What makes Whitehaven Beach so special? It's the silica. The sand on this 6km (4 mi) stretch of paradise is 98% silica, the powdered remains of a long-dead coral forest. That's what makes it so sugar-fine, radiantly white and slip-through-the-toes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We had a great day, kept us entertained, not easy with a 7, 12 and 14 year old, saw Turtles, many fish, swam, walked and looked at the stunning scenery, the only let down for the day was the sand flies, that drive you crazy, they bite and annoy you, take something to keep them of you. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was just an amazing and exclusive experience to fly with the seaplane over Whitesundaysnd finally land next to this beautiful beach. On the Beach the snack boxes and the sparkling wine just added an other layer of luxery. For us it was the best Tour here in Australia.

Doing what: Whitsundays Seaplane Tour Including Whitehaven Beach and Hardy Lagoon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great tour and great weather. I'd do it again!

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! The most perfect beach ever, service was great!

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It would have been nice if we traveled to the islands directly instead of having to stop at Daydream on the way there and back.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was expecting more. The food was not that good but was ok. The time on a boat was good but I missed the beautiful places to go and was not possible see many things on snorkelling.

Doing what: 2-Night Whitsundays Sailing and Island Adventure

Stephen L
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a 'must-see' place during your tour of Australia. Stunningly beautiful..

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This really is just a ticket for the ferry rides and lunch. Whitehaven is beautiful, we just happened to get some bad weather. The ride out was really rough! Daydream was cheesy, in my opinion. The lunch was pretty bad, but the coffee was good.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands Full-Day Cruise: Whitehaven Beach and Daydream Island

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We unfortunately had very rough seas getting to and from Whitehaven Beach, I would suggest people postpone the trip if there are high winds forecast as many people onboard were using sick bags, it's not what you think of when you think Whitsundays cruising. I believe the whole trip, even in calm weather, is more a commuter ferry trip than a 'cruise', stopping at Daydream Island, Hamilton, then up to Whitehaven, then the long way back to Daydream before finally reaching Hamilton. We calculated we had been on the ferry for over 4.5 hours, and the beach for only 1.5 hours before we finally got to Hamilton. Hamilton was great it was just the boat trip that was not what we expected. The word cruise conjures up a relaxing boat ride with lounging outside, the 'workhorse' catamarans they use are not really set up for that purpose.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

To start with the young men controlling the group were decent and pretty helpful. It was a sunny day and the White haven beach was hot. This beach looked pretty and large and anybody willing to swim would like it. A lot of us were skeptical lest we come across stinging jellyfish or sting ray or worse a shark. In fact we found a sting ray quietly settled not too far from our feet. The highlight was the dinner at the Manta Ray Cafe on Hamilton Island where the food and the atmosphere were quite pleasant except the presence of noisy cockatoos and even some crows since most of us ate outdoor. The free bus ride on this island was spectacular. Some of us hired the little battery operated carriages.Overall everyone of us enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A bit windy, but all in all a great trip!

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great day out with excellent sea craft and crews. Whitehaven Beach a special place to see and enough time to enjoy it. Hamilton Island delightful, again with time available to enjoy and a decent lunch provided.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Good trip and wonderfull beach. Too bad to be far away from the lagoon at whiteheaven.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message