Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Meiji Shrine

The Meiji Shrine is the most important and popular Shinto shrine in Tokyo. It was dedicated to the Emperor Meiji and his wife Empress Shōken in 1926. The shrine is made up of buildings of worship, forests, and gardens. Each tree in the Meiji ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Artemio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Masaki is a great tour guide, very knowledgeable and full of insights. I like the sake experience and quiz the the provided while we were on the train going to Meiji Jingu, it provided a lot of perspective not just about the sites that are covered in the tour but also about Japan and japanese culture in general. Highly recommended - thanks to Masaki!

Doing what: Hello Tokyo Walking Tour: Meiji Jingu, Senso-ji and Harajuku

Vesna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was simply fantastic and one I would highly recommend to anyone who is only able to go on one tour in Tokyo, this is it! The day started off at the bus station in the morning at 9am where we met our lovely guide Nori and we were first driven to see the business side of Tokyo and visit the Meiji Shrine where, as it was a Sunday morning we were able to watch a traditional wedding procession. The tour then moved onto the Imperial East Garden which was also lovely and very peaceful, Nori provided us with great cultural and historical information regarding the park and the surrounding palace. After this we had a stop-over at Asakusa Temple and the general Asakusa area where we were given the choice of visiting the shrine with Nori or choosing to go on our own around the area and doing some shopping. This is a little gem in Tokyo and has to be seen as it is so different from other areas! The next stop was lunch overlooking the wonderful Tokyo bay on the top floor of a hotel, lunch was absolutely delicious and the view was simply breathtaking. Once we had enjoyed the rather sumptuous food and view over the Tokyo skyline, we were treated to a 50 minute cruise of the bay which was then followed up with shopping in the Odaibo district. I think the tour was incredibly varied and very well organised and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to explore the wonderful city of Tokyo and a lot of what it has to offer in a day.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

dino632

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Really nice lunch included. Loved the Meiji shrine, but you could do with more time here.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

NathanB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great trip to get an overview of Tokyo and take in some of the sights. Guide was very informative and helped everyone find their next location. Lunch was great with good views I went with the beef option. We were lucky to see some wedding ceremonies at Meiji Shrine.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were lucky to meet Aurelia who was a knowledgeable and personable guide. It was like going for a walk with a friend who had done her research and more on the architecture and culture of Japan. We found out a lot about the symbolisms and the design concepts of the buildings. Aurelia started from the historical perspective at the Meiji temple in Harujuku and we learnt very quickly about the historical progression and architectural context. We proceeded to Omotesando and Roppongi. A Phd Scholar with a architectural background from Romania, Aurelia's acute perception and depth of knowledge of architecture was a plus and her personable skills made us feel like we were walking with friends. From an architectural perspective, this tour is highly recommended. My husband and I had a great time revisiting these buildings again in Tokyo from Australia. Make sure you have good walking shoes and architectural appreciation.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

ron.wright2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Good introductory tour of Tokyo. Could not go to Meiji temple because of dengi fever so went to the Tokyo Tower instead which was on our list anyway. Very informative guide and tour done at a decent pace. Great lunch with a fantastic view. At end of tour guide took time to answer any questions and point as in the right direction of where we wanted to go later. Will recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Verne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I's first tour in Tokyo and one of the best. Keiko, our tour guide was simply great! Not only did she do a superb job in her tour guide duties she also helped us learn some basic Japanese words and was ready with pictures, etc. to show us close ups of things like the Imperial Family, Kimono's, and symbols. This was especially great due to the fact that our trip to the Meiji Shrine the daughter's of the Imperial Family were actually there. We were able to see them exit the Shrine, and then be escorted out to their car. This was an amazing experience that was all by happenstance.

I would recommend this tour including the lunch for everyone visiting Tokyo.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

AMANDA LAM S L L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The day started out raining but cleared up and the sun came out shining as we were leaving our first stop - Meiji Shrine :)

Our tour guide, Keiko-san was very informative and provided a lot of information not only on the places of interest, but on Japan as a whole - from the different emperors to language to culture. She also has her own "sales-kit", pictures, cards, handwritten notices to show us which makes it more interesting and not so dull.

We had a visit to the Meiji Shrine, Imperial Palace East Garden, Tokyo Bay Cruise, Odaiba (Aqua City) and drop-off at Tokyo Station. Lunch was included in the itinerary which was at the top floor of a hotel overlooking Tokyo Bay (nice view!). Lunch was Western-style and is very nice.

I would recommend this tour for 1st timers to Tokyo who would like a quick overview of Tokyo in a day. Do not take the 1/2 day tour as it is too rushed to appreciate the sights and experience.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Marlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My son and I only had 3 days in Tokyo so we decided to take this tour and were very happy with everything.
Mai our tour guide was so informative and explained everything in a clear and humourous manner.
We experienced the main sites --- Meiji temple --- palace gardens --- Asakura temple --- lunch with a wonderful view of Tokyo harbor --- then a boat cruise around the harbor and a final visit to the man made island where the small Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Graham Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

What a wonderful tour. Our guide Mai was superb. Meiji Shrine was beautiful, as were the gardens of the Imperial Palace. Loved the Senso-ji Temple and then being given some time to shop for souveneers. I've previously done the Dynamic Tokyo full day tour and this half day tour showed me different things. I was with 3 young children so the half day tour was an ideal length for children. Mai was just the best tour guide! She gave a wonderful insight into Japan. The tour was so well organised and efficient. Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our family my husband and I with two teenage daughters enjoyed the Tokyo Day Tour. Tokyo is such a big city, much bigger and spread out than I expected so the tour was great to situate us as far as how the city is laid out. The tour with the hotel pick up was great so we didn't have to try to figure out how to get from point A to B on our first day in Tokyo. Our tour guide Mei-san had fantastic English and a great sense of humor. The tour took us to historical sites with commentary when we pass through some important modern buildings. We were able to see a traditional Japanese wedding at the Meiji Shento Shrine which was really interesting. The Asakusa Temple is fun for the busy shopping streets in front. The western style lunch was so so since we would prefer Japanese lunch boxes however, the view from the top of the little hotel was very pretty. The after lunch cruise was very relaxing especially on that extremely hot day. We enjoyed our last stop at the Japanese version of the 1 store which was amazing since we found everything in Japan to be too expense. Overall, this is a great tour for anyone visiting Tokyo for the first time - we didn't have to worroy about anything and just get on and off the bus and learn from Mei-San.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Fantastic tour and guide. Wonderful lunch at picturesque restaurant. Well worth doing. Meiji Shrine and boat cruise around Tokyo harbour were nice.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

We were only in Tokyo for a short time and wanted to see the major attractions without feeling like we were running around. This tour was perfect as it took us on a comfortable air-conditioned bus to Meiji Shinto Shrine, Asakusa Kannon Temple and the Imperial Palace, plus other locations. Our guide was excellent and provided great details and perspective.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Letie W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Atsushi, was great! We learned a lot of history and facts of the Japanese culture. Overall, the tour was good. I wish we had more time to spend at the Meiji Shrine and Asakusa Temple. Spending 40 minutes is just not enough time at both. Also, it would have been nice to start the visit off at Asakusa temple from the ftont of it and not the back where the buses parked. It was hard to make our way through the crowds into the shopping area as we were opposing the flow of traffic. Lunch was okay. The cruise gave a nice view of Rainbow bridge and Odaiba. We actually left the tour early and stayed in Odaiba instead of going to Tokyo station. Again, time was short and we didn't think we could actually see the entire Odaiba in 45 min. I would recommend this tour if you just want to see the sights with minimal free time. One more thing. I thought the walk through the Imperial Palace garden was a waste of time. It's beautiful, but I would have rather enjoyed the extra time at Asakusa Shrine.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

travelTragic

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was informative. The three sites - Meiji Shrine, Imperial Palace East Garden, and Asakusa Temple - were what we wanted to visited as we had to leave Tokyo that evening. The guide told us that we could make our own way back from Asakusa if we wanted to, which is what we chose to do so that we could grab lunch and then visit Ueno Park.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Wilson Chow United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Meiji Shrine was nice, but I think the tour needs more time at Asakusa Temple and the surrounding area. There is a ton of shopping there and they only give you forty minutes to do the temple and shopping.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

April T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed the tour as an intro to Tokyo. The Meiji Shrine was pleasant and very nice in the morning. Crowds weren't too bad and there's plenty of space to get a feel for the place without being in a mob. The Asakusa Temple was much more crowded but still worthwhile as the grounds are expansive and the shopping arcade is not too unpleasant. Going one side street over you are almost alone, go figure! The cruise was brief but with good weather it's worthwhile. More industrial that nature so if you're looking for landscapes with trees and gardens you won't get that on the cruise.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message