae is extra. Fortunately we had purchased a Historic Scotland Pass at Stirling Castle.
Well Done!!!!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were delighted with the organisation, the comfort of the buses, the places of interest we visited on Orkney. the drivers and couriers on the buses to and from Inverness and the information we received then and the excellent driver/guide on Orkney-Alister.
We had friends from Iceland with us and we all thoroughly enjoyed the day.
We have talked a lot about it.
Thank you

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message