• USD ($)
  • English

Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kokugikan Sumo Stadium & Museum

The Kokugikan Sumo Stadium, also known as the Ryōgoku Kokugikan, is Tokyo’s largest indoor sports arena hosting sumo wrestling tournaments. Sumo is Japan’s most popular sport, so catch an incredible show with up to 10,000 other spectators and find ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Second time I took this tour. It continues to be an excellent venue. I was unsuccessful booking tickets directly online for the last day of the Tokyo Basho. Fortunately, Viator was the only source which had tickets. Love sumo and the last day was quite exciting with a playoff for the title.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing afternoon. A must see for everyone.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Well worth it. A fascinating and memorable experience. The Chanko dinner was interesting , not so fussed about fish eyes..

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really good tour, guide had a high level of knowledge of Sump and spoke good english.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great to hear our local guide's background on sumo as a national sport. The radios with English language broadcast at the tourney helped us get engaged the same way as if we were at a baseball game!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent tour embracing tradition, suspense, color and excitement. We were at the opening ceremony which was fantastic. We had our 10yr old daughter with us-she loved it but was frightened when she met one in the corridor. Our Guide was wonderful, she explained traditions, the rules and was so insightful-a great guide. This is a definite 'MUST do' when you visit Japan.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It's amazing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Never seen or been to a Sumo Wrestling Tournament. A very different atmosphere to what I expected it to be. Really enjoyed the tournament.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed the sumo-our main reason for travelling at this time. Very well organised and seats were good. Chanko dinner was also good but we made a mistake when we got a hotdog from the stadium which was huge and very filling.
Sumo was great though

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a fun trip to see the sumo experience. I really enjoyed having the English commentary on the radios because it allowed a deeper insight into the program as a whole. Overall, I was satisfied with the service and the program. Thanks for developing it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was definitely a fantastic tour and one of the highlights of our trip. We were lucky we managed to see the very last day of the 15 day tournament and got to see the Makuuch Grade Dohyo....the best and most awarded Sumos. It really was quite a spectacle. We didn't really have much of an idea of how it worked beforehand but our guide was lovely and gave us plenty of information and history as we made our way to the stadium on the train and told us which was her favourite Sumo so we could cheer when he came out. One slight problem was the meeting point which we had a bit of trouble finding, but that was partly due to another tour participant sending us in the wrong direction. Thankfully he came back and got us when he found the others and we just made it in time. I would highly recommend this tour if you are in Tokyo at the right time of year, it is certainly something you wouldn't see anywhere else!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A must do in Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great drama - lucky to see the Grand Champion named on the 14th day of the tournament - quite exciting

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The ultimate experience of Japanese culture.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message