Located on the Island of Honshu, Lake Ashi, also known as Lake Ashinoko, is located inside of Japan's Hakone National Park. With Mt. Fuji as its backdrop, it is a dazzling view on the water. It is considered sacred by the Japanese and has a Shinto ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 289 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing experience. Beautiful scenery. Everyone was very nice. Tour leader was especially friendly and knowledgeable. Bus driver did an excellent job avoiding some nasty traffic and returned us to our destination in a timely fashion. My only complaint is that the temperature on the bus was very inconsistent. For some reason the air conditioning vents were not blowing air with enough velocity to cool the vehicle and at some of the lower altitudes it became quite stuffy and warm.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

FANTASTIC TRIP, SPECIALLY THE CRUISE IN ASHI LAKE, THE NATURE WAS AMAZING, MOST RECOMMENDED,

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day trip from Tokyo. Coach was very comfortable and the tour guide was wonderful. The whole day was very well organised, we felt we saw a lot and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We opted not to go with the Lunch option and happy we did.....found a great Pork Katsu curry in an upstairs cafe right on Lake Kawagashi. Mt Fuji lived up to expectations as did Lake Ashi and the Bullet train ride home. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lake Ashi and Hakone were fantastic! We would have stayed there if we had known about such a beautiful place!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic, she made the long bus ride entertaining and educational. We were lucky, Mt. Fuji was visible! We had a lovely lunch and went on to a thrilling tram ride in Hakone and boat ride on Lake Ashi. It was a spectacular experience and I'm not one for group tours.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A nice full day trip to Mt. Fuji with an included boat trip on Lake Ashi. Unfortunately the weather did not let us see the top of the mountain, but it was still a very fun trip. We chose to return by bullet train, which was a very interesting and new experience. Worth the extra charge.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything was efficient!
Getting to the meeting point (the bus station) was a little challenging, but we gave ourselves plenty of time to get lost and still get there on time.
Our tour guide, Mr Take was exceptionally. Great entertainer, comedian, singer, etc. he took care of all our needs. (My friend is vegetarian) he made sure she got the right plate. He even wrote down on a piece of paper our diet preferences for our future use.
Unfortunately, Mother Nature was not cooperative. Station 5 on Mt Fuji was extremely foggy. We only caught a glimpse of the mountain from the road.
Lunch was excellent.
Lake Ashi and the cable car ride was fun, although also foggy. It was fun to suddenly run into treasures you couldn't see. :)
Tokyo Station is huge and confusing. Wish we got to personally say goodbye and thank you to Mr Take. But I dropped something important and had to rush back. We lost sight of him and the other guests by the time we got back.
A very friendly woman helped us find our way back. She even walked with us to our exit even though she looked like she was in a hurry.
Wasn't expecting the Bullet train ride. Luved it! Luved the whole experience!
We got back late afternoon. Enough time for us to take the subway and see Ginza and Shabuya in action at night. Stumbled into a delicious Ramen restaurant in Shabuya, unfortunately I can't remember the name. I can still taste the soup. It was delish!
Great way to see and experience many things in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Of the 3 Viator tours we did on our trip, this was the best. If you are staying at the Shinjuku Washington Hotel, there is a checking area in the lobby to walk you to the bus. The bus we had was nice and the AC was cool, which is important as our tour date was July 24 (90 deg F/70% humidity). The bus took us to the Hamamatsucho bus station where we boarded another bus to Mt. Fuji. Our tour guide was an expert on Mt. Fuji having been a hiking guide for 30+ yrs. His English was quite good and he regaled us with the history of Japan, working in the political and religious events which tied in nicely to Mt. Fuji's importance in Japanese society. We stopped every hour or for bathroom breaks, shopping, etc. We stopped first at the Mt. Fuji visitor center for a quick rest-stop before heading up the mountain. The sights were wonderful. We stopped at the 5th station where there is a small shopping village and had about 45 minutes of free time. From there we headed to lunch at a beautiful restaurant and had a wonderful lunch of tempura, rice miso soup and pickled veggies--we all left full. We proceeded to Lake Ashi and caught a 15 minute ferry to another shopping area where a gondola took us over Hakone--not to be missed! We returned to Shinjuku at approx. 8pm. However, a lightning storm moved in, lighting up the sky and soaking the area. We stayed in the air conditioned bus until it let up (slightly) which was really nice of the bus driver and tour guide. Note the bus did not drop-off at the hotels at the conclusion of the tour--it ended, rather, at Shinjuku station,
All in all, this was worth every penny and wouldn't hesitate to do it again. The lunch alone was $20-25 buck per person, not to mention the gondola and ferry rides. The ride was smooth and cool and the guide was great. One thing to note is they plan the itinerary out, so it is advised (strongly) to stick to the allotted times at each stop.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mt Fuji was fantastic. The journey itself from Hamamatsucho station is roughly 2 hours (make sure you go to the bathroom first!) and throughout the drive the tour guide was well versed on interesting hot-spots during the journey which made it all the more enjoyable. Mt Fuji itself is MASSIVE! Unfortunately we didn't get amazing views of the mountain at the fifth station (he did say that she is notoriously shy!) but it almost didn't matter because the tour guide made all of us feel like we were being honoured as special guests to the site. There is a shrine at station 5 that offers great photo opportunities which was a bonus. Lake Ashi was majestic in it's beauty and it was magical to experience the scenery of the lake and the serenity of the experience. The gondola ride was also a bonus and gave 360 degree views along the way. The Shinkansen train (bullet train) is FAST and an absolute experience in itself. The ride itself is very smooth and the only downside is that because the train is so fast that it only lasts (roughly) 20 mins... not a negative at all and well worth it. I got off the train at Shinagawa Station (on the Yamanote Line) and it was a quick train change and 10 minutes later I was back at the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

5 of us made our way direct to the tour departure point where the staff made it very easy to follow directions. The trip was very worth while with Mt Fuji clear along with the southern mountains which for this time of year does not occur too often so the view was very worthwhile. Lake Ashi was a pleasant cruise along with the cable car ride up from the lake edge. The bullet train was a highlight especially as we had not been anything like it before. Our group felt we had value for money and was a highlight of our 28 day adventure

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very well organised tour of various shrines, temples and the sights of Kyoto, Nara and of course not forgetting Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and being allowed on the bullet train not just once, but twice. Brilliant, well organised!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great day, even though Mt Fuji covered in cloud and rain. Lake Ashi and the cable car very good. Our guide was excellent. The Bullet train back to Tokyo was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour! Our Tour Guide Kaori (Katy) was very knowledgeable, humorous, friendly, approachable and also efficient in keeping everyone to our time-table. When we visited Mt Fuji the Mountain was cloaked in cloud. However, as we left for our next destination some of the cloud did lift so Kaori and Driver San were very accommodating in stopping to the side of road to allow us to take some wonderful photo's. I enjoyed every part of the trip, especially visiting a Shinto temple, Lake Ashi, Hakone and travelling on the Shinkansen (Bullet train) back to Tokyo city. I would highly recommend this day trip as it is very well organised from the time of pick up from the hotel and the return trip to Tokyo. Arigatogosaimus!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We missed Lake Ashi bec of a traffic accident going to the highway but we were able to take the gondola and boatride at Lake Kawaguchi I think. It was an awesome experience as it is the first time my kids was able to see snow at the 5th station.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We missed Lake Ashi bec of a traffic accident going to the highway but we were able to take the gondola and boatride at Lake Kawaguchi I think. It was an awesome experience as it is the first time my kids was able to see snow at the 5th station.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message