The Great Barrier Reef (off the coast of north-east Australia) is the world's largest reef system – so big it can be seen from outer space - and one of the seven natural wonders of the world. It's no cliché to say it has to be seen to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely amazing experience - the only way to see the reef. You get the entire area of the reef to yourself and get to see the wildlife in the morning hours when they are most active and vibrant. The staff was incredible and made the trip even better.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

Teun
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth a trip to Australia!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We stayed for so long in the cruise instead of either Hamilton Island or WhiteHaven Beach. Since we departed from the Airlie Beach, they have to pick up ppl from Hamilton Island and Daydream Island which took like 5-6 hours in total. A bit disappointed about the schedule but but Whitehaven and Hamilton Island are beautiful.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was over three hours out to the reef which was quite boring. I cheated and paid a lot extra to come back by helicopter which was amazing. The platform was well organised, staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, the food was good and it was fantastic to snorkel around the Great Barrier Reef. A trip worth doing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Never let the facts get in the way of a good story! Firstly, the good part the Barrier Reef is amazing and the experience after the day-trippers had departed is definitely the way to go.

However, then it goes down hill from a hospitality viewpoint!

The accommodation: We took the option of the Double bedroom with a bathroom. We were unable to access OUR bathroom until after the boat had departed because it was actually the Men's changeroom during the day. Therefore sharing was de rigeur!

Then, let's talk about the buffet lunch prepared by an award-winning restaurant a few prawns, chicken legs and cheap ham with some salads was totally uninspiring and even worse was the cloudy water masquerading as chicken and sweet corn soup!

After farewelling the mother ship, we enjoyed the solitude of the reef as we waited with trepidation to savour the gourmet barbecue.

The Entree: there was one other person staying on the pontoon with us. Therefore, we were told, there was a choice provided it was two agreed to one and the other had no choice one serving of lukewarm seafood chowder whilst the other 2 were served up a mouth watering spinach pie, clearly a dish that synonymous with the abundance of amazing Queensland fresh produce.

The Chef orchestrated the well publicised gourmet barbecue as she created a variety of shoe leather along with some exotic' vegetables!

Wafer thin steak, stringy chicken and chewy fish were plonked on to our plate surrounded by a greasy onion, tomato and capsicum mix.

Oh, dessert Cheesecake that may have been compliments of Sara Lee!!!

All along we are serenaded by a cacophony of birds, who, despite their noise, kept running into the bulkheads as they were blinded by the light.

And there was more: we were woken at 730 by a knock on the door and the bellow of breakfast by Chef. Another fryup, this time of overcooked eggs, greasy hashbrowns, bacon, sausage, tomato and toast.

The Reef 10 Food 3

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Go on the normal ferry around, and we only have 1 1/2 hours at Whitehaven beach which was the only thing really worth seeing. The meal you get we bought ala carte, rubbish. We thought it was OK but then found out that there were only a few choices, where, for mains, we had the option of chicken or three types of pizza. Highly overpriced, and which we had gone with one of the smaller boats to whitehaven beach.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out, would highly recommend. Need to be reasonably steady on your feet.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great and the crew did a great job as well! I would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a perfect day! Worth every penny for the priceless experience.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best way to see the reef - knowledgeable crew, great food.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a great experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing trips to GBR and the hill inlet. Super friendly crews . Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The only issue was no drinks aboard, which was a bit misleading, but overall a very pleasant trip

Doing what: 3-Day Whitsunday Islands Luxury Sailing Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing tour!!! The staff were wonderful and the views and experiences spectacular. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good trip. Especially as the boat went all round the Whitsunday Islands. We loved it.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely brilliant trip. Would recommend the 2day tour for sure. Brilliant staff. loevly food. There was beautiful views. Snorkelling and scuba dive were highlights!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

First day, we met the captain and learned the rules of the boat. We set sail to Whitehaven Beach. It was beautiful with a great lookout to walk up to, warm water to swim in, and sea turtles out by the boat. After we went to Tongue Bay. There is the most breathtaking view here with an even more gorgeous beach you can walk down to on the opposite side. After we went to a bay to stay for the night where we were entertained by jumping fish under a stunning starry night sky.
Second day, we headed out for Blue Pearl Bay Hayman Island. Provided with wetsuits, flippers, and snorkels we jumped off the back of the boat to snorkel with hundreds of fish. After we sailed, sails open and engine off, toward Langford Beach while the captain let us dangle our feet off the side of the boat into the water, giving each of us a chance to steer the boat. At Langford Beach, the other guests decided to stay and relax on the boat so the captain brought me ashore and I had it completely to myself. It was stunning with warm water, several types of birds, and beautiful shells. We settled into another bay for the night where we were greeted by sea turtles, kayaked around the boat, and watched an incredible sunset. We then played drinking games into the night with the captain and the hostess.
The next morning more sea turtles greeted us. We went to Sawmill Beach to do the Ngaro Sea Trail hike. The hike was grueling, especially with the heat, but it is completely worth the view. After, we left for Shute Harbor for the end of our trip.

A few things to keep in mind:
1. Bring more alcohol than you think.
2. The captain smokes when the boat is moving you can't smell it, but when the boat is stationary you can, just in case someone has asthma.
3. The food is excellent, light and filling nothing like you'd expect so if you have an allergy or are very particular, tell them when you book.
4. Use outrageous amounts of sunblock you burn much faster on the boat.

Doing what: 3-Day Whitsunday Islands Luxury Sailing Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip, plenty of time at both whitehaven and Hamilton. Boat and all staff were fantastic!

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Reef cruise was excellent...very energetic, enthusiastic crew. The trip was comfortable and as I suffer from sea sickness, this was a big positive.
The buffet lunch was plentiful and enjoyable .
I would thoroughly recommend adding the Heli copter flight back to Hamilton Is to the days trip,.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

One of the highlights of my trip to Oz - can't recommend this trip highly enough - you must take up the offer of the scuba diving - I had reservations as I hadn't even snorkelled before and only wish id done the scuba diving.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Very good but long way there and back not cheap

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Rachelle W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip was disappointing and I am so glad we did other snorkelling around the Whitsundays which was better and not just this trip. Too many people making the snoreklling area overcrowded, not much variety in terms of fish and not that many either. The coral didnt look too healthy. Best bits were lunch and the submarine.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I can not make any assessment the reason is that even thought you at Viator comfirmed the trip there was now availability so there was nothing we could do
and Viator had got this information but didn't care to informera us

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message