Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Ginza Shopping District

With its neon lights, towering department stores, and nightclubs, the Ginza Shopping District is a chic, cosmopolitan adventure. You can catch a live Kabuki show, check out the latest Japanese film, or tour the most prestigious and innovative ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour guide Tomoko was so full of knowledge and had so many interesting stories, she made this tour as good as it was. The temples were beautiful and she had so many fun facts about them. The only downside would be that you don't get enough time to explore them more, but if you had the time you could always go back. I always prefer to get tours when going into places like these as the guide gives you so much more information than a brochure ever could. The Ginza part was also more of a drop off, but it was handy for us as we wanted to explore this area and she pointed out some major places of interest.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We joined this tour on our 3rd and final full day in Tokyo. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We had travelled around Tokyo on our own the previous 2 days, but this tour covered alot of ground, provided some respite from the heat and was thoroughly interesting. Our guide Junko was excellent. Her English is impeccable, and she gave good explanations of where we were going and what we would see. She tought us about the customs and even taught us a few words of Japanese. She did a good job of managing the large group, and keeping us together. She even wrote out some directions for us in Japanese at the end of the tour. The tour was diverse and very interesting. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower. We had a clear day, with good views. The Happo-en garden was beautiful, with a wonderful assortment of bonsai trees. It was interesting to see the rituals of the tea ceremony. A wonderful bonus was seeing 3 bridal parties in the garden that day, some in traditional dress, some in white gowns. Lunch was at a beautiful hotel, with an extensive garden, with more brides! The BBQ was delicious [Oishi]. We walked around the Imperial Palace, and saw what we could of the manucured grounds and buildings from the gate.Through the GInza, and all the fancy shops. Then it was on the river on a short cruise, past some interesting sights, to Asakusa Cannon Temple via the Nakamise shopping street. The shopping street was interesting, lots of small shops and stalls, with samples of snacks and lots of kimonos to try on. The temple and the pagoda are beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. It was the perfect of our time in Tokyo. It would have been very difficult, especially in the heat and himidity, to cover as much ground as we did in one day on one's own.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Mark
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Excellent introduction tour to Tokyo. Guide was good and tour was well organised. Shrines are well worth the visit. Leaves afternoon to explore the shopping areas of Asakusa or Ginza. Good value package

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We started out at the Tokyo tower, then went to the imperial palace, a drive through Ginza, a temple, and left at the electronics district. The tour guide did a great job of explaining what we were seeing and answering questions. The temple is a good place to pick up traditional souvenirs at prices slightly cheaper than available at the airport.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Our guide was wonderful. She spoke perfect English, gave us an in-depth overview of everything we saw, and made sure that when we left the tour in Ginza that we were comfortable that we could get back to the hotel. Great way to get your bearings to explore Tokyo on you own later.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A great way to get your bearings of Tokyo and see popular shrines and temples. Glad that it was a half day tour and finished up in time for lunch in Ginza. The guide was entertaining, polite, and informative.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

All very interesting and good value for money. They even dropped us to the Ginza area after the tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Both the shrine and the temple were very interesting. We also visited the beautiful Imperial Palace East Garden. People could remain at the temple do shop on an adjoining street or get dropped off at Ginza. The drive around Tokyo from one place to another was also interesting. We had a very good guide. On all the tours, the guides gave us instructions of how to return to our hotels via the subway.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is a great tour. We left the tour in Asakusa to shop at the Nakamise area. Be sure you know where they leave you in Ginza. You need to find your way back! We knew this but it was funny to see the reactions of people when they found out they had to find their way back. Do your research people!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was good. But, when the tour guide said "walking distance to Ginza" is not really a walking distance. However, It is nice tour also as Japanese people are polite and very helpful.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Pauline G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tours to the Meiji Shrine and Senso-ji Temple were very informative. Found the Ginza shopping district section just a pass by on the coach and had no sense of what the area was about. Most of the shops we saw from the coach were no different from those found in London.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Catherine C
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This tour covers most of Tokyo's attractions especially if you have limited time. It starts at the Tokyo Tower where you can have a panoramic view of Tokyo's Skyline then go to Happo-en Japanese Garden and participate in a Japanese Tea Ceremony which was something unique for me. The Happo-en Garden is quite an attraction in itself being a favorite venue for Japanese weddings.. From there we went to have lunch in Chinzanso Tokyo Garden Hotel located somewhere in the outskirts of the city with beautiful sakura in the garden and lining the Kanda River at the back. We had a taste of Japanese barBQ done right in front of us on our table! And we were all made to wear an oversized bib! Had to have pics taken!. From there, we went around to the Imperial Palace grounds to have a photo stop notwithstanding the rain. Then we hurried to the pier for our Sumida River Cruise. Although it was raining, the view on both sides were still visible. It was just too crowded for comfort!. We were glad to disembark near the ASAKUSA to see the temple and the busy Nakamise St where we bought some souvenirs in a hurry. The Tokyo Skytree can also be seen from Asakusa.. After that we were dropped off in GINZA for shopping and /or go back on our own to our hotels.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Ms. Junko was not only helpful, but well informed and had detailed insight regarding the shrines and temples that we stopped to visit. The tour was enjoyable and entertaining while the guide shared history and details about the areas in which we were moving around. I would prefer to have removed from the list of highlights, the nakamise shopping street and Ginza shopping district because those are only observed momentarily from the bus and would not consider those "highlights of the tour". 8.5 hours seems like a lot however getting to one place to another consumes a lot of time, so strolling and admiring the visiting places are down to a bare minimum, it felt like we were rushing everywhere. On the plus side you do get to relax and cool down at the end while you do the Tokyo Bay cruise, so it was all very positive.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

A super busy and lively shopping area. Tons of stores you can find anywhere, but also interesting tea shops, stationary stores and restaurants. A great place to look for funny everyday Japan souvenirs.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The tour guide was good and the places were neat. It shouldn't really say a tour of Ginza since they don't really give your a tour, but only drop you off at this location. Also, it seemed a couple people were unaware they were getting dropped off and didn't know their way back home. All in all it was pretty good tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message