Located on the Island of Honshu, Lake Ashi, also known as Lake Ashinoko, is located inside of Japan's Hakone National Park. With Mt. Fuji as its backdrop, it is a dazzling view on the water. It is considered sacred by the Japanese and has a Shinto ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very well organised tour of various shrines, temples and the sights of Kyoto, Nara and of course not forgetting Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and being allowed on the bullet train not just once, but twice. Brilliant, well organised!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a fabulous day at Mt Fuji. It was December 20th so there was lots of snow. We only got to gate one but it was still and enjoyable experience. Lake Ashi was amazing, defoinitely worth doing. Loved the cable car ride and the boat cruise. We were very happy with our booking through Viator, with constant reminders about our trip, pick up etc.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

you get more what you paid for for this tour. We were very lucky to see Mt. Fuji without fogs and clouds. The Lake Ashi and Komagatake Ropeway gave us a panoramic view of the adjacent mountain ranges. The lunch at the Highland Hotel and Resort is awesome. :)

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

moosepark
South Korea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but we were sure glad that we took this trip. The forecast was for rain in the afternoon, but we were lucky and was able to see the top of Mt. Fuji since we got there by 11:30am or so. We had lunch at the nearby hotel, and it was the typical Japanese bento and very good. Afterwards when we went to ride the boat on Lake Ashi, it began to rain. The boat was big and covered so it was no problem. We did get wet when we had to walk to the aerial cableway to ride to the top of Mt. Komagatake. We weren't lucky here since we couldn't see anything due to the rain. After a short time, we rode back and down and had time to shop. Afterwards it was time to go back down the mountain. We were supposed to go back to Tokyo by bus, but since I wasn't feeling well we took the Shinkansen so it was a quicker ride back. We did have to pay extra, but that was okay. Overall, this trip is worth it and the guide Mariko was the best! She speaks English fluently and even has a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour to Hakone is a must go. The cruise around Lake Ashi is refreshing. If you are lucky you might get to see Mt Fuji. The hotel was amazing. Only do this tour if you know where you want to go by yourself in Hakone and know how to use the buses. The buses are still convenient but there will be little time for you to go to all the places in Hakone.

FYI, eateries and the shops at Hakone En next to the Prince Hotel close early. Make sure you grab dinner and souvenirs before they close. Otherwise you will have to get dinner in the hotel or walk to the closest town/shop for dinner. Buses using the free day pass retire early.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

So amazed with the beautiful sites of Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Hakone. Even though the temperature in all places are cold, generally we were kept warm by our English speaking guide. She constantly ensure and check our needs. Her knowledge on the historical sites are commendable. Thank you.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing was a great experience. Given the honest and genuine livelihood of Japanese people, we didn't have any surprises. Everything was arranged to the best possible manner. The guide we had was truly helpful to everyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The tour to Mt Fuji and Lake Ashi was excellent. The wheather was good. The lunch consisted of Traditional Japanese Food which was very good. We were picked up at the Hotel on time and dropped off at the Hotel. The tour guide spoke very good english. We thorughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Chris Hord
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We were glad to choose this tour to explore Mt Fuji and Hakone in 2 - day tour. The first day we went to Mt Fuji and Hakone with the tour guide. The second day we were on our own to explore Hakone (accomodation for the first night in Hakone, one day pass in Hakone and JR train pass to Tokyo were included in this tour). Though the tour guide took us to visit Lake Ashi and Hakone National Park in Hakone on the first day, there were many other things to see and do in Hakone. We went to hot spriing bath in the theme park opposite to our hotel and then went to explore other sightseeing places in Hakone. One day tour in Mt Fuji and Hakone is not enjoy, 2 days tour is recommended.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

An excellent day out. Our tour guide Take was informative and entertaining. The views were stunning despite the poor weather on Lake Ashi. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Our trip was absolutely fantastic. We had a wonderful tour guide and she made everything so much more interesting. We actually got to see Mt. Fuji which is a rarity thanks to clouds. Lunch was an adventure with a beautifully laid out bento box. And the hike up to the springs above Lake Ashi was exhilerating and the black eggs so much fun (seven more years of life). Over all it was a wonderful day and I'd highly recommend it.. I'm so lucky to have found the Viator site. They made everything so easy!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Our guide Tadashi was amazing. He kept us entertained through the long drives with lots of stories about Japan and an origami lesson. Everything was very punctual and efficiently organised and the trip itinerary itself was very good.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Imran Wahab
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We have great tour leader who speaks good and clear English.Kudos to Ms Toko.She is really good at her stuff.Total experienced was really good.We enjoyed the tour but it could be better if we are able to stay longer at Mt Fuji and enjoy the scenery longer which same goes for Lake Ashi cruise.Time taken is much shorter than what sated in the itinerary.Lastly,it would be great if the participants are at least be given a bottle of water each as the journey was long.We have paid hundreds of dollars so I think just a small bottle of water doesn't occur loses to the company. Please do take my suggestion into consideration, GREAT JOB people.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This trip was absolutely amazing. We saw so much in one day. Enjoyed the lunch at the very smart restaurant at the bottom of Mt Fuji. Loved the boat cruise on Lake Ashi and the ride in the cable car even though the weather was poor. Another good guide. The only suggestion I would make is when Mt Fuji comes into view, the bus stop so we can get a good photo of it from a distance. Otherwise, the opportunity can be lost.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message