The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a great tour. I enjoyed very much. The travel was comfortable. A unique experience that I recommend everybody.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great trip, the driver is very kind and was telling us great stories about the area.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour! We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this trip was excellent value for money tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Skara Brae and the Scapa Flow story stick out. Would have liked a little more on the farming. Great day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant, all on time, very good guides, well recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

comments from guide really interesting. A long day but worth the trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is a must see! It is great how the manage to squeeze so much in a day! All the guides were really knowledgeable and fun. Overall it was very well planned. I also like how they ordered food for us ahead of time from the bus at places so we didn't have to worry about anything. Great trip!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting and enjoyed the drivers commentary. Bonus had blue skies and sunshine.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Long way to John a Groats, but nice comentary on the way. Nice to have the opportunity for a coffee/tea on the coach.
Driver on Orkney was amazing, so full of local knowledge, made it a very interesting day.
I would like to go back some time and spend a few days there.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Merle K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip with lots to see and good amount of time at each stop. Our driver Bain gave us great commentary and details of everything there was to see and where and he recommended we the order we do each stop to get the best value from our time on the islands. I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Whole trip ran like clockwork. Guide on way to John O Groats helpful and organised sandwiches for return journey. Smooth crossing to and from Orkney Islands and superb driver around Islands. Full of interesting facts and credit to the company.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Michael was very professional. Apart from good time management, he gave good explanation as we drove along to different locations, which was good particularly not all of us are familiar with Scottish Highland. Magnificent views, we were very lucky as it was sunny when we were at Elgol, the view of Black Cuillins was just awesome! Highly recommended, especially those with limited time to see the Highlands.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip to Orkney was excellent! Only negative was that there was a bit of rain and wind - but it is a long way north! Our coach driver, young Stuart, was very knowledgable and we got extra info due to his studies in archeology! We learnt so much about Orkney! Extra purchase of a ticket to Skara Brae is a must!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very complete coverage of all major sites, except distilleries unfortunately -. Excellent driver/guide named Stuart/Stewart

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great overview trip. Lots of driving, but the company was well organized and even planned ahead for us on food. Having done with program, I would probably opt to go back to the islands on my own or for a longer program that gives more time to explore and take photos. Having said that, of all the tours I've taken over the years, this one was definitely the best.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We had a lovely time! It was a long day and it should be shared that the castle that highlights and individual's personal heritage should be referred to as such rather than a historic site. We had good weather which added to the beauty of the trip and the walk ability at stops. Overall a great time!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I wish there had been a more detailed itinerary of the trip just to have an idea of how long time was between stops and how long stops would be ahead of time. Also, I really wish that someone had mentioned we would be offered tea/coffee to purchase on the bus up, and that we could purchase breakfast and dinner through the bus to Orkney only sandwiches, but still better than getting up very early to have breakfast prior to leaving my hotel. As other reviews said, it's very rushed, but I still overall enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent local knowledge and tidbits by bus driver/tour guide in Orkney...saw all that I wanted to see there with maybe just a little more time in Kirkwall - tour guide on the way also knowledgeable - they suggested and we ordered food ahead both going and returning which was a great plan

Just long but you cannot shrink the distance

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had to ask if I was at the right bus. Once on, they drove us 3 hours north to the ferry. We were handed tickets but no explanation. Didn't know until we got to Orkney that a tour bus was waiting for us. There were 4 buses, they told us to get on whatever one we wanted. Guide was great. Knew so much.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a long day but well worth it. The guide on Orkney was very informative and kept us on schedule, giving us enough time to see everything.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Epic
Although if I did this again I would do it over several days rather than cramming it all into one day. We missed more than we saw.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

the view is great, but the guide is not quite patient with non-native speakers.
since it is a long journey, you stay on bus for more than 5 hours. it is not quite suitable to bring children along.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

we were disappointed as we could not get over to the orkneys because of the weather highlands are worth paying a visit to be prepared take plenty cash with you its like london prices

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

MyViator
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Tour guide OK. Games were very disappointing. More like a local carnival with local kids competing in some races, etc. Enjoyed the local bag pipes. We were told that the games in August are more professional with more traditional types of competition that we had expected. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message