Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Meiji Shrine

The Meiji Shrine is the most important and popular Shinto shrine in Tokyo. It was dedicated to the Emperor Meiji and his wife Empress Shōken in 1926. The shrine is made up of buildings of worship, forests, and gardens. Each tree in the Meiji ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roberto F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took four Viatot tours in Japan, and this was the best guide we had Mrs. Junko Informative, kind and with an spectacular English. The tour itself was nice with good visit to Meiji Srhine and Asakusa Temple, and a enjoyable cruise by the Bay. We finished the day with a visit to Acqua city shopping. Really we had a good time.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Artemio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Masaki is a great tour guide, very knowledgeable and full of insights. I like the sake experience and quiz the the provided while we were on the train going to Meiji Jingu, it provided a lot of perspective not just about the sites that are covered in the tour but also about Japan and japanese culture in general. Highly recommended - thanks to Masaki!

Doing what: Hello Tokyo Walking Tour: Meiji Jingu, Senso-ji and Harajuku

Vesna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was simply fantastic and one I would highly recommend to anyone who is only able to go on one tour in Tokyo, this is it! The day started off at the bus station in the morning at 9am where we met our lovely guide Nori and we were first driven to see the business side of Tokyo and visit the Meiji Shrine where, as it was a Sunday morning we were able to watch a traditional wedding procession. The tour then moved onto the Imperial East Garden which was also lovely and very peaceful, Nori provided us with great cultural and historical information regarding the park and the surrounding palace. After this we had a stop-over at Asakusa Temple and the general Asakusa area where we were given the choice of visiting the shrine with Nori or choosing to go on our own around the area and doing some shopping. This is a little gem in Tokyo and has to be seen as it is so different from other areas! The next stop was lunch overlooking the wonderful Tokyo bay on the top floor of a hotel, lunch was absolutely delicious and the view was simply breathtaking. Once we had enjoyed the rather sumptuous food and view over the Tokyo skyline, we were treated to a 50 minute cruise of the bay which was then followed up with shopping in the Odaibo district. I think the tour was incredibly varied and very well organised and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to explore the wonderful city of Tokyo and a lot of what it has to offer in a day.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

dino632

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Really nice lunch included. Loved the Meiji shrine, but you could do with more time here.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were lucky as other clients had cancelled and my husband and I became the only clients for the tour. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and found our tour guide brilliant. He was very informative and easy to talk to I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a quick introduction to the shrines and temples of Japan and the pop culture of the Japanese teenagers. He gave us a good insight into the Japanese life. Thanks for a great tour, by far the best one we had been on.

Doing what: Hello Tokyo Walking Tour: Meiji Jingu, Senso-ji and Harajuku

NathanB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great trip to get an overview of Tokyo and take in some of the sights. Guide was very informative and helped everyone find their next location. Lunch was great with good views I went with the beef option. We were lucky to see some wedding ceremonies at Meiji Shrine.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic day in a fantastic city! The tour guide was a little hard to understand at times but very good generally. The cruise is the perfect length and seeing weddings at the Meiji Shrine was a plus. There is a little free time to wonder off too which was a welcome addition. The lunch was amazingly tasty not what we were expecting! and better still it was at the top floor of a hotel in the Bay so the views were outstanding! A real plus! Be warned: Hotel pick up just takes you to a crazy bus station to then collect tickets and get on another bus. In our case it meant driving back the same direction we had come from so we felt we had wasted over an hour on buses before the tour had even started!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were lucky to meet Aurelia who was a knowledgeable and personable guide. It was like going for a walk with a friend who had done her research and more on the architecture and culture of Japan. We found out a lot about the symbolisms and the design concepts of the buildings. Aurelia started from the historical perspective at the Meiji temple in Harujuku and we learnt very quickly about the historical progression and architectural context. We proceeded to Omotesando and Roppongi. A Phd Scholar with a architectural background from Romania, Aurelia's acute perception and depth of knowledge of architecture was a plus and her personable skills made us feel like we were walking with friends. From an architectural perspective, this tour is highly recommended. My husband and I had a great time revisiting these buildings again in Tokyo from Australia. Make sure you have good walking shoes and architectural appreciation.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

John L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide, May, was very informative and anticipated the groups needs with interesting facts and history for the sites we visited as well as information about Tokyo between sites. We had a hotel pick-up which was very convenient and a must as the bus station where the tour "starts" is hard to find and get to the right area where the tours leave from. We visited the sites as advertised, Shinto, Imperial gardens, and lastly the Buddhist temple. We did a half day tour and they dropped us off at the shopping district not too far from the National Kabuki Theater (a must see!).

We learned the major differences between Shinto and Buddhism as well as the Imperial system and how the Shogun era impacted Japan and its culture. The shrines were actually not much to see in themselves but we saw 2 wedding parties, a Shinto monk procession, and the ceremony of tolling the shrine bells. The Imperial gardens were nice and a great break from the concrete and glass of Tokyo. The Buddhist temple was interesting but extremely crowded. A lot of excellent shops and stalls on the main street and there are people walking around in actual kimonos and period dress (men and women). Get some of the snacks and small objects here as they are much easier to find, but no bargaining as in other Asian cities.

We took our 2 small children, 5 and 8, and they kept up and managed the entire half day tour easily. Plenty of photo opportunities every where on this tour, even on the bus as you will go past the Tokyo Tower and the Sky Tree. Take some spending money for Buddhist Temple area. Take advantage of the hotel pickup. If you do the half day tour, there are restaurants close to the drop off point. Make your way back to the National Kabuki Theater and Sony Showroom for sure. Shows are short and very interesting but kids have to be quiet and no photos. Great cultural and photogenic tour of Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

ron.wright2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Good introductory tour of Tokyo. Could not go to Meiji temple because of dengi fever so went to the Tokyo Tower instead which was on our list anyway. Very informative guide and tour done at a decent pace. Great lunch with a fantastic view. At end of tour guide took time to answer any questions and point as in the right direction of where we wanted to go later. Will recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Lesley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The morning tour was a highlight of our visit to Tokyo. Our guide Meiko was amazing, she talked about the shrine and temple we visited, as well as giving us interesting historical anecdotes while the bus drove us around Tokyo from pickup point to shrine to garden to temple. We were taught a few Japanese words and given loads of tips on shops and places to visit. A definite must for first time visitors to Tokyo. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Verne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I's first tour in Tokyo and one of the best. Keiko, our tour guide was simply great! Not only did she do a superb job in her tour guide duties she also helped us learn some basic Japanese words and was ready with pictures, etc. to show us close ups of things like the Imperial Family, Kimono's, and symbols. This was especially great due to the fact that our trip to the Meiji Shrine the daughter's of the Imperial Family were actually there. We were able to see them exit the Shrine, and then be escorted out to their car. This was an amazing experience that was all by happenstance.

I would recommend this tour including the lunch for everyone visiting Tokyo.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

AMANDA LAM S L L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The day started out raining but cleared up and the sun came out shining as we were leaving our first stop - Meiji Shrine :)

Our tour guide, Keiko-san was very informative and provided a lot of information not only on the places of interest, but on Japan as a whole - from the different emperors to language to culture. She also has her own "sales-kit", pictures, cards, handwritten notices to show us which makes it more interesting and not so dull.

We had a visit to the Meiji Shrine, Imperial Palace East Garden, Tokyo Bay Cruise, Odaiba (Aqua City) and drop-off at Tokyo Station. Lunch was included in the itinerary which was at the top floor of a hotel overlooking Tokyo Bay (nice view!). Lunch was Western-style and is very nice.

I would recommend this tour for 1st timers to Tokyo who would like a quick overview of Tokyo in a day. Do not take the 1/2 day tour as it is too rushed to appreciate the sights and experience.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Marlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My son and I only had 3 days in Tokyo so we decided to take this tour and were very happy with everything.
Mai our tour guide was so informative and explained everything in a clear and humourous manner.
We experienced the main sites --- Meiji temple --- palace gardens --- Asakura temple --- lunch with a wonderful view of Tokyo harbor --- then a boat cruise around the harbor and a final visit to the man made island where the small Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great trip to orient yourself to Tokyo. The guide was patient and informative. The Shrine and Temple were amazing. To start understanding the history and tradition was wonderful to do while standing in front of these giants.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide spoke English well since she had studied in Canada. She gave a little humorous side to the shrines and temples ("when passing through the gate of a shrine, you are said to be cleansed, but some people have to go back and forth several times before they are clean enough to move forward...") which made it fun. It was our first day so we didn't mind sitting in the bus for 30 minutes to get to the starting point, we just people watched all the little kids going to school, people on foot, etc. We had a little free time at Asakusa Buddhist Temple which was fun. Bring snacks with you as you have little time to sit and have a coffee, etc. We saw 3 things that morning, including the Imperial Palace which was super cool because we heard the guards practicing their martial arts behind a fence and could see them jumping high and shouting, etc.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Dinesh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed this day trip very much. Had a great time taking pictures and videos of Tokyo skyline, Shrines and gardens. Our guide was excellent and paid attention to our questions and needs. Lunch was inclued and had adequate vegetarian choices. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Todd H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience. This tour is perfect for first time visitors to Tokyo because it has a bit of the old and new that Tokyo has to offer. Visiting the Asakusa Temple was like a scene from a movie. When I read the description I thought it was going to be a quiet, time to reflect kind of thing. Instead I thought I was in Tibet or on a movie set..It was awesome!..It was like a city within a city, much bigger than I ever imagined and the smell of incense burning made it all seem like a dream.The Tokyo bay cruise was very smooth and relaxing and the Meji Shrine was like stepping back in time and a very spiritual experience. We were also served a great lunch on the 12th floor of this building looking out over Tokyo harbor. And best of all was the tour guide Mai. She was so nice and took the time to explain everything to us and answered all our questions. And most of all at the end of the tour she took the extra time to make sure that myself and several other tour members got on the right train to go back to our hotels. It was my first time using the train system and it looks very intimidating but she made sure I bought the right ticket and made it to the correct train platform..Thank you Mai!!..Do yourself a favor and book this tour, this is my second tour I booked through Viator {my other tour was the Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip I did in 2009} you get so much more than what what you paid for and life long memories


.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Kamlesh N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

My tour guide Mai Hashizume was awesome. Not only did we see 7 major sites around Tokyo, She was very cheerful in explaining difference between Buddhist and Shinto Temples and way to pray at different shrines. She also was very open to questions about Japanese Culture. Highly recommend this tour for getting to know Tokyo and its history!

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Graham Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

What a wonderful tour. Our guide Mai was superb. Meiji Shrine was beautiful, as were the gardens of the Imperial Palace. Loved the Senso-ji Temple and then being given some time to shop for souveneers. I've previously done the Dynamic Tokyo full day tour and this half day tour showed me different things. I was with 3 young children so the half day tour was an ideal length for children. Mai was just the best tour guide! She gave a wonderful insight into Japan. The tour was so well organised and efficient. Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Danny P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I had decided to tag along on my hubby's biz trip and wasn't sure if I would be able to manuever around Tokyo alone without speaking Japanese so I signed up for this tour. Mina, our guide, was charming and very knowledgable. I enjoyed it so much I decided to do the afternoon tour with her as well. I enjoyed the shrine and temple so much, I brought my hubby back on his day off to see them again. Thank you Mina for a great day! Tokyo is amazing!!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Mark Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Excellent introduction tour to Tokyo. Guide was good and tour was well organised. Shrines are well worth the visit. Leaves afternoon to explore the shopping areas of Asakusa or Ginza. Good value package

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

The Day Tour was awesome!! Our tour guide, Mr. Sato, was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour! The shrine and temple were both fascinating to visit and learn about from an historical perspective. The imperial palace gate was also interesting, though the gardens are closed on Monday and Friday, so we didn't get to see the gardens. For lunch, we ate in a restaurant overlooking the Sumida river and downtown Tokyo. It was beautiful. Lunch choices were Western-style. Then, the most awesome part of the tour, in my opinion, was taking the cruise boat across Tokyo Bay. It was incredibly beautiful! Just remember your coat if you're going in the winter or spring! I am so happy I signed up for this tour:-)

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our family my husband and I with two teenage daughters enjoyed the Tokyo Day Tour. Tokyo is such a big city, much bigger and spread out than I expected so the tour was great to situate us as far as how the city is laid out. The tour with the hotel pick up was great so we didn't have to try to figure out how to get from point A to B on our first day in Tokyo. Our tour guide Mei-san had fantastic English and a great sense of humor. The tour took us to historical sites with commentary when we pass through some important modern buildings. We were able to see a traditional Japanese wedding at the Meiji Shento Shrine which was really interesting. The Asakusa Temple is fun for the busy shopping streets in front. The western style lunch was so so since we would prefer Japanese lunch boxes however, the view from the top of the little hotel was very pretty. The after lunch cruise was very relaxing especially on that extremely hot day. We enjoyed our last stop at the Japanese version of the 1 store which was amazing since we found everything in Japan to be too expense. Overall, this is a great tour for anyone visiting Tokyo for the first time - we didn't have to worroy about anything and just get on and off the bus and learn from Mei-San.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Katherine H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The supplier viator chose for this tour JTB-Sunrise Tours is really something. Professional, helpful and everything one could wish of a tour company. Even better, the tour guide they provided us is outstanding. Went the extra mile on basically everything. Any questions we had on ancient buildings, beautiful landscapes, etc...she knew and answered. Questions about how to get to so-and-so hotel after the tour or to Tokyo Station so I could get to Kyoto by that night She had that covered as well. She even small things like where can I find this obscure little souvenir my aunt wants me to bring back. And, of course, it didn't hurt that she was incredibly funny and just a very, very awesome tour guide. I highly recommend this tour for three reasons 1 that JTB - Sunrise Tours has tour guides in their hire such as the one I had never had such a great tour in my life 2 that JTB-Sunrise Tours made the pick up from my hotel and drop off to Tokyo Station very easy and convenient for me 3 that the locations they chose Shinju Shrine, Tokugawa Castle, etc were all incredible places that I'm glad I saw.

Doing what: Panoramic Tokyo Day Tour - Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message