• USD ($)
  • English
The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great time. Sail and bus excellent. Driver fantastic! Knew everything, so interesting. Thank you, will recommend this.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great day tour! Wonderful scenery and a terrific explanation given by a very friendly and humorous guide!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent. Could have left fifteen minutes later from Inverness, making it a less early start.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent guide [Stuart] was well informed of the history of the islands, and had an A+ personality to go with it. A long day that just flew. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The best day trip in years. Not expensive, short ferry trip, excellent coach, even better driver guide - very knowledgeable, safe and amusing - good itinerary - right number of stops, overall an outstanding day (helped by good weather).

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellant Trip we had a super driver who explained everything about the Island and a super personality.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an amazing way to see the Orkney Main Island in a short amount of time. I loved the newpaper that came with the tour. The guide was amazing and witty. I would do this trip again.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Day Trip was very well organised and very informative.Would recommended the trip to fellow travellers

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A fabulous day out from start to finish. Well informed guides, comfortable travel and stunning sights and scenery. Fully intend to revisit Orkney because of this taster trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip very informative and Hooghly organised I would tell anyone to go great value for money and Orkney is a gorgeous island lots to see and friendly locals Brian the tour guide was brilliant and very funny don't miss out

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. Our bus driver on Okney, Claire, was very informative and each stop gave us just about the right amount of time to soak it all in. Just know it's a long day through a beautiful country on the bus-ferry-bus-ferry-bus and for our tour- bus and bus. The bus back to Inverness broke down and it took a relay of 2 more buses to get us back to Inverness about 11pm instead of 9. Because of the delay, we struck up conversations with our fellow passengers and shared travel stories and tips. One lady had come all the way from Australia! It made the time pass faster and more enjoyably. Unfortunately, the people who didn't pre-order sandwiches on the ride to the John O'Groats ferry in the morning were very hungry on the way back. A word to the wise: pre-order sandwiches or bring your own.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Ci è stato fatto vedere il massimo che è possibile vedere in un giorno e, ad essere sincero, ho visto proprio tutto quello che volevo vedere di quelle bellissime isole...è stata una giornata pesante, ma se ci si trova a Inverness secondo me la visita alle isole Orcadi deve essere una tappa obbligatoria.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Highly recommended and you can't miss it!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent day. All in brilliant sunshine too!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous fabulous trip -excellent value and a superb day, made all the better by our wonderful driver Claire!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message