Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Asakusa Temple

The Asakusa Temple (also known as Asakusa Kanon, Senso-ji, Sensoji) combines majestic architecture, centers of worship, elaborate Japanese gardens, and traditional markets to give you a modern-day look at the history and culture of Japan. Erected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great way to see a lot of Tokyo in one day. We saw a wedding at the Meiji Shrine and the Asakusa Sanja Matsuri - it must have been my lucky day! Yoko was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Ashley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide was very informative. On the bus ride to the temple, she explained the city and it's history. The temple is more touristy than I expected with various shops and restaurants. That was a bonus because we were starving by the time we got there! The Skytree has a grocery store, a mall and plenty of food vendors - too much for the inner fat me to take! After the Skytree tour, the guide let us know it was ok to leave and go off on our own. This is why the guide's explanation of the city on the bus tour was so amazing. We went back to the temple and explored more on our own time, we then explored Asakusa a bit more where the guide explained, then we went to back to Akihabara we passed there on our way to the temple and the guide told us about the specialty shops and alleyways and explored a bit more. Being anime and manga fans we actually went back to Akihabara a few times during our one week stay in Tokyo. It's really an all day tour if you go to all the places explained by the guide. I feel like we really got the most out of this tour. And a few souvenirs to remember our time here.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Wayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the rickshaw ride and the enthusiasm and friendliness of the rickshaw pullers. We stayed in Asakusa and had already walked around the area but the tour highlighted things we had not even noticed or understood. Masaya was a great guide as well as a fantastic photographer and spent time setting up some great shots to capture the tour for us.

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Patricia Louise W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was well organized and a great tour - guide was exceptional as her English was very strong and she kept us on task. We were not rushed and they gave us enough time between everything to look around. We did skip the Ginza part of the tour as there was too much to still look at with the Senso-ji Temple and there were 1000s of vendors set up.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Glenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

temple wasreally worth the visit, such a worth while trip views are amaizing from skytree, our guide Noritake fabulous

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Roberto F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took four Viatot tours in Japan, and this was the best guide we had Mrs. Junko Informative, kind and with an spectacular English. The tour itself was nice with good visit to Meiji Srhine and Asakusa Temple, and a enjoyable cruise by the Bay. We finished the day with a visit to Acqua city shopping. Really we had a good time.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Lorelei P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

From the moment we met our Tour Leader, Masaki Higashida, we knew we were in for an experience of a lifetime. His command of the English language and knowledge of Tokyo was outstanding. The tour of Asakusa included visiting a temple and participating in some of the traditional rituals of getting our fortunes, incense burning and prayer, plus sampling some unique foods in the market. Next it was off to Tsukiji Market and a close up look into the Japanese fish trading industry, amazing! Finally we went to a very Traditional Japanese sushi restaurant for a private demonstration and hands on lesson in the art of sushi making and then we lunched on our own creations. At the end of our tour, our guide made sure we knew exactly how to get back to our hotel. For anyone wanting to learn more about the Japanese culture and partake in a sushi making lesson, this is an absolute must, you will not be sorry you went on this tour.

Doing what: Tsukiji Market Visit, Sushi Making Class and Asakusa Tour

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I was the only person on the tour and I had 2 guides. They were great. We walked all over in the financial district - into a department store - through a temple- stopped at a tiny bar for a drink - went down Drunkard's Ally. They helped me buy a ticket on the Metro and took very good are of me during the while tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

samtastico United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic guide. Highly educated and knowledgeable. Fluent English speaker, Boston educated. We had a wonderful private tour of the fish market, followed by an amazing Sushi making course. I cannot speak highly enough about the experience. The tour followed by a visit to Asakusa temple which was an amazing experience. All together I could not fault this tour. He was just fantastic. My son and I developed a respect for the guide who make our day. Must do tour. Very little downtime and you will learn so much. Very cultural.

Doing what: Tsukiji Market Visit, Sushi Making Class and Asakusa Tour

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very good tour and it provided an excellent introduction to Tokyo. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower which provided an excellent view of how large Tokyo is. Second stop was for the Tea Ceremony. Our group was split into two where one group went for the Tea Ceremony while the other group visited the nearby Mitsuo Aida Museum. Afterwards, the two groups switched places.

Lunch consisted of a bento box and Shabu-Shabu which was quite filling and very tasty. After lunch, we stopped at the outside of the Imperial Palace. Next, we visited the Hama-rikyu Gardens which was a peaceful break from the city. The Sumida River cruise was next. It was quite crowded on the boat. Last stop was at the Asakusa Nakamise Shopping Street for some souvenir shopping.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Celeste B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour offers a good view of Tokyo when you don't have much time to get to know the city. Our guide was very nice, knowledgeable and calm. Our group ended up being pretty small, which made the tour even more pleasant. Asakusa and Skytree Tower were very nice as well. I recommend!

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Aaron I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing trip. We were lucky to see a traditional wedding at the temple too. Even better the sunset from the top of skytree. You HAVE to do this if your in Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Vesna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was simply fantastic and one I would highly recommend to anyone who is only able to go on one tour in Tokyo, this is it! The day started off at the bus station in the morning at 9am where we met our lovely guide Nori and we were first driven to see the business side of Tokyo and visit the Meiji Shrine where, as it was a Sunday morning we were able to watch a traditional wedding procession. The tour then moved onto the Imperial East Garden which was also lovely and very peaceful, Nori provided us with great cultural and historical information regarding the park and the surrounding palace. After this we had a stop-over at Asakusa Temple and the general Asakusa area where we were given the choice of visiting the shrine with Nori or choosing to go on our own around the area and doing some shopping. This is a little gem in Tokyo and has to be seen as it is so different from other areas! The next stop was lunch overlooking the wonderful Tokyo bay on the top floor of a hotel, lunch was absolutely delicious and the view was simply breathtaking. Once we had enjoyed the rather sumptuous food and view over the Tokyo skyline, we were treated to a 50 minute cruise of the bay which was then followed up with shopping in the Odaibo district. I think the tour was incredibly varied and very well organised and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to explore the wonderful city of Tokyo and a lot of what it has to offer in a day.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were lucky as other clients had cancelled and my husband and I became the only clients for the tour. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and found our tour guide brilliant. He was very informative and easy to talk to I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a quick introduction to the shrines and temples of Japan and the pop culture of the Japanese teenagers. He gave us a good insight into the Japanese life. Thanks for a great tour, by far the best one we had been on.

Doing what: Hello Tokyo Walking Tour: Meiji Jingu, Senso-ji and Harajuku

Karin K United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Peter gave us a wonderful hour-long Rickshaw tour of Asakusa. He was knowledgeable, energetic it was almost 100 degrees! and a pleasure. I highly recommend the tour and Peter.

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Ajaykumar T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tokyo is an amazing city stayed at Royal Shiodome hotel with a view of Tokyo Tower and located near metro and rail network for convenience. Hotel pick was aTokyo is an arranged for the Tokyo tour highlights included Meiji Shrine, Asukasa Temple. Followed by Tokyo Bay Cruise for amazing city views of sky line and the Sky tree in the distance. After disembarking at city centre went up the towering Sky Tree telecom tower for breathing views of the iconic places. Later went to Tokyo museum and the Sumo stadium by metro. Overall, I had fantastic time Tokyo especially at Tjsike market and Sushi restaurants where sushi masters served selection of delightful sushi. Returned to the amazing night time views of Tokyo tower and night cap.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

bruce_2110

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Informative guild, nice busses. Lot's of small shops at the Asakusa Temple and the views from the Tokyo Skytower were impressive.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great sites, especially Asakusa.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Doris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Yuma was an excellent tour guide. Easy to understand and seemed to have a good time. Enjoyed the boat ride. Really enjoyed Asakusa, I would not have seen it on my own.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

mac2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our Tour Guide Junko was very friendly and organised. Loved the tour, especially the Asakusa Temple, would have loved more time to shop at the small Souvenir shops. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Bekbek87

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour that takes in some major sights in Tokyo. Pity it doesnt stop at tokyo tower, but it makes up for it by going to skytree, which is amazing. Spending an hour in asakusa is always good fun and we had a Lovely guide (akiko)
I really recommend this tour if you've never been to Tokyo before.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Gilda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A succinct tour of the major highlights of Tokyo. Highly recommended for the first-timer in this bustling and cosmopolitan city. One could even view the newest and latest addition -- Tokyo Skytree--from the Asakusa Sensoji Temple on this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

John L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide, May, was very informative and anticipated the groups needs with interesting facts and history for the sites we visited as well as information about Tokyo between sites. We had a hotel pick-up which was very convenient and a must as the bus station where the tour "starts" is hard to find and get to the right area where the tours leave from. We visited the sites as advertised, Shinto, Imperial gardens, and lastly the Buddhist temple. We did a half day tour and they dropped us off at the shopping district not too far from the National Kabuki Theater (a must see!).

We learned the major differences between Shinto and Buddhism as well as the Imperial system and how the Shogun era impacted Japan and its culture. The shrines were actually not much to see in themselves but we saw 2 wedding parties, a Shinto monk procession, and the ceremony of tolling the shrine bells. The Imperial gardens were nice and a great break from the concrete and glass of Tokyo. The Buddhist temple was interesting but extremely crowded. A lot of excellent shops and stalls on the main street and there are people walking around in actual kimonos and period dress (men and women). Get some of the snacks and small objects here as they are much easier to find, but no bargaining as in other Asian cities.

We took our 2 small children, 5 and 8, and they kept up and managed the entire half day tour easily. Plenty of photo opportunities every where on this tour, even on the bus as you will go past the Tokyo Tower and the Sky Tree. Take some spending money for Buddhist Temple area. Take advantage of the hotel pickup. If you do the half day tour, there are restaurants close to the drop off point. Make your way back to the National Kabuki Theater and Sony Showroom for sure. Shows are short and very interesting but kids have to be quiet and no photos. Great cultural and photogenic tour of Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We went on this rickshaw tour on Dec 2014. It is definitely the most unforgettable experience in our 15 days trip in Japan. We chose 1 hour tour after receiving the introduction of route options from our guide, Mr. Fujiwara, who speaks good English. He was informative and nice, not only told us interesting stories about the spots but also taught us how to pray in Buddhist temple, which you can never learn it from guidebook. Moreover, he was very intimate to provide heat pack on the wagon chair, gave us small souvenir after the tour and even a discount voucher (valid in 3 yrs). HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Ryan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. Took us to many interesting places. The guide was great, good sense of humour, proper English and very knowledgable. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants a unique was to experience asakusa. We did the one hour tour and it was the perfect amount of time. A++

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message