Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Komagatake Ropeway

See the so-called Nagano Alps from Japan's highest aerial tramway, the Komogatake Ropeway. The Ropeway opened in 1963 and is a popular way to take in one of the most stunning, scenic views in Japan. The Ropeway runs from the edge of Lake Ashi to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good and insightful.
Our english speaking Japanese guide Amy was very knowledgeable and took care of our needs well. she even taught us the 'Mt Fuji' song along our coach ride to the 5th station. As it was cloudy with occasional rain, we could not see the peak of Mt Fuji fully. The stop at 5th station was a little short to soak in the awesome view and shopping at the souvenir store.
The cruise along Lake Aishi and gondola ride to Mt Komagatake were picturesque. However, due to the clouds, we could get to view Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake including the shrine at Komagatake.
The bullet train ride on the Shinkansen from Odawa to Tokyo was an experience. Amy was extremely helpful to get the pax to available seats as the tickets issued to us were without reserve seats.
Overall experience was great including lunch at Hotel Regina.
Gd value for $ too.:)

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Among the 3 tours I booked with viator, this is by far the best that I have experienced. I guess we were blessed that during that day, although it wasn't really sunny or having blue skies, still we had the pleasure of seeing Mt. Fuji and at the same time my kids were able to indulge in a bit of fun with the snow…..Also, I'd like to complement our tour guide Emiko san who I believed really showed the true character of a tour guide who loves her work and who cares for her team. She was warm, funny and very accommodating to us and I have nothing bad to really say about her. The lake Ashi boat ride was also memorable. Reminded me of Lake Taho, so peaceful and so cold…. but loved every moment of it….a little downside was that we were not able to ride on the aerial cableway at Mt. Komagatake. The Japanese lunch was just ok. I was hoping that there will be shrimp and fish tempura. Overall, I will recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was simply beautiful. Traveling to and from the peak of Mt. Komagatake was like visiting two worlds. The clear blue sky, verdant peaks and crystal water give way to a hazy ethereal land of mist and wind; a stark contrast that makes the trip really outstanding.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Lovely tour but only managed to see Mt. Fuji briefly due to weather conditions. The 5th station had really interesting shops and a wonderful atmosphere. Lake Ashi and Hakone National Park were beautiful and we enjoyed the cableway ride on Mt. Komagatake although there was dense fog at the top! We also enjoyed the shinkansen ride back to Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

you get more what you paid for for this tour. We were very lucky to see Mt. Fuji without fogs and clouds. The Lake Ashi and Komagatake Ropeway gave us a panoramic view of the adjacent mountain ranges. The lunch at the Highland Hotel and Resort is awesome. :)

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

moosepark
South Korea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but we were sure glad that we took this trip. The forecast was for rain in the afternoon, but we were lucky and was able to see the top of Mt. Fuji since we got there by 11:30am or so. We had lunch at the nearby hotel, and it was the typical Japanese bento and very good. Afterwards when we went to ride the boat on Lake Ashi, it began to rain. The boat was big and covered so it was no problem. We did get wet when we had to walk to the aerial cableway to ride to the top of Mt. Komagatake. We weren't lucky here since we couldn't see anything due to the rain. After a short time, we rode back and down and had time to shop. Afterwards it was time to go back down the mountain. We were supposed to go back to Tokyo by bus, but since I wasn't feeling well we took the Shinkansen so it was a quicker ride back. We did have to pay extra, but that was okay. Overall, this trip is worth it and the guide Mariko was the best! She speaks English fluently and even has a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The experience was great.The bus that pick us up were on time.It was a well organized tour so no time was wasted.We were able to maximize our stay in every place we visited.The weather was fine that we have really appreciated the beauty of Mt.Fuji.Lake Ashi and the cable car ride to Mt.Komagatake was grand,exciting and memorable.The bullet train ride was a first hand experience,amazing. Our tour guide Ms Kitty is facilitative,and efficient-can speak good English.My family got our money's worth.Thank you.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This trip is awesome, well organized and easy to get to and get home from. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I loved our guide he is an informative and comical man, we went on the Thursday 3rd Feb 2011 and he really gave us all a insightful look into Tokyo, Mt Fuji and everything leading up to it as well as Lake Ashi and the Ropeway Mt Komagatake and Japan. an amazing tour, The tour itself was relaxed and had plenty of time for shopping and looking around each place we stopped so defintely lots of tie for the 'great photo shot'. Awesome views of Mt fuji, well everything we saw on this tour. I always have lots of fun with the tours provided by Viaor whatever country I'm visiting. Thank you again.....

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lucy J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was an amazing day trip. We got to see some amazing views and enjoy the local culture. The only problem with this trip is that there is only about 1 chance you will see the whole of mount Fuji. On the day we went we didn't see the top but it was still well worth going. The meal we received was lovely with all types of sushi. The boat trip on Lake Ashi was fab too. Very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this trip but i would advise going more in the spring or summer months due to the weather worsening your chances of seeing the mountain. Make sure you take scarfs, hats and gloves because it is very cold up mount Fuji and even colder at the top of Mt.Komagatake where we experienced high winds and snow!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sarah B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Spectacular views of Mt Fuji for the whole day. Due to snow on previous days, we were only able to go to the first station on Mt Fuji. Lake Ashi cruise was fantastic, and Hakone was by far the best part of the day! Amazing, awe inspiring views from Hakone and Mt Komagatake! Fantastic tour guide had a wealth of knowledge and passion for the area! We even made origami Mt Fujis on the bus!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

My husband and I were glad we made this tour our first day itinerary during our four day Tokyo trip as it was a spectacular tour, and the view of Mount Fuji and Pacific Ocean from Mt Komagatake was breathtaking, so was the short cruise of Lake Ashi! The tour operator was professionally run and our tour guide was very informative and we definitely learned a lot about Japan from him! He was also very helpful in answering all our queries and even took the trouble to guide and recommend us to places around Tokyo when we were on our own the next few days. He was very efficient and made sure all the way we were safely dropped at the right station from m our Shinkansen train. A tour definitely recommended highly!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Fantastic trip, guide was very enthusiastic and informative. We were lucky that Fuji was completely clear when we went, the guide was telling us that it is rare for that to happen. Note that you will be on the bus a lot. Hotel to bus station to Fuji Visitor Center to 5th station to Lake AshiHakone Komagatake Ropeway to Odawara Station is all by bus. Time to shop for souvenirs at each stop. Taking the bullet train back was a nice finishing touch, although you may arrive back at Tokyo Station during rush hour. Tip 1: You can take pictures of Fuji at the Fuji Visitor Center, but one the widest, least obstructed views is on the bus ride over, so you may want to sit on the left side and have your camera ready. Tip 2: You can use your bullet train ticket to transfer onto a JR train to get back to your hotel, as there is no drop off service. Tip 3: You can opt to use your bullet train ticket to travel elsewhere in Japan. One couple brought their luggage and used it to go to Yokohama.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jeffrey L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

This was a great value and a great day out, with plenty to interest and entertain. Bad weather prevented us from going further up Mt. Fuji than the fifth station, which was a bit of a disappointment, as frankly there is not a great deal more to see at this level. However, the lake trip and the cable car are all good fun, especially climbing the two hundred or so steps in deep snow to get to the shrine on the top of Mt Komagatake. We thought the lunch was poor, so we bought some cakes to make up for it! Returning by Bullet Train topped off this great day. As usual with these trips, you need to get back to your hotel on your own, but the guide gives clear directions as to how to use the metro, so it's absolutely no problem.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

This was the perfect day trip. I was only in Japan for 2 days but felt that I was able to see so much without feeling rushed. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. I met some great people from Australia and the UK. The view of Mount Fuji from Mount Komagatake was surreal. We had good weather. Mount Fuji looked as though it was floating on clouds. The memories of this one day will last a lifetime.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

What can I say? The view of Mt. Fuji and the experience gained is priceless. It was definitely worth every cent paid. We were very fortunate as the day of the tour started bright and sunny. Our guide for the Tokyo bay cruise told us that she had been to Hakone six times but never had the chance to view Fuji-san, so we considered ourself blessed to be able to see the sunset on Fuji-san. The sight of Fuji-san as the sun set from Mt. Komagatake was breathtaking, and we wished we could stay there forever. It was like heaven with the clouds below us. The cruise on Lake Ashi was wonderful, and the guide was very knowledgeable and patient.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message