Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura)

The 47-foot (14-meter) tall bronze Buddha statue of Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura) is only the second tallest statue of Buddha in Japan though likely the most recognizable. The seated figure is that of Amitabha Buddha, worshipped by Japanese ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 165 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Savita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a wonderful variety of experiences and a well-packed day.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Bill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of visiting Japan was a visit to the Giant Buddah. It was well worth the expense of the tour. There were lots of schoolchildren and tourists around, but we managed to have some moments to ourselves with the Buddah. The guide was good.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

ANA PATRICIA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

IT WAS VERY INTERESTING! EVERYTHING PERFECT!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

salcala_17

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent! The food and the tour guide Amy were outstanding.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Jeffery W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Kamakura and Tokyo Bay were interesting and informative. Out of all the temple/shrine tours, it was really well done and the shopping afterward was enjoyable.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Maria Isabel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful. I do recommend to go during the week or when no festivals are scheduled for a more relaxed experience.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Ceeorr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Buddha's penance sticks to one's mind while we have a look of him. Don't miss this tour when you go to Japan.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Nicholas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

HAROLD R B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Not to be missed. Excellant tour value

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Liliana N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was very cool. We got to see the temple, go shopping and see the beach in Tokyo. Also the lunch was great - There is lots of walking but just be prepared to be amazed. There was also plenty of time to look around, purchase items and take in the amazing views...The bamboo garden was amazing- breathtaking

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Demonika Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kamakura is a fabulous place! The temples and shrines are lovely but it is the place itself that is so enchanting and beautiful. Although the day started with rain, it did not dampen the experience. If anything it made it all the more special. Our tour guide was excellent! Her manner and use of English were great and she even sang for us on the bus. Lunch was a lovely Japanese style affair and we even experienced a modified tea ceremony. Kamakura is picturesque and inspiring. If you are unable to get there on your own and stay for a couple of days, this tour is a good option. I certainly intend on returning to this beautiful part of the world and stay for a few days sometime in the near future. :-

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour. I was picked up at hotel Sheraton on time, and was brought to transportation center where the tour would begun at 9AM. I was able to see the Great Buddha statue and cherry blossoms at same time. Lunch was good and then the afternoon tour lasted until 5PM and I was dropped off at Shinjuku station at 6PM other location would be Ginza at 6:30 to 7PM and then you would need to arrange for own transportation. I used the JR line to get back to hotel. There is no hotel drop off, so you would need to have some knowledge of layout of city, otherwise, cab fare would be very expensive.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Charms Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed it as well, we are so over temples as we have travelled vastly in Asia and each temple looks similiar to the last.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. It was slightly modified due to renovation work but was a fabulous day nonetheless. Nie to get away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Francesco P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing trip, location, guide.. everything.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Laurel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Interesting sites visited, tour leader was excellent.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Michelle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Interesting trip, and enjoyed the visit to the big iron buddha. Lunch was thoughtfully chosen at a local place which specialised in crab- excellent food in a nice hotel. Guide gave us very good service and gave us interesting information not only of the places, but about Japanese culture. Thumbs up and thank you!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Charles W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organized and enjoyable trip, especially Kamakura.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Noel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting tour and had a very good and bubbly tour guide.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide is very knowledgeable, patient and courteous and has made sure that each member of the tour group is well taken care of. Kamakura is beautiful and so is the garden and the palace.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Gargi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was quite comprehensive. Guide knowledgeable and considerate. I enjoyed the trip because it was well organized.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

LIAN SHUHWA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Itinerary is very good and lunch is good too. Very nice trip.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour that included three main sites.: the Great Buddha of Kamakura at Kotoku-in Kamakura's historic Hasedera Temple and the Sankeien Garden in Yokohama. All three sites were well worth the visit. Also, we had an excellent lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message