The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were lucky to have a glorious sunny day and a smooth crossing. The very comfortable coach was waiting for us as we docked. Our guide had a feast of interesting facts, stories and jokes, which created a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere throughout the day. The stops were sympathetically timed to allow exploration/photographing/coffee/lunch/toilet/ breaks at perfect intervals.
Our Norwegian friend was delighted to feel Orkney to be a home from home! Excellent trip!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed the day trip to Orkney. The driver was very informative and very amusing. We would recommend this trip to anyone whom wants a really good day out.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Visited lots of places of interest, with time enough to explore at each stop. Well informed guide. Good service.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide who's knowledge of the Orkney's was fantastic. Beautiful area with so much history. Sensational.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Rick
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A whistle stop tour that was well organised and punctual. Everything was covered by our guide including local information, humour and tour information. A great day out at a great price. I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing the same. Well done.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an absolutely fabulous time, thanks to our wonderful guide, Stuart. He was so friendly and informative. We especially loved his sense of humour! An amazing day!
He may remember us as the Canadian group of 8.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would recommend it to anyone. So glad I did it

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The Orkneys are beautiful and fascinating. It would have been great to have more time at each stop, but the day was as packed as a 1 day trip can be. The guide/bus driver in Orkney was fantastic, with great stories and local history. The bus ride between Inverness and John O'Groats was fairly long 3 hours each way, so be prepared, but the scenery is beautiful, and there's really no getting around having to cover that distance! Next time, I'd spend a couple of days in the Orkneys.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a fantastic day trip! The Highlands have a beauty like nothing else I've ever seen. The bus was nice, clean, and roomy. The guide, Allison, went the extra mile to have us get the most of the experience! In never would have been able to see and learn that much on my own! Thank you, Allison!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

weather was not great but that did not spoil a wonderful trip. amazing that we got enough time at each place and saw it all in one day. our tour guide was great - very knowledgeable. thought it would be a long day 7.15am till 8.30pm but it wasn't really. i really liked the italian chapel. we took food - so saved wasting time in cafe's at kirkwall or skara brae. parking at rose street inverness is 6 for 18 hours and right next to bus station. june 15 prices. scenery was beautiful and the light nights in june helped.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Alison was a great tour guide and the trip was beautiful. We learned a lot, saw beautiful landscapes and laughed the whole time!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Même si le temps était gris et pluvieux, agreable tournée dans les Highlands.
Notre conducteur très sympathique et disponible pour toutes nos questions.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative tour about the history of Scotland. Unfortunately the weather didnt want to agree with our trip to Skye, but still a great trip. Alison our guide was very knowledgable and tried to find alternative things to do with our group due to the rain.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Scenery was breathtaking. Morning stop for tea/scones not good. They were not prepared for a bus of about 20 people. Tour guide bonded too much with one passenger and forgot to detail what we were seeing.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

would recommend this tour as an overview of the island. Bus and driver very good,

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great day - stunning part of the world. It is a bit short of time at the historic site. While we knew this would be the situation,only had one day it did mean a bit of a rush.
Great commentary from guides which helped fill in the gaps.
For those that have time - suggest looking at the longer tour options.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Trip was wonderful and as promised. Tour guide was interesting and knowledgeable and scenery was beautiful.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was an amazing tour. Allister was a great guide. The time was well spent.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Alison was very informative and entertaining. We learned a lot about the beautiful Highlands.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent experience but the driver was a lil sexist, unless you got to the bus on time he was going to leave you there...

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message