Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura)

The 47-foot (14-meter) tall bronze Buddha statue of Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura) is only the second tallest statue of Buddha in Japan though likely the most recognizable. The seated figure is that of Amitabha Buddha, worshipped by Japanese ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great guide. Wish we had more time to see Kamakura and China Town. The lunch wasn't great. Good trip overall

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

davidfyl
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was super.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

one of the best day tours we have done all over the world

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guides are great. Well organized!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour - very informative . Guide was excellent. Lunch was great. We loved every minute of it. Highly recommend this tour to everyone..

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide, Take, was excellent making jokes while guiding the tour. We went to Hasedera Temple first, then walked down the street to see the Great Buddha. I don't recommend this for anyone with walking issues since there are a fair amount of stairs up to the Temple and walking on the street to the buddha.

After that we went to Yokohama for the Chinese lunch in Chinatown. I had the vegetarian meal which was excellent. The view from the restaurant to the harbour is beautiful. We had time to shop in Chinatown and see a beautiful Temple at the end of the street. We then drove to Sankeien Garden to see a Samurai house and beautiful bridge and gardens. The tour disbands at either Ginza station or Shinjuku Station. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an interesting tour to see a different town outside Tokyo. Good commentary along the way. Especially nice to visit the large Budda. The included lunch was in a nice restaurant on top on an office building, which gave a fine view of the bay and the city. You had a choice of meat or vegetarian lunch.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour informative guide value for money

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was excellent. Speak English very fluently and also very helpful and knowledgeable to answer all questions. We were impressed.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day trip from Tokyo and we had a wonderful guide!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Hamid D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An amazing tour thoroughly enjoyable and very beneficial. Well organised and staff extremely helpful and competent both in communication and transfer of knowledge.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My son and I loved every aspect of this tour. Of course, we visited the Great Buddha. But we also saw a number of other temples, shrines, and the very lovely Sankeien gardens. Our visit to Japan's Chinatown with Chinese lunch was a lot of fun. The view of Yokohama Bay from the restaurant was spectacular. This was a great day trip from Tokyo.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Good tour. Guide very clear and understandable.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Everything went very well, from pickup at the hotel to the end of the tour!!! We enjoyed the history that was explained to us by Noriko and all the beautiful places that we went to. We would definitely use your company again!!!!!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message