Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

The Hakone National Park, known as the Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, is the most incredible outdoor-excursion in Japan. With relaxing hot-springs, Lake Ashi, and of course, Mt. Fuji, The Hakone National Park is a nature-lover's paradise. Divided ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very friendly tourist guide and best experience at hakone, 5th stage Mt Fuji, cruise at lake ashi and finally breathtaking view of Mt Fuji and surroundings during cable car rides. A very great experience that remain in my mind forever.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we were lucky we get to see my Fuji..bullet train experience is the next.. Hakone is a nice place, we rode the tram.. It was a good experience

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great although a slightly rushed trip at Hakone, but guide was excellent and entertaining ( 'Fish' ) .We had a glorious day at Mount Fuji , but I would advise buy your own lunch as plenty of alternative eating places at same rest stop.We took the option of staying at Lake Hakone ending our trip at Odawara , and waking up to a beautiful clear morning lake view at Hakone hotel ( the tour guide was kind enough to drop us off on the way back ) .Other travellers took option of returning to Tokyo by bullet train from Odawara .I would recommend the Hakone rail pass train from Tokyo and 2/3 days around lake Hakone ( train tram boat circuits ) if you can , however Viator was a great way to travel to Mount Fuji .We used our japan rail pass from Odawara the next day managing to squeeze in the volcano egg cooking experience , numerous cable cars and the train back to Odawara then onto Kyoto . Japan travel is so organised that every trip by boat tram cable car or train linked up seamlessly so no hanging about wasting time .The trip was well organised and our tour guide knowledgeable and relaxing .Well recommended

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic combination of Mt. Fuji and Hakone

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lake Ashi and Hakone were fantastic! We would have stayed there if we had known about such a beautiful place!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic, she made the long bus ride entertaining and educational. We were lucky, Mt. Fuji was visible! We had a lovely lunch and went on to a thrilling tram ride in Hakone and boat ride on Lake Ashi. It was a spectacular experience and I'm not one for group tours.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide (Harry) was very informative and knowledgeable, and helpful with giving us directions back from Hakone to Tokyo.

Our hotel (Prince Hakone) was spectacular, it was a great accommodation to relax and enjoy the quiet surroundings. Our room was facing the lake and some mountains in the background, a perfect sight to wake up to!

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing, the tour guide was very informed and extremely helpful. The weather at Hakone did not cooperate fully but it was still an amazing experience.
Mt. Fuji was incredible.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is very interesting tour. Star early and very prompt. The bus ride was pleasant and there was wifi on the bus. We got to see Mt Fuji very clearly, as our tour guide said sometimes Fuji is famous to be shy. But we only short stop at Station 5. We need more time to explore. Hakone boat ride is also nice. Short but very interesting. The cable ride is also breathtaking. And the best of all, was the ride home to Tokyo with Shinkansen Bullet Train. Very interesting. Would like to do this again.....

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Of the 3 Viator tours we did on our trip, this was the best. If you are staying at the Shinjuku Washington Hotel, there is a checking area in the lobby to walk you to the bus. The bus we had was nice and the AC was cool, which is important as our tour date was July 24 (90 deg F/70% humidity). The bus took us to the Hamamatsucho bus station where we boarded another bus to Mt. Fuji. Our tour guide was an expert on Mt. Fuji having been a hiking guide for 30+ yrs. His English was quite good and he regaled us with the history of Japan, working in the political and religious events which tied in nicely to Mt. Fuji's importance in Japanese society. We stopped every hour or for bathroom breaks, shopping, etc. We stopped first at the Mt. Fuji visitor center for a quick rest-stop before heading up the mountain. The sights were wonderful. We stopped at the 5th station where there is a small shopping village and had about 45 minutes of free time. From there we headed to lunch at a beautiful restaurant and had a wonderful lunch of tempura, rice miso soup and pickled veggies--we all left full. We proceeded to Lake Ashi and caught a 15 minute ferry to another shopping area where a gondola took us over Hakone--not to be missed! We returned to Shinjuku at approx. 8pm. However, a lightning storm moved in, lighting up the sky and soaking the area. We stayed in the air conditioned bus until it let up (slightly) which was really nice of the bus driver and tour guide. Note the bus did not drop-off at the hotels at the conclusion of the tour--it ended, rather, at Shinjuku station,
All in all, this was worth every penny and wouldn't hesitate to do it again. The lunch alone was $20-25 buck per person, not to mention the gondola and ferry rides. The ride was smooth and cool and the guide was great. One thing to note is they plan the itinerary out, so it is advised (strongly) to stick to the allotted times at each stop.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mount Fuji and Hakone were shrouded in mist, although there were periods of sunshine during the day. Despite the limitations on the views of Fuji and Hakone, the trip was excellent, well organised and very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour! Our Tour Guide Kaori (Katy) was very knowledgeable, humorous, friendly, approachable and also efficient in keeping everyone to our time-table. When we visited Mt Fuji the Mountain was cloaked in cloud. However, as we left for our next destination some of the cloud did lift so Kaori and Driver San were very accommodating in stopping to the side of road to allow us to take some wonderful photo's. I enjoyed every part of the trip, especially visiting a Shinto temple, Lake Ashi, Hakone and travelling on the Shinkansen (Bullet train) back to Tokyo city. I would highly recommend this day trip as it is very well organised from the time of pick up from the hotel and the return trip to Tokyo. Arigatogosaimus!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really, our tour guide is really informative and so very helpful. When we made the reservation via Viator, somehow the website didn't capture our required hotel pick-up. After speaking and communicating with so many parties (e-mails to Viator, which responded DAYS later (not much help either) despite promising a 24 hour reply; and speaking with various personnel(s) of the tour operator in Tokyo), we told our tour guide about our predicament and with just a phone call, was able to give us an affirmative "okay" on the hotel pick-up. Her sincerity and willingness to help really touches my heart :)

Our tour guide was very informative, she was able to explain non-stop throughout the 1-day tour on everything we passed by, from Central Tokyo all the way to Mt. Fuji, Hakone and back to Central Tokyo. Her creative use of placards with marker pen drawings also makes her explanations interesting and not too boring. She must have lots of years of experience under her belt. She is also very professional in the sense that after the first drop-off in Tokyo (Shinjuku) leaving only 6 of us on the bus, she is still giving us information on the sights around Central Tokyo until our last drop-off point in Ginza.

The tour operators were also very creative and are able to provide changes / alternatives to the scheduled itinerary depending on weather conditions. This ensures that all visitors get the best experience and a chance to see all the sights / visit all the places. On our day of visit, the weather was also on our side as we were able to travel up all the way up to Mt. Fuji 5th Station.

The lunch provided was good - a traditional Japanese lunch set which includes fish, chicken, 'Hato' noodles, rice and vegetables plus as assortment of pickles. Quite yummy :)

Overall, this is a really good tour and I would recommend anyone who hasn't been to Mt. Fuji to at least follow this tour for an overall experience of Mt. Fuji and it's surrounding areas.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Well organised. good tour guide, very informative and fluent. Weather was not good but cant blame the tour operator for that. Lake Hakone looked beautiful despite the low cloud and rain. Shinkansen was a good experience albeit quick!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message