Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura)

The 47-foot (14-meter) tall bronze Buddha statue of Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura) is only the second tallest statue of Buddha in Japan though likely the most recognizable. The seated figure is that of Amitabha Buddha, worshipped by Japanese ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day trip from Tokyo and we had a wonderful guide!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Hamid D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An amazing tour thoroughly enjoyable and very beneficial. Well organised and staff extremely helpful and competent both in communication and transfer of knowledge.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My son and I loved every aspect of this tour. Of course, we visited the Great Buddha. But we also saw a number of other temples, shrines, and the very lovely Sankeien gardens. Our visit to Japan's Chinatown with Chinese lunch was a lot of fun. The view of Yokohama Bay from the restaurant was spectacular. This was a great day trip from Tokyo.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Good tour. Guide very clear and understandable.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Everything went very well, from pickup at the hotel to the end of the tour!!! We enjoyed the history that was explained to us by Noriko and all the beautiful places that we went to. We would definitely use your company again!!!!!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Many stops to get an immediate Idea about How is Tokyo
The tour guide was excellent

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour. Picked up on time, comfortable coach, very interesting visits.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was a lot of fun! It had snowed the day before for the second time since 1994, so it was unique seeing everything with a layer of snow. Our tour guide was Satoko-san or "Sunny". She gave us the history behind Kamakura and Yokohama areas. I enjoyed the Giant Buddha and the gardens. I would definitely recommend taking this tour. At the end, Sunny and her assistant were very helpful guiding everyone back to where they needed to be. In fact, even starting at the tour terminal, all the tour employees are very gracious and helpful.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful day trip out of Tokyo. It was very thrilling to see the sites. A little more time for souvenir shopping would be nice, but I still had enough time to grab some neat stuff. The guide Katie-san was such a joy! I would do this trip again!

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

we liked the trip as it was well organized and the guide was informative and polite . we covered all the listed spots and safely delivered to the stations requested at end of the trip.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first time doing this tour but we loved it! Beautiful view of Yokohama bay during lunch. Plenty of free time and the places visited are very interesting. Would definitely recommend and would do again.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was exellent. Very informative and intertaining. Lunch was OK. We didn't expect chinese food in Japan.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

as usual, the trip is very enjoyable, the tour leader is very friendly and helpful, highly recommended to other friends.

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

with the limited time available this is the best way to see various aspects to the Tokyo areas.
Pick up arrangements (from near Mercure Hotel in Ginza) worked very well

Doing what: Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message