Looking for luxury, glamor, world-famous beaches, and a little bit of wildlife? The Whitsundays and Hamilton Island can tick all those boxes. Check out this itinerary of cherry-picked attractions. Day 1: Cruise Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely amazing experience - the only way to see the reef. You get the entire area of the reef to yourself and get to see the wildlife in the morning hours when they are most active and vibrant. The staff was incredible and made the trip even better.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

Teun
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth a trip to Australia!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An amazing adventure great for teenagers Great value compared to other tours offered in the region
Very friendly and helpful staff

Doing what: Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent a well organised and very informative tour learnt so many things that I did not know about this great country

Doing what: Whitsunday Crocodile Safari including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was over three hours out to the reef which was quite boring. I cheated and paid a lot extra to come back by helicopter which was amazing. The platform was well organised, staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, the food was good and it was fantastic to snorkel around the Great Barrier Reef. A trip worth doing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Never let the facts get in the way of a good story! Firstly, the good part the Barrier Reef is amazing and the experience after the day-trippers had departed is definitely the way to go.

However, then it goes down hill from a hospitality viewpoint!

The accommodation: We took the option of the Double bedroom with a bathroom. We were unable to access OUR bathroom until after the boat had departed because it was actually the Men's changeroom during the day. Therefore sharing was de rigeur!

Then, let's talk about the buffet lunch prepared by an award-winning restaurant a few prawns, chicken legs and cheap ham with some salads was totally uninspiring and even worse was the cloudy water masquerading as chicken and sweet corn soup!

After farewelling the mother ship, we enjoyed the solitude of the reef as we waited with trepidation to savour the gourmet barbecue.

The Entree: there was one other person staying on the pontoon with us. Therefore, we were told, there was a choice provided it was two agreed to one and the other had no choice one serving of lukewarm seafood chowder whilst the other 2 were served up a mouth watering spinach pie, clearly a dish that synonymous with the abundance of amazing Queensland fresh produce.

The Chef orchestrated the well publicised gourmet barbecue as she created a variety of shoe leather along with some exotic' vegetables!

Wafer thin steak, stringy chicken and chewy fish were plonked on to our plate surrounded by a greasy onion, tomato and capsicum mix.

Oh, dessert Cheesecake that may have been compliments of Sara Lee!!!

All along we are serenaded by a cacophony of birds, who, despite their noise, kept running into the bulkheads as they were blinded by the light.

And there was more: we were woken at 730 by a knock on the door and the bellow of breakfast by Chef. Another fryup, this time of overcooked eggs, greasy hashbrowns, bacon, sausage, tomato and toast.

The Reef 10 Food 3

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely a must do if you go to the Whitsundays. The tour guide was fantastic and nature put on a beautiful show with the fish coming right up to my goggles to say hello and a turtle just cruising by!

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Very informative. A really great day.

Doing what: Whitsunday Crocodile Safari including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour! New high speed Jet-Ski!
The Extreme tour was action packed, for 4 hours riding around Whitaunday Islands, a great way to view this beautiful scenic islands!

Doing what: Whitsundays Jet Ski Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best way to see the reef - knowledgeable crew, great food.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

These guys really know their stuff! Although we got soaked to the skin, thanks to the weather, great day out. Good food and lots of information.

Doing what: Whitsunday Crocodile Safari including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Quick trip but also very informative. Only downside was that I was unable to confirm return trip, necessitating a phonecall, but all sorted in the end.

Doing what: Best Shared Arrival Transfer: Proserpine Airport to Airlie Beach or Shute Harbour Hotels

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour content was good only let down by the weather and the Half Marathon been run on the beach. Beach was far too crowded to make the trip special and because there is nothing to do when weather is bad we had too much time spent waiting for boat to return! Snorkelling in the morning was good but needed more time and hill walk was nice. Boat crossing was very bumpy but that was due to weather, staff were very good

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was the worst of my live and should be removed from your offers! The island was a ruin, dirty rooms, 2 mattresses on floor, very cheap and not enough food for everybody, no sailing because sails were broken, snorkeling at a "graveyard" reef, only 2hrs at whitehaven. This feels like a scam!

Doing what: 2-Night Whitsundays Sailing and Island Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spent 2 weeks driving from Cairns to Brisbane, and undoubtedly the highlight of of our fortnight was this cruise. Our guide Craig was superb, so enthusiastic, so knowledgeable and approachable he really made it for us. Unmissable

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was brilliant. Unfortunately due to the weather conditions we weren't able to do the snorkelling part but they down graded the tour and refunded the difference. Best experience of our lives without a doubt!

Doing what: Whitsundays Seaplane Tour Including Whitehaven Beach and Hardy Lagoon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had such a great day on the safari, we seen plenty of crocodiles so close and personal and in their natural habitat. The staff were very informative and had great knowledge of everything. The food was good and pick up and drop off was very convenient right at your hotel doors. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Whitsunday Crocodile Safari including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

excellent! lovely driver pointed out all things of interest like wallabies and told us about things we could do on arrival like saturday market the next day which we would otherwise not have known about.

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Airlie Beach or Shute Harbour Hotels to Proserpine Airport

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a great experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

we were picked up and taken to our hotel by a pleasant driver with no hold ups
Our return to the airport was early morning and the driver was waiting for us before we got down to the foyer
would use Viator again

Doing what: Best Shared Arrival Transfer: Proserpine Airport to Airlie Beach or Shute Harbour Hotels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. Good organisation, friendly pilot (actually did a little extratour on the glasbottom boat with us while the others were snorkeling), vintage plane, excellent value for money. One of the best days in our four week trip.

Doing what: Whitsundays Seaplane Tour Including Whitehaven Beach and Hardy Lagoon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing trips to GBR and the hill inlet. Super friendly crews . Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The only issue was no drinks aboard, which was a bit misleading, but overall a very pleasant trip

Doing what: 3-Day Whitsunday Islands Luxury Sailing Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Whitehaven Beach Cruise Including Hill Inlet Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message