What makes Whitehaven Beach so special? It's the silica. The sand on this 6km (4 mi) stretch of paradise is 98% silica, the powdered remains of a long-dead coral forest. That's what makes it so sugar-fine, radiantly white and slip-through-the-toes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Morgana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I loved the whole day and I would definitely do the same tour again.

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

E D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Brilliant trip. Great guide. Wonderful day.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

peggy.oconnell.23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour and enjoyed the day. The boat was a little crowded, but to be expected as it was peak season. There are no issues if you sit on the side of the raft during the ride out and back. Whitehaven Beach is a must see!!

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

emma c

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, great guide!!!! Down side was the lunch supplied having no options when booking to provide details of lunch and having a dAiry allergy there was nothing in the lunch provided I could eat except a piece of fruit !

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

MICHAEL T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent day special the inlet view an experience I will never forget the tour guide was top class a trip not to miss

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

Marie T S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic. We had such fun. Bit worried we might have been too old for the crowd but it was fine. We were well looked after by Michael and Carl. The boat ride was awesome. Lovely walk, amazing views and Whitehaven took our breath away. Good lunch too. One of the best experiences we have had.

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

jian g

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

I was with the helicopter journey, but I do know whose fault it is that I was not able to see the heart shaped reef
Besides the other pilot on the gound was very rude, he forced me to change my seat twice.

Doing what: Whitsundays Seaplane Tour Including Whitehaven Beach and Hardy Lagoon

Cheryl I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

utstanding trip to Whitehaven Beach! Thrill seeking raft ride, snorkelling with turtles, swimming with stingrays and the spectacular Whitehaven Beach! I chose the Southern tour which had more beach time, but we still got an hour snorkelling at a great spot with beautiful coral and fish. We then headed to Whitehaven Beach and a bush walk to the Hill Inlet lookout to see the incredible swirling tide patterns which is just breathtaking. Lunch on the beach and then an hour of free time to spend swimming in the crystal blue sea and walking on the pure white sands. There was a northerly wind on the day of our trip which meant we couldn't go to the southern side of the beach, which is the most popular part for tourists, but the north side is so much better and I'm glad we got to stay there. Also, Ocean Rafting is the only tour company with permit rights to stay on the beach at Hill Inlet, so on the way home we saw all the other day trips moored at a different island because they were unable to stop at Whitehaven Beach, so I was very glad I chose my tour with Ocean Rafting otherwise I would have missed out completely - just one of the reasons they are the number one tour operator in the Whitsundays! Others include well organised trips, great tour guides, we had Jason and Ross, who were very knowledgeable and informative, friendly and helpful and very funny, making jokes on the trip to keep us entertained and make the day enjoyable for everyone. An awesome day and would definitely recommend this tour over other sailing tours which take twice as long to get to the island and so reduce the amount of time to enjoy the amazing views, and who doesn't like to add a bit of adventure to the day with some ocean rafting!

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

Janine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour uses the phrase 'The ride of your life'....and they aren't wrong. It was a terrific trip and our hosts, Ross and Timmy were just brilliant. They are friendly, informative and engaging. The snorkeling around the Whitsunday Island was amazing. The walk around Whitehaven Beach was brilliant and the walk up to the lookout is well worth it. The buffet lunch was terrific and bonus is they don't even make you do the dishes!! I would highly recommend this tour to everyone!!

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent trip, great hosts and a lot of fun!

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

WOW an awesome day, amazing views over the reef an Whitehaven. Snorkelling in Hardy's Lagoon in a small group of 10 magnificent memories.

Doing what: Whitsundays Seaplane Tour Including Whitehaven Beach and Hardy Lagoon

chalf2011

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great places to go and to see. It's always a pleasure cruising with the cruise company.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands Full-Day Cruise: Whitehaven Beach and Daydream Island

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What to say about this except it is absolutely beautiful !!! It is the best place I've been in Australia with the Horizontal falls Broome by far !!
Whitehaven beach is considered as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and I AGREE : The best beach I've seen in my life !! An amazing white sand, turquoise water, a sensation of serenity and the feeling of being in holiday and out of everything, thank also to the unbelievable surrounding landscape.

This is the best spot of the East cost.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Victoria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, guides and boat captain!

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

Julian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip. Fast, fun but safe journey to fantastic lookout to take photos of Whitehaven beach. Then on to great snorkeling place followed by plenty of beach time and optional good lunch.

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

thomas h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

great day out great staff whitehaven beach a must do

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

Christian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This Ocean Rafting tour to Whitehaven Beach was amazing. The most amazing thing of a lot of amazing things we did on our 17-day trip to Australia. So fun. The boat ride was great, the beaches were great, the snorkeling was unreal. Our instructors were great too. This was awesome. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

doyle.stephanie244

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An amazing adventure great for teenagers Great value compared to other tours offered in the region
Very friendly and helpful staff

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

John Wang China

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We stayed for so long in the cruise instead of either Hamilton Island or WhiteHaven Beach. Since we departed from the Airlie Beach, they have to pick up ppl from Hamilton Island and Daydream Island which took like 5-6 hours in total. A bit disappointed about the schedule but but Whitehaven and Hamilton Island are beautiful.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Stine C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Go on the normal ferry around, and we only have 1 1/2 hours at Whitehaven beach which was the only thing really worth seeing. The meal you get we bought ala carte, rubbish. We thought it was OK but then found out that there were only a few choices, where, for mains, we had the option of chicken or three types of pizza. Highly overpriced, and which we had gone with one of the smaller boats to whitehaven beach.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Kathy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely a must do if you go to the Whitsundays. The tour guide was fantastic and nature put on a beautiful show with the fish coming right up to my goggles to say hello and a turtle just cruising by!

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out, would highly recommend. Need to be reasonably steady on your feet.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

Courtney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great and the crew did a great job as well! I would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message