Hamilton Island is the second largest inhabited island in the Whitsunday group and one of the region's star attractions. It's the largest island resort in the South Pacific and boasts an exciting mix of things to see and do. Seven pools, boutiques, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We unfortunately had very rough seas getting to and from Whitehaven Beach, I would suggest people postpone the trip if there are high winds forecast as many people onboard were using sick bags, it's not what you think of when you think Whitsundays cruising. I believe the whole trip, even in calm weather, is more a commuter ferry trip than a 'cruise', stopping at Daydream Island, Hamilton, then up to Whitehaven, then the long way back to Daydream before finally reaching Hamilton. We calculated we had been on the ferry for over 4.5 hours, and the beach for only 1.5 hours before we finally got to Hamilton. Hamilton was great it was just the boat trip that was not what we expected. The word cruise conjures up a relaxing boat ride with lounging outside, the 'workhorse' catamarans they use are not really set up for that purpose.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

To start with the young men controlling the group were decent and pretty helpful. It was a sunny day and the White haven beach was hot. This beach looked pretty and large and anybody willing to swim would like it. A lot of us were skeptical lest we come across stinging jellyfish or sting ray or worse a shark. In fact we found a sting ray quietly settled not too far from our feet. The highlight was the dinner at the Manta Ray Cafe on Hamilton Island where the food and the atmosphere were quite pleasant except the presence of noisy cockatoos and even some crows since most of us ate outdoor. The free bus ride on this island was spectacular. Some of us hired the little battery operated carriages.Overall everyone of us enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great day out with excellent sea craft and crews. Whitehaven Beach a special place to see and enough time to enjoy it. Hamilton Island delightful, again with time available to enjoy and a decent lunch provided.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Good trip and wonderfull beach. Too bad to be far away from the lagoon at whiteheaven.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Susan W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic...Wonderful fun filled unforgettable Day.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

From the time we were picked up by the courtesy bus to the end of the day everything went smoothly and trouble free. The trip to Whitehaven Beach was very enjoyable although a bit rocky in some parts, we took cover in the captains cabin as guests are most welcome. Whitehaven beach is very enjoyable and the 2 hours ashore quickly passed. Lunch and sightseeing at Hamilton Island was very enjoyable and relaxing, overall the day was well worth the cost.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Whitehaven Beach was excellent and we were provided with appropriate stinger suit to explore the waters. The Hamilton Island experience was less rewarding as we felt we needed more guidance on, for example, the location of the restaurant where our lunch was booked and also more information on things to see and do on the island. We felt abandoned on shore to fend for ourselves and as a result did not enjoy the experience as much as we would have liked. We would suggest that you provide each traveller with suggestions for places to see and things to do on the island. We basically feel that we could have booked this trip independently as Viator did not add any value to the experience.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We had a great day on this tour. Would have loved to spend more time at Hamilton Island but getting to Whitehaven was absolutely beautiful.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our day trip to Hamilton Island and Whitehaven Beach. Not really beening a beach person, we spent enough time there, swimming and relaxing. The time at Hamilton Island was great! Even having been there before on several occasions, the day trip was not rushed. Very enjoyable day and worth it. Much more than we expected when we booked.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

This isn't a tour but buys a few tickets on ferries to get to the various places where you have free time at both locations. There wasn't much info available when we got to Hamilton but ask at the kiosk when you arrive for a map and definitely hire the golf buggies - we'd have been bored if we didn't hire them as you get several hours on Hamilton which seemed a bit too long. Lunch wasn't a boxed lunch but was at a tavern in Hamilton where you could choose any main on the menu which was good - drinks were not included though.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

saz
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great day out. Just enough time on Hamilton island and Whitehaven beach. Took the opportunity to hire a golf buggy on Hamilton Island which was a great way to get around and see as much as possible in the time there. Could have stayed longer on Whitehaven beach but who wouldn't want to in such a beautiful place. Good value for money and excellent lunch provided.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

This was a pretty good deal. Both islands were very nice, but probably could have spent less time on Hamilton island because there was not that much to do. Would have liked to have spent more time on Whitehaven Beach which was beautiful. A very enjoyable tour overall though.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Trevor H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Had fantastic day out. Transfer bus to Shute Harbour picked us at time stated. Trip was excellent. Plenty of time in Hamilton Island and Whitehaven Beach. BBQ really good Would recommend

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

koalakiss86
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2010

Over rated. It's an island. if your happy to be stranded on an island with nothing but expensive restaurants and over priced sunscreen then go ahead, but there are just as gorgeous if not more stunning places on the main land with more things to do.

Gemma C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Fantastic day trip, you get plenty of free time on both islands to do your own thing, you get pm teacoffeebiscuits, free brekkie which was great, the buffet dinner was fantastic! Staff were friendly and helpful. The islands themselves are amazing! Whitehaven beach is stunning, they provide you with drinks on the beach for a fee and free iems such as sun shields, balls, bats, suncream, free cold water, was a great day!

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message