Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

The Hakone National Park, known as the Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, is the most incredible outdoor-excursion in Japan. With relaxing hot-springs, Lake Ashi, and of course, Mt. Fuji, The Hakone National Park is a nature-lover's paradise. Divided ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 619 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was exactly as described. Ellie our tour guide was informative and lovely. We enjoyed the ride to Station 5 of Mt Fuji. Then we were off to Hakone to Lake Ashi for lunch and the tram ride with unbelievable views. The bullet train ride back was fast! Just being on the platform and seeing the bullet trains wiz by was an experience!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Harold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Fuji San did herself proud and we were able to get some photos before the cloud rolled in. Lake Ashi is beautiful. The bullet train was an experience not to be missed. Our guide says he does this tour 5 times a week, and his knowledge showed it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cristofer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We started out the tour at the Keio Plaza Hotel where we met the group and for on the bus. The drive to Mt Fuji was quick and beautiful. No traffic. When we first started the tour we were to.d that the 5th station was closed for the season still but later on in the drive our tour guide, Hiro-San, got a call saying they had opened it so we were able to go all the way up. When we got up there there wasn't a cloud to be seen. Such a clear beautiful day. After the 5th station we drove to Hakone for the lake cruise on Lake Ashi and the Hakone Ropeway. The cruise was really short but like Hiro said It was long enough. The Ropeway was amazing. You can see all of lake Ashi, Mt Fuji, and even the Pacific Ocean. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone we know going to Japan. Easy, convenient, fun, and breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Pattos Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of 3 thoroughly enjoyed this 2 day trip. In fact for me the overnight stay at the Princes hotel in Hakone was the highlight. We opted for the Japanese experience and really enjoyed having a traditional style room and the banquet in the evening was fantastic. This option also meant you had a Japanese breakfast which is something quite unique. My husband also said that the outdoor onsen was fabulous.
As for day 1 with the guide, we had a good day. Luckily this tour includes a trip to the 5th Station otherwise we wouldn't have seen the top of Mt Fuji for the whole rest of the day due to clouds.
The second day you are left to your own arrangements. We decided to make the most of the hotel and checked out at 11am which still left us plenty of time to do the Hakone Cable Car the Ropeway is done on day 1 and then the Romance Car - Heritage Train down to Hakone town centre. We then had a late lunch in the town centre and left with enough time to get to Odawara by 1742 for the prebooked train back to Tokyo. Would highly reccommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

ernp1663

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour with a excellent tour guide. We had many great views of Mt. Fuji and was able to take many great photographs. Our tour guide was exceptional, as he work the schedule so that we were able to get in and out of place on the tour without having to wait in lines. I highly recommend this great tour. Lunch was really excellent as well. Mt Komagatake Rope way provided breath taking views of Mt. Fuji and the Lake Ashi.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ying-Chiang C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was a lot of fun. Our tour guide was very informative and amusing. The food at the stop was above and beyond. I was expecting a bento, not a hot meal.

The trip up to level 4 on Fuji and hakone was unexpected and wonderful!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect weather!!!!!!!!!! The day before very cloudy and rain, but on April 15 blue sky, sunny day until lunch. Lake Ashi was ..... ok..... not absolutly a must have but nice and ok. Perhaps a little better english-knowing by the leader would be better.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a stellar tour. Hiro-San was a very informative guide, and the weather provided what was likely the clearest day of the season so far. We got up close and personal when we were able to ascend to the fifth station, and then had long distance views from -- and high above -- the surface of Lake Ashi. The included lunch was artfully presented and one of the best of my entire time in Japan. Hotel Regina. Be prepared: the tour ends at the end of the bullet train ride at Tokyo station. You will need to navigate back to your destination from there, but our guide was very helpful in making sure we knew what to do. Thank you, Hiro-San!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

BEVERLEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great, except for the weather. As it was foggy and wet, which meant that it snowed on Mt Fuli. We did make it to stage 4 station. As it was to foggy the lake Ashi didn't happen but the alternative to me was great. It was a visit to an Art Gallery showing in Japanese artiste.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic! Lake Ashi cruise was stunning, our Japanese lunch was very tasty and seeing Mt Fuji itself was awe inspiring. You cannot come to Japan and not do this tour in my opinion. Tour Guide was also brilliant.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Carrie-Lynn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour but it was cloudy day at Mt. Fujiropeway and Lake Ashi was beautiful. Highly recommended tour

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow.. what a fabulous day! Anne was our tour guide, extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
We left Tokyo on a wet morning and thought we didn't stand a chance of seeing Mt Fuji. Anne pointed out many interesting sights on our journey towards Fuji, stopping at Lake Kawaguchiko to stretch our legs and take some photos, before heading to Fuji National Park. As the weather had been extremely cold, snowing the previous few days, it meant the bus was only allowed get to the 1st gate in the national park not higher up to the 5th, as we'd expected. It didn't matter, everyone enjoyed the crisp cold air, the trees laiden with snow, many people made snow balls, and everyone was taking photos while keeping an eye out for the elusive top of Mt Fuji. After a half hour break, we got back into the coach, heading to a local hotel for a traditional lunch. While we enjoyed our delicious meal, the weather cleared and sun appeared... then .. so did Mt Fuji. There she was, in all her glory. How spectacular and how privileged we were. We actually got half an hour where we could see the complete mountain top and most of the mountain itself, in all its glory, with fluffy white clouds occasionally floating by. Anne explained we were extremely lucky, as its a rare sight. Cameras and iPhones were busy capturing photos and the mood was buoyant. Everyone got back on the coach and we headed towards Lake Ashi for a short cruise that included commentary about the local Hakone Mountains. The Hakone Komagatake Ropeway ride was shortly afterwards, however the weather had closed in again, so it was foggy at the top of the mountain, and cameras weren't required. On a sunny day, the view would be spectacular. Our driver collected us for the journey home, with some opting to stay on the bus the balance being dropped at Odawara Station to catch the bullet train back to Tokyo. We took the bullet train ... wow... it was quick, quiet, clean and a great experience. We HIGHLY recommend this trip

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mary Grace A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were especially lucky to have a clear view of Mt. Fuji from just our bus! Overall, it was extremely cold and, although, we weren't expecting snow during this late in March it was exciting to experience the snow - especially at the top of Mt. Hakone. Definitely worth the money you spend!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Recommend to anyone considering. Ordered the vegetarian meal for lunch as I'm not much for raw foods. Guide spoke good English. Enough time at Mt Fuji. Lake Ashi tour was nice too. Met some nice people on the tour bus too! Bullet train was cool. And even navigated the Tokyo subway to get back to my hotel. Great day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is recommended. It was very organized from pick up to drop off. Though the weather was cloudy when we left Tokyo and we were only able to reach the 4th station, we were lucky to have seen Fuji-san when we were at the observation deck. Our guide Hiro was very helpful, and gave us good information on the places we visited and life in Japan in general, to pass the time during transit. Instead of Lake Ashi, we took the alternative Lake Kawaguchi, but the experience was memorable nonetheless.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic trip, tour guide was really entertaining and informative. Unable to get to 5th station due to storms on the mountain, but was still a great day. Views were truly breathtaking, lunch was delicious. The Lake Ashi cruise and the Hakone cable car trip were both lovely. Well worth it!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Wanderer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I did it twice, in summer and in winter, and it is absolutely worth it! In winter there is much more chance to actually see Fuji-san, though have in mind that it is really cold at the 5th station. The stop is short about 30 min. and both times it seemed not enough. A tip: prepare some postcards as the 5th station has a post office, where you can stamp your card/letter and make a surprise to someone.
Cruise, Hakone and return trip by Shinkansen is also a memorable experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommended. The weather could play a big part in the enjoyment of this trip, and for us it played nice. Fuji was amazing, lunch was good at an amusement park! and Lake Ashi was cold/windy, but still beautiful. Took the bullet train back, which is really the only way to travel. DO THIS TRIP if you're going to be in Tokyo for any longer than 3 days.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

'Rah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My experience on this tour could hardly have been better. Snow prevented us from reaching the 5th station, but we reached the 1st station and received an excellent view of Mt. Fuji. Our tour guide was friendly, funny and knowledgeable. We stopped at many beautiful places, but the highlight was the Hakone Ropeway to the Shrine. I don't think I've seen a more beautiful sight in my life. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great day out with a knowledgeable guide made for a very special day out. Even though snow meant we could not get beyond first station on Mt. Fuji we had good views and the return by Shinkansen train meant we were back in Tokyo around 6pm, Lake Ashi cruise was OK.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very well organised tour with enough free time and organised activities to keep people happy. We were very lucky to get such fabulous views of Mount Fuji. And the cable car at Hakone was fab even if my hands were frozen in 3 seconds. The boat ride could have been slightly longer but was relaxing and peaceful all the same.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour staff were friendly and helpful. It was a easy and nice drive down and we were lucky that Mt Fuji showed herself yes she's a she! for a short while as we approached. We could only get up to the 1st station so the tour guide did an extra stop at another site for us to get some great photos. Lovely lunch and then another drive to Lake Ashi for a short cruise 15 mins to the Ropeway and then up Mt Komagatake. On our day it was a whiteout so no views but it was fun battling the snow and winds to do the short walk up to the shrine. The bullet train was a perfect end to a great day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Campion D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The 'shy' Mt Fuji came out to play for us. The tour proceeded as per the itinerary and all facets of the day were well-organised and clearly communicated. Our guide Keiko was a delight, as was the included lunch. The highlight, of course, is Mt Fuji - quite something and seeing it from the base, 5th station, the ropeway, Lake Ashi and the bullet train offers multiple perspectives and experiences. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Karm Sum T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The trip was fantastic , better than expected. Tour guide was friendly and informative. Events proceed as per schedule.
The view at station 5 , Lake Ashi and Kamagatake Ropeway was fantastic.
Events just nice for 1 day trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent trip from start to finish. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting and showed a lot of care for his passengers. The tour is the best way to experience this amazing sight and Hakone with very little effort other than paying and turning up. Lunch was a lovely traditional Japanese meal. We had wonderful weather which made the day extra special.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message