The Meiji Shrine is the most important and popular Shinto shrine in Tokyo. It was dedicated to the Emperor Meiji and his wife Empress Shōken in 1926. The shrine is made up of buildings of worship, forests, and gardens. Each tree in the Meiji ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I's first tour in Tokyo and one of the best. Keiko, our tour guide was simply great! Not only did she do a superb job in her tour guide duties she also helped us learn some basic Japanese words and was ready with pictures, etc. to show us close ups of things like the Imperial Family, Kimono's, and symbols. This was especially great due to the fact that our trip to the Meiji Shrine the daughter's of the Imperial Family were actually there. We were able to see them exit the Shrine, and then be escorted out to their car. This was an amazing experience that was all by happenstance.

I would recommend this tour including the lunch for everyone visiting Tokyo.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The day started out raining but cleared up and the sun came out shining as we were leaving our first stop - Meiji Shrine :)

Our tour guide, Keiko-san was very informative and provided a lot of information not only on the places of interest, but on Japan as a whole - from the different emperors to language to culture. She also has her own "sales-kit", pictures, cards, handwritten notices to show us which makes it more interesting and not so dull.

We had a visit to the Meiji Shrine, Imperial Palace East Garden, Tokyo Bay Cruise, Odaiba (Aqua City) and drop-off at Tokyo Station. Lunch was included in the itinerary which was at the top floor of a hotel overlooking Tokyo Bay (nice view!). Lunch was Western-style and is very nice.

I would recommend this tour for 1st timers to Tokyo who would like a quick overview of Tokyo in a day. Do not take the 1/2 day tour as it is too rushed to appreciate the sights and experience.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My son and I only had 3 days in Tokyo so we decided to take this tour and were very happy with everything.
Mai our tour guide was so informative and explained everything in a clear and humourous manner.
We experienced the main sites --- Meiji temple --- palace gardens --- Asakura temple --- lunch with a wonderful view of Tokyo harbor --- then a boat cruise around the harbor and a final visit to the man made island where the small Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Graham
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

What a wonderful tour. Our guide Mai was superb. Meiji Shrine was beautiful, as were the gardens of the Imperial Palace. Loved the Senso-ji Temple and then being given some time to shop for souveneers. I've previously done the Dynamic Tokyo full day tour and this half day tour showed me different things. I was with 3 young children so the half day tour was an ideal length for children. Mai was just the best tour guide! She gave a wonderful insight into Japan. The tour was so well organised and efficient. Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our family my husband and I with two teenage daughters enjoyed the Tokyo Day Tour. Tokyo is such a big city, much bigger and spread out than I expected so the tour was great to situate us as far as how the city is laid out. The tour with the hotel pick up was great so we didn't have to try to figure out how to get from point A to B on our first day in Tokyo. Our tour guide Mei-san had fantastic English and a great sense of humor. The tour took us to historical sites with commentary when we pass through some important modern buildings. We were able to see a traditional Japanese wedding at the Meiji Shento Shrine which was really interesting. The Asakusa Temple is fun for the busy shopping streets in front. The western style lunch was so so since we would prefer Japanese lunch boxes however, the view from the top of the little hotel was very pretty. The after lunch cruise was very relaxing especially on that extremely hot day. We enjoyed our last stop at the Japanese version of the 1 store which was amazing since we found everything in Japan to be too expense. Overall, this is a great tour for anyone visiting Tokyo for the first time - we didn't have to worroy about anything and just get on and off the bus and learn from Mei-San.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Fantastic tour and guide. Wonderful lunch at picturesque restaurant. Well worth doing. Meiji Shrine and boat cruise around Tokyo harbour were nice.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

We were only in Tokyo for a short time and wanted to see the major attractions without feeling like we were running around. This tour was perfect as it took us on a comfortable air-conditioned bus to Meiji Shinto Shrine, Asakusa Kannon Temple and the Imperial Palace, plus other locations. Our guide was excellent and provided great details and perspective.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Pauline G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tours to the Meiji Shrine and Senso-ji Temple were very informative. Found the Ginza shopping district section just a pass by on the coach and had no sense of what the area was about. Most of the shops we saw from the coach were no different from those found in London.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A good overview to Tokyo. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed seeing the temples/shrines, the Imperial Palace Gardens, and the insight on the bus. The lunch was pretty bad though. The steak was tough and terrible quality. Not quite sure why a western lunch was served in Tokyo. I think Japanese food would have made more sense. The boat cruise was just ok. I didn't like that the hotel picked us up at 7:50AM for the tour start time of 9AM only to take us to a bus terminal on the other side of the city only to come back to start at Meiji Shrine near our hotel. This also should have been made clear before booking. Additionally, since we were combined with the half day tour, it meant we had to cover the main sites very quickly, perhaps cutting out one of the sites in the afternoon and spreading everything out a bit more to allow for more time perhaps would be a good idea. However overall a good intro to Tokyo tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Kumiko, was great! She was very friendly and fairly knowledgeable. The Meiji Shrine was amazing, and as it was our first sight, it was peacefully empty of tourists. The Bay Cruise largely went nowhere, but it was a good break from the various sights we saw. The tour is definitely worth the cost.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

A very pleasant way to take in the sights of Tokyo in one day. Our guide was entertaining and informative, and the range of activities was fantastic! We enjoyed the Meiji Shine, Asakusa temple, The Imperial Gardens, a very pleasant cruise of Tokyo Bay, all in one day.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

For us it was a great day trip. The weather was perfect and Tokyo seemed clean and well organized for a large metropolitan area. The tour guide was friendly and spoke good English. Every place they arranged was worth going. Meiji shrine has historical importance to Japan, Asakusa Temple is a well known Buddhist temple with a lot of festivity—quite commercialized though. The lunch was at a restaurant on the top floor of a 12-story building by the Bay. The view was wonderful. The final leg of the tour was the bay cruise that provided opportunity to see city from various angles. I would recommend to anyone, particularly to those who do not know Tokyo very well.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Lucy J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This is a great few hours to show you a few interesting parts of Tokyo. As with some other tours they try to fit in a lot in the few hours you have but what they show you is beautiful. The Meiji Shrine is a stunning place to visit and we actually went back another day to spend more time there and to see more of it. During this tour we only got to spend 30 minutes here which isn't really long enough to take in what it has to offer and to explore everything else. Even though you spend a lot of time travelling to and from venues the tour guides are very knowledgeable about Tokyo and are constantly telling you what you are driving past and about the history of the area. You have a short walk through the Imperial Palace East Gardens which are beautiful and at this time of year the Cherry Blossoms are starting to come out. On the day we went id was raining which was a shame but we still saw the gardens and the blossoms. The tour ends in Ginza shopping district which is described as the New York of Tokyo. It has streets and streets of designer shops and department stores which you can spend hours in and thousands of yen! If you are interested here is where there is the Hello Kitty stores. There are about 4 Hello Kitty stores which have everything you could ever imagine! Very enjoyable but very busy!!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The day started out overcast and cool, perfect for picture taking. We were able to view the twice monthly ritual at the Meiji Shrine. Beautiful! There is history on every corner. The tour guide was very informative and had several good tidbits along the way of restaurants to eat at or other places to visit.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour is fine, but it is a little hectic in the morning getting everything going and the bus seats were a little cramped. They are also assigned which I particularly dislike because I like sitting towards the front of the buses because it helps me with motion sickness. Meiji Shrine was skipped because of the Dengue Fever scare so we saw Tokyo Tower instead. I did like the tower. The lunch was amazing! A coursed meal! Tour guide was also very helpful with helping passengers figure out how to move on to their next location when leaving the tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message