Located on the Island of Honshu, Lake Ashi, also known as Lake Ashinoko, is located inside of Japan's Hakone National Park. With Mt. Fuji as its backdrop, it is a dazzling view on the water. It is considered sacred by the Japanese and has a Shinto ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 312 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I went in late February on a day with perfect weather. Not too cold, sunny skies and spectacular views. I was lucky that there was not a cloud in the sky. Mt. Fuji was beautiful, just the right amount of snow. The views were the main attraction for me, the roads to the 5th station were closed because of snow but that was okay. Mt. Fuji is best seen from a distance anyways. The boat tour was really nice, lake Ashi was beautiful. Going up to Mt. Hakone was really nice as well. Seeing the sun set over Mt. Fuji was something I will always remember. The tour guide was extremely friendly and had excellent english, I never had any problems understanding her. The food was okay, not great but not bad either. Bullet train was pretty cool and I had no problems getting back to my hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was an awesome tour. In the winter time, there is no other way to get up the mountain (obviously how far you can go is dependent on the weather) and I highly recommend this. The Lake Ashi boat tour and Tram ride also provided excellent views. Our tour guide Marie was great and very friendly.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I highly recommend this trip, I felt like we crammed a lot into one day. We were quite lucky with the weather as got a great view of Fuji in the morning, unfortunately, it has disappeared behind the cloud once we got to Lake Ashi. The guide, Amy, was amazing - good English, knowledgeable and very entertaining.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very well organised from pickup at Tokyo station to termination at Odawara station.It had snowed on the previous day which meant the road to the 5th station on mount Fuji was closed to the bus but today the sky was so clear with the sun shining which was ideal for photos of Mt Fuji from the bus and viewing areas.I bought my own lunch at the midday stop which wasn't expensive and very good. The Lake Ashi cruise and Mt Komagatake cable car provide splendid opportunities for photos due to the clear sky and sunshine.My trip terminated at Odawara station as I had a shinkansen pass so returned to Tokyo on the Hikari bullet train.I would recommend this tour and company to everyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A wonderful trip on a clear day. Our guide was full of information, sang for us and also made us laugh. Mt Fuji was clear, however ice kept us from going past the first level. Plenty of pics could be taken. You could see the wind blowing the snow around on top of the mountain. Crossing Lake Ashi was cold but rewarding, . since it was so clear. The tram ride provided a great view.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide is great, she never stop talking about the history of the country and each one of the places of the tour. Getting to Mt Fuji and to the other locations of this tour can be a bit tricky on your own, so the tour takes care of that for you which is great. Lake Ashi is wonderful and well Mt Fuji depends a lot on the weather it can be beautiful or just a great view of pure fog. Overall I highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip which my family of 5 enjoyed! The pick up was punctual and our tour guide spoke good English. The tour covered quite a bit for a one day trip. We wouldn't possibly be able to do that on our own though we really wish we had more time in each area of attraction. We only had half an hr on mount fuji itself to take photos and similar at other points of attraction. Lunch included a Japanese bento set consisting a variety of Japanese items like rice, sashimi, tempura, udon, miso soup etc. Weather on Mt Fuji was minus 1 deg C in early December...considered cold for someone who comes from a country which is practically summer throughout. Do bring your winter clothing. Also, do remember to bring some sweets or take motion sickness pills if u are prone to motion sickness. My children were not used to the long bus journey up and down were a bit nauseous towards the end of the bus journey. That aside, we enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a fantastic experience! I felt the organizer's concern over our safety when they cancelled our Lake Ashi cruise due to bad weather condition. But the moment the weather changed, they immediately informed us that everything will proceed as per schedule! That was really a well applauded announcement.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

They don't call Mt. Fuji shy for no reason, it tends to hide within clouds! That being said, we were lucky enough to get very brief peaks of the mountain through breaks in the clouds thanks to our guide and driver. They took us through areas with the best visibility of Mt. Fuji and even briefly stopped on the side of the road where the mountain became visible. Our guide was AMAZING!!! Funny and extraordinarily helpful! Lake Ashi was also breathtaking! Definitely don't think we could have had such a nice experience visiting shy Mt. Fuji without this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely outstanding, though my advice to book the option without lunch, as the set lunch is an allergy minefield (nuts, shellfish etc). There are plenty of alternative places to eat, so don't worry about not being on the booked lunch. Bear in mind Mount Fuji can be significantly colder than ground level, so take a coat. The views are beyond outstanding. In winter, Fuji has its trademark snow cap, but in summer it doesn't so bear this in mind if you are looking for photos. The Lake Ashi cruise is very nice, and the views from the top of the cable car were so breathtakingly beautiful a woman in our tour group was reduced to tears. The bullet train back is short (c.1 hour) but a great taste of a Japanese icon, the shinkansen 'bullet' train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very friendly tourist guide and best experience at hakone, 5th stage Mt Fuji, cruise at lake ashi and finally breathtaking view of Mt Fuji and surroundings during cable car rides. A very great experience that remain in my mind forever.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip for us - especially the cruise on Lake Ashi - a very very scenic and fantastic experience. Unfortunately because of fog we could not see Mount Fuji, otherwise a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing experience. Beautiful scenery. Everyone was very nice. Tour leader was especially friendly and knowledgeable. Bus driver did an excellent job avoiding some nasty traffic and returned us to our destination in a timely fashion. My only complaint is that the temperature on the bus was very inconsistent. For some reason the air conditioning vents were not blowing air with enough velocity to cool the vehicle and at some of the lower altitudes it became quite stuffy and warm.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

FANTASTIC TRIP, SPECIALLY THE CRUISE IN ASHI LAKE, THE NATURE WAS AMAZING, MOST RECOMMENDED,

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day trip from Tokyo. Coach was very comfortable and the tour guide was wonderful. The whole day was very well organised, we felt we saw a lot and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We opted not to go with the Lunch option and happy we did.....found a great Pork Katsu curry in an upstairs cafe right on Lake Kawagashi. Mt Fuji lived up to expectations as did Lake Ashi and the Bullet train ride home. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message