What makes Whitehaven Beach so special? It's the silica. The sand on this 6km (4 mi) stretch of paradise is 98% silica, the powdered remains of a long-dead coral forest. That's what makes it so sugar-fine, radiantly white and slip-through-the-toes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This really is just a ticket for the ferry rides and lunch. Whitehaven is beautiful, we just happened to get some bad weather. The ride out was really rough! Daydream was cheesy, in my opinion. The lunch was pretty bad, but the coffee was good.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands Full-Day Cruise: Whitehaven Beach and Daydream Island

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We unfortunately had very rough seas getting to and from Whitehaven Beach, I would suggest people postpone the trip if there are high winds forecast as many people onboard were using sick bags, it's not what you think of when you think Whitsundays cruising. I believe the whole trip, even in calm weather, is more a commuter ferry trip than a 'cruise', stopping at Daydream Island, Hamilton, then up to Whitehaven, then the long way back to Daydream before finally reaching Hamilton. We calculated we had been on the ferry for over 4.5 hours, and the beach for only 1.5 hours before we finally got to Hamilton. Hamilton was great it was just the boat trip that was not what we expected. The word cruise conjures up a relaxing boat ride with lounging outside, the 'workhorse' catamarans they use are not really set up for that purpose.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

To start with the young men controlling the group were decent and pretty helpful. It was a sunny day and the White haven beach was hot. This beach looked pretty and large and anybody willing to swim would like it. A lot of us were skeptical lest we come across stinging jellyfish or sting ray or worse a shark. In fact we found a sting ray quietly settled not too far from our feet. The highlight was the dinner at the Manta Ray Cafe on Hamilton Island where the food and the atmosphere were quite pleasant except the presence of noisy cockatoos and even some crows since most of us ate outdoor. The free bus ride on this island was spectacular. Some of us hired the little battery operated carriages.Overall everyone of us enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A bit windy, but all in all a great trip!

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great day out with excellent sea craft and crews. Whitehaven Beach a special place to see and enough time to enjoy it. Hamilton Island delightful, again with time available to enjoy and a decent lunch provided.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

No use of kayak equipment, no sailing course or mast climb (as specified in the description). Cramped cabins with no air conditioning, which made for pretty unpleasant sleeping conditions. 1 member of staff in particular was extremely unprofessional at times, as well as being rude and unhelpful. In total there were 14 people on board (4 'staff' members). In a prior communication with your staff i was told "I can also confirm that we shall have a maximum of 8 other passengers on this trip for Jan 7th, 2014" the conditions were cramped, and awkward at times. The ships toilets, and shower facilities were inadequate and unhygienic. The smell permeated into our cabin which also made for an unpleasant stay. If it wasn't for the beautiful surroundings this trip would have been a complete disaster. For the amount this trip cost my self and my partner, we expected ALOT more.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Good trip and wonderfull beach. Too bad to be far away from the lagoon at whiteheaven.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Whitehaven beach was beautiful! We had a good time swimming in the crystal clear waters.

Daydream Island however was quite average - it was really just a resort island.

We would recommend just a half day cruise to Whitehaven beach and skip Daydream Island all together.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands Full-Day Cruise: Whitehaven Beach and Daydream Island

Susan W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic...Wonderful fun filled unforgettable Day.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

From the time we were picked up by the courtesy bus to the end of the day everything went smoothly and trouble free. The trip to Whitehaven Beach was very enjoyable although a bit rocky in some parts, we took cover in the captains cabin as guests are most welcome. Whitehaven beach is very enjoyable and the 2 hours ashore quickly passed. Lunch and sightseeing at Hamilton Island was very enjoyable and relaxing, overall the day was well worth the cost.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Pretty good - The only thing that would have made it better is if it had a more precise itinerary with more information of what our trip actually consisted of. However, we had a wonderful day and would recommend it to anybody else.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands Full-Day Cruise: Whitehaven Beach and Daydream Island

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very pleasant cruise with some good humour from the crew! Whitehaven Beach was beautiful.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands Full-Day Cruise: Whitehaven Beach and Daydream Island

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Whitehaven Beach was excellent and we were provided with appropriate stinger suit to explore the waters. The Hamilton Island experience was less rewarding as we felt we needed more guidance on, for example, the location of the restaurant where our lunch was booked and also more information on things to see and do on the island. We felt abandoned on shore to fend for ourselves and as a result did not enjoy the experience as much as we would have liked. We would suggest that you provide each traveller with suggestions for places to see and things to do on the island. We basically feel that we could have booked this trip independently as Viator did not add any value to the experience.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message