Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

The Hakone National Park, known as the Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, is the most incredible outdoor-excursion in Japan. With relaxing hot-springs, Lake Ashi, and of course, Mt. Fuji, The Hakone National Park is a nature-lover's paradise. Divided ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing, the tour guide was very informed and extremely helpful. The weather at Hakone did not cooperate fully but it was still an amazing experience.
Mt. Fuji was incredible.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is very interesting tour. Star early and very prompt. The bus ride was pleasant and there was wifi on the bus. We got to see Mt Fuji very clearly, as our tour guide said sometimes Fuji is famous to be shy. But we only short stop at Station 5. We need more time to explore. Hakone boat ride is also nice. Short but very interesting. The cable ride is also breathtaking. And the best of all, was the ride home to Tokyo with Shinkansen Bullet Train. Very interesting. Would like to do this again.....

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Of the 3 Viator tours we did on our trip, this was the best. If you are staying at the Shinjuku Washington Hotel, there is a checking area in the lobby to walk you to the bus. The bus we had was nice and the AC was cool, which is important as our tour date was July 24 (90 deg F/70% humidity). The bus took us to the Hamamatsucho bus station where we boarded another bus to Mt. Fuji. Our tour guide was an expert on Mt. Fuji having been a hiking guide for 30+ yrs. His English was quite good and he regaled us with the history of Japan, working in the political and religious events which tied in nicely to Mt. Fuji's importance in Japanese society. We stopped every hour or for bathroom breaks, shopping, etc. We stopped first at the Mt. Fuji visitor center for a quick rest-stop before heading up the mountain. The sights were wonderful. We stopped at the 5th station where there is a small shopping village and had about 45 minutes of free time. From there we headed to lunch at a beautiful restaurant and had a wonderful lunch of tempura, rice miso soup and pickled veggies--we all left full. We proceeded to Lake Ashi and caught a 15 minute ferry to another shopping area where a gondola took us over Hakone--not to be missed! We returned to Shinjuku at approx. 8pm. However, a lightning storm moved in, lighting up the sky and soaking the area. We stayed in the air conditioned bus until it let up (slightly) which was really nice of the bus driver and tour guide. Note the bus did not drop-off at the hotels at the conclusion of the tour--it ended, rather, at Shinjuku station,
All in all, this was worth every penny and wouldn't hesitate to do it again. The lunch alone was $20-25 buck per person, not to mention the gondola and ferry rides. The ride was smooth and cool and the guide was great. One thing to note is they plan the itinerary out, so it is advised (strongly) to stick to the allotted times at each stop.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mount Fuji and Hakone were shrouded in mist, although there were periods of sunshine during the day. Despite the limitations on the views of Fuji and Hakone, the trip was excellent, well organised and very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour! Our Tour Guide Kaori (Katy) was very knowledgeable, humorous, friendly, approachable and also efficient in keeping everyone to our time-table. When we visited Mt Fuji the Mountain was cloaked in cloud. However, as we left for our next destination some of the cloud did lift so Kaori and Driver San were very accommodating in stopping to the side of road to allow us to take some wonderful photo's. I enjoyed every part of the trip, especially visiting a Shinto temple, Lake Ashi, Hakone and travelling on the Shinkansen (Bullet train) back to Tokyo city. I would highly recommend this day trip as it is very well organised from the time of pick up from the hotel and the return trip to Tokyo. Arigatogosaimus!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really, our tour guide is really informative and so very helpful. When we made the reservation via Viator, somehow the website didn't capture our required hotel pick-up. After speaking and communicating with so many parties (e-mails to Viator, which responded DAYS later (not much help either) despite promising a 24 hour reply; and speaking with various personnel(s) of the tour operator in Tokyo), we told our tour guide about our predicament and with just a phone call, was able to give us an affirmative "okay" on the hotel pick-up. Her sincerity and willingness to help really touches my heart :)

Our tour guide was very informative, she was able to explain non-stop throughout the 1-day tour on everything we passed by, from Central Tokyo all the way to Mt. Fuji, Hakone and back to Central Tokyo. Her creative use of placards with marker pen drawings also makes her explanations interesting and not too boring. She must have lots of years of experience under her belt. She is also very professional in the sense that after the first drop-off in Tokyo (Shinjuku) leaving only 6 of us on the bus, she is still giving us information on the sights around Central Tokyo until our last drop-off point in Ginza.

The tour operators were also very creative and are able to provide changes / alternatives to the scheduled itinerary depending on weather conditions. This ensures that all visitors get the best experience and a chance to see all the sights / visit all the places. On our day of visit, the weather was also on our side as we were able to travel up all the way up to Mt. Fuji 5th Station.

The lunch provided was good - a traditional Japanese lunch set which includes fish, chicken, 'Hato' noodles, rice and vegetables plus as assortment of pickles. Quite yummy :)

Overall, this is a really good tour and I would recommend anyone who hasn't been to Mt. Fuji to at least follow this tour for an overall experience of Mt. Fuji and it's surrounding areas.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was so good and efficient, we was enjoy the tour, the food and get more information about Japan. That was worth it with that price we ride shinkansen ( bullet train ) cable car, train, bus, rope way, cruise...enjoy beautiful hakone and Onsen..amazing experience.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Well organised. good tour guide, very informative and fluent. Weather was not good but cant blame the tour operator for that. Lake Hakone looked beautiful despite the low cloud and rain. Shinkansen was a good experience albeit quick!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was terrific!! I thoroughly enjoyed though was a little rush... Service was commendable as I left my luggage n shopping in the bus when I proceeded to hakone hotel and the tour guide came back n dropped my stuffs

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic and exceptionally good value. Our tour guide Také (like sak�� but with a T) was extremely knowledgable and spoke fantastic English. Seeing Mt Fuji on a clear day was just as good as Hakone, the cable car and the cruise on Lake Ashi. Definitely choose the lunch option too.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the trip!Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and very knowledgeable, the journey to Fuji and Hakone was very smooth and scenic, and the bento box is excellent! i'd recommend doing this in the summer to get the best of the Shinkansen though, you don't really appreciate the speed when it's dark and you can't see the surroundings so well

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour to all I know who plan to visit Tokyo! My Fuji is really magnificent! The cruise of lake ashi is wonderful? As well as hakone! It was a great experience riding the bullet train. This tour is highly recommended !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour to all I know who plan to visit Tokyo! My Fuji is really magnificent! The cruise of lake ashi is wonderful? As well as hakone! It was a great experience riding the bullet train. This tour is highly recommended !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I really enjoyed this trip. Lovely comfortable bus for the 1hr 45 min run out to the Mount Fuji visitors centre for a quick comfort break and first photo opportunity of Fuji. We then drove up into the snow line for a another visit and photo opportunity, before coming down for a delicious lunch at a hotel with still more views.

After lunch we went to Mount Hakone (a slight change due to high winds). I think we lucked in here as once we'd ridden the cable car we could see steaming vents on the mountain side and also try the hot spring eggs - normal chicken eggs that are put into the sulphur rich vents to cook. Oh yeah, and turn black! I was brave enough to try one and it was just like a normal boiled egg, with a slight sulphur 'tang'.

Next it was down to Lake Ashi for a boat cruise, a chance to see some amazing local wood crafts, a quick refreshment break before boarding the bullet train back to Tokyo.

Brilliant, great value tour which I'd thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Lovely tour but only managed to see Mt. Fuji briefly due to weather conditions. The 5th station had really interesting shops and a wonderful atmosphere. Lake Ashi and Hakone National Park were beautiful and we enjoyed the cableway ride on Mt. Komagatake although there was dense fog at the top! We also enjoyed the shinkansen ride back to Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message