The Great Barrier Reef (off the coast of north-east Australia) is the world's largest reef system – so big it can be seen from outer space - and one of the seven natural wonders of the world. It's no cliché to say it has to be seen to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kyle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was excellent and the chance to experience the reef with very few other people around was well worth it!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

La Titii Gibraltar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed the day tour, will book again same tour in the future. Staff was very organised friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Noel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful trip. Helicopter experience highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

emma c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing!!! Very well organised, and great care taken of all passengers, great food great staff amazing day

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Carol R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Incredible experience - great day.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

chalf2011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great night on the roof. The personnel was very helpful. Also the dinner was quite enjoyable. Especially the time when the day tourists had left was great, having time to enjoy snorkelling in quiet and having the reef almost to yourself.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What to say about this except it is absolutely beautiful !!! It is the best place I've been in Australia with the Horizontal falls Broome by far !!
Whitehaven beach is considered as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and I AGREE : The best beach I've seen in my life !! An amazing white sand, turquoise water, a sensation of serenity and the feeling of being in holiday and out of everything, thank also to the unbelievable surrounding landscape.

This is the best spot of the East cost.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Diane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip gives access to the reef no matter what physical capabilities you have. All staff are very helpful.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Bevan H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, but the salad on the buffet needed more dressing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Rebecca M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely amazing experience - the only way to see the reef. You get the entire area of the reef to yourself and get to see the wildlife in the morning hours when they are most active and vibrant. The staff was incredible and made the trip even better.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

Teun Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth a trip to Australia!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

John Wang China

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We stayed for so long in the cruise instead of either Hamilton Island or WhiteHaven Beach. Since we departed from the Airlie Beach, they have to pick up ppl from Hamilton Island and Daydream Island which took like 5-6 hours in total. A bit disappointed about the schedule but but Whitehaven and Hamilton Island are beautiful.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Sarah F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was over three hours out to the reef which was quite boring. I cheated and paid a lot extra to come back by helicopter which was amazing. The platform was well organised, staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, the food was good and it was fantastic to snorkel around the Great Barrier Reef. A trip worth doing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Shane R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Never let the facts get in the way of a good story! Firstly, the good part the Barrier Reef is amazing and the experience after the day-trippers had departed is definitely the way to go.

However, then it goes down hill from a hospitality viewpoint!

The accommodation: We took the option of the Double bedroom with a bathroom. We were unable to access OUR bathroom until after the boat had departed because it was actually the Men's changeroom during the day. Therefore sharing was de rigeur!

Then, let's talk about the buffet lunch prepared by an award-winning restaurant a few prawns, chicken legs and cheap ham with some salads was totally uninspiring and even worse was the cloudy water masquerading as chicken and sweet corn soup!

After farewelling the mother ship, we enjoyed the solitude of the reef as we waited with trepidation to savour the gourmet barbecue.

The Entree: there was one other person staying on the pontoon with us. Therefore, we were told, there was a choice provided it was two agreed to one and the other had no choice one serving of lukewarm seafood chowder whilst the other 2 were served up a mouth watering spinach pie, clearly a dish that synonymous with the abundance of amazing Queensland fresh produce.

The Chef orchestrated the well publicised gourmet barbecue as she created a variety of shoe leather along with some exotic' vegetables!

Wafer thin steak, stringy chicken and chewy fish were plonked on to our plate surrounded by a greasy onion, tomato and capsicum mix.

Oh, dessert Cheesecake that may have been compliments of Sara Lee!!!

All along we are serenaded by a cacophony of birds, who, despite their noise, kept running into the bulkheads as they were blinded by the light.

And there was more: we were woken at 730 by a knock on the door and the bellow of breakfast by Chef. Another fryup, this time of overcooked eggs, greasy hashbrowns, bacon, sausage, tomato and toast.

The Reef 10 Food 3

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

Stine C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Go on the normal ferry around, and we only have 1 1/2 hours at Whitehaven beach which was the only thing really worth seeing. The meal you get we bought ala carte, rubbish. We thought it was OK but then found out that there were only a few choices, where, for mains, we had the option of chicken or three types of pizza. Highly overpriced, and which we had gone with one of the smaller boats to whitehaven beach.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out, would highly recommend. Need to be reasonably steady on your feet.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

Courtney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great and the crew did a great job as well! I would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

Grace L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a perfect day! Worth every penny for the priceless experience.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best way to see the reef - knowledgeable crew, great food.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Hilda E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a great experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Li Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing trips to GBR and the hill inlet. Super friendly crews . Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Warren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The only issue was no drinks aboard, which was a bit misleading, but overall a very pleasant trip

Doing what: 3-Day Whitsunday Islands Luxury Sailing Experience

Sara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing tour!!! The staff were wonderful and the views and experiences spectacular. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

Charmian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good trip. Especially as the boat went all round the Whitsunday Islands. We loved it.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message