• USD ($)
  • English
The Asakusa Temple combines majestic architecture, centers of worship, elaborate Japanese gardens, and traditional markets to give you a modern-day look at the history and culture of Japan. Erected in the year 645 AD, in what was once an old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip to do which gives you a run around the key sites in Tokyo (it doesn't stop - so if you want to visits these, you'll have to do that separately), to give you a good orientation.

Having been here before, it was nice to sit back and enjoy the view before getting to Asakusa for the first stop and a bit of temple viewing. There's also a great little row of shops to pick up some nice souvenirs of Japan.

The main reason I did this trip was for the Skytree and the fact the groups jump the queue!!! We we in, and up very quickly for stunning views, just at sunset for both a day and night view of Tokyo and beyond. The queue to go to the upper level was very short, so I paid the extra Y1000 (not included) to go up to 450m.

Great trip, with a very good guide throughout - I made my own way back so I had more time to enjoy the amazing shopping and restaurants below the tower. Do this trip, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of useful information about Tokyo throughout the trip, he even taught us how to count to ten in Japanese. The trip was a great way to see some of the sights of Tokyo. The world trade centre and Asakusa were particularly good. The boat trip was ok but a bit boring. However it was nice to say that we had sailed on the Sumida river. We would definitely recommend this short trip to anyone visiting Tokyo for a few days.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Tokyo tour was awesome. Our guide was fun and informative. I do wish we had had more time at Asakusa and maybe less at Aqua City. Other than that I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in seeing the highlights of Tokyo in a single day.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great way to see Asakusa and the surrounding districts on both land and water.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We joined this tour on our 3rd and final full day in Tokyo. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We had travelled around Tokyo on our own the previous 2 days, but this tour covered alot of ground, provided some respite from the heat and was thoroughly interesting. Our guide Junko was excellent. Her English is impeccable, and she gave good explanations of where we were going and what we would see. She tought us about the customs and even taught us a few words of Japanese. She did a good job of managing the large group, and keeping us together. She even wrote out some directions for us in Japanese at the end of the tour. The tour was diverse and very interesting. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower. We had a clear day, with good views. The Happo-en garden was beautiful, with a wonderful assortment of bonsai trees. It was interesting to see the rituals of the tea ceremony. A wonderful bonus was seeing 3 bridal parties in the garden that day, some in traditional dress, some in white gowns. Lunch was at a beautiful hotel, with an extensive garden, with more brides! The BBQ was delicious [Oishi]. We walked around the Imperial Palace, and saw what we could of the manucured grounds and buildings from the gate.Through the GInza, and all the fancy shops. Then it was on the river on a short cruise, past some interesting sights, to Asakusa Cannon Temple via the Nakamise shopping street. The shopping street was interesting, lots of small shops and stalls, with samples of snacks and lots of kimonos to try on. The temple and the pagoda are beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. It was the perfect of our time in Tokyo. It would have been very difficult, especially in the heat and himidity, to cover as much ground as we did in one day on one's own.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This city tour is a must do!!! When my husband and I arrived in Tokyo it was hard to tell from my guide book, which sites we should see first and how we get around to them. Luckily, I booked this tour before we got there and so our trip was not dependent on me and my ability to glean information from a guide book. This tour hit most of the iconic sites that you would want to see if you only had a day in Tokyo and was at such a nice (quick) pace that my husband never lost interest even though we had been in Japan for 10 days already. First stop, Tokyo Tower, (get your pictures quick because it can be a bit of blitz up to the top and back). Then we were off to a traditional tea ceremony and Japanese garden. The ceremony was beautiful and our guide (Keiko) walked us through all of the steps on our way over to the ceremony so we knew what to do while there. Then off to our ishiyaki lunch (food grilled in front of you on a hot stone) which was super tasty and entertaining. Next, was a walk by the imperial palace (of course you can only see the gate but it's still beautiful) and then our river boat trip. The boat trip is relaxing but don't bother taking pictures of skytree tower in the beginning, the best pictures of the tower are at the end of the trip when you get to Asakusa. The tour end at the temple in Asakusa and it was absolutely stunning!! Huge red gates and lanterns with large golden statues. Really breathe taking (and again, this is after we've seen plenty of temples and shrines). For those of you who like to shop (don't we all?) there is a good sized open-air market at the temple with all the souvenir and food purchases you would need. I would also like to say that our guide, Keiko, was great. Very knowledgeable and interesting! This tour is a must!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. This tour is perfect for first time visitors to Tokyo because it has a bit of the old and new that Tokyo has to offer. Visiting the Asakusa Temple was like a scene from a movie. When I read the description I thought it was going to be a quiet, time to reflect kind of thing. Instead I thought I was in Tibet or on a movie set..It was awesome!..It was like a city within a city, much bigger than I ever imagined and the smell of incense burning made it all seem like a dream.The Tokyo bay cruise was very smooth and relaxing and the Meji Shrine was like stepping back in time and a very spiritual experience. We were also served a great lunch on the 12th floor of this building looking out over Tokyo harbor. And best of all was the tour guide Mai. She was so nice and took the time to explain everything to us and answered all our questions. And most of all at the end of the tour she took the extra time to make sure that myself and several other tour members got on the right train to go back to our hotels. It was my first time using the train system and it looks very intimidating but she made sure I bought the right ticket and made it to the correct train platform..Thank you Mai!!..Do yourself a favor and book this tour, this is my second tour I booked through Viator {my other tour was the Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip I did in 2009} you get so much more than what what you paid for and life long memories


.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Asakusa Temple is a must-see place in Tokyo. There are shops nearby for food and souvenirs. The tall pagoda is also nice for photo ops. The Tokyo Skytree is the latest attraction in Tokyo and the highest tower in the world. We went up the view deck in the super fast elevator and enjoyed the sight of Tokyo and its surroundings from high above. People can also choose to go to the higher view deck for an additional fee, but we did not go there anymore. The Central Tokyo sightseeing was just from the moving bus. Our tour guide was fluent in English and very knowledgeable about the place and its history.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Contrasting the fantastic old with the amazing new in 'must sees' in Tokyo is the theme of this tour. The temple and shopping at Asakusa are absolute 'musts' in Tokyo, especially if you don't have the time to get to Kyoto when you are in Japan. I know lots of business and conference visitors have very little time for sightseeing, but this is the beauty of this tour: you get to see ancient and modern Japan in a very short time and still have plenty of time for those fantastic souvenirs. The temple at Asakusa is amazing, and the guide provided great background information which really introduced you to the culture and religions of Japan. Near Asakusa, is a great, very old shopping strip full of very good quality souvenirs. There is your usual tourist souvenirs, but if you want that high quality Kimono at a teasonable price, you'll find it here in no time. Everything was of excellent quality. After seeing the old and ancient Japan, you get to see the amazing Tokyo SkyTree. If you went by yourself, you could wait a very long time in queues, but the beauty of this tour, is that you don't wait long at all, as they have a group booking. This is really great when you are on a tight schedule. The view from the SkyTree is amazing, and the building itself is a wonder of Japanese design, technology and engineering. The guide on this tour also provded ,any insights into Japanese culture durimg the tour, and was very pleased to answer all of your questions about Japan or where to buy that special item. If you only have an afternoon to spare in Tokyo, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour guide "Curry" was very nice. She went out of her way to make sure everyone had a great time. The tour began with a drive through various parts of Tokyo. Our first stop was the Senso-ji Buddhist temple in Asakusa. We had enough time to explore the area and even eat chow mein noodles. The next stop was Tokyo Sky Tree. The bus dropped us off a few blocks away and we walked about 5 minutes before arriving at the taxi drop off entrance to the tower. There we waited while our tour guide picked up our tickets. The wait to board the elevator wasn't very long compared to those arriving on their own. The views from the Tembo Deck are incredible. After an hour or so we returned to the bus and ended our tour at the Tokyo train station. Our tour guide was kind enough to escort us through the station to find the Keiyo line that would take us to Maihama. We all hugged her when we said goodbye.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour is highly recommended. If you've been to the Eiffel Tower, Empire State Building and any other significant highrise, then the views are similar. If you want a free view of the city, I'd recommended the Tokyo Government Metropolitan building in Shinjuku since the observatory deck is free and gives you a similar view.

The tea ceremony was a good experience if you want to observe and participate in one of Japan's traditions. You only get a sampling of the tea - which is green and frothy, but as with most Japanese teas, has a bitter after taste. When attending this ceremony, participants are asked to be respectful and abide with the local tradition. The teahouse is also surrounded by a garden, so it's best to go there during Spring or Fall. There is a 300+ and 500+ year old bonsai tree on the premises, so make sure to ask the tour guide if you are interested in seeing them.

The lunch was one of the highlights of the tour - it states a "BBQ" lunch, so don't be deceived if you are used to the concept of an American BBQ. It's actually a hibachi-style lunch, a la Benihana, but not with the volcano or cutting shows. The food is freshly prepared in front of you, so it's definitely worth the experience and was the best lunch out of all 3 tours I took in Japan.

The Sumida River cruise started at the Port of Tokyo to Asakusa, where you will be given about 50 min to an hour to browse around the local shops and bakeries. Most of the vendors do not accept credit cards, so if you want to shop for souvenirs and sweets to take home, make sure you have enough yen on you. Since there is a limited amount of free time in this shopping area, make sure you have a plan of action since the tour bus leaves timely.

Lastly, the tour ends at Tokyo station, and you are responsible for finding your own way back. The guide will help you with directions but you will need to have enough money to return by train/subway. Overall - it was a good tour if you are short on tiime.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour guide. We got to hit a lot of different sites in one day and didn't have to worry about transportation or lunch. The lunch was delicious and such a great experience. We loved the tea ceremony and visiting the shrine in Asakusa. Great tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Tour was very interesting, Tour Guide was very nice and friendly. The Tower was so impressive, Tea Ceremony was quite an experience, our lunch was great, the river cruise was very relaxing and the Asakusa Kannon Temple and surrounding area, was exciting. The day was altogether, very pleasant and we were taken back to the Bus Terminal , which, we really appreciated! The whole day gave us a great tour of Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This is a great tour to see some of the important sites in Tokyo. If you only have a few days in Tokyo, take this tour; and if you have more time, take this tour early in your stay. You will have a better sense of where you are and how you can navigate Tokyo. The Tower is a great starting spot, you get an overview of Tokyo. The tea ceremony and the barbeque are Tokyo experiences that would be difficult for first-time visitors to arrange. And the Sunida River cruise and visit to Asakusa Temple are a perfrect end to a great day. I highly recommend this tour. BTW, our English-speaking guide really worked hard, keeping us informed and entertained while she kept everything moving and catered to folks who needed help.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our family my husband and I with two teenage daughters enjoyed the Tokyo Day Tour. Tokyo is such a big city, much bigger and spread out than I expected so the tour was great to situate us as far as how the city is laid out. The tour with the hotel pick up was great so we didn't have to try to figure out how to get from point A to B on our first day in Tokyo. Our tour guide Mei-san had fantastic English and a great sense of humor. The tour took us to historical sites with commentary when we pass through some important modern buildings. We were able to see a traditional Japanese wedding at the Meiji Shento Shrine which was really interesting. The Asakusa Temple is fun for the busy shopping streets in front. The western style lunch was so so since we would prefer Japanese lunch boxes however, the view from the top of the little hotel was very pretty. The after lunch cruise was very relaxing especially on that extremely hot day. We enjoyed our last stop at the Japanese version of the 1 store which was amazing since we found everything in Japan to be too expense. Overall, this is a great tour for anyone visiting Tokyo for the first time - we didn't have to worroy about anything and just get on and off the bus and learn from Mei-San.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message