Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

ATTRACTIONS See all

Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura)

The 47-foot (14-meter) tall bronze Buddha statue of Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura) is only the second tallest statue of Buddha in Japan though likely the most recognizable. The seated figure is that of Amitabha Buddha, worshipped by Japanese ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Liliana N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was very cool. We got to see the temple, go shopping and see the beach in Tokyo. Also the lunch was great - There is lots of walking but just be prepared to be amazed. There was also plenty of time to look around, purchase items and take in the amazing views...The bamboo garden was amazing- breathtaking

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Demonika Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kamakura is a fabulous place! The temples and shrines are lovely but it is the place itself that is so enchanting and beautiful. Although the day started with rain, it did not dampen the experience. If anything it made it all the more special. Our tour guide was excellent! Her manner and use of English were great and she even sang for us on the bus. Lunch was a lovely Japanese style affair and we even experienced a modified tea ceremony. Kamakura is picturesque and inspiring. If you are unable to get there on your own and stay for a couple of days, this tour is a good option. I certainly intend on returning to this beautiful part of the world and stay for a few days sometime in the near future. :-

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour. I was picked up at hotel Sheraton on time, and was brought to transportation center where the tour would begun at 9AM. I was able to see the Great Buddha statue and cherry blossoms at same time. Lunch was good and then the afternoon tour lasted until 5PM and I was dropped off at Shinjuku station at 6PM other location would be Ginza at 6:30 to 7PM and then you would need to arrange for own transportation. I used the JR line to get back to hotel. There is no hotel drop off, so you would need to have some knowledge of layout of city, otherwise, cab fare would be very expensive.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Charms Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed it as well, we are so over temples as we have travelled vastly in Asia and each temple looks similiar to the last.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. It was slightly modified due to renovation work but was a fabulous day nonetheless. Nie to get away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Francesco P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing trip, location, guide.. everything.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Laurel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Interesting sites visited, tour leader was excellent.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Michelle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Interesting trip, and enjoyed the visit to the big iron buddha. Lunch was thoughtfully chosen at a local place which specialised in crab- excellent food in a nice hotel. Guide gave us very good service and gave us interesting information not only of the places, but about Japanese culture. Thumbs up and thank you!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Charles W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organized and enjoyable trip, especially Kamakura.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Noel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting tour and had a very good and bubbly tour guide.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide is very knowledgeable, patient and courteous and has made sure that each member of the tour group is well taken care of. Kamakura is beautiful and so is the garden and the palace.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Gargi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was quite comprehensive. Guide knowledgeable and considerate. I enjoyed the trip because it was well organized.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

LIAN SHUHWA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Itinerary is very good and lunch is good too. Very nice trip.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour that included three main sites.: the Great Buddha of Kamakura at Kotoku-in Kamakura's historic Hasedera Temple and the Sankeien Garden in Yokohama. All three sites were well worth the visit. Also, we had an excellent lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Delores S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Katy was fantastic, very friendly, organized and full of great information. The tour bus was clean and comfortable. I do think that advertising Tokyo Bay is overstating what you really get to see from the bus only. Would suggest that not be mentioned.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Anna J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour.Our guide Amiko was super helpful and knowledgeable. The tour is very pretty and plenty of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

bramers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour! Loved it. I would take this tour again anytime!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

James N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

All very well organised, the staff were great, the tour was good. Showed us some things that it would have been difficult for us to see travelling as foreigners. Lunch was surprisingly good. Only down side was that being a tour, you had to follow the fairly tight schedule, so you saw a lot, but at the price of not being able to stop and look at things you might have wanted to.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Pearl P C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, visiting temple, Japanese garden and Chinatown. Our tour guide Noriko is excellent, she has helped make the tour interesting so we followed her even during free time as it is nice to listen to her knowledge of Japanese history and culture. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Alenka Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well organised.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

beathor29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I really loved this tour! It was full of surprises. My absolute favourite was the first temple Hasedera, then the gardens were my second favourite. The great Buddha was impressive, but the rest of the temple wasn't that elaborate compared to others I've seen. Although it is cool that we could go inside the statue for 20 yen only. While we were in Kamakura, I wished that we had gone to Tsurugaoka Hachimangu Shrine as well. Many agreed with me, and I don't think we would have minded to take a bit of extra time to see it, say 30 min or so. Many of us, myself imcluded, were skeptical about China Town in Yokohama, but I was pleasantly surprised! I really enjoyed it. Visit the temple there, it is worth a try! Also, I ate my first nikuman ever there, and it was very good : Good food, good ambiance, very lively place. I would very much recommend this tour :

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A fantastic day out to the majestic Kamakura with the huge handsome Buddha and the beautiful Hasedera temple such a peaceful, pretty place. We enjoyed a lovely Japanese lunch followed by a trip past the beaches where lots of young holiday people were enjoying the water. On to the very amazing,gorgeous Sankeien Garden in Yokohama. Such a delight ! then on to China Town in Yokohama which I found quite interesting as i wasn't expecting much there, but glad I went. The day was run like clockwork with a wonderful guide and super safe bus driver. Thank you so much. I Absolutely loved it.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Raymond F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a tour not to be missed, there are so many things to see including Yokohama Bay, the lovely gardens, and we were lucky enough to see a traditional Japanese wedding. Having just come off a Princess Cruise I hesitated a tour that went back to Yokohama but it was well worth it and a tour I can recommend. Once again Viator did not disapoint !

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message