Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kokugikan Sumo Stadium & Museum

The Kokugikan Sumo Stadium, also known as the Ryōgoku Kokugikan, is Tokyo’s largest indoor sports arena hosting sumo wrestling tournaments. Sumo is Japan’s most popular sport, so catch an incredible show with up to 10,000 other spectators and find ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the experience and the tour.
The tour definitely enhanced the experience because, without it, we would not have been able to understand all the things that happened during the event. The conceptos are not complex but it is necessary that somebody explains them to you because the way the tournament works was completely new for us. For example, who would have known at which time was the best time to reach de stadium? it's half an hour before the professional wrestlers start fighting i recall. Or who wouldve known which matches were the most important?

Thank you for the tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

facinating culture very pleased we booked if back in japan and its on we go again

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

oh wow this was way better than we ever imagined!! Our tour guide Miki was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The sumo wrestlers where amazing, so much power and strength and the whole ritual surrounding the ceremony was fantastic. The atmosphere was electric and the Japanese certainly love their sport which was wonderful to see.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extraordinaire expérience, nous avons assisté à la première journée du tournoi.
Je n'y connaissais rien en Sumo mais j'ai appris beaucoup grâce à notre guide.
Le restaurant après le tournoi n'est vraiment pas terrible, si c'était à refaire je ne prendrai pas cette option-là...

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This package was amazing for both the value and experience! I really enjoyed learning about Sumo and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English which made it easy to follow along.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Truly outstanding. The guide was phenomenal. She was not only uncommonly knowledgeable with superb English, but highly enthusiastic about the subject matter. Our guide gave us terrific and very useful background information about Sumo--she came completely, thoroughly prepared with handouts, a booklet of information, and clearly explained what we were going to see. Without her mini-lecture and background information, I would have not enjoyed the Sumo match nearly as much. We had a a great time there and were fortunate enough to see an uncommonly exciting match: a champion was defeated which resulted in much pandemonium. Also, we had a truly delicious dinner afterwards and before we departed she gave us all maps and individual attention on how to get back to our hotels via JR lines and the subway. Wonderful and highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a wonderful day at the Sumo Tournament. If we lived in Japan we could easily become Sumo fans!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

asahione
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Must see if you are in Tokyo during one of the tournaments held each year at Ryogoku Kokugikan. Our guide was very friendly, informative and did a great job of explaining every aspects of sumo. Had a great time and enjoyed the chanko-nabe dinner. I would recommend this tour.

chanko-nabe

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of my week long trip in Japan. The sumo tournament was sensational and the tour was well operated. A special mention goes to my tour guide Haruko Ohno. She spoke good English, was knowledgeable, prepared special info sheets for us and even stood in the food queues for us because she didn't want us to miss the bouts between the popular and or best sumos.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic event. Guide was nice and easy to understand, and the tournament was more than I expected. The only issue I had with the tour was the meeting location it was somewhat difficult to find.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Wilson Chow
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sumo event was awesome. We were lucky enough to be there for the finals of the May event and it was a great atmosphere. The tour took us there efficiently and in a friendly manner.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Sumo wrestling tournament was fun....and we were very greatful for the english commentary headphones :) our guide was nice and friendly

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an awesome time. The guide was great. Very informative and spoke great English. Couldn't have asked for more. A truly memorable and once in a lifetime adventure!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So much fun! Our guide was really interesting and gave us plenty of information about sumo, so we understood what was going on a lot more. The sumo itself was a spectacle that needs to be seen to believed, we had a great afternoon!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing experience to see it live!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was very friendly and fluent in English. She was quite knowledgeable of Sumo Wrestling as well.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very fun to watch and the event day itself was well organized. The only thing was that the detailed itinerary was not really clear after I booked. I have to call the tour company number once I am in town to find out more. They could have listed out the time and detailed itinerary, so that client knows the time was from 140pm to 6pm. Other than that, the tour itself was good and fun.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you are in Tokyo during one of the tournaments I highly recommend signing up for this tour. It is exactly as described and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging with the entire group.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Incredible afternoon. I'd urge you to spend the money to attend if you are in Tokyo during one of the 5 Sumo tournaments held each year. The wresting is just part of the fun. These huge men are, well, yes huge, but also gifted athletes in terms of strength and flexibility. Combine this with the ceremonial part and you get a great Afternoon. And do have a draught beer from one of the young girls wandering around. Perfectly lured beer topped with the obligatory perfect foam.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic afternoon, sumo was great, our guide was very informative as well as being a sumo lover.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour! Our guide (Halle) did a great job explaining the sport and setting the backstory for the sumo matches we were about to see. The event was exciting and a ton of fun.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great guide who was very knowledgable. Well worth going on the tour

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message