Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kokugikan Sumo Stadium & Museum

The Kokugikan Sumo Stadium, also known as the Ryōgoku Kokugikan, is Tokyo’s largest indoor sports arena hosting sumo wrestling tournaments. Sumo is Japan’s most popular sport, so catch an incredible show with up to 10,000 other spectators and find ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour not to be missed! Tour guide was also
excellent and explained many things about the sport.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved my tour with you to the Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The tour guide was extremely helpful
in her overall explaination when we started. She helped to direct and guide us in our travel by rail. She
made every efforrt to come around even to our seats. and explain during the tournament when we arrived.
She took us to the museum and explained as we went through before out seating when the tournament
began. Afterward we were taken to a traditional Japanese meal which was beautifully prepared and served. I thought the place chosen for the meal was excellent and also close in walking from where the
tournament took place. We were able to from the guides helpful directions find out way close by back to
the train to take our ride even with several transfers back to our hotel. I was very pleased with the entire
tour.

Dr.Rozanne Schmidtlein(traveled with Jan Miyamae

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Gary
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organised tour, guide kept us well informed and the sumo was very entertaining!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic. If you are in Japan when one of these are on, definitely go The meal afterwards was fantastic.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Took this tour for the boys, us girls thought it would be ho hum, how wrong were we. It was exciting, informative, full of ceremony and our time watching the matches flew by, those wrestlers are wonderful. The tour company were very helpful as we wanted to change our pick-up point, nothing was to much trouble and everything went to plan. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an absolutely amazing tour. I would recommend this to anyone that goes to Tokyo. It was informative and very exciting.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A really nice experience...

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

went in september,and a competition was taking place,great seat,great time.
well worth it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

So much fun to be able to see this. It only happens 3 times a year so make sure you book it if you are there when it is happening. You will get to see the wrestlers arrive and they are quite the celebrities. It is fun to watch and the matches are quick so it is easy to follow. Our guide was very knowledgable and even put a little pamphlet together for us to help explain the ranks of the wrestlers. Seats are kind of far but you can still see the matches very well. You can bring your own food in if you wish. It can be hot in there but I think they weren't expecting such hot weather at the end of September. Be ready to take the metro there with the guide. Taking the metro back can be tricky since the JR line is right beside the arena but the metro is a down the back and down the street and difficult to find but the guide will help navigate you so ask before you leave. I highly recommend seeing this since it is probably a once in a lifetime opportunity!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Norman L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great tour with a great guide but Viator coupon stated that pickup and drop off was included which was not the case only pickup was included - a problem for people that have yet experienced / got used to the Tokyo transportation systems.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We where so glad we took this tour , we would never have seen as much as we did without the thoughly knowledgable tour guide she was lovely and she was also able to advise us on further directions and restaurants . We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent, only problem was the instructions on how to return on the train were a little deficient, got lost.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was beyond my expectations and excellent value for money. I added the meal option and assumed that we would be taken to "just a restaurant" - but in fact we were taken to a nearby hotel and treated to a 5 star meal.
The guide went out of her way to help us enjoy our trip and spent as much time as we needed with
us before she went home.
The next time I go to Tokyo I shall definitely book this trip again.
I would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message