The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 390 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nancy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Just the right amount of time to see everything on a well planned tour. The bus driver was delightful and informative. More than met expectations. And, of course, the scenery was spectacular!!!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely day trip with an excellent guide Gary. Well worth the experience of going there.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour. You don't get to see all of the Isle of Skye but what you see is well worth going for. Very knowledgeable guide Duncan. Came back to Inverness via the 'high road' and saw some fantastic scenery and wild life.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Diane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was just what we were looking for -- a nice wander through the Black Isles with an experienced and informative guide. Gary not only knew lots of interesting facts and stories, but he gave us tips about what to look for in each of the places where we stopped. His enthusiasm was infectious. Another great Viator tour!

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Arun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Fantastic scenery and gorgeous views!
Sadly it rained when we were in Skye but still the tour itself was well thought of and showed us a stunning part of Scotland that we had never seen before.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Cory D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The weather on the day we took the trip was rainy/snowy, however that did not ruin our trip, in fact it gave us some spectacular waterfalls. We saw some Red Deer and enjoyed all of the views I would think you normally would enjoy, the castles were grand however the best part of this tour was our guide. She was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and actually told us the history from beginning to end, very fascinating. The history was tied in with the locations we visited and drove by. This was one of my favorite trips.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Colleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, driver/tour guide was excellent. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Keith H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Best part was the distillery tour. The rest was very interesting with some lovely scenery and an excellent guide

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Jeniffer A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The stop at Eilean Donan Castle was nice, it was self lead through the castle. We stopped for lunch in a small village on the Isle of Skye and saw the Skye Bridge from the restaurant. Vegetarians and vegans should definitely pack their own food. The town of Portree was a cute little town, but if you're hoping to see the cliffs at the Isle of Skye, this is not the trip for you. It was nice that we took a different path back to Inverness rather than the same course. The guide, Gary, was very entertaining and we heard a few funny stories and some local legends.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Steven G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our driver Kevin was spectacular! the weather was great and he was so knowledgable about so many different parts of the areas we saw. the tour guide at the distillary was so-so, but all in all it was a lovely day. We appreciated the scenic drive actually the best. And the dauphins were really active the morning we were there.

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Steven G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a lovely day all round. the weather kept changing so we got to see the highlands and Skye differently all the time. Our driver Ian was great with all sorts of odd details about the different areas we drove through. Appreciated all the time at the castle as it was pretty remarkable, especially the kitchen area done in the 1930's period.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Vaibhav D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well planned trip. Go for it and hope rain doesn't spoil the day.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Oi Mei L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

My tour was amazing! The tour guide was nice. He drove us different amazing locations and allowed us to take pictures.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Abdullah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great trip and was a highlight of my trip. We got to see so much of the Highlands condensed in one day. Our driver was capable and knowledgeable and he gave us so much information about the places we have visited. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Douglas P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour was extremely wet, but the host made it as well organized as possible. It rained approx 3 inches during the day and most of the field events were cancelled. The dance competition was held at a local hotel fortunately for us to dry out! We wouldn't go again if it rained!

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

FABRIZIO L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was great- --- i never been in place like that

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Lewis J B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

You did not give us the pick up point for this tour and the four star hotel I was staying in did not know either. When we finally reached a human voice at Viator we were treated rudely and said it was our fault and NOT Viator's fault. They were really rude. Even though I have told you about this in August you did not write to me. Today is the first time I have heard from you. In my mind I am still burning.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, tour guide was entertaining and informative!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Winnett C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though the day was gloomy. We had a great time and saw quite a bit of the island.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Hiram D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the second time I have been asked for a view on my trip, I completed this before. As I said on my previous review the whole trip was wonderful made extra special by the coach driver A1 star.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

MS LAI FONG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lots of WW1 and WW2 history and geological and pre-historic interests to explore. Skara Brae was fantastic and who need Stonehenge when you can see standing stones and stone circles on the Orkneys for free?

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Vaughn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great way to see the Highlands without the bother of driving. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we were able to see some amazing vistas. The tour started in downtown Inverness and it would have been nice if we could have received some instructions on where to park our car for the day. It was a bit of a scramble finding parking.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Joseph Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the true country of the Scottish Highlands. Our coach driver was the greatest. He was very informative on the history and was very thoughtful and accommodating to everyone. Would recommend this tour to anyone. Very long day but worth every hour of it. Five Star tour and driver was great with resteraunt recommends.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Joseph Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the true country of the Scottish Highlands. Our coach driver was the greatest. He was very informative on the history and was very thoughtful and accommodating to everyone. Would recommend this tour to anyone. Very long day but worth every hour of it. Five Star tour and driver was great with resteraunt recommends.

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message