Take an epic journey down the stunning California coast on a 2- or 3-day trip from San Francisco. Visit Santa Cruz, Monterey, Big Sur, Pebble Beach, Cambria, Solvang and Santa Barbara, or travel north over the Golden Gate Bridge to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Good introductory tour of Tokyo. Could not go to Meiji temple because of dengi fever so went to the Tokyo Tower instead which was on our list anyway. Very informative guide and tour done at a decent pace. Great lunch with a fantastic view. At end of tour guide took time to answer any questions and point as in the right direction of where we wanted to go later. Will recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I's first tour in Tokyo and one of the best. Keiko, our tour guide was simply great! Not only did she do a superb job in her tour guide duties she also helped us learn some basic Japanese words and was ready with pictures, etc. to show us close ups of things like the Imperial Family, Kimono's, and symbols. This was especially great due to the fact that our trip to the Meiji Shrine the daughter's of the Imperial Family were actually there. We were able to see them exit the Shrine, and then be escorted out to their car. This was an amazing experience that was all by happenstance.

I would recommend this tour including the lunch for everyone visiting Tokyo.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The day started out raining but cleared up and the sun came out shining as we were leaving our first stop - Meiji Shrine :)

Our tour guide, Keiko-san was very informative and provided a lot of information not only on the places of interest, but on Japan as a whole - from the different emperors to language to culture. She also has her own "sales-kit", pictures, cards, handwritten notices to show us which makes it more interesting and not so dull.

We had a visit to the Meiji Shrine, Imperial Palace East Garden, Tokyo Bay Cruise, Odaiba (Aqua City) and drop-off at Tokyo Station. Lunch was included in the itinerary which was at the top floor of a hotel overlooking Tokyo Bay (nice view!). Lunch was Western-style and is very nice.

I would recommend this tour for 1st timers to Tokyo who would like a quick overview of Tokyo in a day. Do not take the 1/2 day tour as it is too rushed to appreciate the sights and experience.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My son and I only had 3 days in Tokyo so we decided to take this tour and were very happy with everything.
Mai our tour guide was so informative and explained everything in a clear and humourous manner.
We experienced the main sites --- Meiji temple --- palace gardens --- Asakura temple --- lunch with a wonderful view of Tokyo harbor --- then a boat cruise around the harbor and a final visit to the man made island where the small Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Graham
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

What a wonderful tour. Our guide Mai was superb. Meiji Shrine was beautiful, as were the gardens of the Imperial Palace. Loved the Senso-ji Temple and then being given some time to shop for souveneers. I've previously done the Dynamic Tokyo full day tour and this half day tour showed me different things. I was with 3 young children so the half day tour was an ideal length for children. Mai was just the best tour guide! She gave a wonderful insight into Japan. The tour was so well organised and efficient. Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our family my husband and I with two teenage daughters enjoyed the Tokyo Day Tour. Tokyo is such a big city, much bigger and spread out than I expected so the tour was great to situate us as far as how the city is laid out. The tour with the hotel pick up was great so we didn't have to try to figure out how to get from point A to B on our first day in Tokyo. Our tour guide Mei-san had fantastic English and a great sense of humor. The tour took us to historical sites with commentary when we pass through some important modern buildings. We were able to see a traditional Japanese wedding at the Meiji Shento Shrine which was really interesting. The Asakusa Temple is fun for the busy shopping streets in front. The western style lunch was so so since we would prefer Japanese lunch boxes however, the view from the top of the little hotel was very pretty. The after lunch cruise was very relaxing especially on that extremely hot day. We enjoyed our last stop at the Japanese version of the 1 store which was amazing since we found everything in Japan to be too expense. Overall, this is a great tour for anyone visiting Tokyo for the first time - we didn't have to worroy about anything and just get on and off the bus and learn from Mei-San.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Fantastic tour and guide. Wonderful lunch at picturesque restaurant. Well worth doing. Meiji Shrine and boat cruise around Tokyo harbour were nice.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

We were only in Tokyo for a short time and wanted to see the major attractions without feeling like we were running around. This tour was perfect as it took us on a comfortable air-conditioned bus to Meiji Shinto Shrine, Asakusa Kannon Temple and the Imperial Palace, plus other locations. Our guide was excellent and provided great details and perspective.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide Mina was exceptional. Excellent language skills, funny, and very helpful.
Tour was great for adults. OK for young children. Meiji Shrine was great. Imperial garden was effectively looking from a parking lot at a bridge (you cannot see into the palace area and the gardens are closed on Mondays and Fridays). The temple was OK - you spend most of your time at the nearby market. The lunch was excellent - restaurant that overlooks the harbor with a very good meal. The bay cruise was very nice - out on the river traveling under the Rainbow bridge and back.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good introduction to Tokyo. The Meiji Shrine was closed because of a mosquito borne illness outbreak so they took us to Tokyo Tower instead. It was a good choice as we had a nice panoramic view of Tokyo to start off. The guide was good as was the bus driver. The cruise was a nice jaunt and the lunch surprisingly good. The highlight though was Asakusa Temple and the shopping area. We liked it so much that we went back the next day on our own. They should skip the shopping mall on the artificial island. That was a waste of time.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Pauline G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tours to the Meiji Shrine and Senso-ji Temple were very informative. Found the Ginza shopping district section just a pass by on the coach and had no sense of what the area was about. Most of the shops we saw from the coach were no different from those found in London.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good overview to Tokyo. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed seeing the temples/shrines, the Imperial Palace Gardens, and the insight on the bus. The lunch was pretty bad though. The steak was tough and terrible quality. Not quite sure why a western lunch was served in Tokyo. I think Japanese food would have made more sense. The boat cruise was just ok. I didn't like that the hotel picked us up at 7:50AM for the tour start time of 9AM only to take us to a bus terminal on the other side of the city only to come back to start at Meiji Shrine near our hotel. This also should have been made clear before booking. Additionally, since we were combined with the half day tour, it meant we had to cover the main sites very quickly, perhaps cutting out one of the sites in the afternoon and spreading everything out a bit more to allow for more time perhaps would be a good idea. However overall a good intro to Tokyo tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Kumiko, was great! She was very friendly and fairly knowledgeable. The Meiji Shrine was amazing, and as it was our first sight, it was peacefully empty of tourists. The Bay Cruise largely went nowhere, but it was a good break from the various sights we saw. The tour is definitely worth the cost.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

A very pleasant way to take in the sights of Tokyo in one day. Our guide was entertaining and informative, and the range of activities was fantastic! We enjoyed the Meiji Shine, Asakusa temple, The Imperial Gardens, a very pleasant cruise of Tokyo Bay, all in one day.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message