The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well apart from the travel time to and from Inverness (which was expected), this tour was great! We had enough time in each place to have a look around and get plenty of photos/ lunch etc. my favourite is still the Italian Chapel, it is awesome what the Italian POW's created from virtually nothing. Skara Brae and the Standing Stones of Steness are fantastic as well.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had the most fantastic day on Orkney!! Lucky enough to have brilliant weather and so could appreciate the beautiful views. We were given lots of interesting information by our bus driver, Stuart who was extremely informative and also very witty!! Timings for stops was perfect and the 4 of us who went on the trip felt we had a very comprehensive tour of the Islands in a day!! Thoroughly recommend!! We have also booked a trip with Viator in New York so hope it is as good.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day trip arose the Scottish Highlands and onto the Isle of Skye. We did not spend long on the Isle though, so I would recommend thinking of this as a highlands trip that ends on Skye. The tour guide Allison was fun and full of facts and laughter! Overall I was very glad to have made this trip.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip! We had some fog that day but we still saw some great scenery!

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was truly amazen, loved every minute apart from the slurs the driver made about both the Scottis and the Irish in particular.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We had a beautiful day with clear skies and beautiful views. The visit to Eileen Donan was informative and the castle was lovely. Our tour could have been improved had we had a good tour guide. It was evident he would have rather been doing anything other than what he was doing that day. His driving was irresponsible. His presentation was blah!!!! He was sarcastic and rude to passengers. He had a confrontation on Skye with a local school teacher when he tried to park his bus in a school parking lot. Then ranted all the way back to Inverness about the incident. I don't know his name, but you all should not use him in this capacity.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

It was a nice day and we enjoyed all of the tour except the lunch... it certainly would have been better to have dropped us all at a central place where we could have ordered food we liked OR at the very least go to a decent place to eat... where we went was very depressing, the food was terrible and the service was even worse... we'd heard all these people talk about the great seafood restaurants on the Isle of Skye and I didn't see one person in our group that really ate much of their food after we had waited forever for ONE grumpy old lady to finally deliver it (with a 20 minute difference in the time some got their food and when others got their food). Must say the meal certainly spoiled a trip we would have otherwise enjoyed. Find a new venue for the one meal in a 12 hour period! Because of it we would only rate the tour as mediocre.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Nice and enjoyable tour. Thanks to our tour guide Allison.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Knowledgeable and fun guide, comfortable bus, great itinerary. So many things learned and great photos taken. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous..we saw exceptional sights and learned so much scottish history...there was never a boring minute..a must for all tourists..can't wait to bring more family back.Allison is an excellent tour guide. She really made everyone feel welcome and had us all laughing, singing, and dancing, feeding hairy cows. It was one of the most memorable things that we enjoyed on our family trip to Scotland. ..thanks

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent way to get over to Orkney and to visit several of the major sites. The tour was well orchestrated and we had wonderful weather ... awesome combination.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was extraordinary, with beautiful scenery and educational narration by our guide, Alison. Alison was wonderful as she kept everyone informed of the history of the Scots and the geographic features that we saw. She kept everyone involved in the process in a playful way. I would highly recommend this tour with her.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent,could not fault it.10 out of 10.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely, thoroughly enjoyed our tour, it is definitely a "bucket list" to do.
Luckily we had a perfect day after a period of not so good weather. However our experience was even better than we had hoped. Scara Brae was, to me, absolutely spine tingling, to look into the very homes that families lived in, up to 5000 years ago was hard to comprehend. Their level of sophication was an education to us.
The Italian Chapel was far more interesting than we realised, and, also there was a twist, there was a sequel to the story that only occurred about 8 weeks previous. Sorry but you'll have to do the tour to find out. We had reservations as to whether the extra time taken to visit the Orkneys was going to be worth it - well it was one of the highlights of our 5 week UK holiday and wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message