Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kokugikan Sumo Stadium & Museum

The Kokugikan Sumo Stadium, also known as the Ryōgoku Kokugikan, is Tokyo’s largest indoor sports arena hosting sumo wrestling tournaments. Sumo is Japan’s most popular sport, so catch an incredible show with up to 10,000 other spectators and find ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic afternoon, sumo was great, our guide was very informative as well as being a sumo lover.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour! Our guide (Halle) did a great job explaining the sport and setting the backstory for the sumo matches we were about to see. The event was exciting and a ton of fun.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great guide who was very knowledgable. Well worth going on the tour

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The sumo tournament was excellent. A must do if you are in town for any of the six tournaments. The tour gathered at the bus/train station (we got picked up from the hotel) and travelled as a group on the train to the tournament. Our guide was good and friendly, she gave us all the information we needed to understand the sport. The museum tour was quick and only took about 5 minutes.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, just as described in the description.

Tour guide very helpful.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Well organized and a great show. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was awesome, highlight of my time in Japan. Awesome seats - good tour guide (we had Honda) who spoke decent English and was very informative. I will recommend this tour to all my friends who go to Japan.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour not to be missed! Tour guide was also
excellent and explained many things about the sport.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved my tour with you to the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The tour guide was extremely helpful
in her overall explaination when we started. She helped to direct and guide us in our travel by rail. She
made every efforrt to come around even to our seats. and explain during the tournament when we arrived.
She took us to the museum and explained as we went through before out seating when the tournament
began. Afterward we were taken to a traditional Japanese meal which was beautifully prepared and served. I thought the place chosen for the meal was excellent and also close in walking from where the
tournament took place. We were able to from the guides helpful directions find out way close by back to
the train to take our ride even with several transfers back to our hotel. I was very pleased with the entire
tour.

Dr.Rozanne Schmidtlein(traveled with Jan Miyamae

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Gary
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised tour, guide kept us well informed and the sumo was very entertaining!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic. If you are in Japan when one of these are on, definitely go The meal afterwards was fantastic.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Took this tour for the boys, us girls thought it would be ho hum, how wrong were we. It was exciting, informative, full of ceremony and our time watching the matches flew by, those wrestlers are wonderful. The tour company were very helpful as we wanted to change our pick-up point, nothing was to much trouble and everything went to plan. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an absolutely amazing tour. I would recommend this to anyone that goes to Tokyo. It was informative and very exciting.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message