• USD ($)
  • English
The Great Barrier Reef (off the coast of north-east Australia) is the world's largest reef system – so big it can be seen from outer space - and one of the seven natural wonders of the world. It's no cliché to say it has to be seen to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing! I loved seeing the reef and to swim with the fish. The tour itself was well planned. A great boat trip, where everything is explained to you, makes your day easier to plan. Once you arrive at reef world you have a boat with the glass bottom, which was not to special. You couldn't see too much of the reef, but Once you dive in yourself it great. I was by myself but the crew really looked after me. I had so much fun. Your lunch is included. I would really recommend this, if you are around the whitsundays, just make sure you get to see the reef! And this way it was relaxing, and they let you do whatever you want to do. So even everything is planned out, you still feel free and it feels like an adventure. Worth your money!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organized tour. Very friendly staff capable of helping clients in a variety of languages. Once upon arrival on the pontoon, there are a number of things to do. You can observe and enjoy the Great Barrier Reef without getting wet if that is your choice. I also noted a large number of the staff dedicated to safety issues and watching out for the very young guests. A very nice day and worth the money.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

We unfortunately had very rough seas getting to and from Whitehaven Beach, I would suggest people postpone the trip if there are high winds forecast as many people onboard were using sick bags, it's not what you think of when you think Whitsundays cruising. I believe the whole trip, even in calm weather, is more a commuter ferry trip than a 'cruise', stopping at Daydream Island, Hamilton, then up to Whitehaven, then the long way back to Daydream before finally reaching Hamilton. We calculated we had been on the ferry for over 4.5 hours, and the beach for only 1.5 hours before we finally got to Hamilton. Hamilton was great it was just the boat trip that was not what we expected. The word cruise conjures up a relaxing boat ride with lounging outside, the 'workhorse' catamarans they use are not really set up for that purpose.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

To start with the young men controlling the group were decent and pretty helpful. It was a sunny day and the White haven beach was hot. This beach looked pretty and large and anybody willing to swim would like it. A lot of us were skeptical lest we come across stinging jellyfish or sting ray or worse a shark. In fact we found a sting ray quietly settled not too far from our feet. The highlight was the dinner at the Manta Ray Cafe on Hamilton Island where the food and the atmosphere were quite pleasant except the presence of noisy cockatoos and even some crows since most of us ate outdoor. The free bus ride on this island was spectacular. Some of us hired the little battery operated carriages.Overall everyone of us enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

All the staff were very professional and good fun. The presentation on safety and instruction for diving and snorkelling was very entertaining

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A bit windy, but all in all a great trip!

Doing what: Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven Beach Sailing Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great day out with excellent sea craft and crews. Whitehaven Beach a special place to see and enough time to enjoy it. Hamilton Island delightful, again with time available to enjoy and a decent lunch provided.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Good trip and wonderfull beach. Too bad to be far away from the lagoon at whiteheaven.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The Great Barrier Reef was beautiful and definitely worth a trip, but the cruise would have been a lot better if the staff there were more organised. We booked (and paid for) a guided snorkelling tour as well as scuba diving, but the staff there forgot that we booked for two tours and we spent a good 15 minutes chasing the relevant staff to book us in again. We could have spent that time enjoying the reef, rather than stressing ourselves out! For the scuba diving tour, my boyfriend and I ended up being separated and had to dive with complete strangers - definitely not what we had in mind.

There are quite a lot of people on the cruise. If you want to really enjoy the reef, you may want to spend a night there. Apparently on 12 guests are allowed on the pontoon and when the vessel leaves at 3pm, the reef is all yours to enjoy. We are definitely doing this next time!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Susan W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic...Wonderful fun filled unforgettable Day.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

From the time we were picked up by the courtesy bus to the end of the day everything went smoothly and trouble free. The trip to Whitehaven Beach was very enjoyable although a bit rocky in some parts, we took cover in the captains cabin as guests are most welcome. Whitehaven beach is very enjoyable and the 2 hours ashore quickly passed. Lunch and sightseeing at Hamilton Island was very enjoyable and relaxing, overall the day was well worth the cost.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This trip was absolutely fantastic and loved every minute of it, from the snorkelling to sliding down the waterslide and viewing the coral from the submarine. Totally worth every penny and thanks again for a memorable experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent trip, highly recommended, great lunch and finger food. Staff are highly helpful and patient and all snorkeling equipment is provided.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Whitehaven Beach was excellent and we were provided with appropriate stinger suit to explore the waters. The Hamilton Island experience was less rewarding as we felt we needed more guidance on, for example, the location of the restaurant where our lunch was booked and also more information on things to see and do on the island. We felt abandoned on shore to fend for ourselves and as a result did not enjoy the experience as much as we would have liked. We would suggest that you provide each traveller with suggestions for places to see and things to do on the island. We basically feel that we could have booked this trip independently as Viator did not add any value to the experience.

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message