Located on the Island of Honshu, Lake Ashi, also known as Lake Ashinoko, is located inside of Japan's Hakone National Park. With Mt. Fuji as its backdrop, it is a dazzling view on the water. It is considered sacred by the Japanese and has a Shinto ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 355 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great host Keiko, great activities and sights. The Lake Ashi cruise was lovely. We opted out of the lunch and instead bought picnic food at the local Lawson which we enjoyed by the shores of Lake Kawaguchiko. Mt Fuji Fifth Station is amazing. The day finished off with fabulous ride on the Shinkansen. Keiko was very attentive and made sure we all felt comfortable and knew how to get back to our hotel at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an excellent trip. Initially we were all disappointed that Mt Fuji 5th station was closed for fire drill, so we stopped at 4th station. Being summer, mt Fuji appeared as an ordinary brown mountain. But after lunch, as we came out of the restaurant, we saw Mt Fuji in the clouds. After Lake Ashi, we saw her again in the clouds. Then as we were going up the Ropeway, Mt Fuji kept appearing and disappearing in the clouds. Spectacular. The weather is something out of our control. we were just lucky to have seen Mt Fuji so many times that day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Marie is wonderful, funny and really made sue everyone is on schedule and have a great time. She is an excellent team leader. She also explained a lot about Japanese customs and other sightseeing tips. Great tour. Too bad it is summer and Fuji rarely shows her face. The boat cruise on Lake Ashi in Hakone is breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very great experience in our Mt Fuji, lake Ashi and Bullet Train Trip. Out tour guide Ito San is very accommodating and explained all rules in details, we are so lucky last June 4 that weather is sooo good. We saw Mt Fuji clearly, we enjoyed our lunch too, Ito San said its her first time too but foods are superb and yummy.. We also enjoy Hakone and Lake Ashi.. I will recommend Viator packages to my friends here in the Philippines.. What I paid for is very worth it. Thanks much for the wonderful experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sri
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Yuriko is very nice, she is very polite and has got a lot of sense of humour. She speaks good English and very knowledgeable about the place we were visiting.

We managed to see Mount Fuji despite the weather was a bit cloudy that day. It was awesome. The ropeway experience was great and the cruise in Lake Ashi was very nice. The visit to the Shintoh temple was good.

The return trip back to Tokyo was amazing when we got on to the bullet train which runs about 300km per hour. Overall the trip was very good and worth it. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend Val and I enjoyed our full day trip to Lake Ashi and Mount Fuji area. The courier was very good and her knowledge of the English language was impeccable. Would definitely book with Viator again if visiting the far east.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip is a must the route is amazing the mountsin is so beautiful lake Ashi is so romantic and cable car is great but too crowded . Our guide Mrs Yoko was so nice and gave very good information and helped us with some Japanese vocabularies

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The big letdown for this tour was that it was an overcast day and we could therefore barely see one side of Mt. Fuji--that is obviously the risk for this tour. Otherwise, it was excellent--very good guide and interesting sites. One thing that I don't believe is played up in the description of the tour is the gondola ride up a mountain overlooking Lake Ashi--outstanding views.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An excellent tour with, Mt. Fuji was spectacular, the lunch was lovely great vegetarian option and the cable car ride to Hakkone was enjoyable. The Lake Ashi sightseeing boat ride was short but lovely with more great views of Mt. Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an ideal day out from Tokyo with a good variety of activities. The Sunrise Company are very well organized. It was easy to find them in the World Trade CEntre building. Our guide was excellent even going to the trouble of ensuring everyone had the right connections from the shinkansen to the subway. She was knowledgeable and competent. We were so lucky with the weather enabling us wonderful views of Mt Fuji and from the cable car over Lake Ashi.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It's a very long tour. Given the chance to do it again, I would chose to stay the night in the Lake Ashi area. Our guide "Keiko" was fantastic (although she didn't shut up for 12 hours straight!! If she wasn't talking she was singing) Take extra layers of clothing. 5th station Mt Fuji is freezing!!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved this tour. We were very lucky to have a clear morning and was able to view a snow covered Mt Fuji from some distance away. Unfortunately once we got to Mt Fuji we were unable to go to the 5th Station due to snow and ice on the road. We included the lunch in this tour which was a traditional meal - lots of fish.. We then headed to Lake Ashi and had a lovely boat ride along the lake and were dropped off at the cable car. The cable car ride was quite thrilling and you go to the top of the mountain and although the clouds started to set in it was still quite spectacular. On the ride home we took the bullet train back to Tokyo which although going up to 280kms, it's the smoothest ride. This is a beautiful tour and very relaxing and I would say this would have to be a must for anyone visiting Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very efficient service. Unfortunately, we could only get to the 1st station on Mt Fuji due to the weather. And the weather only got worse so we could not see anything on the cable car or on Lake Ashi, which was a shame as everything was very well organised. I'm sure on a good day the views would have been amazing. The highlight for us was the trip back on the bullet train. Our guide Yoko did her best to ensure we had a good day. If we came back to Tokyo again we would definitely do the trip again and hope for good weather.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I went in late February on a day with perfect weather. Not too cold, sunny skies and spectacular views. I was lucky that there was not a cloud in the sky. Mt. Fuji was beautiful, just the right amount of snow. The views were the main attraction for me, the roads to the 5th station were closed because of snow but that was okay. Mt. Fuji is best seen from a distance anyways. The boat tour was really nice, lake Ashi was beautiful. Going up to Mt. Hakone was really nice as well. Seeing the sun set over Mt. Fuji was something I will always remember. The tour guide was extremely friendly and had excellent english, I never had any problems understanding her. The food was okay, not great but not bad either. Bullet train was pretty cool and I had no problems getting back to my hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was an awesome tour. In the winter time, there is no other way to get up the mountain (obviously how far you can go is dependent on the weather) and I highly recommend this. The Lake Ashi boat tour and Tram ride also provided excellent views. Our tour guide Marie was great and very friendly.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I highly recommend this trip, I felt like we crammed a lot into one day. We were quite lucky with the weather as got a great view of Fuji in the morning, unfortunately, it has disappeared behind the cloud once we got to Lake Ashi. The guide, Amy, was amazing - good English, knowledgeable and very entertaining.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very well organised from pickup at Tokyo station to termination at Odawara station.It had snowed on the previous day which meant the road to the 5th station on mount Fuji was closed to the bus but today the sky was so clear with the sun shining which was ideal for photos of Mt Fuji from the bus and viewing areas.I bought my own lunch at the midday stop which wasn't expensive and very good. The Lake Ashi cruise and Mt Komagatake cable car provide splendid opportunities for photos due to the clear sky and sunshine.My trip terminated at Odawara station as I had a shinkansen pass so returned to Tokyo on the Hikari bullet train.I would recommend this tour and company to everyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A wonderful trip on a clear day. Our guide was full of information, sang for us and also made us laugh. Mt Fuji was clear, however ice kept us from going past the first level. Plenty of pics could be taken. You could see the wind blowing the snow around on top of the mountain. Crossing Lake Ashi was cold but rewarding, . since it was so clear. The tram ride provided a great view.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide is great, she never stop talking about the history of the country and each one of the places of the tour. Getting to Mt Fuji and to the other locations of this tour can be a bit tricky on your own, so the tour takes care of that for you which is great. Lake Ashi is wonderful and well Mt Fuji depends a lot on the weather it can be beautiful or just a great view of pure fog. Overall I highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip which my family of 5 enjoyed! The pick up was punctual and our tour guide spoke good English. The tour covered quite a bit for a one day trip. We wouldn't possibly be able to do that on our own though we really wish we had more time in each area of attraction. We only had half an hr on mount fuji itself to take photos and similar at other points of attraction. Lunch included a Japanese bento set consisting a variety of Japanese items like rice, sashimi, tempura, udon, miso soup etc. Weather on Mt Fuji was minus 1 deg C in early December...considered cold for someone who comes from a country which is practically summer throughout. Do bring your winter clothing. Also, do remember to bring some sweets or take motion sickness pills if u are prone to motion sickness. My children were not used to the long bus journey up and down were a bit nauseous towards the end of the bus journey. That aside, we enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a fantastic experience! I felt the organizer's concern over our safety when they cancelled our Lake Ashi cruise due to bad weather condition. But the moment the weather changed, they immediately informed us that everything will proceed as per schedule! That was really a well applauded announcement.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

They don't call Mt. Fuji shy for no reason, it tends to hide within clouds! That being said, we were lucky enough to get very brief peaks of the mountain through breaks in the clouds thanks to our guide and driver. They took us through areas with the best visibility of Mt. Fuji and even briefly stopped on the side of the road where the mountain became visible. Our guide was AMAZING!!! Funny and extraordinarily helpful! Lake Ashi was also breathtaking! Definitely don't think we could have had such a nice experience visiting shy Mt. Fuji without this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely outstanding, though my advice to book the option without lunch, as the set lunch is an allergy minefield (nuts, shellfish etc). There are plenty of alternative places to eat, so don't worry about not being on the booked lunch. Bear in mind Mount Fuji can be significantly colder than ground level, so take a coat. The views are beyond outstanding. In winter, Fuji has its trademark snow cap, but in summer it doesn't so bear this in mind if you are looking for photos. The Lake Ashi cruise is very nice, and the views from the top of the cable car were so breathtakingly beautiful a woman in our tour group was reduced to tears. The bullet train back is short (c.1 hour) but a great taste of a Japanese icon, the shinkansen 'bullet' train.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very friendly tourist guide and best experience at hakone, 5th stage Mt Fuji, cruise at lake ashi and finally breathtaking view of Mt Fuji and surroundings during cable car rides. A very great experience that remain in my mind forever.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip for us - especially the cruise on Lake Ashi - a very very scenic and fantastic experience. Unfortunately because of fog we could not see Mount Fuji, otherwise a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message