Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura)

The 47-foot (14-meter) tall bronze Buddha statue of Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura) is only the second tallest statue of Buddha in Japan though likely the most recognizable. The seated figure is that of Amitabha Buddha, worshipped by Japanese ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a good day trip, the Budha visit was very good with a mix of information and free time. My family and I enjoyed the visit to the Sankeien Garden that was very nice mix of nature and the old way of life in Japan's history. We had a good amount of free time there. Just a shame the weather was so awful, bitterly cold and wet. We were able to leave the tour at the electric City area which meant we could do extra in the day, an added bonus. Our tour guide was very nice and very entertaining. Overall a very positive experience despite the weather doing its worst.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful place to see gorgeous views; must visit when visiting tokyo

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well organised day with lots packed in. Helpful guides and a really nice lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Amy, was fantastic. She was so knowledgeable and shared so much information every minute and step of the tour. The selected sites are fascinating. I learned so much. Any and Viator took every extra measure necessary to ensure guests had an optimal experience.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Japanese people are very organized. So no need for more coments. Tour is fantastic.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great guide. Wish we had more time to see Kamakura and China Town. The lunch wasn't great. Good trip overall

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

davidfyl
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was super.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

one of the best day tours we have done all over the world

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guides are great. Well organized!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour - very informative . Guide was excellent. Lunch was great. We loved every minute of it. Highly recommend this tour to everyone..

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide, Take, was excellent making jokes while guiding the tour. We went to Hasedera Temple first, then walked down the street to see the Great Buddha. I don't recommend this for anyone with walking issues since there are a fair amount of stairs up to the Temple and walking on the street to the buddha.

After that we went to Yokohama for the Chinese lunch in Chinatown. I had the vegetarian meal which was excellent. The view from the restaurant to the harbour is beautiful. We had time to shop in Chinatown and see a beautiful Temple at the end of the street. We then drove to Sankeien Garden to see a Samurai house and beautiful bridge and gardens. The tour disbands at either Ginza station or Shinjuku Station. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an interesting tour to see a different town outside Tokyo. Good commentary along the way. Especially nice to visit the large Budda. The included lunch was in a nice restaurant on top on an office building, which gave a fine view of the bay and the city. You had a choice of meat or vegetarian lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour informative guide value for money

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message