Located on the Island of Honshu, Lake Ashi, also known as Lake Ashinoko, is located inside of Japan's Hakone National Park. With Mt. Fuji as its backdrop, it is a dazzling view on the water. It is considered sacred by the Japanese and has a Shinto ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 411 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Harold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Fuji San did herself proud and we were able to get some photos before the cloud rolled in. Lake Ashi is beautiful. The bullet train was an experience not to be missed. Our guide says he does this tour 5 times a week, and his knowledge showed it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cristofer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We started out the tour at the Keio Plaza Hotel where we met the group and for on the bus. The drive to Mt Fuji was quick and beautiful. No traffic. When we first started the tour we were to.d that the 5th station was closed for the season still but later on in the drive our tour guide, Hiro-San, got a call saying they had opened it so we were able to go all the way up. When we got up there there wasn't a cloud to be seen. Such a clear beautiful day. After the 5th station we drove to Hakone for the lake cruise on Lake Ashi and the Hakone Ropeway. The cruise was really short but like Hiro said It was long enough. The Ropeway was amazing. You can see all of lake Ashi, Mt Fuji, and even the Pacific Ocean. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone we know going to Japan. Easy, convenient, fun, and breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

ernp1663

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour with a excellent tour guide. We had many great views of Mt. Fuji and was able to take many great photographs. Our tour guide was exceptional, as he work the schedule so that we were able to get in and out of place on the tour without having to wait in lines. I highly recommend this great tour. Lunch was really excellent as well. Mt Komagatake Rope way provided breath taking views of Mt. Fuji and the Lake Ashi.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect weather!!!!!!!!!! The day before very cloudy and rain, but on April 15 blue sky, sunny day until lunch. Lake Ashi was ..... ok..... not absolutly a must have but nice and ok. Perhaps a little better english-knowing by the leader would be better.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a stellar tour. Hiro-San was a very informative guide, and the weather provided what was likely the clearest day of the season so far. We got up close and personal when we were able to ascend to the fifth station, and then had long distance views from -- and high above -- the surface of Lake Ashi. The included lunch was artfully presented and one of the best of my entire time in Japan. Hotel Regina. Be prepared: the tour ends at the end of the bullet train ride at Tokyo station. You will need to navigate back to your destination from there, but our guide was very helpful in making sure we knew what to do. Thank you, Hiro-San!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

BEVERLEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great, except for the weather. As it was foggy and wet, which meant that it snowed on Mt Fuli. We did make it to stage 4 station. As it was to foggy the lake Ashi didn't happen but the alternative to me was great. It was a visit to an Art Gallery showing in Japanese artiste.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic! Lake Ashi cruise was stunning, our Japanese lunch was very tasty and seeing Mt Fuji itself was awe inspiring. You cannot come to Japan and not do this tour in my opinion. Tour Guide was also brilliant.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Carrie-Lynn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour but it was cloudy day at Mt. Fujiropeway and Lake Ashi was beautiful. Highly recommended tour

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing tour !. The detail in the booking was not clear and I was ambivalent at first since the tour was expensive. However, it is worth every single penny. I was picked up at Sheraton hotel on time and brought to transportation center at 9. I was able to see Mt. Fuji after the rain. Lunch was at a hotel and then I did the afternoon activities outlined in the tour. Unfortunately, it was foggy so we did not see Lake Asha while on the boat and cable car. After the activities were done, I was dropped off at the train station where a staff member waited with you , and actually stayed and led you to the shinkasen heading to Kyoto. There was one transfer at Nagoya and there was only 4 minutes in between. However, there was staff ready for you to lead you to the next shinkasen on same platform. For this trip, I checked out of my hotel so there was luggage that I had to carry with me. I arrived Kyoto at 10:15 PM and there was staff waiting to lead me to hotel at New Miyako for readers of this review, try to stay at this hotel since it is across the Kyoto station. I did the activities as outlined in the tour on second day. I selected the three day tour and it was great because the following morning of the third day, I signed up for the Arashiyama walking tour. In the afternoon, I had my own time to explore this wonderful city. I was arranged to go back to Tokyo on the Nazomi shinkasen at 6:45 arriving in Tokyo at 9:15PM. There was staff picked me up and brought me to taxi prepaid by tour companypromptly. I was not the only one on the tour who was so elated by this arrangement since Tokyo station is huge and one would be easily got lost in this station. I stayed at Westin on the way back, so you just need to inform staff so correct hotel drop off could be made. Overall, this tour was wonderful, and I hope more details would be outlined in the tour activities, especially drop off points to allay traveler's anxiety.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow.. what a fabulous day! Anne was our tour guide, extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
We left Tokyo on a wet morning and thought we didn't stand a chance of seeing Mt Fuji. Anne pointed out many interesting sights on our journey towards Fuji, stopping at Lake Kawaguchiko to stretch our legs and take some photos, before heading to Fuji National Park. As the weather had been extremely cold, snowing the previous few days, it meant the bus was only allowed get to the 1st gate in the national park not higher up to the 5th, as we'd expected. It didn't matter, everyone enjoyed the crisp cold air, the trees laiden with snow, many people made snow balls, and everyone was taking photos while keeping an eye out for the elusive top of Mt Fuji. After a half hour break, we got back into the coach, heading to a local hotel for a traditional lunch. While we enjoyed our delicious meal, the weather cleared and sun appeared... then .. so did Mt Fuji. There she was, in all her glory. How spectacular and how privileged we were. We actually got half an hour where we could see the complete mountain top and most of the mountain itself, in all its glory, with fluffy white clouds occasionally floating by. Anne explained we were extremely lucky, as its a rare sight. Cameras and iPhones were busy capturing photos and the mood was buoyant. Everyone got back on the coach and we headed towards Lake Ashi for a short cruise that included commentary about the local Hakone Mountains. The Hakone Komagatake Ropeway ride was shortly afterwards, however the weather had closed in again, so it was foggy at the top of the mountain, and cameras weren't required. On a sunny day, the view would be spectacular. Our driver collected us for the journey home, with some opting to stay on the bus the balance being dropped at Odawara Station to catch the bullet train back to Tokyo. We took the bullet train ... wow... it was quick, quiet, clean and a great experience. We HIGHLY recommend this trip

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Recommend to anyone considering. Ordered the vegetarian meal for lunch as I'm not much for raw foods. Guide spoke good English. Enough time at Mt Fuji. Lake Ashi tour was nice too. Met some nice people on the tour bus too! Bullet train was cool. And even navigated the Tokyo subway to get back to my hotel. Great day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is recommended. It was very organized from pick up to drop off. Though the weather was cloudy when we left Tokyo and we were only able to reach the 4th station, we were lucky to have seen Fuji-san when we were at the observation deck. Our guide Hiro was very helpful, and gave us good information on the places we visited and life in Japan in general, to pass the time during transit. Instead of Lake Ashi, we took the alternative Lake Kawaguchi, but the experience was memorable nonetheless.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic trip, tour guide was really entertaining and informative. Unable to get to 5th station due to storms on the mountain, but was still a great day. Views were truly breathtaking, lunch was delicious. The Lake Ashi cruise and the Hakone cable car trip were both lovely. Well worth it!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Matthew J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommended. The weather could play a big part in the enjoyment of this trip, and for us it played nice. Fuji was amazing, lunch was good at an amusement park! and Lake Ashi was cold/windy, but still beautiful. Took the bullet train back, which is really the only way to travel. DO THIS TRIP if you're going to be in Tokyo for any longer than 3 days.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great day out with a knowledgeable guide made for a very special day out. Even though snow meant we could not get beyond first station on Mt. Fuji we had good views and the return by Shinkansen train meant we were back in Tokyo around 6pm, Lake Ashi cruise was OK.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour staff were friendly and helpful. It was a easy and nice drive down and we were lucky that Mt Fuji showed herself yes she's a she! for a short while as we approached. We could only get up to the 1st station so the tour guide did an extra stop at another site for us to get some great photos. Lovely lunch and then another drive to Lake Ashi for a short cruise 15 mins to the Ropeway and then up Mt Komagatake. On our day it was a whiteout so no views but it was fun battling the snow and winds to do the short walk up to the shrine. The bullet train was a perfect end to a great day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Campion D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The 'shy' Mt Fuji came out to play for us. The tour proceeded as per the itinerary and all facets of the day were well-organised and clearly communicated. Our guide Keiko was a delight, as was the included lunch. The highlight, of course, is Mt Fuji - quite something and seeing it from the base, 5th station, the ropeway, Lake Ashi and the bullet train offers multiple perspectives and experiences. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Karm Sum T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The trip was fantastic , better than expected. Tour guide was friendly and informative. Events proceed as per schedule.
The view at station 5 , Lake Ashi and Kamagatake Ropeway was fantastic.
Events just nice for 1 day trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Shona W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous day, fabulous scenery. We were warned that this time in mid November is cloudy and we would not be able to see Mount Fuji. But half an hour before we arrived at the fifth station, the clouds parted and we saw Mount Fuji in all her glory plus great pictures when we got there. The Lake Ashi area Hakone is beautiful and the cruise is lovely. The rope line is spectacular although Mount Fuji was obscured again by the time we got there but this entire day was so good I rally can't complain. Pick the Japanese lunch. It wasn't too exotic but still a little adventurous. Tour guide Harry was great but struggled with being understood as his accent was strong in English. Get DETAILED instructions about your train or subway stop when they drop you off after the tour. It was a nightmare finding my correct train as there are several trains and subway systems that operate in Tokyo and you have to know the correct one. Still it was the quintessential Tokyo experience being stuffed into a subway car with hundreds of others and I made it back to my hotel by myself in the end. The Japanese people are so very helpful anyway so if you get lost, just keep asking until you find someone who speaks English well enough.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

DAVID H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

PICKUP WAS AT THE HOTEL SO VERY CONVENIENT. TOUR GUIDE SPOKE PERFECT ENGLISH AND WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND FRIENDLY. MT FUJI WAS IN THE CLOUDS WHEN WE ARRIVED BUT LATER AFTER THE NICE LAKE ASHI BOAT RIDE THE SUMMIT COULD BE SEEN. AT THE TOP OF THE ROPEWAY RIDE MT FUJI COULD BE CLEARLY SEEN ABOVE THE CLOUDS, A VERY IMPRESSIVE SIGHT WHICH FOR ME WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE DAY. A VERY WORTHWHILE TRIP, ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF IT.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Helen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour with a very knowledgeable guide! We were so lucy with the weather. The scenary was amazing with Lake Ashi being one of the highlights!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Andrea T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent time on this tour. The accommodations were fantastic and the hot springs bath was a great experience. Being able to view Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi with all of the commentary and additional historical information was wonderful! Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great day out, sadly the weather was inclement however it was very well organised and the faccilities first class. Very good value for money and it was spaced nicely between the Mountain, Lake Ashi and the bullet train ride back downtown. Japanes efficiency in keeping to timetables has to be admired

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Vesna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide Harumi who was very knowledgable about Mount Fuji, Lake Ashi and the Hakone areas. Excellent organisation throughout, the lunch was lovely and authentic. This is a great tour for people looking to explore outside of Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I loved this tour. The weather at the base of mount Fuji wasn't great but when we got above the clouds the views were stunning. The nice thing about this trip is that Mount Fuji is just one part of the tour! The cable car ride, cruise on Lake Ashi and in particular the bullet train ride back to Tokyo were all fantastic - it is no surprise that this tour sells out quickly. It is well worth doing and a great day trip away from Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message