Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Kabukicho, one of Tokyo’s busiest nightlife and red light districts, offers the foreign visitor nothing short of a bizarre cultural experience. An estimated 150,000 people pass through the district’s 200 clubs and 80 love hotels each day, and you’re ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Strange but beautiful! What an entertaining evening!

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It's the greatest visual, audio and technological experience ever. What it is about - I have absolutely no idea!! I loved it!

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An excellent guide who walked us around the inner workings of Tokyo not generally visited by tourists. We were informed about the history and cultural elements of Shinjuku. We have been Tokyo a few times but have never explored these parts. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was one of the craziest, over the top things I have done with my family. We loved it. I took my kids, age 7 and 14 and they thought it was crazy, fun and without a doubt entertaining. Even though the description says its in the Red Light District I personally did not think it was inappropriate for the kids. It was lit up like Las Vegas but more of a fun party atmosphere than the "bad side of town". Nothing inappropriate happened and the show itself is not risque at all. Trust me and take the address IN JAPANESE with you in the taxi since most drivers don't speak English and ours was not familiar with the place. You can get there with the metro and complicated walking instructions. Unless you are familiar with the area you should just take a taxi, even though they are expensive, because you may just never find the place and the metro is a hike in the dark after hours. You will have to get out of the taxi on a main street and walk down a pedestrian street about 1/2 a block so just know the taxi doesn't drop you off in front. There are a lot of stairs in the club but they do have an elevator if you need one. Once seated take your drink coupons and get all your drinks before the show starts. The cocktail girl was in demand and we never did use all our vouchers. The food was not good so don't rely on it for a good dinner but you will see it is not about the food. There are a lot of lasers, lights, noise and some smoke in case that bothers anyone (kids or grandparents). This is a MUST DO in my opinion.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sooooooooo much fun! Drinks are reasonable priced even though they have a captive audience.

A suggestion for viator though is to give people the option of a meal or getting 2 drink vouchers instead. Just like you can if you booked through the robot restaurant itself.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Love the show so much.. It's is worth watching

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing, a must do in tokyo

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Super alternative to shopping and shrines. Seedy area(was a good thing) but cool crazy show. Place was glitzy. it's interiors were all Versace strip club look. I would go again in a heartbeat...

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was lovely and very well informed. We wouldn't have seen many of the places she showed us if we had tried to go by ourselves and if we had we wouldn't have known what we were looking at. My advice would be to take the tour and then go back to selected places later on.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Found our way here fairly easily. We arrived early and was taken upstairs to the bar area where we ordered our free drinks. We both had a beer. The place reminded me of downtown Vegas minus slots. There was a band playing with a singer all dressed up in robot/ angel costumes. They were pretty good.
We were then taken downstairs for the show. We were given our Bento Boxes which we pre ordered an was lucky to be given front row seats.
The show, has got to be one of the most bizarre things I have ever seen but we had a great time and was worth the money. A definite must do when in Tokyo. The surrounding district is very much like London's Soho before it was smartened up. Very busy, lots of nightlife, bars shops etc. Loved it.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Not sure how to describe this show but it is amazing! You MUST do it! I booked for my reluctant boyfriends birthday and we both came out raving about it! It is the most intense, crazy unexplainable thing to do while in tokyo and worth every cent. I'm soooooo glad I made the booking without his knowledge as he didn't have the chance to talk me out of it. No words can describe what happened, but my mind is blown! Feels like I was on a massive trip! If in doubt you shouldn't be! I would do it 100 times over! Cannot recommend enough! AMAZING!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the most Japanese thing I've ever seen. I would go see this again in a heartbeat. It was like the clouds opened up from the heavens and a downpour of women and afro-wearing robots poured out onto a dance floor. There were battling robots, dinosaurs, giant spiders, pterodactyls carrying gorillas while shooting fireworks out of their mouths...and it was utterly awesome.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, the guide was lovely and very knowledgeable also we had only just arrived in Tokyo, so it was reassuring to be taken down the alleyways and nightspots with a local.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message