Harajuku is a section of Tokyo known for its wild fashions. This is where you can spot local teens on the weekends, dressed-up in colorful and outlandish punk, goth, and anime costumes. But there’s more to Harajuku than just its extreme fashions. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were lucky to meet Aurelia who was a knowledgeable and personable guide. It was like going for a walk with a friend who had done her research and more on the architecture and culture of Japan. We found out a lot about the symbolisms and the design concepts of the buildings. Aurelia started from the historical perspective at the Meiji temple in Harujuku and we learnt very quickly about the historical progression and architectural context. We proceeded to Omotesando and Roppongi. A Phd Scholar with a architectural background from Romania, Aurelia's acute perception and depth of knowledge of architecture was a plus and her personable skills made us feel like we were walking with friends. From an architectural perspective, this tour is highly recommended. My husband and I had a great time revisiting these buildings again in Tokyo from Australia. Make sure you have good walking shoes and architectural appreciation.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My daughter loved it.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide, Jay, was knowledgeable and passionate. He was forthcoming with information and the itinerary was very interesting. We enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour gave us a chance to talk to someone one on one and get all our questions answered. Our guide was very knowledgeable and just a really nice guy! It was like spending half a day with your best friend. The tour would have been better if the weather had been better (we had snow and were just not dressed appropriately) but other than that it was quite enjoyable. He pointed out things we would have simply missed on our own, or would not have understood the significance. Nice job!

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a fantastic tour. I took my daughter to Japan as a college graduation present, and she loved the shopping and food in Harajuku. Our tour guide Meka was truly wonderful. Meka was knowledge and friendly and even helped us with navigating the subway and the Japan Rail (JR) lines. If you are going to Japan you should take this tour, and ask for Meka.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Sirs,

We very much enjoyed our trip around central Tokyo with your guide.

However,when we arrived at our hotel in Tokyo the paper which you had sent to us advised that we telephone a number to confirm.The number you quoted was a local number somewhere in America,and we were unsuccessful in our attempts get through.

Best regards,

Peter Schuberth

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Takako was our guide, and she was quite polite and knowledgeable. She met us promptly at the designated meeting point (Shinjuku Keio Plaza Hotel lobby). We then took the train to Harajuku to what around the area. We started at Takeshita Street and wondered through a variety of stores and streets, with Takako asking us for inputs as to what we wanted to see. Unfortunately, my 10-year old son wasn't in the mood for this type of tour. Had my wife been there, she probably would have enjoyed it more. It was earlier in the day, so not many cosplay kids around. If you wanted to shop, it would have been more enjoyable. Overall, the sightseeing was good. The stores we visited, from 100 yen stores to high-end, name brand stores, and large malls, were worth checking out. I'd recommend not going with a young kid unless it's later in the day when more cosplay kids are out and about.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was really a pleasure to meet John. He was very informative and professional.
Me and my husband enjoyed his company, we spent a lovely morning together.
Thank you.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

it rained so bring umbrella. Short walk with ice cream. crowded.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Our guide was wonderful but the tour was not good value as it is easy to get around on your own in Harajuku.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

It was worth doing solo.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

A good snap shot of Harajuku. If you want to shop you have plenty of time to do that after the tour

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Unfortunately we found this tour to be a waste of our time.While the guide was friendly he was unprepared, and spent most of the tour googling the buildings. I would NOT recommend this tour to anyone and as this was my first Viator booking experience I will think twice about booking again. Sorry guys.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Thought it would be more than it was. I know how to shop and I know how to walk, so I am not sure what the tour was about. I know it was frustrating walking for 5 minutes then stopping for 10 minutes at each shop. No culture or interesting landmarks/people. We left after 30 minutes. AWFUL

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message