The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 383 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nancy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Just the right amount of time to see everything on a well planned tour. The bus driver was delightful and informative. More than met expectations. And, of course, the scenery was spectacular!!!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely day trip with an excellent guide Gary. Well worth the experience of going there.

Doing what: Best John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour. You don't get to see all of the Isle of Skye but what you see is well worth going for. Very knowledgeable guide Duncan. Came back to Inverness via the 'high road' and saw some fantastic scenery and wild life.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Keith H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Best part was the distillery tour. The rest was very interesting with some lovely scenery and an excellent guide

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Vaibhav D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well planned trip. Go for it and hope rain doesn't spoil the day.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Oi Mei L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

My tour was amazing! The tour guide was nice. He drove us different amazing locations and allowed us to take pictures.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Abdullah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great trip and was a highlight of my trip. We got to see so much of the Highlands condensed in one day. Our driver was capable and knowledgeable and he gave us so much information about the places we have visited. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Douglas P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour was extremely wet, but the host made it as well organized as possible. It rained approx 3 inches during the day and most of the field events were cancelled. The dance competition was held at a local hotel fortunately for us to dry out! We wouldn't go again if it rained!

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

FABRIZIO L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was great- --- i never been in place like that

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Lewis J B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

You did not give us the pick up point for this tour and the four star hotel I was staying in did not know either. When we finally reached a human voice at Viator we were treated rudely and said it was our fault and NOT Viator's fault. They were really rude. Even though I have told you about this in August you did not write to me. Today is the first time I have heard from you. In my mind I am still burning.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, tour guide was entertaining and informative!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Winnett C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though the day was gloomy. We had a great time and saw quite a bit of the island.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Hiram D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the second time I have been asked for a view on my trip, I completed this before. As I said on my previous review the whole trip was wonderful made extra special by the coach driver A1 star.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

MS LAI FONG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lots of WW1 and WW2 history and geological and pre-historic interests to explore. Skara Brae was fantastic and who need Stonehenge when you can see standing stones and stone circles on the Orkneys for free?

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Vaughn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great way to see the Highlands without the bother of driving. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we were able to see some amazing vistas. The tour started in downtown Inverness and it would have been nice if we could have received some instructions on where to park our car for the day. It was a bit of a scramble finding parking.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Joseph Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the true country of the Scottish Highlands. Our coach driver was the greatest. He was very informative on the history and was very thoughtful and accommodating to everyone. Would recommend this tour to anyone. Very long day but worth every hour of it. Five Star tour and driver was great with resteraunt recommends.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Joseph Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the true country of the Scottish Highlands. Our coach driver was the greatest. He was very informative on the history and was very thoughtful and accommodating to everyone. Would recommend this tour to anyone. Very long day but worth every hour of it. Five Star tour and driver was great with resteraunt recommends.

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Arlene S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very nice day. Beautiful scenery. Our driver made a few unscheduled stops for pictures as the views were too spectacular to miss. The bus was very comfortable. Driver was very knowledgeable. The only drawback was that we didn't actually get to go to Urquhart Castle at Lock Ness, which I thought we would do, but instead we went to Eilean Donan Castle, which was spectacular. We will have to take the drivers advise and come back and spend at least four days on the Isle of Skye. The tour there and back was just barely the tip of the ice berg. Very Magical.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Diane D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Let me start by saying by the time we hit this tour on our 2 1/2 week adventure in the UK my daughter and I realized we are just not tour people. Michael was a good guide who earnestly attempted to share interesting tidbits of information as we rolled along. He was approachable and friendly. At our very first stop on the tour, however, one of our fellow tourists slipped and broke her ankle after ignoring Michael's directions to the bathroom, i.e. sidewalk vs. wet grass. This put a bit of a damper on things. The description of the tour is a bit off. We actually toured Eilean Donan castle, and it was awesome. The Lake Slappin stop was nothing more than a brief opportunity to stretch our legs. There was no beachcombing to speak of. Next stop was for lunch in Broadford. The food was very delicious, especially the Cullen Skink soup a creamy chowder with chunks of haddock. Egol is very, very small. There is one little food shop at which one can buy hot tea or coffee and a scone or cookie. Beyond that there isn't really much to it. The view, however, is beautiful and a little wild. My daughter commented that she felt as if she were standing at the edge of the world. The mist over the hills and sea was very picturesque. Michael made many comfort stops along the way which was much appreciated. I think for someone who won't or can't drive in the UK this tour is fine. However, we had a car and 20/20 hindsight says we should have just driven to Skye ourselves so that we could have explored a bit more at our leisure.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

fsterlingrn

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I think I would have really liked this had the weather cooperated a bit more. It rained so hard all day long. Our guide did the best she could but it was really disappointing.

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

Linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour - I am so glad I went to Orkney. Coach service was excellent with a very knowledgeable driver.
Would recommend this to anyone thinking of doing day tour of Orkney.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Dorcas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastically interesting. The Neolithic sites are amazing. Our bus driver/guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide did an outstanding performance and the information relayed was extremely valuable. It was a well worth trip!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message