The Asakusa Kanon Temple (Senso-ji) combines majestic architecture, centers of worship, elaborate Japanese gardens, and traditional markets to give you a modern-day look at the history and culture of Japan. Erected in the year 645 AD, in what was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our Tour Guide Junko was very friendly and organised. Loved the tour, especially the Asakusa Temple, would have loved more time to shop at the small Souvenir shops. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A succinct tour of the major highlights of Tokyo. Highly recommended for the first-timer in this bustling and cosmopolitan city. One could even view the newest and latest addition -- Tokyo Skytree--from the Asakusa Sensoji Temple on this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour to get to know Tokyo on my first full day there. It is only half day and I opted at the end not to get back on the bus and to stay at the Sensoji Temple and shop on Nakemise Street by the Temple {and did so for hours!} I loved seeing the Tokyo Tower but the time goes quickly and would have liked to get some food from some of the sweet shops in the bottom of the tower. There is also a small McDonalds in the base of the tower as well. Great views from above. Next stop was the Imperial Palace which is gorgeous. It was just a quick stop but I was able to get some nice photos. From there we went to Sensoji Temple and it can be quite busy when you get there since it is lunch hour and a lot of students come and buy treats from the vendors there. If you stay longer into the afternoon, it does get less busy and is easier to shop. Go down some of the side streets as well for other shops with great deals. If you have time in the afternoon, you can take a 15 minute walk from the temple, over a bridge and walk to the Skytree on your own. At the end of this tour, it goes by Ueno but I left the tour before this so I don't actually know what is seen there. There is lots to see at Sensoji Temple and this should be the last stop because I think a lot people would end their tour there. Asakusa Metro station is right nearby and since you have to make your own way home anyway, it is a perfect area to hang out.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wife and I enjoyed this tour. We saw highlights of Tokyo and gave us ideas on how to spend the rest of our time in Tokyo. The tour guide's English was very good and she added humor. She also provided information about Japan's culture. We were lucky enough to see a Shinto wedding and the guide also showed pictures of her Shinto wedding. We noticed that the tour does not include travel back from the bus terminal to your hotel. No problem, wife and I decided to stay longer at the Senso-ji temple and had lunch in the area. Our guide showed us how to take the metro and it left us 1/2 block away from our hotel. We learn how to use the metro and used it to get around in Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. This tour is perfect for first time visitors to Tokyo because it has a bit of the old and new that Tokyo has to offer. Visiting the Asakusa Temple was like a scene from a movie. When I read the description I thought it was going to be a quiet, time to reflect kind of thing. Instead I thought I was in Tibet or on a movie set..It was awesome!..It was like a city within a city, much bigger than I ever imagined and the smell of incense burning made it all seem like a dream.The Tokyo bay cruise was very smooth and relaxing and the Meji Shrine was like stepping back in time and a very spiritual experience. We were also served a great lunch on the 12th floor of this building looking out over Tokyo harbor. And best of all was the tour guide Mai. She was so nice and took the time to explain everything to us and answered all our questions. And most of all at the end of the tour she took the extra time to make sure that myself and several other tour members got on the right train to go back to our hotels. It was my first time using the train system and it looks very intimidating but she made sure I bought the right ticket and made it to the correct train platform..Thank you Mai!!..Do yourself a favor and book this tour, this is my second tour I booked through Viator {my other tour was the Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip I did in 2009} you get so much more than what what you paid for and life long memories


.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Asakusa Temple is a must-see place in Tokyo. There are shops nearby for food and souvenirs. The tall pagoda is also nice for photo ops. The Tokyo Skytree is the latest attraction in Tokyo and the highest tower in the world. We went up the view deck in the super fast elevator and enjoyed the sight of Tokyo and its surroundings from high above. People can also choose to go to the higher view deck for an additional fee, but we did not go there anymore. The Central Tokyo sightseeing was just from the moving bus. Our tour guide was fluent in English and very knowledgeable about the place and its history.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour guide "Curry" was very nice. She went out of her way to make sure everyone had a great time. The tour began with a drive through various parts of Tokyo. Our first stop was the Senso-ji Buddhist temple in Asakusa. We had enough time to explore the area and even eat chow mein noodles. The next stop was Tokyo Sky Tree. The bus dropped us off a few blocks away and we walked about 5 minutes before arriving at the taxi drop off entrance to the tower. There we waited while our tour guide picked up our tickets. The wait to board the elevator wasn't very long compared to those arriving on their own. The views from the Tembo Deck are incredible. After an hour or so we returned to the bus and ended our tour at the Tokyo train station. Our tour guide was kind enough to escort us through the station to find the Keiyo line that would take us to Maihama. We all hugged her when we said goodbye.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This is a great tour to see some of the important sites in Tokyo. If you only have a few days in Tokyo, take this tour; and if you have more time, take this tour early in your stay. You will have a better sense of where you are and how you can navigate Tokyo. The Tower is a great starting spot, you get an overview of Tokyo. The tea ceremony and the barbeque are Tokyo experiences that would be difficult for first-time visitors to arrange. And the Sunida River cruise and visit to Asakusa Temple are a perfrect end to a great day. I highly recommend this tour. BTW, our English-speaking guide really worked hard, keeping us informed and entertained while she kept everything moving and catered to folks who needed help.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Graham
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

What a wonderful tour. Our guide Mai was superb. Meiji Shrine was beautiful, as were the gardens of the Imperial Palace. Loved the Senso-ji Temple and then being given some time to shop for souveneers. I've previously done the Dynamic Tokyo full day tour and this half day tour showed me different things. I was with 3 young children so the half day tour was an ideal length for children. Mai was just the best tour guide! She gave a wonderful insight into Japan. The tour was so well organised and efficient. Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our family my husband and I with two teenage daughters enjoyed the Tokyo Day Tour. Tokyo is such a big city, much bigger and spread out than I expected so the tour was great to situate us as far as how the city is laid out. The tour with the hotel pick up was great so we didn't have to try to figure out how to get from point A to B on our first day in Tokyo. Our tour guide Mei-san had fantastic English and a great sense of humor. The tour took us to historical sites with commentary when we pass through some important modern buildings. We were able to see a traditional Japanese wedding at the Meiji Shento Shrine which was really interesting. The Asakusa Temple is fun for the busy shopping streets in front. The western style lunch was so so since we would prefer Japanese lunch boxes however, the view from the top of the little hotel was very pretty. The after lunch cruise was very relaxing especially on that extremely hot day. We enjoyed our last stop at the Japanese version of the 1 store which was amazing since we found everything in Japan to be too expense. Overall, this is a great tour for anyone visiting Tokyo for the first time - we didn't have to worroy about anything and just get on and off the bus and learn from Mei-San.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I certainly enjoyed the tour - our guide was informative and very pleasant. I wish we could have stayed longer at each site - 45 minutes seemed much too short to really drink in the sites and the feelings. Especially Asakusa Temple. The lunch was ok but not great. The cruise in Tokyo Bay was also pleasant but too short. I would happily pay a little more to have the tour last a little longer.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Atsushi, was great! We learned a lot of history and facts of the Japanese culture. Overall, the tour was good. I wish we had more time to spend at the Meiji Shrine and Asakusa Temple. Spending 40 minutes is just not enough time at both. Also, it would have been nice to start the visit off at Asakusa temple from the ftont of it and not the back where the buses parked. It was hard to make our way through the crowds into the shopping area as we were opposing the flow of traffic. Lunch was okay. The cruise gave a nice view of Rainbow bridge and Odaiba. We actually left the tour early and stayed in Odaiba instead of going to Tokyo station. Again, time was short and we didn't think we could actually see the entire Odaiba in 45 min. I would recommend this tour if you just want to see the sights with minimal free time. One more thing. I thought the walk through the Imperial Palace garden was a waste of time. It's beautiful, but I would have rather enjoyed the extra time at Asakusa Shrine.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was informative. The three sites - Meiji Shrine, Imperial Palace East Garden, and Asakusa Temple - were what we wanted to visited as we had to leave Tokyo that evening. The guide told us that we could make our own way back from Asakusa if we wanted to, which is what we chose to do so that we could grab lunch and then visit Ueno Park.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Wilson Chow
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Meiji Shrine was nice, but I think the tour needs more time at Asakusa Temple and the surrounding area. There is a ton of shopping there and they only give you forty minutes to do the temple and shopping.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A great day out - the visit to the Shrine and Temple were interesting, and we had time to wander the market place around Asakusa Temple and bought some great priced souvenirs! Cruise on the bay was aboard a very nice boat, not crowded at all. Thoroughly enjoyed our day out.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed the tour as an intro to Tokyo. The Meiji Shrine was pleasant and very nice in the morning. Crowds weren't too bad and there's plenty of space to get a feel for the place without being in a mob. The Asakusa Temple was much more crowded but still worthwhile as the grounds are expansive and the shopping arcade is not too unpleasant. Going one side street over you are almost alone, go figure! The cruise was brief but with good weather it's worthwhile. More industrial that nature so if you're looking for landscapes with trees and gardens you won't get that on the cruise.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was very good for giving you a quick overview of Tokyo. Which was what we needed as it was our first visit to the city. For the most part we had enough time at each of the locations we visited. Although a bit more time at Asakusa Temple and Odaiba would have been nice.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good introduction to Tokyo. The Meiji Shrine was closed because of a mosquito borne illness outbreak so they took us to Tokyo Tower instead. It was a good choice as we had a nice panoramic view of Tokyo to start off. The guide was good as was the bus driver. The cruise was a nice jaunt and the lunch surprisingly good. The highlight though was Asakusa Temple and the shopping area. We liked it so much that we went back the next day on our own. They should skip the shopping mall on the artificial island. That was a waste of time.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A good tour covering the main sights. Senso-ji temple, Asakusa and the tea ceremony / garden were highlights. Unfortunately you can't go inside the imperial palace so that was a bit of a let down. Mai was a very knowledgable guide. She shared valuable insight into the Japanese culture.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide, good introduction to Tokyo. Meeting place for the tour was very busy and crowded, our tour left about 20 minutes late. Needed more time at the Asakusa temple and market area. Lunch was okay, good view from restaurant.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Pauline G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tours to the Meiji Shrine and Senso-ji Temple were very informative. Found the Ginza shopping district section just a pass by on the coach and had no sense of what the area was about. Most of the shops we saw from the coach were no different from those found in London.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

As we only had two full days in Tokyo this tour was the perfect way to introduce us to the city. We were lucky to be picked up from our hotel although at a very early hour! After pick up we were taken to a hub where we all split up to join our separate tours. Some confusion here about where to go but not bad.
Our guide for the Panoramic Tour was great. Her English was superb and she was interesting and up beat throughout. The tour was just what we needed on our first day. We saw all the main areas and the only problem was that in some places there wasn't enough time and in others too much. However, that is probably impossible to sort out as we all have differing tastes. We were lucky with the weather and this meant no problems with rain but you are advised to take an umbrella in June and July.
The visit to the Asakusa Temple was the highlight for me and we could have done with longer there but instead we went back the next day using the Hop On Hop Off bus.
My least favourite aspect was the river cruise because there was no commentary and it took too long but probably there are people who disagree with me.
We were treated to a lunch which was of a very good standard.
All in all I found the trip very good value for money and would book with Viator again. One word of warning, they make you contact the local tour company yourself in advance to find out the pick up time and this has to be done by phone. It would have been much better for those of us living the other side of the world to allow email contact with the local tour company.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide (Junko) very pleasant and spoke excellent English and was very good explaining about the sights seen along the way. We were very rushed during our visit to the Asakusa temple and adjoining markets, perhaps if the tour started earlier there would be more time. Very well organised and a minimum of waiting at the Skytree tower. We were familiar with boarding the train for our return to Shinjuku and did not need help but Junko took the time to help others who were unsure of what to do. Very good tour for the money.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great way to get your bearings around Tokyo - the Asakusa temple is a must as is the skytree

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A very good tour. Well run, and had a knowledgeable guide who was strong in English.
Unfortunately, there was little time at each location, and we always felt like we were being rushed. Only spent about 20 minutes at Tokyo Tower, spent too much time at the tea ceremony, and only spent about 40 minutes at the shopping district and Asakusa temple combined.
A good intro to the city, and the lunch they provided was excellent!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message