The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 303 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Once we reached the boat that carried us across to the islands, the trip was first rate. Our guide on the island was very good, and the places we stopped and rhe amount of time we had to look and learn were adequate.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long but thoroughly interesting day. Great scenery, places of interest and knowledgeable guides. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to see some of the highlights of the Orkney Islands. While I had a rent car in Inverness, it was a good decision to let them do the driving as it was a long day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Exceptionally good trip aided by the very friendly and efficient coach driver

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized and well worth the long day. Excellent guides and adequate time to see the major spots. Even the weather cooperated, and the ferry ride was smooth. a highlight of our week in Scotland

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the third review on request. The Day trip was absolutely marvellous! A very experienced and knowledgeable coach driver/ narrator just perfect. We would strongly recommend it to everyone when in the neighborhood of the Orkney's!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Malcolm was an excellent tour guide, with a wonderful mix of humour, history, and information about the region, in a relaxed and approachable manner. The tour group was a nice size - about 12 people - with a good mix of people. We were reasonably lucky with the weather too though it was very chilly, even in June!. Duncansby Head was spectacular and it was great to have a photo by the John O'Groats sign!

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another fantastic tour, which I would definitely recommend. Malcolm was an excellent tour guide, with a wonderful mix of humour, history, and information about the region, in a relaxed and approachable manner. He made lots of stops, which was great, as the scenery was amazing and everyone wanted to take lots of photos. The tour group was a nice size - about 12 people - with a good mix of people. I really enjoyed this day.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to get a highlights view of Northern Scotland and the Orkney Islands, but be prepared for a very long, 14-hour, day of bus and ferry rides, but the scenery is spectacular as you travel up the coast of Scotland to John O'Groats, the northernmost point in the UK. From there you take a ferry across the Pentland Firth where the Atlantic Ocean and North Sea come together. Once you arrive at Orkney, another bus awaits your arrival and you travel to Kirkwall for an hour walk-around, and quick lunch on your own. Then it's on to amazing stops at Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, and the Italian Chapel. The scenery in the Orkneys is fantastic. All-in-all, if you are thinking of doing this trip, do it, it's a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The best part of our tour was our guide, Alison, who was witty, knowledgeable, and caring about the people on her tour. Plus, we received glimmers of sunshine for the first time, an omen that followed us to London the following day. Great trip. Would recommend it for anyone who has never been to Inverness before.
It's a four star rating.
Thanks,
Robert and Tobi O'Brien

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good trip maybe too short a time in kirkwell 4 stars

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent day out great bus driver

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have a glorious sunny day and a smooth crossing. The very comfortable coach was waiting for us as we docked. Our guide had a feast of interesting facts, stories and jokes, which created a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere throughout the day. The stops were sympathetically timed to allow exploration/photographing/coffee/lunch/toilet/ breaks at perfect intervals.
Our Norwegian friend was delighted to feel Orkney to be a home from home! Excellent trip!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed the day trip to Orkney. The driver was very informative and very amusing. We would recommend this trip to anyone whom wants a really good day out.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Visited lots of places of interest, with time enough to explore at each stop. Well informed guide. Good service.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide who's knowledge of the Orkney's was fantastic. Beautiful area with so much history. Sensational.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Rick
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A whistle stop tour that was well organised and punctual. Everything was covered by our guide including local information, humour and tour information. A great day out at a great price. I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing the same. Well done.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an absolutely fabulous time, thanks to our wonderful guide, Stuart. He was so friendly and informative. We especially loved his sense of humour! An amazing day!
He may remember us as the Canadian group of 8.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would recommend it to anyone. So glad I did it

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The Orkneys are beautiful and fascinating. It would have been great to have more time at each stop, but the day was as packed as a 1 day trip can be. The guide/bus driver in Orkney was fantastic, with great stories and local history. The bus ride between Inverness and John O'Groats was fairly long 3 hours each way, so be prepared, but the scenery is beautiful, and there's really no getting around having to cover that distance! Next time, I'd spend a couple of days in the Orkneys.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message