Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

The Hakone National Park, known as the Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, is the most incredible outdoor-excursion in Japan. With relaxing hot-springs, Lake Ashi, and of course, Mt. Fuji, The Hakone National Park is a nature-lover's paradise. Divided ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 311 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very well organised tour with enough free time and organised activities to keep people happy. We were very lucky to get such fabulous views of Mount Fuji. And the cable car at Hakone was fab even if my hands were frozen in 3 seconds. The boat ride could have been slightly longer but was relaxing and peaceful all the same.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent trip from start to finish. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting and showed a lot of care for his passengers. The tour is the best way to experience this amazing sight and Hakone with very little effort other than paying and turning up. Lunch was a lovely traditional Japanese meal. We had wonderful weather which made the day extra special.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Shona W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous day, fabulous scenery. We were warned that this time in mid November is cloudy and we would not be able to see Mount Fuji. But half an hour before we arrived at the fifth station, the clouds parted and we saw Mount Fuji in all her glory plus great pictures when we got there. The Lake Ashi area Hakone is beautiful and the cruise is lovely. The rope line is spectacular although Mount Fuji was obscured again by the time we got there but this entire day was so good I rally can't complain. Pick the Japanese lunch. It wasn't too exotic but still a little adventurous. Tour guide Harry was great but struggled with being understood as his accent was strong in English. Get DETAILED instructions about your train or subway stop when they drop you off after the tour. It was a nightmare finding my correct train as there are several trains and subway systems that operate in Tokyo and you have to know the correct one. Still it was the quintessential Tokyo experience being stuffed into a subway car with hundreds of others and I made it back to my hotel by myself in the end. The Japanese people are so very helpful anyway so if you get lost, just keep asking until you find someone who speaks English well enough.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Maritoni V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very fun tour. The tour guide was also informative and kept us entertained. The best part of the tour was Mt. Fuji showed up not only at the 5th station but also at Mt. Hakone as well. We were very lucky and satisfied. :

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alex Humphrey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour, well thought out and we had the most delightful guide, Yoko. We were very lucky and had perfect weather for viewing Mt Fuji, Hakone, the lakes and so on. As there was so much to see the times were a little tight in some areas, lunch was a little low quality but filled a hole and had amazing views of a lake! Then we had a great trip back on the Shinkansen, a fabulous memorable day. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Samantha A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. Very well organised and Marie the tour guide was funny, friendly and informative about life in Japan. Yummy lunch with veggie only options. Sites were stunning!! We were able to see the summit of mt Fuji and the views from Mt in Hakone were amazing! Won't disappoint

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Vesna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide Harumi who was very knowledgable about Mount Fuji, Lake Ashi and the Hakone areas. Excellent organisation throughout, the lunch was lovely and authentic. This is a great tour for people looking to explore outside of Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Khaled K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was one of my highlights during my trip to Tokyo. We had the funniest and most entertaining guide Harry who had lots of entertaining stories to tell us about the history of Japan and his great marriage life. I would definitely recommend people to book with Viator, they are very organized and the trip went very smoothly.

One word of advise, if anyone has enough time, I would recommend staying for a night at the town of Hakone. It has one of the most spectacular views and is very quiet and relaxed one thing i regret not trying.

All and all, this experience shouldn't be missed especially with Harry .

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

After a few days of flooding in Tokyo, the sun shone for the first time of my trip! This, coupled with the helpful and friendly staff at the bus station was a great indication for what the rest of the day would bring.

As far as the trip itself the cable car near the lake provided great views, great food, a nice place to wander around and countless opportunities to get some good pictures. The 5th station was really interesting and allowed us to get some good close up photos of Mount Fuji, the Hakone boat cruise was an excellent end to the day and bullet train spotting at Odawara station was a good way to spend the time on the way back to Tokyo.

Most importantly, our guide Nana was polite, funny and extraordinarily helpful - giving an excellent commentary to go along with the spectacular views of the area as well as the journey - which is made via wifi-enabled coach, boat and bullet train as well as coming to us all independently and giving us guidance on the fastest ways to get back to our respective hotels after the bullet train trip back to Tokyo.

Overall, while we could only just about see the summit from the 5th Station the view wasn't perfect and probably could have been better on another day - this did nothing to distinguish my enthusiasm for what was an awesome day trip - I couldn't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lynette A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organised company. The bus was comfortable, lunch was great and the bullet train amazing - a must experience whilst in Japan. Unfortunately it was raining and cloudy so couldn't see hardly anything. Hakone, I'm sure would have been a beautiful place if we could of seen through the cloud.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

0504Traveller United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour of Mt Fuji, Hakone, the cruise, and the cable car to the top of the mountain. Our guide, Keiko, was extremely helpful in providing not only information on the tour but also additional information on Tokyo - including a great sushi restaurant recommendation. The tour was also nice in that on the top of the mountain we got to visit a Shinto Shrine and were informed on the customs and rituals of the faith.
The bullet train on the way back was also a great experience and again Keiko our tour guide was extremely helpful in providing detailed information on the train and navigating the system. A great tour with an excellent guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

David S K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very well organized. Easy to find at the bus station where we needed to go. We enjoyed seeing out of the way places on the way to Hakone and Kamagotake. Mayumi-san was a wonderful tour guide! Very knowledgable and engaging! Very patient and helpful.
I even saw her later on the train back checking to make sure every one got a seat on the crowded holiday train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Living a Fairytale

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this was a wonderful way to experience mt. fuji how exciting to see all the people who climb her at the fifth station! as well as surrounding local areas full of japanese charm. :o. i especially enjoyed lunch which was above a store specializing in inden which are products made out of deerskin decorated with lacquer. very unique and very beautiful, GREAT omigyage to take back home. i only wish it had been a little bit clearer in hakone so that we might have seen mt. fuji in all her majesty. that just means we'll have to come back. .

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Christopher H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour. Very informative, friendly tour guide can't remember her name. The view of Mt. Fuji from the 5th station was awesome, save for the thick clouds that surrounded it. The lunch was a cute bento style lunch in a cute multi-tiered ceramic. The cruise on the lake in Hakone was short, but relaxing and beautiful. Going up the mountain in a cable car was cool, but , in my opinion, too many people were packed in the car. The view from the top was awesome though. Highly recommended

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Yiqi J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Marie is wonderful, funny and really made sue everyone is on schedule and have a great time. She is an excellent team leader. She also explained a lot about Japanese customs and other sightseeing tips. Great tour. Too bad it is summer and Fuji rarely shows her face. The boat cruise on Lake Ashi in Hakone is breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Maryse C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The weather was horrible. Hakone was closed for the day. Fortunately our guide was able to prepare a new itinary, and we were able to do the rope way climbing and the cruise ship in another place than Hakone. We were able to get to mount Fuji too. They are well organized and the trip was wonderful despite the weather.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Eva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very great experience in our Mt Fuji, lake Ashi and Bullet Train Trip. Out tour guide Ito San is very accommodating and explained all rules in details, we are so lucky last June 4 that weather is sooo good. We saw Mt Fuji clearly, we enjoyed our lunch too, Ito San said its her first time too but foods are superb and yummy.. We also enjoy Hakone and Lake Ashi.. I will recommend Viator packages to my friends here in the Philippines.. What I paid for is very worth it. Thanks much for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Delphine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent day out, good value with lunch and trip on the lake included plus Hakone ropeway. Taki was our brilliant English speaking guide, really friendly and welcomed questions. Yes, we saw the top of Fujisan for most of the day - RESULT! Wonderful photos and memories.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Danielle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved our tour of Mount Fuji and Hakone. Very well organized and our tour guide Yasue was funny and informative. Only wish we could've had more time at the 5th station. Highly recommend. We had our 4 children with us and even enjoyed the hot springs at our hotel!! Great time!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

ewibowo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Komiko was a good tour guide. She told stories about Japan culture. I wish the time spent on Hakone Komagatake Ropeway had been longer.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

sachie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spending our April birthday with my lovely bf, it was a great experience with the team and absolutely wonderful sight seeeing tour. Take the japanese lunch meal, you will feel full after. Cable car Hakone were cool too, it will take you up so high! Lol
The tour along with the tour guide Marie was the luckiest, as we headed first and reached the 5th Last station of Mt Fuji. It was windy that time, -6 degrees, snowy and we were all freezing, but still managed to take some photos
Japanese people are so lovely and nice. I want to come back here soon.
This was a great deal trip. Birthday gift!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Valerie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! We were fortunate enough to see Fuji on a bright, clear day in all her glory. The road up to the 4th station had just opened the day before. The trips to the laks and Hakone were great as well, and the bullet train return was a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Edwin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I went in late February on a day with perfect weather. Not too cold, sunny skies and spectacular views. I was lucky that there was not a cloud in the sky. Mt. Fuji was beautiful, just the right amount of snow. The views were the main attraction for me, the roads to the 5th station were closed because of snow but that was okay. Mt. Fuji is best seen from a distance anyways. The boat tour was really nice, lake Ashi was beautiful. Going up to Mt. Hakone was really nice as well. Seeing the sun set over Mt. Fuji was something I will always remember. The tour guide was extremely friendly and had excellent english, I never had any problems understanding her. The food was okay, not great but not bad either. Bullet train was pretty cool and I had no problems getting back to my hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Violet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a really fun tour. I met some interesting people. Although we didn't get to see Fuji on the first day due to bad weather, the second day exploring Hakone with the 2-day free pass was fantastic!
Thank you so much

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Rini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Firstly the tour was great and well organised. Our guide Mr.Hiro was well behaved and tried his best to make the tour memorable. Though we could not view Mt.Fuji due to bad weather, my husband and I were able to enjoy the snow and our time in Hakone. We were well taken care of and the overall experience was enjoyable.

Room for improvement: Day 1: We felt that there could have been a few more sites or tourist attraction that could have been added. Whether Mt.Fuji can be viewed or not there was still time for other places that could have been included. Perhaps the return journey time by Shinkansen can be changed?? The lunch we had was delicious however it was not very fulfilling.

Day 2: We went around Hakone by ourselves as mentioned in the tour following a map given to us. However we felt that it would have been even better if we were given a little more info and a better plan to figure out the route.

Overall two thumbs up to you guys!! The snow, the bullet train ride, the stay was exceptional. We will choose Viator again but we hope that our suggestions will be taken into consideration.

Cheers!!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message