• USD ($)
  • English

Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

The Hakone National Park, known as the Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, is the most incredible outdoor-excursion in Japan. With relaxing hot-springs, Lake Ashi, and of course, Mt. Fuji, The Hakone National Park is a nature-lover's paradise. Divided ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 212 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour! Our Tour Guide Kaori (Katy) was very knowledgeable, humorous, friendly, approachable and also efficient in keeping everyone to our time-table. When we visited Mt Fuji the Mountain was cloaked in cloud. However, as we left for our next destination some of the cloud did lift so Kaori and Driver San were very accommodating in stopping to the side of road to allow us to take some wonderful photo's. I enjoyed every part of the trip, especially visiting a Shinto temple, Lake Ashi, Hakone and travelling on the Shinkansen (Bullet train) back to Tokyo city. I would highly recommend this day trip as it is very well organised from the time of pick up from the hotel and the return trip to Tokyo. Arigatogosaimus!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really, our tour guide is really informative and so very helpful. When we made the reservation via Viator, somehow the website didn't capture our required hotel pick-up. After speaking and communicating with so many parties (e-mails to Viator, which responded DAYS later (not much help either) despite promising a 24 hour reply; and speaking with various personnel(s) of the tour operator in Tokyo), we told our tour guide about our predicament and with just a phone call, was able to give us an affirmative "okay" on the hotel pick-up. Her sincerity and willingness to help really touches my heart :)

Our tour guide was very informative, she was able to explain non-stop throughout the 1-day tour on everything we passed by, from Central Tokyo all the way to Mt. Fuji, Hakone and back to Central Tokyo. Her creative use of placards with marker pen drawings also makes her explanations interesting and not too boring. She must have lots of years of experience under her belt. She is also very professional in the sense that after the first drop-off in Tokyo (Shinjuku) leaving only 6 of us on the bus, she is still giving us information on the sights around Central Tokyo until our last drop-off point in Ginza.

The tour operators were also very creative and are able to provide changes / alternatives to the scheduled itinerary depending on weather conditions. This ensures that all visitors get the best experience and a chance to see all the sights / visit all the places. On our day of visit, the weather was also on our side as we were able to travel up all the way up to Mt. Fuji 5th Station.

The lunch provided was good - a traditional Japanese lunch set which includes fish, chicken, 'Hato' noodles, rice and vegetables plus as assortment of pickles. Quite yummy :)

Overall, this is a really good tour and I would recommend anyone who hasn't been to Mt. Fuji to at least follow this tour for an overall experience of Mt. Fuji and it's surrounding areas.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Well organised. good tour guide, very informative and fluent. Weather was not good but cant blame the tour operator for that. Lake Hakone looked beautiful despite the low cloud and rain. Shinkansen was a good experience albeit quick!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was terrific!! I thoroughly enjoyed though was a little rush... Service was commendable as I left my luggage n shopping in the bus when I proceeded to hakone hotel and the tour guide came back n dropped my stuffs

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic and exceptionally good value. Our tour guide Také (like saké but with a T) was extremely knowledgable and spoke fantastic English. Seeing Mt Fuji on a clear day was just as good as Hakone, the cable car and the cruise on Lake Ashi. Definitely choose the lunch option too.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the trip!Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and very knowledgeable, the journey to Fuji and Hakone was very smooth and scenic, and the bento box is excellent! i'd recommend doing this in the summer to get the best of the Shinkansen though, you don't really appreciate the speed when it's dark and you can't see the surroundings so well

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour to all I know who plan to visit Tokyo! My Fuji is really magnificent! The cruise of lake ashi is wonderful? As well as hakone! It was a great experience riding the bullet train. This tour is highly recommended !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour to all I know who plan to visit Tokyo! My Fuji is really magnificent! The cruise of lake ashi is wonderful? As well as hakone! It was a great experience riding the bullet train. This tour is highly recommended !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I really enjoyed this trip. Lovely comfortable bus for the 1hr 45 min run out to the Mount Fuji visitors centre for a quick comfort break and first photo opportunity of Fuji. We then drove up into the snow line for a another visit and photo opportunity, before coming down for a delicious lunch at a hotel with still more views.

After lunch we went to Mount Hakone (a slight change due to high winds). I think we lucked in here as once we'd ridden the cable car we could see steaming vents on the mountain side and also try the hot spring eggs - normal chicken eggs that are put into the sulphur rich vents to cook. Oh yeah, and turn black! I was brave enough to try one and it was just like a normal boiled egg, with a slight sulphur 'tang'.

Next it was down to Lake Ashi for a boat cruise, a chance to see some amazing local wood crafts, a quick refreshment break before boarding the bullet train back to Tokyo.

Brilliant, great value tour which I'd thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Lovely tour but only managed to see Mt. Fuji briefly due to weather conditions. The 5th station had really interesting shops and a wonderful atmosphere. Lake Ashi and Hakone National Park were beautiful and we enjoyed the cableway ride on Mt. Komagatake although there was dense fog at the top! We also enjoyed the shinkansen ride back to Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was wonderful! It was a cloudy day so Mount Fuji wasn't visible from the base but as we headed up to the 5th station, the peak suddenly became visible. Our guide, mindful that this might happen, quickly asked the bus to pull over so that we could get our pictures of the top, lest the clouds obscure the peak again. Luckily the clouds were cooperative and we had plenty of time at the 5th station to get those shots. The obento box lunch at a nearby hotel was amazing! The lunch included fresh sashimi, fried chicken, rice, miso, mochi, and more food that I'm probably forgetting. Our guide was also very kind and knowledgeable. Mika (the guide) told us all about Mt. Fuji and Mr. Hakone and kept us entertained on the long drive with talk about the Japanese businessman schedule and way of life. I highly recommend taking the bullet train at the end of the tour! What an experience! It took us an hour and a half to get to Mt. Fuji by bus and only a half hour (if that) to get back into the heart of Tokyo by bullet train. What a wonderful tour! The only way the tour could have been better is if the weather had cooperated more, but what can you do? All in all, a very successful and well-run trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The trip is very nice and full of information about Japan and japanese culture. The guide was amazing! She speaks very slow in english and kind.
Mt Fuji is only a mount full of snow, but a symbol in Japan and because of this s recommend goes there. But t
HAkone lake is beautiful !!!!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had an amazing time. Katie our tour guide was superb, she was so informative and well prepared with her paraphernalias. We were so lucky that the weather was very nice on the day of our tour so we had an awesome view of Mt. Fuji. Lake Ashi and Hakone were also spectacular. All these are a must see in Tokyo. And the bullet train ride back to the city concluded a very spectacular day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message