Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kokugikan Sumo Stadium & Museum

The Kokugikan Sumo Stadium, also known as the Ryōgoku Kokugikan, is Tokyo’s largest indoor sports arena hosting sumo wrestling tournaments. Sumo is Japan’s most popular sport, so catch an incredible show with up to 10,000 other spectators and find ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well worth the cost. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Also learning about the sumo traditions and how much dedication goes into becoming a sumo.
Tour guide was excellent

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome experience, really knowledgable and helpful tour guide (Mitchiko), highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved it! Excellent tour guide, informative gave us a good general knowledge of what was going on during the competition. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great experience. Highly recommended for any visitor. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Meki was our tour guide and very informative and friendly. We had a great time. Would definitely recommend the tour to anyone. Must see.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely the best! Loved al the tradition and costumes.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Second time I took this tour. It continues to be an excellent venue. I was unsuccessful booking tickets directly online for the last day of the Tokyo Basho. Fortunately, Viator was the only source which had tickets. Love sumo and the last day was quite exciting with a playoff for the title.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing afternoon. A must see for everyone.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Well worth it. A fascinating and memorable experience. The Chanko dinner was interesting , not so fussed about fish eyes..

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really good tour, guide had a high level of knowledge of Sump and spoke good english.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great to hear our local guide's background on sumo as a national sport. The radios with English language broadcast at the tourney helped us get engaged the same way as if we were at a baseball game!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent tour embracing tradition, suspense, color and excitement. We were at the opening ceremony which was fantastic. We had our 10yr old daughter with us-she loved it but was frightened when she met one in the corridor. Our Guide was wonderful, she explained traditions, the rules and was so insightful-a great guide. This is a definite 'MUST do' when you visit Japan.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It's amazing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Never seen or been to a Sumo Wrestling Tournament. A very different atmosphere to what I expected it to be. Really enjoyed the tournament.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed the sumo-our main reason for travelling at this time. Very well organised and seats were good. Chanko dinner was also good but we made a mistake when we got a hotdog from the stadium which was huge and very filling.
Sumo was great though

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message