Located on the Island of Honshu, Lake Ashi, also known as Lake Ashinoko, is located inside of Japan's Hakone National Park. With Mt. Fuji as its backdrop, it is a dazzling view on the water. It is considered sacred by the Japanese and has a Shinto ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 383 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour staff were friendly and helpful. It was a easy and nice drive down and we were lucky that Mt Fuji showed herself yes she's a she! for a short while as we approached. We could only get up to the 1st station so the tour guide did an extra stop at another site for us to get some great photos. Lovely lunch and then another drive to Lake Ashi for a short cruise 15 mins to the Ropeway and then up Mt Komagatake. On our day it was a whiteout so no views but it was fun battling the snow and winds to do the short walk up to the shrine. The bullet train was a perfect end to a great day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Campion D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The 'shy' Mt Fuji came out to play for us. The tour proceeded as per the itinerary and all facets of the day were well-organised and clearly communicated. Our guide Keiko was a delight, as was the included lunch. The highlight, of course, is Mt Fuji - quite something and seeing it from the base, 5th station, the ropeway, Lake Ashi and the bullet train offers multiple perspectives and experiences. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Karm Sum T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The trip was fantastic , better than expected. Tour guide was friendly and informative. Events proceed as per schedule.
The view at station 5 , Lake Ashi and Kamagatake Ropeway was fantastic.
Events just nice for 1 day trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Shona W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous day, fabulous scenery. We were warned that this time in mid November is cloudy and we would not be able to see Mount Fuji. But half an hour before we arrived at the fifth station, the clouds parted and we saw Mount Fuji in all her glory plus great pictures when we got there. The Lake Ashi area Hakone is beautiful and the cruise is lovely. The rope line is spectacular although Mount Fuji was obscured again by the time we got there but this entire day was so good I rally can't complain. Pick the Japanese lunch. It wasn't too exotic but still a little adventurous. Tour guide Harry was great but struggled with being understood as his accent was strong in English. Get DETAILED instructions about your train or subway stop when they drop you off after the tour. It was a nightmare finding my correct train as there are several trains and subway systems that operate in Tokyo and you have to know the correct one. Still it was the quintessential Tokyo experience being stuffed into a subway car with hundreds of others and I made it back to my hotel by myself in the end. The Japanese people are so very helpful anyway so if you get lost, just keep asking until you find someone who speaks English well enough.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

DAVID H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

PICKUP WAS AT THE HOTEL SO VERY CONVENIENT. TOUR GUIDE SPOKE PERFECT ENGLISH AND WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND FRIENDLY. MT FUJI WAS IN THE CLOUDS WHEN WE ARRIVED BUT LATER AFTER THE NICE LAKE ASHI BOAT RIDE THE SUMMIT COULD BE SEEN. AT THE TOP OF THE ROPEWAY RIDE MT FUJI COULD BE CLEARLY SEEN ABOVE THE CLOUDS, A VERY IMPRESSIVE SIGHT WHICH FOR ME WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE DAY. A VERY WORTHWHILE TRIP, ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF IT.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Helen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour with a very knowledgeable guide! We were so lucy with the weather. The scenary was amazing with Lake Ashi being one of the highlights!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Andrea T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent time on this tour. The accommodations were fantastic and the hot springs bath was a great experience. Being able to view Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi with all of the commentary and additional historical information was wonderful! Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great day out, sadly the weather was inclement however it was very well organised and the faccilities first class. Very good value for money and it was spaced nicely between the Mountain, Lake Ashi and the bullet train ride back downtown. Japanes efficiency in keeping to timetables has to be admired

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Vesna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide Harumi who was very knowledgable about Mount Fuji, Lake Ashi and the Hakone areas. Excellent organisation throughout, the lunch was lovely and authentic. This is a great tour for people looking to explore outside of Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I loved this tour. The weather at the base of mount Fuji wasn't great but when we got above the clouds the views were stunning. The nice thing about this trip is that Mount Fuji is just one part of the tour! The cable car ride, cruise on Lake Ashi and in particular the bullet train ride back to Tokyo were all fantastic - it is no surprise that this tour sells out quickly. It is well worth doing and a great day trip away from Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Graham R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A somewhat overcast and very cool summer day. Pampered in a luxury coach bus with an interesting and engaging guide. Shared her knowledge with entertaining anecdotes and looked out for us as we wandered around Station Five and even doubled checked we were on the Shinkansen bullet train. A brief glimpse of Mt Fuji was of course the high light. Lake Ashi was picturesque with low cloud and a smooth cruise.
A great day out with a top guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

isa.zajaczkowski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was really informative and the guide Ito-san was a smart Japanese lady with a good sense of humor. We were lucky that the weather turns out to be clear and crispy so that we actually saw the Mt Fuji which was quite incredible knowing that in rainy season it can be very likely that all you could see would be clouds!
The tour is nicely organised. A bit of a fast track to ensure that you can do all the tours included rope way is not really necessary in that tour to my point of view although the view was quite nice. Beautiful Lake Ashi and nice experience with the bullet train.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great host Keiko, great activities and sights. The Lake Ashi cruise was lovely. We opted out of the lunch and instead bought picnic food at the local Lawson which we enjoyed by the shores of Lake Kawaguchiko. Mt Fuji Fifth Station is amazing. The day finished off with fabulous ride on the Shinkansen. Keiko was very attentive and made sure we all felt comfortable and knew how to get back to our hotel at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Susan Wong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an excellent trip. Initially we were all disappointed that Mt Fuji 5th station was closed for fire drill, so we stopped at 4th station. Being summer, mt Fuji appeared as an ordinary brown mountain. But after lunch, as we came out of the restaurant, we saw Mt Fuji in the clouds. After Lake Ashi, we saw her again in the clouds. Then as we were going up the Ropeway, Mt Fuji kept appearing and disappearing in the clouds. Spectacular. The weather is something out of our control. we were just lucky to have seen Mt Fuji so many times that day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Yiqi J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Marie is wonderful, funny and really made sue everyone is on schedule and have a great time. She is an excellent team leader. She also explained a lot about Japanese customs and other sightseeing tips. Great tour. Too bad it is summer and Fuji rarely shows her face. The boat cruise on Lake Ashi in Hakone is breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Eva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very great experience in our Mt Fuji, lake Ashi and Bullet Train Trip. Out tour guide Ito San is very accommodating and explained all rules in details, we are so lucky last June 4 that weather is sooo good. We saw Mt Fuji clearly, we enjoyed our lunch too, Ito San said its her first time too but foods are superb and yummy.. We also enjoy Hakone and Lake Ashi.. I will recommend Viator packages to my friends here in the Philippines.. What I paid for is very worth it. Thanks much for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sri Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Yuriko is very nice, she is very polite and has got a lot of sense of humour. She speaks good English and very knowledgeable about the place we were visiting.

We managed to see Mount Fuji despite the weather was a bit cloudy that day. It was awesome. The ropeway experience was great and the cruise in Lake Ashi was very nice. The visit to the Shintoh temple was good.

The return trip back to Tokyo was amazing when we got on to the bullet train which runs about 300km per hour. Overall the trip was very good and worth it. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend Val and I enjoyed our full day trip to Lake Ashi and Mount Fuji area. The courier was very good and her knowledge of the English language was impeccable. Would definitely book with Viator again if visiting the far east.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Maryam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip is a must the route is amazing the mountsin is so beautiful lake Ashi is so romantic and cable car is great but too crowded . Our guide Mrs Yoko was so nice and gave very good information and helped us with some Japanese vocabularies

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The big letdown for this tour was that it was an overcast day and we could therefore barely see one side of Mt. Fuji--that is obviously the risk for this tour. Otherwise, it was excellent--very good guide and interesting sites. One thing that I don't believe is played up in the description of the tour is the gondola ride up a mountain overlooking Lake Ashi--outstanding views.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

worrybeads

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An excellent tour with, Mt. Fuji was spectacular, the lunch was lovely great vegetarian option and the cable car ride to Hakkone was enjoyable. The Lake Ashi sightseeing boat ride was short but lovely with more great views of Mt. Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Norman S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an ideal day out from Tokyo with a good variety of activities. The Sunrise Company are very well organized. It was easy to find them in the World Trade CEntre building. Our guide was excellent even going to the trouble of ensuring everyone had the right connections from the shinkansen to the subway. She was knowledgeable and competent. We were so lucky with the weather enabling us wonderful views of Mt Fuji and from the cable car over Lake Ashi.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It's a very long tour. Given the chance to do it again, I would chose to stay the night in the Lake Ashi area. Our guide "Keiko" was fantastic (although she didn't shut up for 12 hours straight!! If she wasn't talking she was singing) Take extra layers of clothing. 5th station Mt Fuji is freezing!!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alexander J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved this tour. We were very lucky to have a clear morning and was able to view a snow covered Mt Fuji from some distance away. Unfortunately once we got to Mt Fuji we were unable to go to the 5th Station due to snow and ice on the road. We included the lunch in this tour which was a traditional meal - lots of fish.. We then headed to Lake Ashi and had a lovely boat ride along the lake and were dropped off at the cable car. The cable car ride was quite thrilling and you go to the top of the mountain and although the clouds started to set in it was still quite spectacular. On the ride home we took the bullet train back to Tokyo which although going up to 280kms, it's the smoothest ride. This is a beautiful tour and very relaxing and I would say this would have to be a must for anyone visiting Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very efficient service. Unfortunately, we could only get to the 1st station on Mt Fuji due to the weather. And the weather only got worse so we could not see anything on the cable car or on Lake Ashi, which was a shame as everything was very well organised. I'm sure on a good day the views would have been amazing. The highlight for us was the trip back on the bullet train. Our guide Yoko did her best to ensure we had a good day. If we came back to Tokyo again we would definitely do the trip again and hope for good weather.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message